Author Topic: WHAT'S MAKING NEWS TODAY? 2012 edition  (Read 382389 times)

Re: WHAT'S MAKING NEWS TODAY?
« Reply #500 on: December 13, 2012, 05:23:41 AM »
I wonder if she knows why there is a lack of numbers going?
I hope she takes lots of pictures to pin up to show all those that didn't go what a great time they had.

A mate works for a multi national transport company, he rings me the other day from work to ask If I could look up his vehicles service cost at carservice.com because the site is block from his work computer, yet he said soft porn is able to be viewed

« Last Edit: December 13, 2012, 05:42:48 AM by Hairs »

« Reply #501 on: December 13, 2012, 06:16:49 AM »
...........and the chick that complained is arranging the xmas party - she wonders why only 2 people are going. her and the boss.

Shouldn't be too difficult finding a venue. Hope they have a good time......

« Reply #502 on: December 13, 2012, 06:58:39 AM »
Inappropriate pictures at work has been around for a while.  I remember some years back my wife gave me a Elle MacPherson calendar and I had it at work and was told I have to get rid of it as it may offend female workers.  The females at that time had the Firemen calendars up at that time and I said what about the females having those calendars and was told it is different, just get rid of your calendar????  ???

Wait until you start reading about the new Federal Government legislation that consolidates several anti-discrimination laws, including that on racial discrimination, which refers to treatment that offends. The proposed law extends ''offending'' into the definition of discrimination for all purposes.  Apparently Australia have the only international human rights instrument, or national anti-discrimination statute in a liberal democracy, that extends to conduct which is merely offensive. 
Think about how someone just has to say they were offended by something. Not that they were insulted, humiliated or intimidated etc, just that they were offended. 
Also the onus to prove a complaint will change placing more on the accused.
I am not saying these acts are not important, just that we have gone too far and it is going to get worse.  >:(

Kevin

« Reply #503 on: December 13, 2012, 07:09:00 AM »
I wonder........could the legislation ^ be used by certain parties to curtail criticism....... ??? ???

« Reply #504 on: December 13, 2012, 07:14:19 AM »
G'day Kevin,
Yep, 25 odd years ago while working in a timber mill, we had Post magazine(or similar) centerfolds on the wall next to the Bandsaw.
There was only every us guys in that work area, the boss wife would walk past on her way and say G'day, she never had a problem with it.
The Smoko van driven by a new woman got lost and ending up driving into the area, she complained to what ever government body it was at the time, and next thing a couple suits turn up and sit us all down, the owner included and lecture us about inappropriate material on the walls.

1000000x agree it is only going to get worse.
Oh well, it's nearly Friday.  ;D

@ Geoff, Hmmm, I reckon it might be. Hasn't gillard started to take steps about what the media can say about her and her government  ???

« Reply #505 on: December 13, 2012, 08:09:16 AM »
And here we go again. :-(

http://www.smh.com.au/opinion/political-news/slipper-ruling-sparks-labor-bid-for-revenge-20121212-2ba2g.html

When are these 'people' that we voted in going to concentrate on what is best for their constituents rather than scoring cheap political points against one another.

This has an insidious undertone of some potentially corrupt behaviour which leads us down a whole other path doesn't it?

As I have said before, with the current bunch of pollies I find it had to vote for any of them.

« Reply #506 on: December 13, 2012, 08:32:05 AM »
Very hard to vote for any of them indeed.

IMHO Slipper is a grub and hasn't done anything worthwhile for the coast for a long, long  time.

His consistently self servient attitude and wreckless spending only demonstrates his lack of respect for the constituents that voted him in.

He finally saw the writing on the wall before defecting to the Labour party to save himself the public embarrassment of being given the heave ho by the LNP.

His ridiculous and pompous behaviour as speaker of the house only demonstrates his quest to have his self importance recognised. I am constantly amazed by the Slipper Report, a poor quality report prepared by this guy, where he drags some poor old so and so out of a retirement village or aged care home gets a photo with them and writes some drivel about how he opened a garden bed. T

Fair enough Brough is probably up to his eyeballs in this scandal but at least he gets out amongst the community and has a pretty good level of involvement.

