Author Topic: Buy Australian WTH?  (Read 6490 times)

Buy Australian WTH?
« on: May 23, 2020, 04:01:10 PM »
Just because it is an Australian Company, it doesn't mean they use 100% Aussie Product.  >:(

Golden Circle is an Aussie company based in Brisbane but look at the label on the back.  :o

Sent from my CPH1879 using Tapatalk

Re: Buy Australian WTH?
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2020, 04:25:29 PM »
What sort of juice?

There's little market in Australia for the 2nd and 3rd grade fruit that is often juiced or canned - in part because of how efficient harvest is now, but also because there is so little margin in it. Still needs picking, still needs grading and still needs transporting (often more urgently than "ripe" or 1st grade fruit)

One of the challenges associated with food waste...

Offline bob65

« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2020, 04:54:36 PM »
Does it have any other reference to Australia on the pack, like an "Australia made" logo or something?

By the way, Golden Circle is foreign owned.

« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2020, 04:59:38 PM »
Does it have any other reference to Australia on the pack, like an "Australia made" logo or something?

By the way, Golden Circle is foreign owned.

What, when did that happen?  :o Dunno if there was anything else about it, as I put it back on the shelf.  >:D

Offline bob65

« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2020, 05:28:56 PM »
A quick google search says that it was bought by Heinz in 2008

« Reply #5 on: May 23, 2020, 07:21:20 PM »
I buy a large can of Beetroot most weeks.......woolies brand made in NZ.....Golden Circle made in NZ....Edgell made in Australia....guess which one is the dearest ? Not always, but generally I buy the Edgell.
But as said, it can sometimes be made in Australia, but not necessarily owned by an Australian company.  So what do you do ??
The following users thanked this post: Rodt

« Reply #6 on: May 23, 2020, 08:25:12 PM »
I buy a large can of Beetroot most weeks.......woolies brand made in NZ.....Golden Circle made in NZ....Edgell made in Australia....guess which one is the dearest ? Not always, but generally I buy the Edgell.
But as said, it can sometimes be made in Australia, but not necessarily owned by an Australian company.  So what do you do ??

Stuffed if I know!  ???

Offline OldPaj

« Reply #7 on: May 23, 2020, 08:58:46 PM »
From about 1992 to about 2008,  I lived in Mill Park, Vic.
My neighbour in the early days, worked at what was then a Daily Juice plant in South Morang. Semi loads of oranges came down from Mildura and were turned into juice. The plant was bought by Golden Circle and continued this practice for a number of years.
Then they started importing (if I remember what the neighbour said correctly) an amount of Brazillian orange juice concentrate, that was rehydrated and mixed with a reduced amount of Australian juice, then eventually there was no Australian juice in it at all.

Unfortuantely, most Australian consumers look at "what is cheapest" not where it is made or which is the healthiest.

Hopefully recent events will jog people to change their focus, but I doubt it.

« Reply #8 on: May 23, 2020, 09:17:37 PM »
From about 1992 to about 2008,  I lived in Mill Park, Vic.
My neighbour in the early days, worked at what was then a Daily Juice plant in South Morang. Semi loads of oranges came down from Mildura and were turned into juice. The plant was bought by Golden Circle and continued this practice for a number of years.
Then they started importing (if I remember what the neighbour said correctly) an amount of Brazillian orange juice concentrate, that was rehydrated and mixed with a reduced amount of Australian juice, then eventually there was no Australian juice in it at all.

Unfortuantely, most Australian consumers look at "what is cheapest" not where it is made or which is the healthiest.

Hopefully recent events will jog people to change their focus, but I doubt it.

This has been a problem from before that period. I was carting the pulp away from the Berry factory at Palmwoods in QLD and noticed 44gal drums of concentrate in the off season. They would use it with the heat treated juice from the season of that year, to keep them supplying through the off season. ;)

I looked at the Berry juice today and there was nothing Australian about it.  >:(

« Reply #9 on: May 23, 2020, 11:13:24 PM »

I looked at the Berry juice today and there was nothing Australian about it.  >:(

Saw a woolies branded orange juice the other day....made in Australia ...100% orange juice !!

« Reply #10 on: May 24, 2020, 08:39:59 AM »
Just checked & Aldi's, both apple & orange, are marked as "Packed in Australia from imported ingredients" :'(

« Reply #11 on: May 24, 2020, 09:57:05 AM »
Saw a woolies branded orange juice the other day....made in Australia ...100% orange juice !!

