General => Previous Member Trips => Trips, Tracks, Touring and Reports => 2014 members Cape York Trip => Topic started by: Symon on July 07, 2014, 03:36:56 PM

Title: Carnage of the Cape
Post by: Symon on July 07, 2014, 03:36:56 PM
Well now that some of us are back with internet access and able to start licking our wounds, it's time to discuss what we broke on the trip.  So far my list is -

- 1 x CV joint
- 2 x rear coil springs (fell out)
- 1 x fuel cap (fell off)
- 1 x exhaust bolt rattled off
- 1 x broken winch cable
- 1 x bent bit of the tray (hit a tree)
- 1 x bent hinge on the rear toolbox (same tree)
- 1 x cracked headlight

Overall not too bad I think, also considering how rough the Old Coach Road was.
Title: Re: Carnage of the Cape
Post by: jk on July 07, 2014, 04:06:26 PM
Well done mate, good to see you had a fair go at it  ;D    Looking forward trip report and the hundreds of photos  :cup:   
Post by: Ynot on July 07, 2014, 04:19:20 PM
Thats a good war list, at least you had fun right?

Post by: The Caseys on July 07, 2014, 04:59:25 PM
Carnage, what Carnage? Someone told us 'It's just a flesh wound'.

Our flesh wounds included:
2 stabiliser legs
1 mudflap
slight panel damage
oh I forgot to mention the total axle re-build for the camper-trailer and 2 scrubbed out tyres - it is disconcerting watching ones trailer wheel overtake the vehicle whilst still 20klms from Weipa.

I might also add that virtually none of this damage was done in the traversing the Old Coach Road, but at the Little Laura River crossing at the very death of the track.

And No we did not take any pictures.
Tina Casey
Post by: GeoffA on July 07, 2014, 05:26:12 PM
Several windscreen chips
1 x bonnet protector (sacrificed itself for the cause.... ;D)

And $70 spent at the car wash in Cairns.......

Post by: Swannie on July 07, 2014, 05:49:42 PM
Several windscreen chips

Nooooooooooo not the windscreen

Post by: noel_w on July 07, 2014, 07:10:57 PM
Any Liver damage?
Post by: Frostd on July 07, 2014, 07:25:14 PM
Unless, there are other major damage, I think that is a great list, with not tooooo much cost in repairs ;)
Post by: ehsc on July 07, 2014, 07:52:52 PM
Sounds like a fun trip  :cheers: Troy
Post by: swanny on July 07, 2014, 08:06:26 PM
I'll add that I'm still up here, weipa at present, so my damage toll may increase, but at this stage I have a dinged up front storage box on the ct, and a stone stomper which looks a but worse for wear, all curtisoy of the old coach road.

I sheared the cabling for my ct breaks along the beach at Vyrilya, a couple of hours work had those sorted, and have also now got some matching scrap marks up both side steps, pretty much down to the metal, curtisoy of the OCR and OTL.

See how we go over the next 3 odd weeks, of to do the frenchmans on fri....!!!!

Swanny
Post by: McGirr on July 07, 2014, 10:12:27 PM

I came through the trip pretty well. The only issue was the zip on the camper cover broke but apart from that all good.

The liver is still recovering  :cheers:

Post by: CRW on July 07, 2014, 10:20:45 PM

I came through the trip pretty well. The only issue was the zip on the camper cover broke but apart from that all good.

The liver is still recovering  :cheers:

How many cartons this time Mark

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Post by: McGirr on July 07, 2014, 10:31:53 PM
How many cartons this time Mark

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

Not that many, but I won't mention the spirits, that's a different story. ;D

Post by: Glenno on July 09, 2014, 02:02:13 AM

- 2 x rear coil springs (fell out)

- 1 x broken winch cable

Hey Symon,

Wow, did the cable break whilst being used in anger???

Don't springs falling out effect your trucks performance a little at the time??? :) :)
Post by: Symon on July 09, 2014, 05:34:52 AM
Hey Symon,

Wow, did the cable break whilst being used in anger???