Slipper enjoyed the benefit of a very safe seat for a very long time on the Sunshine Coast, at the end of the day though the writing is on the wall and he must go away.

Really Pete, go away. far far away.
« Last Edit: December 13, 2012, 06:05:31 PM by Nomad »

« Reply #507 on: December 13, 2012, 09:23:31 AM »
Quote from: krisandkev
Inappropriate pictures at work has been around for a while.  I remember some years back my wife gave me a Elle MacPherson calendar and I had it at work and was told I have to get rid of it as it may offend female workers. 

Oh this one is an absolute beamer.. anyhting and everything is offensive.. even company stuff thats been around for 15 years that nobody has said boo about, even 5 GM's over the journey..

The offended one had a calendar of the homeless in Cambodia on her wall.. One month had a picture of a homeless starving kid on it, in a wrap around sorta pair of shorts (you know hte things they wear).
The offended one asked another girl at work if she thought it was offensive. The other girl said no, its a great photo shows the plight of these people, where can I get the same calendar? TOOne said, no it may offend someone, so threw it in the bin.

I say again, how do these people go to the beach or swimming pool? or even open a newspaper?

« Reply #508 on: December 13, 2012, 09:37:04 AM »
Some people just LOVE to be offended......

« Reply #509 on: December 13, 2012, 10:00:05 AM »
I'm offended by you all  :worthles:

« Reply #510 on: December 13, 2012, 11:31:52 AM »
I'm offended by you all  :worthles:

......see.......??

« Reply #511 on: December 13, 2012, 04:08:57 PM »
I just had a thought.  ::) Can we use this against the politicians?  They offend me every time they open their mouths.   ;)

Kevin

« Reply #512 on: December 14, 2012, 11:08:47 AM »
This is one lucky racist ****.. I'd have been happier if he had of got a free lesson from Mr Falciroli!!!!!!!

Friends on Facebook are calling it a lucky break for the racist who taunted and threatened an Australian cage fighter champion.

In the second recent publicised racist attack on Melbourne's public transport system, cage-fighting bantamweight champion and former Brazilian jiu-jitsu world champion Gustavo Falciroli and his family were threatened last Saturday on the South Morang line.

A man approached Mr Falciroli after hearing him speak in Portuguese and told him that this was “not his country”. He then threatened to "cut" and "rape" him, his wife and two children.

Mr Falciroli got off the train and called police. His aggressor was intercepted at Reservoir railway station.

“Despite it [being] a bad situation, once again life has showed me that violence just creates more violence and I never should use my skills outside a cage, a ring or a mat," Mr Falciroli said on social media.

Thai kick boxer and instructor Dynamite Dennis O'Dea described the incident on Facebook as a "near miss for the racist!"

Another Brazilian jiu-jitsu competitor, Chris Freeman, said the abuser obviously did not know that Mr Falciroli was a reigning champion in cage fighting and a black belt in Brazilian jiu-jitsu.

"Despite having all the skills to take this guy out, Gustavo Falciroli chose to get off the train. The abuser got lucky despite his ignorance," Mr Freeman commented on Facebook
Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/victoria/racist-threatened-cagefighting-champ-20121214-2bdvp.html#ixzz2Ez4hWFno

« Reply #513 on: December 16, 2012, 11:52:25 AM »
After the very sad shootings in the USA this week the following is amazing.  So much so I had to check the figures myself just in case what is said on the web may be wrong....   But no, the stats are correct.   ???      (I think the picture came out a few years back, but still relevent today.)   
Kevin

« Reply #514 on: December 16, 2012, 12:29:18 PM »
Obviously America needs more hand guns....woops hope that's not offensive

« Reply #515 on: December 16, 2012, 02:33:53 PM »
I find the idea of the proposed legislation is offensive  ???

