Author Topic: What Moron ???  (Read 13000 times)

Re: What Moron ???
« Reply #50 on: August 16, 2019, 04:02:53 PM »
Reversing out into traffic is awesome.
What sort of moron would want to drive straight out of a parking bay when you can have heaps of fun reversing out from here and playing delivery van roulette..... ::)

What Moron [emoji47]
« Reply #51 on: August 16, 2019, 04:45:29 PM »
So just how do you indicate that you're going to park ?Left turn, but going backwardsRight turn, but going backwards to the left
Or hazard lights and do whatever you feel like   :angel: ( which seems to cover most of the locals )

Let the brake lights and reverse lights do their job... and alert those behind that you are backing up...

Last time I checked, most (if not all) reverse parking like you are talking about doesn’t have reverse parking options on both sides of the road...

So the indicators become secondary in this case... you should use one (indicating left), but if the brake lights and reverse lights don’t alert those behind you, then I doubt an indicator will...

Not rocket science...

« Last Edit: August 16, 2019, 05:14:03 PM by paceman »

« Reply #52 on: August 17, 2019, 10:30:46 AM »
My two bobs worth.
Nose in parking is for brain dead numties.
See it alot, when it comes to leaving they just reverse out into the lane, sometimes across the street and don't give af what traffic is coming.
I thought it was an offense to pull out into traffic without giving way?
Doesn't't seem to stop them tho.

Sent from my SM-A205YN using Tapatalk

« Reply #53 on: August 17, 2019, 11:50:05 AM »
^^^ Then you get the clowns that couldn't guide a car between two white lines or work out what 45* angle park nose in .. Same goes for 45* angle reverse park actualy means to save their lives ..
Somehow they end up at a shallower angle with the nose or rear over the line closest to the gutter and the same at the road end .
Some people shouldnt be allowed to steer a car ...

« Reply #54 on: August 17, 2019, 11:54:40 AM »

Some people shouldnt be allowed to steer a car ...
Or bred.

« Reply #55 on: August 17, 2019, 12:23:19 PM »
Or bred.

or breed... ;D

« Reply #56 on: August 17, 2019, 12:28:37 PM »
or breed... ;D

Sent from my SM-P585Y using Tapatalk

« Reply #57 on: August 17, 2019, 12:50:37 PM »
Bugga, I thought the lines were just a rough guide and not strictly how to park  ::)

« Reply #58 on: August 17, 2019, 12:59:38 PM »
Haven't seen any streets with front in or back in parking for a long time around here. Only time you get it is in the Bunnings carpark, and then it's any way you want to !!

Offline Brij

« Reply #59 on: August 17, 2019, 02:06:14 PM »
I rate 45 reverse in parking highly.
  • Over shoot the slot
  • back in and park
  • having the steering wheels at the front gives makes it so much easier to park the long wheelbase ute
  • When its time to leave; Look out the drivers window, find a gap in the traffic and drive out
WIN.

45 deg drive in on the other hand.... >:(
I visit my sister in Narribri and its nose in 45 down the main street.
  • See a park and drive in... (the only advantage)
  • Go to leave, so try to look out the left rear window
  • but you can't see past the kids head in the back seat
  • get the kid to duck down, but now its the rear pillar of the vehicle
  • strain your neck trying to see past the pillar
  • now you can't see past Felicity's (blond haired farmers wife with the cane shopping basket, you've all see one) Prado/Pajero/Landcruiser that has parked next to you while you were fighting over the view
  • cross your fingers and back out and hope that Darren in the B&S ute that is probably cutting laps of Maitland St will stop in time
  • while avoiding getting hit from behind you aren't paying attention to the front corner and nearly clean up the back corner of the ute next to you or someone running across the road before Darren completes his hot lap

45 or 90 degree reverse to curb any day of the week.

So you can see out the left side and rear good enough to reverse to the left at a prescriptive angle between two white lines and dodging what ever pedestrians might of walked in to the spot whilst you were about to reverse in,  but you can't reverse out of a nose in park into a 3 or 4m wide lane?

Wow.

I thought front in parking was a piece of cake. See spot, drive in. Can see all that you need to see out of the big bit of glass in front of the driving position.

Time to go? Select reverse. Look over left shoulder, or shop windows if you can't see anything over left shoulder because of the vehicle to your left, or because you are in van or whatever. When nothing coming reverse out at whatever angle you want, for as far as you need. No precision needed at all.

Learnt to nose in angle park when on my "P"s driving a 8t service truck that barely fitted in a parking bay. Didn't have an issue then. Don't have an issue now. Can't see what is so hard ???