Don't springs falling out effect your trucks performance a little at the time??? :) :)

Yes, the cable snapped while I was trying to get out of a bit of a black soil gully.  It was an old cable (was on the cruiser when I got it) so I had a spare ready to spool on but ended up not needing it.

As for the springs it is a bit of a long story, but I got the leaf's upgraded to heavy duty ones and the existing coils were a bit short for the new leafs, so with a bit of flexing they just fell out.  I didn't really notice any difference on the tracks but when stopped I did see that the rear does sit a bit lower.
Post by: Wato on July 09, 2014, 07:48:30 AM
Hey Symon If you can't find that new cable I have a roll lying around you can have. Was only sitting on the winch for 6 months before I took it off.

Craig
Post by: Symon on July 09, 2014, 08:43:08 AM
Cheers for the offer but I've already spooled on the new rope.
Post by: Bird on July 09, 2014, 10:14:11 AM
Several windscreen chips

Its a GU.. what did you expect... No damage to my bonnet I hope...
Post by: GeoffA on July 09, 2014, 04:56:07 PM
Its a GU.. what did you expect... No damage to my bonnet I hope...

Nope. Not a mark...... :cup:
Post by: Bird on July 09, 2014, 05:00:09 PM
Nope. Not a mark...... :cup:
hahahahahhahahahah
Post by: GeoffA on July 10, 2014, 05:21:26 PM
Passenger side trailer indicator was on the blink ( :P), so I went for a look.
Found a broken wire at the back of the trailer plug..........bloody Nissans..... >:( >:(
Might have to trade it in on a 200....... :P :P
Post by: The Caseys on July 10, 2014, 06:03:30 PM
Geoff,

Take a really deep breath and think about what you are saying.  No way can you change that truck for a Toyota.

David
Post by: GGV8Cruza on July 10, 2014, 09:40:59 PM
Passenger side trailer indicator was on the blink ( :P), so I went for a look.
Found a broken wire at the back of the trailer plug..........bloody Nissans..... >:( >:(
Might have to trade it in on a 200....... :P :P

Careful, I once thought I never would  >:D

Best thing I ever did and the breadbox makes me smile every time I push the start button  ;D

Post by: GeoffA on July 11, 2014, 07:07:47 AM

Best thing I ever did and the breadbox makes me smile every time I push the start button  ;D

Nah, they seem a bit slow. Overtaken heaps of 'em this trip........ :P :P
Post by: speewa158 on July 11, 2014, 07:56:06 AM
But they Dooooo look nice  , &  ,  &   ,   &   . So when is this going to happen     ???         :cheers:
Post by: cm4x4nut on July 11, 2014, 08:22:32 AM

I will work on him over a few beers tonight..........  >:D
Post by: yogi on July 11, 2014, 02:29:30 PM
We'll we lost 3 beers, a red bull and a 2L long life milk 8)

PS(forgot about the 6 or so scrambled eggs ..... Not sure how that happened .... :angel:)
Post by: Marcus73 on July 11, 2014, 05:02:56 PM

PS(forgot about the 6 or so scrambled eggs ..... Not sure how that happened .... :angel:)

Sorry for the loss of the beers, it's things like that which can ruin a trip

Sent from your iPad using Mental telepathy
Post by: speewa158 on July 11, 2014, 07:41:13 PM

Sad about the  :cheers: but can you post up the recipe for " Toolbox Scrambled Eggs " Last time l tried that it tasted greasy , axel greasy     .  :cup:     :cheers:
Post by: barraboy on July 12, 2014, 12:04:00 PM
What a great trip.   My damage included an oil leak along the Old Coach road. When descending down a steep  rocky platform it was noticed by Mobi that someone was leaking oil. Of course it was me and we still had approx. 10ks to go to Jowalbinna. It was slow drip so I checked the dipstick and still registered a good level so kept going.

Upon arrival and after setting up camp I placed a bucket under the sump from which the oil was leaking. Went to bed that night thinking that we would have to return to Cairns and the trip was over. Next morning revealed 3/4 litre of oil in the bucket. Bloody Hell. The recovery team stepped in and Symon, Yogi and Geoff got to work. The sealant holding the sump had been broken probably due to a knock from a rock on the track so the boys decided to drain the oil, pull the sump out, reseal and put it all back. Geoff had spare oil and after the repair all was good. What a great bunch of blokes and their assistance and expertise is greatly appreciated. The my swag spirit is fantastic and blokes like me probably couldn't make this sort of trip without their support.

