Author Topic: Chickens at home  (Read 68327 times)

Offline Mik01

• Scenic Rim 4x4
Re: Chickens at home
« Reply #25 on: April 27, 2015, 08:06:04 PM »
I had to notice this post today , didn't i. I was in town getting the car serviced and the missus rang me. She found five of her old girls in the paddock with their heads chewed off. Lucky they were the " house chooks " as she breeds others and pays up to $60 for one chook. The wire has boon chewed on one yard , the other four yards are fine. Guess who will be sitting outside tonight with the shot gun and spotlight.  >:(

Shame. We have lost about 5 chooks and 3 full grown Peking Ducks to a fox also. Now they are all locked up every night and the pen has reinforced wire into the ground to prevent digging under.
Local council will lay traps, but I have a border collie pup who I would have to chain up night and day to prevent her getting caught. And I'm not ready for that yet.
Your council might trap them for free?
Contact me for special MySwag prices on 4x4 accessories!
http://scenicrim4x4.com.au

« Reply #26 on: April 27, 2015, 08:19:50 PM »
We are rural but have not seen a snake since we have moved in. Foxes are about but my local one crossed the road once too often the other month and became part of the pavement. Will see how it goes.

Ordered the Taj today and even went with the auto door unit.

Offline Green rv

• SAND CAR-SELS @ FRASER
« Reply #27 on: April 28, 2015, 02:22:55 PM »
the taj is pretty hard to pass at $499
i have the ok to get one too will have to wait a few weeks for funds though
thanks GG for the hard work of finding a good unit

Ads
Hilux 2002 LN167 + Stockman POD

Offline graham

• I used to cruise, now i just PATROL
  • nrnr62
« Reply #28 on: April 28, 2015, 06:31:44 PM »
Home grown eggs , poached on a bit of toast,on the weekend, pretty good
Hopefully someone may know the answer to this question , a mate and I have brought Isa Browns from the same place , but at different times , my eggs 70grams plus , his would only be 50 or less , is it the feed , or am I talented , even when I didn't have chooks I brought big eggs so these look like normal eggs to me , but he is right his eggs are around two thirds the size , same sized birds too
Let the chookens dine on a bit of grass /greenery every so often , improves the yolk or the colour of the yolk I've been led to believe , let them out late arvo ,and as the sun disappears they will head home , mine do ,saves you looking like a idiot trying to herd cats into a pool , let nature take it course
Be careful of the kids though , mine seem to think the chooks like the same TV shows they do , yep on the couch with the kids watching telly , wonder why I'm bald
They are entertaing though
nrnr62

Offline tk421

• Out of the Office... Road trips round Australia
« Reply #29 on: April 28, 2015, 06:44:48 PM »
Chooks on your lounge?  You need some of these. Chook nappies

http://www.pamperyourpoultry.com/diapers
“It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.”  - Ernest Hemingway

Offline Dingo0163

• The original Aussie mongrel
« Reply #30 on: April 28, 2015, 07:28:45 PM »
Home grown eggs , poached on a bit of toast,on the weekend, pretty good
Hopefully someone may know the answer to this question , a mate and I have brought Isa Browns from the same place , but at different times , my eggs 70grams plus , his would only be 50 or less , is it the feed , or am I talented , even when I didn't have chooks I brought big eggs so these look like normal eggs to me , but he is right his eggs are around two thirds the size , same sized birds too
Let the chookens dine on a bit of grass /greenery every so often , improves the yolk or the colour of the yolk I've been led to believe , let them out late arvo ,and as the sun disappears they will head home , mine do ,saves you looking like a idiot trying to herd cats into a pool , let nature take it course
Be careful of the kids though , mine seem to think the chooks like the same TV shows they do , yep on the couch with the kids watching telly , wonder why I'm bald
They are entertaing though

It is true that greens will make the yolks richer. If your mates chooks are pullets ( first year layers ) and yours are second year , your eggs will be larger. The down side is the older the chooks are the more egg production drops.  :D

Offline tk421

• Out of the Office... Road trips round Australia
« Reply #31 on: April 28, 2015, 10:05:12 PM »
Yeah nothing like that green yolk.  When we let ours free range a lot more, the eggs were unreal. No need for an egg ring with fresh eggs too. Don't do that spreading like the store bought eggs.

We had some tradies here for a week or two (city born and bred), blew their minds when I gave them an egg one of the ladies had just laid as it was still at body temperature. They we even happier when we cooked up some same day eggs for them. LOL
“It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.”  - Ernest Hemingway

« Reply #32 on: April 30, 2015, 07:03:51 PM »
Taj turned up today, 4 boxes plat packed and a drum full of starter pack goodies and the remote timer door. Will try and get it together on the weekend. Pics to follow

Offline graham

• nrnr62
« Reply #33 on: May 02, 2015, 04:35:44 PM »
Chooks on your lounge?  You need some of these. Chook nappies

http://www.pamperyourpoultry.com/diapers

Well there you go , my life is complete I don't what is sadder ,someone has made these,or that they think there is a market for them  at $17.00 a pop inc delivery
nrnr62

« Reply #34 on: May 02, 2015, 04:44:34 PM »
Taj turned up today, 4 boxes plat packed and a drum full of starter pack goodies and the remote timer door. Will try and get it together on the weekend. Pics to follow

How is it all going? Pics?

« Reply #35 on: May 02, 2015, 04:48:31 PM »
We aquired to more chickens on Tuesday. Don't know where they came from but two chickens waiting outside my back fence wanting to come in. None of the neighbours have chooks. So we now have 13.

Offline smartyingreen

« Reply #36 on: May 02, 2015, 06:47:50 PM »

We aquired to more chickens on Tuesday. Don't know where they came from but two chickens waiting outside my back fence wanting to come in. None of the neighbours have chooks. So we now have 13.

Dinner! Well at least two nights.
Smartyingreen - HZJ105 Land Cruiser + Cameron HD Off Road Unlimited Concept Camper.

« Reply #37 on: May 09, 2015, 09:19:10 PM »
A bit of an update. Got the Taj last week and put it together, an easy job and looks good. Its probably smaller than I thought but will do the job fine. Kids and I gave it an oil the other day and it looks great, ready for any Melbourne weather.

Today went down and set ot the chook run, 6 x 12m square. Put in some treated pine fence posts and corner units and need nowm6to get it all wired up ready for the new tenants.

Will put up some pics soon

« Reply #38 on: June 25, 2015, 08:21:31 PM »
So I have been a little busy with work and other projects. Taj is all together and got a coat of deck sealer. Have fenced in a run around 8 x 6 meters with the wire dug into the ground to hopefully stop the foxes getting in. If I get a chance will see if we can get some lodges this week. Not many around at the moment but might try these guys

http://craigsfarm.com.au/

« Reply #39 on: June 25, 2015, 08:46:54 PM »
You have been hanging around with Rich too much  ;D

« Reply #40 on: June 26, 2015, 05:31:37 PM »
In the process of building one at the moment. Just making it up as I go along.

Also noticed that availability of chickens at the moment in Melbourne is a bit scarce. The kids want at least one Silkie.

Offline kizza1

« Reply #41 on: June 26, 2015, 08:42:30 PM »
ask at a local kindy as they have mobs that bring in hatcheries and then have to off load the chickens when they hatch

« Reply #42 on: June 26, 2015, 10:30:42 PM »
There's a few places that have the normal commercial breeds, but the hardest ones to find are the special breeds.
The problem with getting chickens from kinder is the need to keep them warm who h is easy enough but a lot of effort for a few chooks.

I am still about a month off being ready so the new breeding season hopefully will be on time.

« Reply #43 on: June 27, 2015, 05:10:10 PM »
Four chooks roosting in the Taj tonight, wil get some pics tomorrow

Offline kizza1

« Reply #44 on: June 27, 2015, 07:49:14 PM »
for some reason i read that as four chooks roasting. ;D

« Reply #45 on: June 27, 2015, 09:52:12 PM »
for some reason i read that as four chooks roasting. ;D

Not quite yet, I will give them a chance to lay

« Reply #46 on: June 28, 2015, 08:21:55 AM »
Well there you go , my life is complete I don't what is sadder ,someone has made these,or that they think there is a market for them  at $17.00 a pop inc delivery

You mean to tell us the " Chooks " don't have Foxtel in the coup ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,& have to share with the kids    ,,,,,,,,,,,, lm going to put you in to PETA, RSPCA & anybody that will listen to me . All they can do now is snuggle down in their electric blankets ,, they do have that at least  ??? ??? ???                                                :cheers:

Offline graham

• nrnr62
« Reply #47 on: June 28, 2015, 02:52:58 PM »
Nah no foxtel in the coop Speewa ,the spilt system heater fills up one wall , the jacuzzi fills up another side ,big window on the other side ,leaving the door on the last side
If they start laying I may think about one out in their alfresco area
Bugger it ,if they ask for foxtel I will install it ,but only if they ask
nrnr62

« Reply #48 on: June 29, 2015, 07:11:45 AM »
A quick shot of the Taj and run

« Reply #49 on: June 29, 2015, 08:21:13 AM »
A quick shot of the Taj and run

Hehe nice one. Declan's smile says he aprroves the new dwelling ;D