Really, wow, would like to know who makes it for them?  ???

« Reply #12 on: May 24, 2020, 11:08:29 AM »
Really, wow, would like to know who makes it for them?  ???

bottled overseas LOL

Offline Humphreythebear

« Reply #13 on: May 24, 2020, 11:48:46 AM »
'The Juice Brothers' - from Leeton NSW - 100% product /packaged .

Usually in IGA or Foodworks - haven't seen it Coles or Woolies .............
Outback Sturt , Holden SS Ute and a MTB for the Rough Stuff
The following users thanked this post: A-frame81

« Reply #14 on: May 24, 2020, 12:41:03 PM »
bottled overseas LOL

https://www.woolworths.com.au/shop/productdetails/804347/woolworths-orange-juice-pulp-free

Really got to read all labels. This one is pulp free and 100% juice, but other woolies ones are reconstituted and sourced from overseas.

But at $5 for 2 ltrs, a lot will go for the cheaper stuff.
« Last Edit: May 24, 2020, 12:44:56 PM by gronk »

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #15 on: May 24, 2020, 05:15:31 PM »
Nothing new, that's why the label says 2% aus content which is probably the packaging.
MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
2003 Dingo Offroad Camper Trailer.
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan
1998 Triumph Daytona T595

« Reply #16 on: May 24, 2020, 05:38:09 PM »
Tassie used to be the apple isle and supplied apples to most of Australia, but a fair bit of their market was sending them to the UK for their off season.
Then the UK joined the EU, the market collapsed, trees were bulldozed and you're hard pressed to find a tassie apple outside of Tasmania.

Apple juice is the main ingredient in a lot of 'fruit 'juices as it is sweet, but not over powering in flavour, its used as a base and the concentrated flavours added to it. Some mango fruit drinks are 90% apple juice.

« Reply #17 on: May 24, 2020, 06:21:19 PM »
Tassie used to be the apple isle and supplied apples to most of Australia, but a fair bit of their market was sending them to the UK for their off season.
Then the UK joined the EU, the market collapsed, trees were bulldozed and you're hard pressed to find a tassie apple outside of Tasmania.

Apple juice is the main ingredient in a lot of 'fruit 'juices as it is sweet, but not over powering in flavour, its used as a base and the concentrated flavours added to it. Some mango fruit drinks are 90% apple juice.

In the district I previously lived in, in the Blue Mts it was known as the land of the mountain apple. Many years ago a couple of growers went into apple juice production but not sure it was successful.
These days the growers have got clever and gone into cider production and sales with 2 brewers ( is that what they are call?) up and running producing both alcoholic and non-alcoholic ciders and from afar seem to be doing ok.

« Reply #18 on: May 24, 2020, 06:46:56 PM »
I usually buy pink lady apples every week.....nearly all of them are from Batlow.
Haven't seen a Bilpin apple for ages.

« Reply #19 on: May 25, 2020, 02:13:00 AM »

« Reply #20 on: May 25, 2020, 09:18:09 AM »
Read it and weep, another 10 years and we won't own anything
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-05-23/china-considers-escalating-trade-war-coronavirus-covid19-inquiry/12278672
Just maybe instead of complaining about Chinese interests buying up big, we should be looking at those that are selling up.

Sent from my Moto G (4) using Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: Rodt

« Reply #21 on: May 25, 2020, 09:45:19 AM »
"NIPPYS"

:cup: :cup:
« Last Edit: May 25, 2020, 09:53:49 AM by doc evil »

« Reply #22 on: May 25, 2020, 09:51:39 AM »

Very good point  :cup:.

If these companies are employing local people and they are then helping the Aussie economy I reckon we should be supporting them as much as anyone else.

« Reply #23 on: May 25, 2020, 09:54:40 AM »
Just maybe instead of complaining about Chinese interests buying up big, we should be looking at those that are selling up.

X 2. No-one is forcing the sellers to sell to foreign owned interests. Our own desire to get as much $ as possible when we sell something is the cause (I wouldn't be any different)

« Reply #24 on: May 25, 2020, 10:03:04 AM »
we all go round in a circle - we cant compete on wages, and the chows have the money to buy it all - they out bid others.