General => General Discussion => Topic started by: speewa158 on November 14, 2018, 06:27:32 AM

Title: Bunnings Sausage Sizzel
Post by: speewa158 on November 14, 2018, 06:27:32 AM
Whats with the Humble Bummblings Sausage Sizzel  Now they are trying to tell us just where the onions should be placed . Bread , onions , Snag  & not the other way around . The onions if dropped on the floor could be a slip hazard .
l could go on but you get the drift , Its Un Australian  , Your thoughts  >:D
Title: Re: Bunnings Sausage Sizzel
Post by: Rumpig on November 14, 2018, 06:41:35 AM
It’s a sad litigious world we live in now isn’t it. Can’t have people looking where they walk, they’re to busy looking at social media on thier phones instead.
Post by: Spada on November 14, 2018, 07:15:07 AM
Yep, thats right.

AND, before you can apply to go in the draw to run one, you have to attend their "information evening" where a green apron girl spends 2 hours explaining the way everything must be done (call it a site induction I suppose?). Our local bunnings has 2 draws per year, and your organisation must be pre-registered and have attended the info session prior to each draw being conducted or you will not be eligible, and then your name may not even be picked. Mind you, it's worth about $2k in sausage & drink sales if you can get a Saturday BBQ, so worth jumping through a few hoops.

Sadly, in this day and age, if someone went kettle up on a sausage, they'll probably sue both bunnings and the bbq charity  >:( which is probably why your charity needs to provide evidence to bunnings that you have $20m public liability cover as part of the application process.
Post by: Bigfish on November 14, 2018, 07:21:08 AM
The more I read the news and see Shit on the internet the more I am convinced that the vast majority of people born after 1970 have severe brain deficiencies.. >:D
Post by: plusnq on November 14, 2018, 07:46:21 AM
The more I read the news and see Shit on the internet the more I am convinced that the vast majority of people born after 1970 have severe brain deficiencies.. >:D

Well if shtf you won’t have to worry about them as they will have injured themselves on a small piece of onion. 😂😂😂
Post by: Hoyks on November 14, 2018, 08:02:39 AM
Well, you are essentially a subcontractor operating in their workplace, so a site induction is required under the Work Health and Safety Act 2011.

Yeah, in most situations it is totally over the top, but, In my job I got given the job of Hazchem Manager (gee, thanks ???), so get to go to all the safety meetings and see the incident investigations. I have since learnt to never underestimate the ability of highly experienced and smart people to do stupid things (usually in the hope of saving 5 minutes but adding days and $$ to the process), or for a simple task to go pear shaped and injure someone.

With the way the workplace laws are for workers and contractors and the So Far as Reasonably Practical approach to minimizing risk, I'm surprised you can go to Bunning's to buy anything and not have to don safety glasses, steel caps and high vis. Cars, trucks, forklifts and pedestrians all in a shared zone, hazchem and dangerous goods on random shelves throughout the store. Must be a fun job for the safety guy.
Post by: #jonesy on November 14, 2018, 04:27:45 PM
It was only put as a "suggestion" and does make sense.
Apart from that I prefer the onion on the bottom, cause it doesn't fall off taking the sauce with it.
Post by: Hoyks on November 14, 2018, 04:35:15 PM
Mine don't last long enough to suffer onion slippage.
Post by: rossm on November 14, 2018, 04:47:28 PM
Based on my last  experience, a few years ago, the sausage itself probably was more dangerous than any slippery onion ring.

Post by: rossm on November 14, 2018, 05:18:51 PM
Well, you are essentially a subcontractor operating in their workplace, so a site induction is required under the Work Health and Safety Act 2011.

Yeah, in most situations it is totally over the top, but, In my job I got given the job of Hazchem Manager (gee, thanks ???), so get to go to all the safety meetings and see the incident investigations. I have since learnt to never underestimate the ability of highly experienced and smart people to do stupid things (usually in the hope of saving 5 minutes but adding days and $$ to the process), or for a simple task to go pear shaped and injure someone.

