General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Bird on August 08, 2021, 09:11:29 PM

Title: So Once its "All clear" - Christmas holidays
Post by: Bird on August 08, 2021, 09:11:29 PM
So the majority of us cant go anywhere, and have had trips cancelled, or after looking at trip photos from the lucky few who are still able to enjoy the wilds of the bush wanna cry... ;)

So for a bit of dreaming and fun.

In the year 2025 when we get the all clear to travel locally, interstate and globally - and we are all micro-chipped and vaccinated have our "Covid Passports" then you take 5 days off + weekend at each end making it you have 9 days to hit the road without any hassles (like it was 2015 again)...

Where would you go?
Would it be a short trip to enjoy relaxing away from home?
Would it be a 'road trip' - just keep drivin for few days - then stop camp and relax?
Would you escape overseas? not inc Tassie ;)

Thoughts?
Title: Re: So Once its "All clear" -
Post by: alnjan on August 08, 2021, 09:21:13 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=izQB2-Kmiic (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=izQB2-Kmiic)

Sorry just had to do it
Post by: Foo on August 09, 2021, 03:31:42 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=izQB2-Kmiic (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=izQB2-Kmiic)

Sorry just had to do it

Hahaha, beat me to it.  ;D

Post by: jclures on August 09, 2021, 06:38:22 AM
Me to. ;D
Post by: westvic on August 09, 2021, 06:55:30 AM
Been thinking and planning this over covid.....solo tinny trip down the Murray
Post by: Fizzie on August 09, 2021, 07:17:39 AM

Solo skinny dip in the Murray!!! ::) :o :-X

(That's what you get for reading before even having a sip of coffee :-[ >:D)
Post by: Bird on August 09, 2021, 09:38:02 AM
Quote from: westvic

End to end or which section
Post by: NZMarkb on August 09, 2021, 10:03:35 AM
I'd like to come back over and spend 3 weeks up the Cape again or maybe the Pilbara :(
It's been over 2 years now since I was up the Cape
Post by: Mace on August 09, 2021, 10:17:20 AM
As I will be retired by then it will initially be a slow wander up the east coast starting from Mallacoota, ending at Cape York.  I reckon that might take 6 months.  Tnen see what happens....

Post by: Steffo1 on August 09, 2021, 10:50:02 AM

Like this?

https://youtu.be/6T3RS78Tp58 (https://youtu.be/6T3RS78Tp58)
Post by: westvic on August 09, 2021, 12:47:00 PM
End to end or which section
launch just below hume dam then all the way to the mouth
Post by: JD-120 on August 09, 2021, 05:14:26 PM
fuggin lol steffo!!!  :cheers:

Like this?

https://youtu.be/6T3RS78Tp58 (https://youtu.be/6T3RS78Tp58)
Post by: #jonesy on August 09, 2021, 05:32:51 PM
So long as its not

Post by: #jonesy on August 09, 2021, 05:41:45 PM
For me 9 days overseas wouldn't be long enough. So it would have to be Victoria or NSW, no more than a half day driving.  Set up camp and explore.  Would also go with a few friends and their families.

Maybe the high country, with a bit of fishing and 4WD past a few of the huts.  Lots and lots of campfire sitting..

Or a small group of mates and do the border track between Vic and SA
Post by: Banjo16 on August 12, 2021, 04:37:48 PM
The way things are going I think 2025 may be optimistic.
Post by: Fizzie on August 13, 2021, 07:37:22 AM
Yep! :'( >:(

Went out to the BGS yesterday to grab some things, & as I was walking towards the door, 4 people came in from various angles & all 4 of them just walked in straight past the check-in & sanitiser. Get inside & what do you see? No masks at all, masks under the chin, over the mouth only – what is wrong with all you people? Do you want to go back into lockdown (which I'm fully expecting within a week, based on it getting into NNSW :'()

As I was walking back towards the checkouts, there was a staff member a few m in front of me. 2 young ladies (& sorry, any young people out there, but the majority of the offenders seem to be <30 y.o) were coming the other way, neither wearing masks, & one of them asked him "Where do we find Bondcrete? As I walked past, I said, behind my mask, not shouting but not whispering either "Beside the $%^&ing masks!" ::) I didn't look back to see if either of them had heard me ??? >:D

Maybe we all need to start asking that, loudly ??? (Except I don't need the abuse that would almost invariably result :'( >:()