Anyway the main body of the group had left for Archer some hours ago and we (5 vehicles) were bringing up the rear. Stopped at Laura to buy fuel and 10ks down the road the vehicle went into limp mode (Bloody Hell!!). Wouldn't rev over 2000 in any gear. After another 5ks it came good but then 10 minutes later went back to Limp. After the sump saga I thought I must have shot a chinaman. Pulled over and the recovery team  caught up and it was decided that I should soldier on to Coen and have the mechanic give it a once over with a Diagnostic machine. Nothing showing on Dash and we suspected it could be dirty fuel. All 5 vehicles refuelled and the other 8 swaggers would have before us and me with the problem. Not logical but there you go.

Anyway after I got going again it came good and stayed good the rest of that Driving day and the rest of trip to Virilya. Go figure but at the time I thought it must have just been a bit of dirt or something.

A week later we turn  for home and bugger me we are back into limp. Nothing over 2000 revs. Normally we would have been able to drive from Virilya to at least Musgrave Station but today we struggled to reach Coen. Got there just in time to have local mechanic check diagnostics for no result. Changed fuel filter and we set Camp for night behind the Sexchange Hotel.

Next day saw the vehicle driving normally and we happy and away we went. 100ks later back into Limp. Stayed like that all day to Mount Molly and then came good of its own accord. Has been good ever since and Cairns Diesel works could find no faults. Obviously it was dirty/water fuel but this only a guess.  Anyway I have since driven the vehicle to Brisbane and its going well.

So a few vehicle dramas on the trip makes for a bit of stress but boy it is all worth it. Great Company and the challenge of the OTT ect  ect ect makes it a trip of lifetime and hearing about the My Swag group and the chief organiser Mark McGirr is one of the best things I have done.

Thanks to all.

Martin

Post by: yogi on July 12, 2014, 01:42:35 PM
So the old girl did have a few mechanical issues but to be expected on anything with half a million K's on it. Unfortunately they were all due to poor workmanship and not due to the age of the vehicle.

- Driver side air bag kept loosing air .... got to Gin Gin replaced the valve and that seemed to fix the issue.

- Water temperature was all over the place in the 110 zone coming into Camila so got Renno to ring ahead to Mackay and find a new viscous fan hub as I had noticed prior to the trip that it didn't seem to have the air speed it should when hot but temps were fine. Picked it up the next day and fitted it that morning just to be on the safe side with the new engine having just been run in. Never got over 91 for the rest of the trip.

- Driver side air bag still loosing air .... crawled underneath and found the issue someone had used a zip tie to hold the airline to the top of the air bag and not the proper clamp. Once again Renno was on the phone but this time with no luck so we headed for Cairns knowing someone would have something there. Ended up replacing the air bags with a different brand that used push lock fittings and no more issues. Was also a good excuse to spend a few days with John and his lovely wife Bonnie also to catch up with Douggie.

- Coming out of Laura everyone had pulled up I assumed it must have been to fix something on one of their vehicles only to find out they were waiting for us as someone had noticed something hanging down from under my truck. turns out we had lost the drivers side panhard rod bolt earlier that day (it did seem a little tail happy but put that down to the road conditions and pace we were keeping) So after going through Symons bolt trays and having no luck the ultimate sacrifice was made and we asked Geoff if he had any Nissan bolts that might fit. We found one that was almost the right size so with a bit of team work thanks guy's (Geoff, Symon, Renno and who ever spotted the panhard rod Mobi ?) we had the new bolt fitted and locktighted in for good measure.

- Finished packing up at the Dulhunty river when I noticed the rear rims were damp .... crawled underneath and noticed that the diff housing, both rims and shocks were also damp. Nothing else on the car was damp so feared the worst of having blown both rear shocks given the airbag issues and lack of panhard rod bolt earlier in the trip. The dampness was kind of oily but not really so couldn't tell what it was. At first I was going to head for Weipa as I knew they would have shocks but after giving my self an uppercut I thought lets just see how it goes we can always get a set at the Top. They seemed to be working so will wait and see what they feel like unloaded around town.

