Author Topic: Forward fold camper options  (Read 4038 times)

Offline camdyson

Forward fold camper options
« on: August 16, 2020, 02:24:28 PM »
I’ve been camper-less for several years, after selling my beloved custom soft floor trailer. I’m now in the market for a replacement and am liking forward fold hard floor trailers. As much as I like Aussie made, my sub-$20K budget makes this unlikely, given my wish list. The sort of thing I’m looking at is typified by Ezytrail Stirling GT Mk3, but I’m wary of quality and also canvas on these imports.
Anyways, given I’m in lockdown and can’t look at anything in the flesh, I’ll throw up my wish list and interested in any Myswagger’s suggestions on what might fit the bill:
* Hard floor forward fold
* Able to sleep a 3rd person (10 y.o)
* Slide out fridge drawer with 12v fan, gas stove and sink, plus storage drawers ideally
* At least 2x100Ah batts, with inverter, and LED lights in/outside, plus accessible gauges
* At least 100l water tank with electric pump
* Gas hot water system
* Solid chassis with quality independent suspension
* Dual gas bottle and dual jerry can storage
* Room for bike and kayak
* Simple setup - DON’T want an awning that needs 20 poles in it!
* Awning side walls. Not really worried about fully enclosed, shower rooms etc
* Canvas that won’t leak, ideally with tropical/storm roof

So there you go. Dreaming? I know I can tick most boxes on a near new unit as mentioned, but happy to hear if anyone has other suggestions? Oh, got a 150 Prado so can pull it no worries.

Fingers crossed I might be able to get back out there this summer......

Cheers, Cam.
Set your chickens free

Offline Baz

Re: Forward fold camper options
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2020, 04:32:24 PM »
Have  look here:

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=55887.0

Modcon Imperial HFD 2012 (now located Brisbane) (price drop 19k)

Offline Moggy

« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2020, 06:24:44 PM »
Have a look at Austrack campers

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

All men dream but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes to make it possible.
T.E. Lawrence

Offline camdyson

« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2020, 06:37:42 PM »
Yeah, looked at those. The awning support frame looks a bit over the top, and a checker plate stone guard seems like a recipe for smashed rear windows. But otherwise looks ok. Suspiciously similar to the Ezytrail campers?.....
Set your chickens free

Offline 6knights

« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2020, 11:26:59 PM »
Have  look here:

Another plug for the Modcon, it will fit most of your needs,  the rest will have to be fitted yourself but they wouldn't be all that difficult.

Read any reviews and you will find a lot of happy owners,  their built like a brick dunny and Aussie built.
« Last Edit: August 16, 2020, 11:31:54 PM by 6knights »
2006 100 series towing a 2012 modcon HFA  🙂

« Reply #5 on: August 17, 2020, 09:36:15 AM »
Yeah, looked at those. The awning support frame looks a bit over the top, and a checker plate stone guard seems like a recipe for smashed rear windows. But otherwise looks ok. Suspiciously similar to the Ezytrail campers?.....

Taking any camper/van off road will see flying stones. Invest in a stone stomper..regardless of campers/vans stone guard.

Offline camdyson

« Reply #6 on: August 17, 2020, 12:57:45 PM »
Agreed re the stones - always have extended mudflaps fitted on big trips too.

Modcon does look good, but will be waiting a while before any chance of a look at Qld offerings  :'(

Set your chickens free

Offline Humphreythebear

« Reply #7 on: August 17, 2020, 05:08:16 PM »
Email Victorian Camper Trailers - I know we are in lockdown , but it’s a start !
Is the modcon dealer For Vic .
Sept 14 is only a month away - no guarantees on lifting restrictions !
Outback Sturt , Holden SS Ute and a MTB for the Rough Stuff

Offline camdyson

« Reply #8 on: August 17, 2020, 08:48:42 PM »
Just been looking on Modcon’s web site - agreed, they look almost perfect. Thanks, I’ll chase them up and hopefully take a look when life’s a bit more normal.....
Set your chickens free

Offline camdyson

« Reply #9 on: August 22, 2020, 05:51:28 PM »
Swag Kimberley looks like another contender - again looks suspiciously similar to a couple of other brands. Pretty well spec’d on the new ones at the moment.
Set your chickens free

« Reply #10 on: August 23, 2020, 01:45:17 AM »
Swag Kimberley looks like another contender - again looks suspiciously similar to a couple of other brands. Pretty well spec’d on the new ones at the moment.
you will find most come out of the same factory in china then get different spec once here.