/rant
Post by: edz on August 13, 2021, 08:04:10 AM
^^^ Wouldnt want to work in my workplace then Fizz, A condition of entry is Effective mask wearing [ cover nose / mouth ] Generaly find the younger ones not too bad, with a few exceptions .. Its the 30 + to 80's that have the biggest chip on their shoulders about the wearing of masks, you spend most of your shift being a broken record , Wear your mask /  pull your mask up  .
We generaly give them couple of warnings then remove them from the premises .. 
Post by: Spada on August 13, 2021, 09:37:18 AM
At my workplace management thought everyone was a bit down in the dumps so they walked around this morning handing out lollypops a Friday "cheer up" warm & fuzzy thing.
Now there are 200 people walking around with their mask under their chin while they suck on a lollypop  ::) ::) ::) ::) :-\ :-\ :-\ :-\

what bloody hope have we got  :' ??? >:(
Post by: Bird on August 13, 2021, 10:09:12 AM
Quote from: Banjo16
The way things are going I think 2025 may be optimistic.
Your probably right

For me and my 9 days -

A teaser 9 days Tassie

or

Melb - Mungo
Mungo - Broken Hill/Silverton
Silverton - Tibooburra/ Camerons
Camerons - Innaminka/Dig Tree
Tree - Mungerannie
Mungerannie - Birdsville
Birdsville - Farina
Farina - Renmark
Renmark - Home
Post by: #jonesy on August 14, 2021, 08:22:47 AM
Sadly my plan has changed a bit.  As soon as we are out of lockdown I'll go and stockpile stuff for projects around the house for the inevitable lockdown 7. I have a few plans and click and collect just isn't an option.
Post by: Bird on August 22, 2021, 04:53:57 PM
I'd like to do somethiing like this again one day

Canning on a bike...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tqTDQZ2XGYE (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tqTDQZ2XGYE)
Post by: GeoffA on August 22, 2021, 04:56:27 PM

Canning on a bike...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tqTDQZ2XGYE (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tqTDQZ2XGYE)

Have you ridden in sand before?
Post by: Bird on August 22, 2021, 05:04:51 PM
Have you ridden in sand before?
I grew up riding in sand .... klms and klms of sand dunes ... its piss easy
Post by: GeoffA on August 22, 2021, 05:15:23 PM
I grew up riding in sand .... klms and klms of sand dunes ... its piss easy

...it is, and fun too, once you work it out.
Post by: Bird on August 22, 2021, 05:18:13 PM
Quote from: GeoffA
...it is, and fun too, once you work it out.
agree.... although never had to pack fully like that on sand... did it plenty of times going to rallys on the road but never sandy
Post by: bmwfreak on August 22, 2021, 08:11:45 PM
A few years ago the Ruptured Budgie rally held at a little town ‘near’ Glen Innes, NSW named Mingoola got washed away by floods, not during a rally fortunately. The site was changed due to the permanent damage done by the floods to a little bit up the river. The new site had a section that could only be reached by crossing, what became known as ‘The Lesser Gobi Desert’. The sand was about 1 foot deep, and there was no indication of this on the approach side. Having arrived well after the majority of the main camp area was full, the Gobi desert section was the only option left for myself and riding companion. We were curious as to why there were so many just sitting around watching people turning up. Soon found out why when we hit the sand :D. We were both riding BMW GS’s so, even though the ground collapsing under the front wheel was a bit of a shock initially we made it through. While we both set up camp, the spectators were out smoothing the surface so the sand wasn’t obvious. We then joined the spectators to watch BIG road bikes attempt the crossing. Some made it, those that didn’t provided lots of entertainment for the rest of us. Naturally we all pitched in the help the poor buggers who came to grief, but we would then return to our camp chairs and await the next performance.
Post by: Bird on August 22, 2021, 08:31:06 PM
A few years ago the Ruptured Budgie rally held at a little town ‘near’ Glen Innes, NSW named Mingoola got washed away by floods, not during a rally fortunately. The site was changed due to the permanent damage done by the floods to a little bit up the river. The new site had a section that could only be reached by crossing, what became known as ‘The Lesser Gobi Desert’. The sand was about 1 foot deep, and there was no indication of this on the approach side. Having arrived well after the majority of the main camp area was full, the Gobi desert section was the only option left for myself and riding companion. We were curious as to why there were so many just sitting around watching people turning up. Soon found out why when we hit the sand :D. We were both riding BMW GS’s so, even though the ground collapsing under the front wheel was a bit of a shock initially we made it through. While we both set up camp, the spectators were out smoothing the surface so the sand wasn’t obvious. We then joined the spectators to watch BIG road bikes attempt the crossing. Some made it, those that didn’t provided lots of entertainment for the rest of us. Naturally we all pitched in the help the poor buggers who came to grief, but we would then return to our camp chairs and await the next performance.
Not quite as good, one year at the Long Flat rally, there was another rally towards Walcha on private property.. it was pissin down from newcastle to the pub... and on the property. Apparently they had to go down through a gully then up over a grass hill to get to the semi setup for the band and campsite..
Didnt go to watch as we had been drinkin already, but the reports of bikies on boat anchors on rev limiters on road tyres tryin to get out of the gully on the wet grass and mud still bring tears to my eyes crying laughin
Post by: bmwfreak on August 22, 2021, 09:00:10 PM