With the way the workplace laws are for workers and contractors and the So Far as Reasonably Practical approach to minimizing risk, I'm surprised you can go to Bunning's to buy anything and not have to don safety glasses, steel caps and high vis. Cars, trucks, forklifts and pedestrians all in a shared zone, hazchem and dangerous goods on random shelves throughout the store. Must be a fun job for the safety guy.

I sent your comment to my son who works for a small outfit supplying stuff to the oil and gas industry.

Here is his reply

“We are supposed to have a safety data sheet for everything in the warehouse.  Even just general cleaning supplies under the sink because it could be a hazardous chemical and we are a commercial premises.  Everything we import we get an SDS/GHS (Global Harmonized System) and are required to supply that to the transporter, the client anyone and any tom dick or harry who asks for it.  Yet as the guy says there is no obligation on retailers to supply these to customers.  I could walk in and pick up a thing of drain cleaner and eat it.

There are alot of exemptions for business that operate in a retail environment.  I bet all the chemical companies that supply bunnings and the like have to jump through many regulatory hoops with endless risk analysis and  paperwork to get products delivered onto the site.  Then bunnings go and stick the chlorine and the acid next to each other on the shelf.“

And watch out for slippery onions
Post by: Hoyks on November 14, 2018, 05:56:19 PM
I'm sure they have all the paperwork available on request, but I'm also sure they overly rely on a rubbery interpretation of this consumer product clause of the legislation:

Hazardous chemical label not required

In general a label is required for any hazardous chemical used in the workplace, however there are some that don’t need workplace labelling under the model WHS Regulations.

Consumer products

A hazardous chemical doesn’t need to comply with the labelling requirements of the model WHS Regulations if it’s a consumer product with the original label on its container, and it’s foreseeable it will be used in the workplace in:

a quantity that is consistent with consumer household use
    a way that is consistent with consumer household use
    a way that is incidental to the nature of the work carried out by a worker using the chemical.
https://www.safeworkaustralia.gov.au/labelling

And it causes no end of confusion. A bottle of spray and wipe under the kitchen sink to occasionally wipe the desk is fine, but on the cleaners cart has to have GHS labeling and an SDS available.

No mention of safe handling of meat products nor caramelized bulb vegetables in the legislation either.
Post by: alnjan on November 14, 2018, 06:39:22 PM
Still a sausage sanga regardless how it's made, just like a burger. 
Post by: briann532 on November 14, 2018, 07:10:15 PM
Don't get your knickers in a knot over it, wait till they make them Vegan snags, then you can go troppo ;D
Can't have pork either cos it offend you know who!!!
Perhaps they may not even allow snags soon as they have a gender specific identity!!!

::) ::) ::)
Post by: rags on November 14, 2018, 07:19:30 PM
So I can't have a sausage with onion on top but I still can walk onsite into a Bunnings store wearing thongs, enter the tool department and pick up a chisel and accidentally drop it on to my foot.
I can also go pick up a ? Shelving system weighing 40 kg with no manual handling  assistance.

If Bunnings were serious about WHS then we should be wearing capped boots, safety glasses and gloves but we know WHS has a cost attached to it but that would be a cost too much and they would lose revenue from reduced patronage.
Post by: gronk on November 14, 2018, 07:23:08 PM

Perhaps they may not even allow snags soon as they have a gender specific identity!!!

::) ::) ::)

Maybe the snag will identify itself as a rissole, so they will have to change the name to Saturday morning gender neutral cooked food extravaganza !!   ;D
Post by: Hoyks on November 14, 2018, 07:23:47 PM
Yep.

Safety is our No. 1 priority..... well, it's probably somewhere in the top 5.
Post by: speewa158 on November 14, 2018, 07:49:50 PM
Sooooo lf l eat a Snaginabag with onions  at Bummblings & chuk a Hearter in the carpark , whom  cops the blame     ??? ???
Should it be somebody connected with a HUGE Hardware Chain  via the carpark sausage sizzle with misplaced onions   .   ??? ??? ???
WTF is the world coming to       ??? ??? ??? ???
Should we take our legal team to Bummblings as we should cover ourselves when we want to get screws  . Are ou with me ,,,,,,,,,,not to mention food additives on the floor .