NX Pajero
NJ Pajero (semi retired  to firewood harvesting duties)
Home made camper

« Reply #60 on: August 17, 2019, 03:37:21 PM »
So you can see out the left side and rear good enough to reverse to the left at a prescriptive angle between two white lines and dodging what ever pedestrians might of walked in to the spot whilst you were about to reverse in,  but you can't reverse out of a nose in park into a 3 or 4m wide lane?

Wow.

I thought front in parking was a piece of cake. See spot, drive in. Can see all that you need to see out of the big bit of glass in front of the driving position.

Time to go? Select reverse. Look over left shoulder, or shop windows if you can't see anything over left shoulder because of the vehicle to your left, or because you are in van or whatever. When nothing coming reverse out at whatever angle you want, for as far as you need. No precision needed at all.

Learnt to nose in angle park when on my "P"s driving a 8t service truck that barely fitted in a parking bay. Didn't have an issue then. Don't have an issue now. Can't see what is so hard ???

We have a winner   :cup: :cheers: :cup: :cheers: :cup: :cheers:

« Reply #61 on: August 17, 2019, 03:47:10 PM »
The problem is 9/10 motorists that nose park, Don't give a ratz arse when they reverse out.
Just come to Yamba in Holiday season when the Mexicans and Canes Toads invade the town. So glad I don't do work there now.

« Reply #62 on: August 17, 2019, 04:08:54 PM »
Time to go? Select reverse. Look over left shoulder, or shop windows if you can't see anything over left shoulder because of the vehicle to your left.

The tally of cars that nearly cleaned me up reversing out of that bay yesterday was, 2 x land cruisers, 1 Patrol, a school bus and a Honda.

I reverse into nearly every bay these days, Bunnings, airport parking, school.
It’s really not that hard... Seriously....

« Reply #63 on: August 17, 2019, 04:11:19 PM »

You said it mate.
'Cheers'

« Reply #64 on: August 17, 2019, 04:11:50 PM »
The tally of cars that nearly cleaned me up reversing out of that bay yesterday was, 2 x land cruisers, 1 Patrol, a school bus and a Honda.

I reverse into nearly every bay these days, Bunnings, airport parking, school.

Have you tried legs lately  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #65 on: August 17, 2019, 04:30:13 PM »
It’s been a bit like that lately.... ;)

« Reply #66 on: August 18, 2019, 07:10:46 AM »
Reverse parking, traffic gives way to you.
Reversing out - you give way to traffic and often can’t see anything.
Not hard to work out.
I lived through Toowoomba in the 80’s/90’s with traffic jams daily directly attributed to the time it takes to blindly reverse out into traffic.

« Reply #67 on: August 20, 2019, 05:11:54 AM »
Just in case you were in doubt tho   ;D pics taken of me by Tim Stratford
So you got an action man doll of ya self

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

« Reply #68 on: August 21, 2019, 02:13:16 PM »
And just to prove my point about morons this was sighted this morning just north of Newcastle NSW  FFS  ( they really do breed them different up here )

« Reply #69 on: August 21, 2019, 02:15:08 PM »
Playing with photoshop again..... we're onto ya.

« Reply #70 on: August 21, 2019, 02:15:24 PM »
And just to prove my point about morons this was sighted this morning just north of Newcastle NSW  FFS  ( they really do breed them different up here )
Well that ain't acute sign

« Reply #71 on: August 21, 2019, 02:18:15 PM »
Playing with photoshop again..... we're onto ya.
http://www5.austlii.edu.au/au/legis/nsw/repealed_reg/arr210/s210.html

(4) If information on or with the parking control sign or road marking indicates that the vehicle must be positioned at an angle of 135°, the driver must position the driver's vehicle:

(a) so the vehicle is at an angle as near as practicable to 135°, as shown in example 5 or 6, and

(b) if the vehicle is parked on the side of the road--with the front of the vehicle nearest to traffic in the marked lane or line of traffic next to the part of the road where the driver parks.

« Reply #72 on: August 21, 2019, 06:16:09 PM »
Well that ain't acute sign

Bit obtuse for you ?

What Moron [emoji47]
« Reply #73 on: August 21, 2019, 06:40:39 PM »
Makes perfect sense to me... when you reverse into the park, the angle between the footpath and the driver side of the car should make an angle of 135 degrees - assuming the park is on the left, which most are.

« Last Edit: August 21, 2019, 06:43:01 PM by rockrat »

« Reply #74 on: August 21, 2019, 06:49:38 PM »
Makes perfect sense to me... when you reverse into the park, the angle between the footpath and the driver side of the car should make an angle of 135 degrees - assuming the park is on the left, which most are.

So tomorrow I have to get a protractor ?