Canning on a bike...
Sorry Bird, after watching that dude riding, I retract everything I said about riding through sand. I don’t know nuthin. Admittedly my bike is a tad heavier with 210kg wet weight, plus a 43ltr adventure fuel tank, rather than the std 24ltr, but he is still a sh1tload better rider than I will ever be😩
Title: Re: So Once its &quot;All clear&quot; -
Post by: austastar on August 23, 2021, 09:44:07 AM
   Yep, way out of my comfort zone.

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

Post by: Kangaron on August 23, 2021, 10:19:02 AM
1970 I did the Nullabor on a 1969 Trimph Bonneville.
From memory, about 450 miles was dirt from the SA/WA Border to Penong or thereabouts.
Was an interesting ride.
Post by: NZMarkb on August 23, 2021, 10:22:55 AM
From memory, about 450 miles was dirt from the SA/WA Border to Penong or thereabouts.
Was an interesting ride.

On a Bonne I bet it was
I bet you wish you still had it
Post by: Kangaron on August 23, 2021, 11:36:48 AM
I was having a few beers at the Hampton Hotel [Melbourne] in 1973.
Bonne was outside the front door, forks locked and a case hardened chain through both wheels.
Heard some commotion outside and watched it disappear into the back of a ute.
They had both wheels on rollers skates.
I did 84,000 miles on that bike loved it.
Sadly there was a strike at the Triumph factory that lasted for months.
Was after a Trident.
Ended up with a 73 Norton Commando 750, beautiful bike.
Post by: bmwfreak on August 23, 2021, 11:39:26 AM
Was an interesting ride.

That type of gravel travel on a big heavy adventure bike is a joy, luv it😀. A bit of Gnarly stuff thrown in every now and then is to be expected and is also enjoyable. But, from videos I have seen of the CSR, 1700km would be a little taxing FOR ME.
Post by: bmwfreak on August 23, 2021, 11:45:15 AM
Sadly there was a strike at the Triumph factory that lasted for months.

Bastards who steal bikes should be castrated.

Sadly(?) the British motorcycle industry was locked into strikes for about 5 years before they finally collapsed. The ‘workers’ at Meridan, having sent the company to the wall, then tried to run it themselves, but failed miserably after a number of years.
Post by: Kangaron on August 23, 2021, 12:36:14 PM
Yep the Nullabor was tedious, had to get way off the road on any approaching vehicle.
The ride from Perth to Melbourne was a joy ( via Darwin then Alice ) and took me nearly 3 years.
Work was plentiful, so were pubs.

Sent from my Moto G (4) using Tapatalk

Post by: Bird on August 24, 2021, 05:51:38 PM
next vid in his series - only short but .. i wanna be out there

The BEST CAMP SITE along the Canning Stock Route
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_iuD47Jt9ME (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_iuD47Jt9ME)

Well 6 Pierre Spring is said to be the most beautiful camp site on the Canning Stock Route. Hearing this bit of info and being only 20kms down the track at Well 5, I had to spend the afternoon checking it out.
Post by: vern on August 24, 2021, 06:01:07 PM
next vid in his series - only short but .. i wanna be out there

The BEST CAMP SITE along the Canning Stock Route
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_iuD47Jt9ME (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_iuD47Jt9ME)

Well 6 Pierre Spring is said to be the most beautiful camp site on the Canning Stock Route. Hearing this bit of info and being only 20kms down the track at Well 5, I had to spend the afternoon checking it out.
Yeah great camp spot well 6,  was one of my faves, that and Durba springs.