???
Post by: MDS69 on November 14, 2018, 08:28:55 PM
I don’t see the big deal. Sometimes I put my sauce on the bread first and sometimes I put it on the sausage after it is in the bread. Same with the onion. Depends on where the congestion is during the assembly.
Post by: Bird on November 14, 2018, 09:47:36 PM
I believe you also have to use Bunnings supplied snags? Just incase theres peanuts and egg, and food and flavour in them :(
Post by: Troopy_03 on November 15, 2018, 03:48:35 AM
I believe you also have to use Bunnings supplied snags? Just incase theres peanuts and egg, and food and flavour in them :(

Nope, snags, bread, onions, condiments and bread are to be supplied by the fundraising body.
Post by: GeoffA on November 15, 2018, 06:20:57 AM
Nope, snags, bread, onions, condiments and bread are to be supplied by the fundraising body.

....but purchased from Bunnings approved suppliers?
Post by: kylarama on November 15, 2018, 06:28:22 AM
After 1953 perhaps?

65 year old QLD farmer compensated for emotional stress.

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2018-11-14/farmer-applauds-bunnings-onion-advice-after-slip/10496568

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on November 15, 2018, 06:40:17 AM
I don't eat onions, friggin hate the things, make me sick 7 different ways to Sunday.

So, i now feel, because i'm in the minority, i'm being discriminated against for my onion allergy.

So, to prove a point, I went to Bunnings yesterday and asked for my sausage to be handled and placed in a different order.
Well, didn't that cause an uproar.

I insisted, because i'm exempt from the onion thing, I wanted them to put the bread on top and the sausage below. (because its my right)

I ended up with burnt fingers, as the sausage was too hot.
The margarine was at an abnormal temperature, so it was melting and dripping on my toes and thongs.
My sausage fell out in plain view of everyone, dropped on the ground and as I stepped forward, it impacted with my foot.
I ended up kicking the sausage as I stepped forward and it shot across the car park and was about to roll down a drain.

NOOOOOO, I screamed, as my pork (Fukk 'em) $2.00 snag slipped through the grate and landed with a splash in the stagnant water in the drain.

I put my bread down near the drain, hoisted the steel grate up and fished out my snag.
During this, some cocksmoker in a Volvo, nearly hit me, swerving at the last minute and luckily, he did miss me, but he did run over my bread.

I scrapped my Volvo flattened bread up and put my wiped down sausage back in it. It was still covered in some green stuff, but it wouldn't wipe off.
It was truly a very sad sight and you know what, you can't hardly eat 'em after all that. 
Post by: edz on November 15, 2018, 07:51:05 AM
This would have to be one of the smartest Free Advertising campaigns going .. Sales are a bit slow Sooo ...
 Create an uproar over a trivial thing and everyone jumps on the social media yapping about **** at Bummings ... Then the idiot box mob get a sniff of something as big as a pimple on a babies bum to turn into Mount Vesuvius on a slow news day  ..
 PRESTO  "  FREE NATIONAL  MEDIA ADVERTISING " everyone is talking about Bummings ..  ;D ;D  SUCKERS  !

Then get some DOPEY SPLORE FOOTED farmer hick that hasnt got enough brains to watch / know where he's walking,  to say " It was meeee,  I slipped on an ungin from Bummings "  .. To authenticate it .
Post by: Spada on November 15, 2018, 08:04:14 AM

They "encourage" you to purchase from Coles (also owned by Wesfarmers), but dont specify it.
Post by: terravista on November 15, 2018, 08:57:48 AM

The margarine was at an abnormal temperature, so it was melting and dripping on my toes and thongs.

I haven't been to a Bunnings snag shop that has margarine yet. Who do I sue for this failure to supply extra grease?
Post by: alnjan on November 15, 2018, 09:33:23 AM
I don't eat onions, friggin hate the things, make me sick 7 different ways to Sunday.

So, i now feel, because i'm in the minority, i'm being discriminated against for my onion allergy.

So, to prove a point, I went to Bunnings yesterday and asked for my sausage to be handled and placed in a different order.
Well, didn't that cause an uproar.