- Heading home and just passed Gladstone when the steering goes all funny .... luckily found a side street off the highway to pull into where I instantly knew it was either a puncture or worse wheel bearings. Well it wasn't a puncture and the rocking motion of the passenger side wheel told me it was wheel bearings. Hoping we could just tighten it up Renno and I started to pulling the wheels off then the hub only to find it had completely collapsed. So we called RACQ for a lift back to Gladstone where we spent 2 nights while we waited for parts. Needless to say whom ever last did the wheel bearings didn't use enough grease.

Now after all those issue I know exactly where they arose from. Air bags and panhard rod bolt was 2 weeks prior to the trip found a snapped rear coil spring witch was replaced under warranty and the shop in question haven't used the right bit's on the air bags and forgotten to tighten up the bolt. I had new wheels bearing put on the old girl and the place had 3 goes at getting it right seems they needed more. Lastly the fan hub was simply me not putting enough silicon in it when I rebuilt it when the new engine went in.

We live and we learn. Thanks to all who helped me out.
Post by: Mobi on July 12, 2014, 05:31:50 PM
A great trip with great company, unfortunately there has been some damage:
Jockey wheel ripped off camper trailer(had a spare)
Tyre wall cut, fitted one of the spares(thanks Geoff for help)
On the camper trailer both wheel flares damaged
Both camper trailer stabilisers
Awning on truck broke rear attachment and badly scratched truck
Driver side side step bent
Exhaust pipe came off its rear mount several times
Auxiliary fuel tank is weeping from a weld
2 dust covers on the camper trailer and then greasing the bearings(thanks Geoff for the advice and help)
On a positive note the air con light now works:) go figure.
A big thank you to everyone for their help and assistance.
As I'm not home yet there may be more to add.
Peter
Post by: jwb on July 12, 2014, 06:20:30 PM
great stuff!

the joys of it all!

Post by: GeoffA on July 13, 2014, 09:47:38 PM
........So after going through Symons bolt trays and having no luck the ultimate sacrifice was made and we asked Geoff if he had any Nissan bolts that might fit........

Ahh yes, the GOLDEN BOLT......after all the modifications previously made to the car, it finally got its' first true improvement......
Post by: duggie on July 14, 2014, 07:30:13 AM
So the old girl did have a few mechanical issues but to be expected on anything with half a million K's on it. Unfortunately they were all due to poor workmanship and not due to the age of the vehicle.

So after going through Symons bolt trays and having no luck the ultimate sacrifice was made and we asked Geoff if he had any Nissan bolts that might fit. We found one that was almost the right size so with a bit of team work thanks guy's (Geoff, Symon, Renno and who ever spotted the panhard rod Mobi ?) we had the new bolt fitted and locktighted in for good measure.

We live and we learn. Thanks to all who helped me out.

Hi Yogi,

It was great to catch up with you. :cheers:

The Nissan bolt is just a start, it will be slow but now that you have started to see the light about how much better your Toyota is with this , all be it , tiny improvement, you will soon be seeking more from Nissan until the point will be so obvious to you that you really want a NISSAN.  ;D ;D

cheers duggie
Post by: Symon on July 14, 2014, 07:32:36 AM
Noooooooo yogi, don't go down that path. ... Come back to the light!

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

Post by: yogi on July 16, 2014, 10:59:24 AM
Bolt was ordered and has now arrived ..... time to remove the cancer >:D

Post by: swanny on July 16, 2014, 11:35:22 AM
Replace it with something worse then Geoff's fine Nissan part...haha, the bolt that kept your suspension together.....you know it's time for change....!!!!!
Post by: MarkVS on July 16, 2014, 12:30:13 PM
We have just got back on Monday.

We ended up with a bent cross bar on the 'Stone Stomper', slight dint to one camper mud guard.

Outside of the red dirt and pin stripes, no other damage to the Pajero or Camper.