Sent from my SM-A526B using Tapatalk

Post by: D4D on August 24, 2021, 06:44:08 PM
I doubt we'll ever be 'all clear'. When we're allowed out to play with others I'll go on a bike/flash packing trip with a mate over a few nights. Probably ride the Great Victorian Rail Trail from Tallarook and back.
Post by: Bird on September 28, 2021, 01:07:21 PM
Sorry Bird, after watching that dude riding, I retract everything I said about riding through sand. I don’t know nuthin. Admittedly my bike is a tad heavier with 210kg wet weight, plus a 43ltr adventure fuel tank, rather than the std 24ltr, but he is still a sh1tload better rider than I will ever be😩
bit more amazing scenery
DO THIS Kennedy Range Motorcycle Adventure
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kaiexjdijds (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kaiexjdijds)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iSYDMlSvMxs (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iSYDMlSvMxs)
Post by: NZMarkb on September 28, 2021, 01:33:33 PM
bit more amazing scenery
DO THIS Kennedy Range Motorcycle Adventure
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kaiexjdijds (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kaiexjdijds)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iSYDMlSvMxs (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iSYDMlSvMxs)

That looks great Bird
Do they have a Webb site
Post by: Bird on September 28, 2021, 01:38:15 PM
That looks great Bird
Do they have a Webb site
just the channel
Post by: Bird on October 20, 2021, 09:37:58 PM
So if your wondering where "regional" is
go here and zoom in to 10 on the numbers on the left.

https://live.getlost.com.au/ (https://live.getlost.com.au/)
Post by: Bird on October 28, 2021, 07:03:01 PM
Anyone game to join the insanity tomorrow in Vic ???  The clubs going to try a trip LOL!

Radio and TV ads telling people to take it easy LOL.. they know that aint happening.
Post by: xcvator on October 28, 2021, 07:37:25 PM
Yep, going to Bunnies on Saturday morning..............................NOT  :o :o
Title: Re: So Once its "All clear" - Christmas holidays
Post by: Bird on November 23, 2021, 09:16:42 PM
Now that most places are open, although QLD wants $150 a person testing done before crossing, anyone got trips planned for xmas/new year...
Whats your plans.

I got 24 Dec to 9th Jan off... Trying to think of what to do with the short break...
Thinking  Flinders with tent/swag, but might be a tad toasty still...
Title: Re: So Once its &quot;All clear&quot; - Christmas holidays
Post by: Pete79 on November 23, 2021, 09:57:42 PM
2 weeks on Fraser.
Bailing out of there right before the place is booked solid.

They increase the capacity at pretty much all of the camping zones around New Years.
The zone we’re booked in goes from 200 people up until Christmas, then jumps up to 360 people for Christmas/New years.

As of the other day, our camping zone has 160 out of 200 spots available when we arrive, then only 1 out of 360 spots available when we leave.

Even with the increased capacity, there is not a single camping site available on the island after December 28th. That’s the perfect time to head home and chill out around the pool I recon… ;)
Post by: GGV8Cruza on November 24, 2021, 05:29:27 AM
We are heading to Geehi, might have a quick swag weekend by myself in the coming weeks. Need to get away and smell that mountain air

Title: Re: So Once its &quot;All clear&quot; - Christmas holidays
Post by: Bird on November 24, 2021, 07:42:58 AM
Quote from: Pete79
Even with the increased capacity, there is not a single camping site available on the island after December 28th. That’s the perfect time to head home and chill out around the pool I recon… ;)
When we did Fraser, we were there most of the week before school holidays, but the day school holidays started you could tell the minute the barge landed... it was like that comedy Mad Mad Mad world... watchin em coming up the beach at warp 4 trying to cut infront of others looking for sites.
Post by: Bad Scott on November 26, 2021, 07:07:34 AM
Unfortunately a few of us Vics are stuck here in WA on a green fields site. So no Xmas/NY at home. If we went home we wouldn’t be able to return till WA border is open to us Vics
Post by: Bird on November 26, 2021, 07:32:33 AM
Quote from: SJindustries
Unfortunately a few of us Vics are stuck here in WA on a green fields site. So no Xmas/NY at home. If we went home we wouldn’t be able to return till WA border is open to us Vics
so your arranging the blow in WA xmas gathering ;)
Post by: Steffo1 on November 26, 2021, 07:52:29 AM
Now that most places are open, although QLD wants $150 a person testing done before crossing, anyone got trips planned for xmas/new year...
Whats your plans.

I got 24 Dec to 9th Jan off... Trying to think of what to do with the short break...
Thinking  Flinders with tent/swag, but might be a tad toasty still...

Wonnangatta Valley should be safe!
Post by: Bird on November 26, 2021, 08:31:31 AM
Quote from: Steffo1
quite possibly....
Post by: GGV8Cruza on November 26, 2021, 09:16:47 AM

The button man is still on the loose  ;D