I insisted, because i'm exempt from the onion thing, I wanted them to put the bread on top and the sausage below. (because its my right)

I ended up with burnt fingers, as the sausage was too hot.
My sausage fell out in plain view of everyone, dropped on the ground and as I stepped forward, it impacted with my foot.
I ended up kicking the sausage as I stepped forward and it shot across the car park and was about to roll down a drain.

NOOOOOO, I screamed, as my pork (Fukk 'em) $2.00 snag slipped through the grate and landed with a splash in the stagnant water in the drain.

I put my bread down near the drain, hoisted the steel grate up and fished out my snag.
During this, some cocksmoker in a Volvo, nearly hit me, swerving at the last minute and luckily, he did miss me, but he did run over my bread.

I scrapped my Volvo flattened bread up and put my wiped down sausage back in it. It was still covered in some green stuff, but it wouldn't wipe off.
It was truly a very sad sight and you know what, you can't hardly eat 'em after all that.

Your not alone, the Brides allergic to them too. 
Post by: Rumpig on November 15, 2018, 12:08:01 PM
This would have to be one of the smartest Free Advertising campaigns going .. Sales are a bit slow Sooo ...
 Create an uproar over a trivial thing and everyone jumps on the social media yapping about **** at Bummings ... Then the idiot box mob get a sniff of something as big as a pimple on a babies bum to turn into Mount Vesuvius on a slow news day  ..
 PRESTO  "  FREE NATIONAL  MEDIA ADVERTISING " everyone is talking about Bummings ..  ;D ;D  SUCKERS  !

Then get some DOPEY SPLORE FOOTED farmer hick that hasnt got enough brains to watch / know where he's walking,  to say " It was meeee,  I slipped on an ungin from Bummings "  .. To authenticate it .
dunno about good advertising....hearing about such a stupid policy would make me avoid a business, not go there
Post by: speewa158 on November 16, 2018, 06:34:43 AM
dunno about good advertising....hearing about such a stupid policy would make me avoid a business, not go there
But    ,   But ,,, if you don't go to Bummblings where would you go  ??? ??? :-*
Post by: Spada on November 16, 2018, 11:16:13 AM
bunnings now require appropriate footwear to be worn by customers......

Post by: Rumpig on November 16, 2018, 11:59:41 AM
But    ,   But ,,, if you don't go to Bummblings where would you go  ??? ??? :-*
For timber....Bretts, Mitre 10, Paddington Hardware, Finlaysons, Langs Timber etc etc.....or if I want plumbing and electrical stuff I go th actual plumbing and electrical wholesalers that sell stuff at nearly half the price Bunnings do....or if I want tools I go to Trade Tools, Total Tools, or by from an online store that is down the Gold Coast that delivers to my door heaps cheaper then a bricks and mortar store can / chooses to sell at.
Post by: gronk on November 16, 2018, 01:39:51 PM
For timber....Bretts, Mitre 10, Paddington Hardware, Finlaysons, Langs Timber etc etc.....or if I want plumbing and electrical stuff I go th actual plumbing and electrical wholesalers that sell stuff at nearly half the price Bunnings do....or if I want tools I go to Trade Tools, Total Tools, or by from an online store that is down the Gold Coast that delivers to my door heaps cheaper then a bricks and mortar store can / chooses to sell at.

OK if you have the convenience of those other stores. Many people don't, especially since the days when Bunnings squeezed a fair few out of many towns.
When you want/need that little thing of a Sunday morning, 1/2 way thru a job......then you drag yourself down to the place and pay thru the nose !!   :'( :'(
Post by: BaseCamp on November 16, 2018, 03:55:10 PM
Whilst on the topic of OH&S "gone mad" - in his latest video; Luke from Drifta said OH&S inspectors just went through his factory from top to botton, and caused a shxt load of trouble ...

He said they seem to want to see him closed down and gone...