Considering what we went through, much better outcome than I envisaged.

MarkVS
Post by: yogi on July 16, 2014, 12:57:17 PM
Replace it with something worse then Geoff's fine Nissan part...haha, the bolt that kept your suspension together.....you know it's time for change....!!!!!

You know what they say .... a picture says a thousand words ;D

(http://gallery.myswag.org/gallery/d/48800-2/IMG_0863.JPG)

mmmmmm I wonder which one is the Nissan bolt 8)

Post by: GeoffA on July 16, 2014, 01:13:15 PM
You know what they say .... a picture says a thousand words ;D

(http://gallery.myswag.org/gallery/d/48800-2/IMG_0863.JPG)

mmmmmm I wonder which one is the Nissan bolt 8)

One is made of proper steel, and the other is plasticine.

Doesn't matter how big it is. Not much good if it falls out...... :P :P

The Nissan one lasted a LOT better than the Toyota bolt........nuff said....
Post by: Raym on July 16, 2014, 02:18:38 PM
Should have just kept the nissan bolt, thrown the rest away  8)
Post by: swanny on July 16, 2014, 04:13:01 PM
One is made of proper steel, and the other is plasticine.

Doesn't matter how big it is. Not much good if it falls out...... :P :P

The Nissan one lasted a LOT better than the Toyota bolt........nuff said....

Totally agree.....nuff said....btw Geoff how's your breakdown list....big fat zero....bit like mine....nuff said me thinks....
Post by: GeoffA on July 16, 2014, 05:49:10 PM
......Hoping we could just tighten it up Renno and I started to pulling the wheels off then the hub only to find it had completely collapsed.........

Hey yogi,

Was it just the bearings that collapsed, or was the hub damaged too?

Geoff
Post by: yogi on July 16, 2014, 06:11:36 PM
Totally agree.....nuff said....btw Geoff how's your breakdown list....big fat zero....bit like mine....nuff said me thinks....

swanny .... give me a call when you car cranks over 500 000k's and not just city driving 8)

Hey yogi,

Was it just the bearings that collapsed, or was the hub damaged too?

Geoff

It was welded to the hub .... lucky to still have the wheel on as when it went it went quick and the only thing holding the wheel on was the brake calliper and brake pads :'(

Post by: GeoffA on July 16, 2014, 06:32:11 PM
It was welded to the hub .... lucky to still have the wheel on as when it went it went quick and the only thing holding the wheel on was the brake calliper and brake pads :'(

Ouch...... :o
Post by: yogi on July 16, 2014, 06:49:00 PM
Yeah but the stop overs were epic .... ;D

Renno still cant believe you can have a slab of bundy and coke as an appetizer :cheers:

RACQ turned up and we were smashing icy cold beers on the side of the road 8)

Post by: GeoffA on July 16, 2014, 06:50:42 PM
Renno certainly got a ride to remember...... ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: yogi on July 16, 2014, 07:03:54 PM
Probably should add that before we got into the beers that we had already jacked the car up, taken the passenger side wheel off and disassembled the hub. Thus working out that we were going no where and then we started on the beers and put everything back together ready for the long drive back to the workshop :-[

Post by: GeoffA on July 16, 2014, 07:37:23 PM
Might take a look at mine. It's been a while.......
Post by: The Caseys on July 16, 2014, 08:06:28 PM

We were also smashing down the beers while waiting for RACQ to turn up (they could of taken their time, but not complaining) 34 minutes and they arrived but we still managed more than few to pass the time.

Tina

P.S. Driving to Weipa tomorrow to collect the camper
Post by: swanny on July 16, 2014, 08:24:31 PM
swanny .... give me a call when you car cranks over 500 000k's and not just city

No worries and I won't have rebuilt it twice either, and stop your city driving move out to the bush were we live and ya won't have those probs....but then again...????????????just banter
Post by: yogi on July 16, 2014, 09:17:19 PM
No worries and I won't have rebuilt it twice either, and stop your city driving move out to the bush were we live and ya won't have those probs....but then again...????????????just banter

Mate it's all fun till some one looses an eye ....... then it's find the eye ;D

Hope your still having fun up there ..... how was the bush bash at Bramwell ?