« Reply #516 on: December 17, 2012, 09:50:32 AM »
After the very sad shootings in the USA this week the following is amazing. 
agree.. unbelieveable.

but i dont understand Shit like this

One person who wasn't in the school is also getting praise for his grace: Robbie Parker, whose daughter Emilie died.
Speaking to reporters, he said he was not mad and offered sympathy for Lanza's family.

I'd be hunting every one of the family and killing them.

« Reply #517 on: December 17, 2012, 12:38:32 PM »
Lost, in my experience those who have sufferred tragedy often respond to it somewhat better than others of us think they 'should' / think we would in their position.

There is no-one to blame / take retribution on in this instance.  And who would feel better as a result of taking 'revenge' on the father of the killer, who has also lost his wife to their sun/gunman???

Most of those who lost children in this will have other kids who need comforting.  Kids 'imprint' from their parents in a situation like this. If they see dad raging and angry what do they learn / who do they turn to for comfort?  And if dad were to go and kill someone in revenge where would that leave mum and the remaining kid/s - other than with further loss and grief?

« Reply #518 on: December 17, 2012, 12:47:27 PM »
Lost, in my experience those who have sufferred tragedy often respond to it somewhat better than others of us think they 'should' / think we would in their position.

There is no-one to blame / take retribution on in this instance.  And who would feel better as a result of taking 'revenge' on the father of the killer, who has also lost his wife to their sun/gunman???

Most of those who lost children in this will have other kids who need comforting.  Kids 'imprint' from their parents in a situation like this. If they see dad raging and angry what do they learn / who do they turn to for comfort?  And if dad were to go and kill someone in revenge where would that leave mum and the remaining kid/s - other than with further loss and grief?
sorry anyone murders my kids, I aint feeeling sorry for poor didums thats left behind.. **** em

« Reply #519 on: December 17, 2012, 12:59:39 PM »
sorry anyone murders my kids, I aint feeeling sorry for poor didums thats left behind.. **** em
The murderer is already dead, so in your opinion it would be OK to kill his father and brother?
Or have I misunderstood you?
Mate, those would be some values to be teaching your kids over the dinner table...

« Reply #520 on: December 17, 2012, 05:53:06 PM »
And now for something completely different  ;D

Price of ink just stinks - Chanel No.5 is cheaper than printer ink
We've all known this for a long time now, the cost of ink for kids having to print projects at home is become unrealistic.
God only knows what businesses spend on ink for all the printing that they do.
A 3.5ml cartridge of yellow HP ink costs $10.50 through the Good Guys, meaning consumers will pay $3/ml - or $3000 per litre.

Offline Vk3bq

• I Like Cheese..
    • WispyThreads
WHAT'S MAKING NEWS TODAY?
« Reply #521 on: December 18, 2012, 08:05:31 AM »
Thredbo river news just in. Breakfast is ready. If you are quick. :)
-- 2012 Prado D4D  --  '05 OutbackCamper  --  VK3BQ  --  HFRadioClub Selcal 0172  --  VKS737 Selcal 0172 --
http://www.vk3bq.com/

« Reply #522 on: December 18, 2012, 08:24:35 AM »
Thredbo river news just in. Breakfast is ready. If you are quick. :)
Oh you naaaaaaaaassstty,naaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaasty person  :D

« Reply #523 on: December 18, 2012, 08:40:53 PM »
Quite like the movie...

The canine star of Red Dog, Koko, has died in Perth. The producer of the hit film, Nelson Woss, said he was devastated to lose his "best mate" from a congestive heart disease diagnosed this year.

The seven-year-old red cloud kelpie became the country's best-known dog when he featured in the hit film about a freewheeling canine who united a Pilbara mining community in the 1970s.

Kriv Stenders' warm-hearted drama, which starred Josh Lucas and Rachael Taylor, was based on a Louis de Bernieres novel about a real dog who roamed the West Australian outback

Read more: Australias Favourite Red Dogs true star dies

« Reply #524 on: December 19, 2012, 06:30:57 AM »
Very sad, only 7 years of age.  We loved the movie and the dog.  :'(

Kevin