« Reply #11 on: August 23, 2020, 06:54:52 AM »
I hunted high and low for many months. Majority of forward folds are very similar. I finally settled on an Austrack Telegraph X because of the multitude of positive reviews about the camper and the backup service. . Like every other camper out there I did a few mods for myself. I renewed the suspension and had the ATM increased by 250kg (this cost nothing as all was done by Austrack on a camper that was sold 20 months before!!...cant complain about that!).  Have used it twice now (bloody virus stuffed several trips up).  Love it!!. Solid as a rock body, fitted my own quality electrics to suit my needs. Annex took fifteen minutes , with 2 of us, to set up. Heaps of water and adding a good mattress topper means a good nights sleep.  Your 10 year old could sleep on the table area that folds to a double bed very quickly. Check out the Facebook site.  Just glad I bought something that , with a few mods, is perfect for me. I paid $17,000 for a second hand one that was virtually brand new and came with about $3k of extras!  Saved about$8k...Seriously good camper in my opinion.
« Last Edit: August 23, 2020, 06:56:54 AM by Bigfish »

Offline camdyson

« Reply #12 on: August 23, 2020, 08:27:55 AM »
Hi Bigfish,
Those are definitely worth a look - good inclusions. Have you had it in the rain? Be interested to know how the canvas copes in the wet.

Cheers, Cam.
Set your chickens free

Offline lloydus67

« Reply #13 on: August 23, 2020, 10:40:52 AM »
All campers need the canvas seasoned. It causes the stitching to swell and seal the needle holes

Offline camdyson

« Reply #14 on: August 23, 2020, 10:56:38 AM »
Yeah - I’ve had a good camper and done the whole seasoning canvas thing. Mine was Aussie canvas and excellent, but I’ve watched others wringing out their soaked bedding after a rainy night and know I definitely don’t want to be them. I’ve heard mixed reviews about canvas on some imported campers, seasoned or not.
Appreciate the heads up though.

The more I look, those Telegraph Xs look a relative bargain at the moment with all their inclusions...
Set your chickens free

« Reply #15 on: August 23, 2020, 06:04:48 PM »
Yeah - I’ve had a good camper and done the whole seasoning canvas thing. Mine was Aussie canvas and excellent, but I’ve watched others wringing out their soaked bedding after a rainy night and know I definitely don’t want to be them. I’ve heard mixed reviews about canvas on some imported campers, seasoned or not.
Appreciate the heads up though.

The more I look, those Telegraph Xs look a relative bargain at the moment with all their inclusions...

Seasoned the canvas no worries.. Heaps of inclusions.  I,d buy second hand..save a few thousand and get a quality dcdc charger, solar reg and decent batteries with the savings. After my next trip I,m pretty sure I,ll be selling my 3 Fullrivers and going lithium.  .  I,ve seen some good ones around the $17k price.

« Reply #16 on: August 23, 2020, 06:11:18 PM »
Quote from: Bigfish
]I,d buy second hand..save a few thousand
I'd say that with any camper.. :)

Offline camdyson

« Reply #17 on: August 24, 2020, 06:47:31 PM »
Yeah, but most of those Qld-based brands tend to be few and far between here in Vic. I’m 3 hrs from the city in East Gippsland so not that easy to check out 2nd-handies.

I reckon there will be a stampede when lockdown lifts, but hope I’m wrong.....

To make matters worse my significant other lives on the Sunshine Coast at present (long story....) So I’ve recruited her into looking at a couple up there for us  ;D
Set your chickens free

« Reply #18 on: August 27, 2020, 09:41:40 AM »
Have  look here:

I would be looking at this for sure. Very happy with my Modcon Imperial.

Offline corndog

« Reply #19 on: September 01, 2020, 05:42:59 PM »
Is in Sydney but have a look.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=57513.0

Offline camdyson

« Reply #20 on: September 02, 2020, 01:50:09 PM »
Thanks, but I've taken the plunge and ordered an Austrack Telegraph X via Melbourne dealer, with all the extras I need at a pretty good price. Quoting 10-12 weeks, and I was aiming for December, so fingers crossed.

Set your chickens free