Post by: yogi on July 16, 2014, 09:19:15 PM

We were also smashing down the beers while waiting for RACQ to turn up (they could of taken their time, but not complaining) 34 minutes and they arrived but we still managed more than few to pass the time.

Tina

Well I guess myswagers know how to make the most out of any situation 8) Hope you still going to try the trip to the Cape once again 8)

Post by: Mobi on July 17, 2014, 09:28:54 PM
Quote from: The Caseys

[/quote
Short 2 weeks not. Hope everything is fixed and you have a great trip home.

Post by: The Caseys on July 20, 2014, 09:44:17 AM

We drove up to Weipa on Thursday and collected our camper.  She is as good as new and we are both looking forward to our 4day weekend trip in August.

Nothing can get us down.  Fix her up and off we go again.  I have to admit the garage seem very empty with her not there, but all is good in the world again.

Bring on more holidays.

Tina

Post by: GeoffA on July 20, 2014, 10:35:25 AM
We drove up to Weipa on Thursday and collected our camper.  She is as good as new and we are both looking forward to our 4day weekend trip in August.

Nothing can get us down.  Fix her up and off we go again.  I have to admit the garage seem very empty with her not there, but all is good in the world again.

Bring on more holidays.

Tina

Great news Tina.... :cup: :cup:
Post by: Symon on July 20, 2014, 11:36:30 AM

Bring on more holidays.

Tina

Great to hear.  Looking forward to spending many more holidays with you guys.

I did all the oils in the cruiser yesterday, all was good until I got to the gearbox.  The f&^%wits at Toyota didn't tighten up the fill plug on the gearbox properly, so you guessed it I had red dust all through the oil, although strangely enough no sign of water.  Not a happy boy.
Post by: McGirr on July 20, 2014, 12:31:20 PM

Great news Tina. Look forward to our next catch up.

Post by: GeoffA on July 20, 2014, 01:02:53 PM
I did all the oils in the cruiser yesterday, all was good until I got to the gearbox.  The f&^%wits at Toyota didn't tighten up the fill plug on the gearbox properly, so you guessed it I had red dust all through the oil, although strangely enough no sign of water.  Not a happy boy.

Symon,

Was the plug missing, or just loose?

Geoff
Post by: Symon on July 20, 2014, 02:10:00 PM
Symon,

Was the plug missing, or just loose?

Geoff

Loose, it was hanging out by about 3 threads.  I didn't think dust would get in there but there was some in the oil.
Post by: Hoyks on July 20, 2014, 04:10:07 PM
I just got home, washed the car and surveyed the damage.

I got off lightly as the only time I had to delve into the tool box was to get the tow hitch pin so I could drag a Land Cruiser out of Gunshot.  ;D

Oh, and I did crunch a sill on said crossing due to some clown dumping sections of tree into the mud. I pulled a few out before driving it, but of course found one I missed as it pitched upright and flattened the sill beneath the back passenger door >:(.

That, and a crack developed in the screen while parked in the driveway this morning. Insurance is sorting that out, even with the price of fuel the 30km track back to the bypass road looks like a good idea now. :-[

Now I have to clean up the non-Cape related carnage as one of the support legs failed as I was putting the slide on camper away, and now it is wedged between 2 uprights in the car port at a 45 degree angle >:(.

Still, shoveling mud and recovering Toyotas, it is still better than being at work.
Post by: MarkVS on August 16, 2014, 04:43:44 AM
The Pajero went down for its service and drivetrain oils replacement following the Myswag Cape trip.

The car has come back fine, (no water in anything etc) except that it appears I have used up a lot of brake, and had to get the rear pads replaced and discs ground, but it also appears that one of my Bilstein shockies has fully collapsed at some point on the trip, and lost most of its oil.

They are just over 12 months old and the warranty is 12 months. Hoping Bilstein come to the party.

At the end of the day, if the only mechanical and physical damage I have is one shockie, then I am VERY happy.

MarkVS 

Post by: nwallman on December 09, 2017, 12:07:02 PM
What brand trailer did you have

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk