Author Topic: New member from Hunter region.  (Read 3188 times)

Offline stevep84

• Tapatalk User
New member from Hunter region.
« on: August 18, 2014, 08:50:01 PM »
Hi all, Steve here.

Just joined the forum and recently bought a 2004 Kimberley Kamper Classic which we are excited to get out and use.

Once it warms up a bit (the minister doesn't like the cold) hope to get out with our boys (8 and 1) to see the area while we are still here. As of January we will be residents of the NT and I imagine the Kimberley will get a lot more use up there.

Up until buying the camper I have been slowly setting out 150 Prado up for touring (kids and other expensive hobbies have slowed it down). The plan is to get out up north as much as possible. We are on a promise to the previous owners of the camper that we'll send them photos of the trailer in the Kimberley's so that will be one of the priority destinations up there and I also have a mate living in Broome to catch up with.

That's about it for now, I'll tack on a few photos only have ones of the trailer packed up so they aren't exciting. On our first outing I'll endevour to get some set up shots.

The day we picked it up. Since then have inverted the HR hitch and fitted some Poly-Airs to the prado.

This on is our set up pre Kimberley. Still have it all so have a few options covered.

Re: New member from Hunter region.
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2014, 08:53:36 PM »
Welcome Steve, great to have you on board. Thnx for the story and pics. You're a legend:-)

Offline RallyDog

« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2014, 10:18:21 PM »
Welcome Steve great looking set up u have there.

Offline JPH

« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2014, 10:22:56 PM »
Welcome aboard Steve, plenty of good info around here! happy Camping!

JPH

Offline stevep84

• Tapatalk User
« Reply #4 on: August 19, 2014, 06:07:51 PM »
Cheers for the welcome guys.

« Reply #5 on: August 21, 2014, 06:51:09 AM »
Welcome to MySwag Steve, enjoy your stay and join in the banter

Offline Green rv

• SAND CAR-SELS @ FRASER
« Reply #6 on: August 21, 2014, 07:37:28 AM »
G'Day Steve
nice rig, she must have a fair ball weight as its pushing down on the prado.
if you are getting airbags make sure you get the heavy duty units as they are a bit more reliable and last longer(imo).
hope you have many safe trips and am sure the kids will love it. my kids talk more about camping than they do about xmas
here's to great times ahead
Adam
Hilux 2002 LN167 + Stockman POD

Offline stevep84

• Tapatalk User
« Reply #7 on: August 21, 2014, 10:39:32 PM »
G'Day Steve
nice rig, she must have a fair ball weight as its pushing down on the prado.
if you are getting airbags make sure you get the heavy duty units as they are a bit more reliable and last longer(imo).
hope you have many safe trips and am sure the kids will love it. my kids talk more about camping than they do about xmas
here's to great times ahead
Adam

The ball weight wasn't the issue, it was the height of the tow hitch. Once I flipped the tongue the whole thing sat a lot better and towed really well. I have already had Poly-Airs fitted. I haven't towed the camper with them yet but dragged a mates boat to Yamba. Did half of the trip with 10psi and half with 22 or so and the difference was amazing.

This was taken on the way home from Qld the day after we got it. With the tongue inverted it sits a lot better. Also the drive from Brissie back to Newcastle is the furthest the camper has traveled.

Offline Clouty

« Reply #8 on: August 22, 2014, 10:09:56 PM »
Welcome Steve..
Enjoy your stay ;D