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Post by: Rumpig on November 16, 2018, 06:20:37 PM
OK if you have the convenience of those other stores. Many people don't, especially since the days when Bunnings squeezed a fair few out of many towns.
When you want/need that little thing of a Sunday morning, 1/2 way thru a job......then you drag yourself down to the place and pay thru the nose !!   :'( :'(
i never said everyone has that many choices, i just answered the question i was asked. We actually have heaps more stores than those to choose from here in Brisbane, yet so many people still flock to Bunnings...obviously they are happy to pay whatever just for the convenience of getting stuff at one location. My in-laws used to live in Gympie, before Bunnings arrived there they used to complain about the prices the local hardware chain charged the captive market it had, they were itching for the day Bunnings came to thier town, and when it did that's where they went....they were more then happy to stay away from the local guy in town who was there before Bunnings arrival.
Post by: gronk on November 16, 2018, 06:45:47 PM
My in-laws used to live in Gympie, before Bunnings arrived there they used to complain about the prices the local hardware chain charged the captive market it had, they were itching for the day Bunnings came to thier town, and when it did that's where they went....they were more then happy to stay away from the local guy in town who was there before Bunnings arrival.

I found that like Coles and Woolies did, they drove down prices, cornered the market and then put the prices back up....just like Bunnings.

I miss the small Mitre 10 store...you could actually buy a handful of nails...or rivets....and sometimes they stocked the not so normal stuff that you can never find at Bunnings.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on November 17, 2018, 06:02:45 AM
We use the Mitre 10 in Lowood. Smallish hardware, but with "most things" I'll ever need.

I was in Repco Gatton the other day and asked where the hardware store was and got told we didn't have one.  ???

Getting to buy everything in one place these days is a huge benefit.
A few months ago, I was chasing some particular springs I needed to repair a Mini front seat.
Went to Bunnings, they had 4 of what I needed out of 16.
The young bloke said, go to XYZ bolts and fasteners, they'll have them and be cheaper.
Left Bunnings Gympie to the north part of town.
Didn't have any of them, but told to try ABC Bolts and Bits.
Had nothing, so back to the southern end of town to Mitre 10 and they had 2.
I ended up back at Bunnings, talking to the same guy and ended up buying much longer springs to bring home and shorten to do the job.

Pain in the arse, should've just stayed at Bunnings in the first place
The convenience of everything under one roof is a massive bonus.

As Rumpig was talking about loyalty, in Tin Can Bay, there is one servo and he holds everyone to ransom with fuel prices etc.
If Woolies ever open a servo as they've planned, the Tin Can outlet will piss and moan for ever and a day about no loyalty, I guarantee it. 
If the dickhead realized, most people fuel up at Goomborian on the way to or from Gympie, he'd be a bit smarter, you would think.
Then again, maybe not..... 
Post by: boobook on November 17, 2018, 06:35:12 AM
They "encourage" you to purchase from Coles (also owned by Wesfarmers), but dont specify it.

Not necessarily.

We did a sausage sizzle at Bunnings Hawthorne ( vic) they advised that we talk to Bakers delight and Rainbow meats in Camberwell. Both offered free products. Rainbow even rang up at 2PM asking how we're going for sausages and brought down another big bag for us. I happily use and give free plugs for Rainbow now.
Post by: Pete79 on November 19, 2018, 02:09:30 PM
I miss the small Mitre 10 store...you could actually buy a handful of nails...or rivets....and sometimes they stocked the not so normal stuff that you can never find at Bunnings.

My local Mitre 10 store is for emergencies only these days.

I went through a period of specifically shopping local with everything I possibly could. Had a decent sized project (decent sized for me anyway) and after shopping around I decided I’d stick with my local hardware store.

He quoted me 4 out of the 5 things I needed and assured me he’d “look after” me with the one piece that he had to order in.
I told him the plumbing store 10 minutes away had that missing piece in stock and it was only worth $80. Again he assured me he’d look after me and it was good that I “keep it local”.

So everything except the one piece that had to get ordered in gets delivered on time. The next day we’re standing there with a big empty hole in the ground, I’m paying for machines and operators doing nothing when finally that last piece finally arrives.
I ask how much, he says come into the shop tomorrow and we’ll work something out.

So the next day I find out that “keeping it local” and “looking after me” means he wants to sting me 3 times the price I could have got the missing piece from the guy down the road.
Then to top it off he says he made a mistake with the other bits he quoted me and they where almost double the price he gave me verbally only a couple of days earlier.

All up I got ripped a few $100.
I hope he made a nice profit out of that one job, because now I only walk in the door for small emergencies, anything worth $5 or more and I drive 20 minutes to get it from Bunnings.

It’s handy having a Mitre 10 around the corner, but they’ve ripped me off 1 too many times now.
Post by: aussie9 on November 19, 2018, 04:38:01 PM
We use the Mitre 10 in Lowood. Smallish hardware, but with "most things" I'll ever need.

I was in Repco Gatton the other day and asked where the hardware store was and got told we didn't have one.  ???

Getting to buy everything in one place these days is a huge benefit.
A few months ago, I was chasing some particular springs I needed to repair a Mini front seat.
Went to Bunnings, they had 4 of what I needed out of 16.
The young bloke said, go to XYZ bolts and fasteners, they'll have them and be cheaper.
Left Bunnings Gympie to the north part of town.
Didn't have any of them, but told to try ABC Bolts and Bits.
Had nothing, so back to the southern end of town to Mitre 10 and they had 2.
I ended up back at Bunnings, talking to the same guy and ended up buying much longer springs to bring home and shorten to do the job.

Pain in the arse, should've just stayed at Bunnings in the first place
The convenience of everything under one roof is a massive bonus.

As Rumpig was talking about loyalty, in Tin Can Bay, there is one servo and he holds everyone to ransom with fuel prices etc.
If Woolies ever open a servo as they've planned, the Tin Can outlet will piss and moan for ever and a day about no loyalty, I guarantee it. 
If the dickhead realized, most people fuel up at Goomborian on the way to or from Gympie, he'd be a bit smarter, you would think.
Then again, maybe not.....
Drive another 11klm to Fernvale Produce Mitre 10…….....
I actually manage the hardware and rural side of things
We match Bunnings but are generally cheaper anyway

Sent from my Moto G (5) using Tapatalk

Post by: briann532 on November 19, 2018, 06:44:48 PM
I'm a tradie and I shop at Bumblings and I love it.....

It's great for those quick cheap thing you need quickly, but if you want quality I always head to a "real" hardware store.
Curtain rods- Bunnings, garden hose - Bunnings, bit of rope or a door handle - Bunnings.
Tools- Mitre 10 or Tool shop, drill bits - Mitre 10 or Tool shop, paint - Mitre 10.
Flower pot or sausage sanger - Bunnings.
Timber - Mitre 10.

Horses for courses really.
Maccas is absolute crap which I sincerely believe should not be allowed to be called food.
Do I buy it. Yeah of course I do. Kids in the car for last 2 hours heading back from the farm hungry and tired. Stop at Maccas.
Would I go there for dinner? Yeah right, not without a freaking labotomy.
Bumblings has its purpose, but as per previous posts it's a shame the small guy gets driven out.
Service beats price anyday.
My business thrives on service and companies like Bumblings make it hard.

Still, burnt onion and a snag with dead horse is awesome after Saturday sport.  ;D

Post by: Rumpig on November 19, 2018, 07:46:27 PM
Misses showed me this from Facebook the other day......

ODE TO A BUNNINGS ONION

I am a Bunning’s onion

My life was once quite grand,

I’d get to look at everything

As you held me in your hand.

Looking out the drivers window

Or at the people you would greet,

All these scenes unfolded

Up upon my sausage seat.

Sometimes I would be blinded

Smothered by that sauce so red,

Or a squeeze of yellow mustard

Soaked up by the fresh white bread.

But now my life’s just not as good

As it used to be,

For my view is now constricted

By the snag on top of me.

And why you ask have things so changed,

Why did my status drop?

It’s all because some Gympie bloke

Trod on me and went flop!

So I’ll fade into obscurity

Underneath some dodgy meat,

Now that Bunning’s changed the way

We eat our weekend treat.

So please do not forget me

Now I’m down out of the way,

And now and then lift up that snag

And smile and say G’day!

I’ll still be just as tasty

Cooked so caramel and rich,

I’m just not as important

Since becoming Bunning’s B#tch!

Post by: plusnq on November 19, 2018, 07:56:21 PM
 :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: MarkGU on November 26, 2018, 12:59:26 PM
Problem solved  8)
(https://i86.photobucket.com/albums/k81/MarkGU/Capture_zpstywfofzw.png) (https://s86.photobucket.com/user/MarkGU/media/Capture_zpstywfofzw.png.html)

Post by: Bird on November 26, 2018, 08:31:07 PM
Problem solved  8)
(https://i86.photobucket.com/albums/k81/MarkGU/Capture_zpstywfofzw.png) (https://s86.photobucket.com/user/MarkGU/media/Capture_zpstywfofzw.png.html)

if only you got that much onion :(
Post by: speewa158 on November 26, 2018, 08:35:33 PM
if only you got that much onion :(
Depends on the length of your snag l suppose      :-*                 :cheers:
Post by: Bird on November 26, 2018, 08:55:40 PM
Depends on the length of your snag l suppose      :-*                 :cheers:
you promised you wouldnt tell :(
Post by: speewa158 on November 26, 2018, 08:57:29 PM
you promised you wouldnt tell :(
Can we be sure that we are looking at Onion Rings ,,,,,, on or off the said Snag  ??? ???                         :cheers:
Post by: Bird on November 26, 2018, 09:06:53 PM
Quote from: speewa158
Can we be sure that we are looking at Onion Rings ,,,,,, on or off the said Snag  ??? ???                         :cheers:
Fi said you was a kinky old sod.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on November 27, 2018, 06:07:29 AM

Donkey foreskins perhaps.
Post by: Bigfish on November 27, 2018, 07:37:04 AM
Whilst on the topic of OH&S "gone mad" - in his latest video; Luke from Drifta said OH&S inspectors just went through his factory from top to botton, and caused a shxt load of trouble ...

He said they seem to want to see him closed down and gone...

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Would be interesting to see what the concerns were..
Post by: Fizzie on November 27, 2018, 09:09:55 AM
& inspectors from where ???

As the boss, it would usually be up to him to arrange a WH&S inspection, wouldn't it ???
Post by: kylarama on November 27, 2018, 11:52:11 AM
Could have been Worksafe inspectors?  Although they generally only cause 'trouble'  when they find major safety issues. Or previous minor non-conformance notices not delt with.

Post by: Kangaron on November 27, 2018, 12:10:53 PM

As the boss, it would usually be up to him to arrange a WH&S inspection, wouldn't it ???

It wouldn't be much of an inspection with prior warning, and time to rights wrongs.
Post by: chester ver2.0 on November 27, 2018, 12:23:20 PM

It would have been from Worksafe ... being the state regulator normally for one of the following reasons
Previous Prohibition or Improvement notice not acted upon.
A reportable injury
Substantiated complaint from employee or member of public
A request from union or WHS rep (in consultation with management)
A Blitz on the geographical area of industry due to increased injury rates

Post by: Fizzie on November 28, 2018, 08:04:11 AM
It would have been from Worksafe ... being the state regulator normally for one of the following reasons
Previous Prohibition or Improvement notice not acted upon.
A reportable injury
Substantiated complaint from employee or member of public
A request from union or WHS rep (in consultation with management)
A Blitz on the geographical area of industry due to increased injury rates

Thanks Chester (& others) - that's sort of what I was trying to get at.

If things had happened or there were problems with a pretty high profile operation like Drifta, you'd think that people would have heard about it ???

There have been quite a few comments on here from people who have had a walk-through the factory & they've all said it was shiny clean & a fantastic operation ???
Post by: #jonesy on November 29, 2018, 02:15:42 PM
Could be just lots of little things, which usually pisses people off.
Manditory signs missing or outdated. 
New kettle that isn't tagged.
Something that was left In a walkway.
Heavy things stored up too high.
Something broken.
Post by: macca on November 29, 2018, 03:09:09 PM
Could be just lots of little things, which usually pisses people off.
Manditory signs missing or outdated. 
New kettle that isn't tagged.
Something that was left In a walkway.
Heavy things stored up too high.
Something broken.
They wouldn't be trying to "close him down" for little things like that. Contrary to popular belief they are not trying to close businesses down, they are trying to make them safe. If they are trying to close Luke down then I suspect there is more to the story

Post by: edz on November 29, 2018, 03:49:24 PM
Survived an encounter at Bunnings Grafton sausage sizzle today, Was well protected in and around the area with high grip concrete and plenty of open spaces so those vicious bits of onion couldnt sneak out of their hidey holes  and slide easily under foot to bring you undone.  ;D
Post by: Pottsy on November 29, 2018, 04:07:10 PM
Survived an encounter at Bunnings Grafton sausage sizzle today, Was well protected in and around the area with high grip concrete and plenty of open spaces so those vicious bits of onion couldnt sneak out of their hidey holes  and slide easily under foot to bring you undone.  ;D

Did ya have your hi Viz vest on? ;D
Post by: Bird on November 29, 2018, 04:25:23 PM
Did ya have your hi Viz vest on? ;D
and full leathers and helmet
http://www.kuShitanimobileshop.com/categories/Suits/ (http://www.kuShitanimobileshop.com/categories/Suits/)
Post by: Fizzie on November 30, 2018, 06:51:56 AM
Survived an encounter at Bunnings Grafton sausage sizzle today,

What, Tweed was so dangerous that you had to go all the way to Grafton just to buy a sausage ??? :o
Post by: edz on November 30, 2018, 07:08:03 AM
 ;D ;D ;D   Reckon the saturday snag sanga would be safe enough at Tweed, The friggen idiots in and around the car park are a different story ..
Picked up a canopy for the new to us  Hilux and fluked the snag sizzle when Bumblings loaned me their car park to double check [ maybe get some bolts if needed ]  the tie downs for the trip home .. Was a nice day for a 6 hour drive ..  8)
Post by: #jonesy on November 30, 2018, 08:06:31 AM
They wouldn't be trying to "close him down" for little things like that. Contrary to popular belief they are not trying to close businesses down, they are trying to make them safe. If they are trying to close Luke down then I suspect there is more to the story

I agree, if they are looking to close someone down they would likely be prosecuting as well.
Generally people will bitch and moan about the minding halts that have been identified, and forgetting to mention the big deadly machine missing a safety guard. (not suggesting this is the case)
Bit like roadworthy inspections. They complain that they got a fine for having more than a 2 inch lift. Yet won't tell you it is a 6 inch lift with monster sized tyres and a half a dozen other faults.
Post by: Bird on November 30, 2018, 11:36:39 AM
Quote from: edz
Survived an encounter at Bunnings Grafton sausage sizzle today,

someone needs to start a funny stalkerbook page named I SURVIVED BUNNINGS SNAG SIZZLE
imagine the photos of protective gear and Shit coming in LMAO!!!!!!!!

What would they do if you just wanted an onion sanga?
Post by: Fizzie on December 01, 2018, 08:41:18 AM
What would they do if you just wanted an onion sanga?

We've given them to people before when they've asked, same as just a sausage in a serviette with no bread ;D
Post by: MarkGU on December 01, 2018, 04:41:38 PM
we had a fund raiser at Bunnings Grafton today, they werent even worried where the onion went.

Thank you to Bunnings for their time today with the use of their BBQ and gear.

Post by: cardinal28 on December 03, 2018, 12:19:54 PM
Had to happen
Post by: Swannie on December 03, 2018, 02:21:40 PM

Nope when we do our fundraiser we get from whoever supports us at the time
Post by: Paddler Ed on December 03, 2018, 04:01:58 PM
we had a fund raiser at Bunnings Grafton today, they werent even worried where the onion went.

Thank you to Bunnings for their time today with the use of their BBQ and gear.

I only saw the post after I'd been to Bunnings, and admired the Wolsley... doh!
Post by: Spada on December 20, 2018, 12:55:26 PM
just when you thought it was safe