Author Topic: The Myswag Hospital  (Read 9156 times)

Re: The Myswag Hospital
« Reply #25 on: January 28, 2015, 10:32:00 AM »
Hope you get better soon Evo.

I had a test done a few years ago at work to determine your biological age.
I always said that I was 21, but the test showed that I was 24.
Not far off, eventhoiugh I was 40+.

Offline evolution

• Pain is just weakness leaving the body
« Reply #26 on: January 28, 2015, 10:52:55 AM »
Thanks guys,
I thought I would throw up some photos as I know that

Evo
Owner at Regional Campers
Explore a different world!

Offline Squalo

• "Two Wheels Good"
« Reply #27 on: January 28, 2015, 11:48:28 AM »
Amazing to see those pics - dragged 30m under a ute and you're still relatively intact! It does indeed pay to wear all the right gear. Glad you're ok.
2007 Jimboomba Maddison Staircase
1995 GQ DX Patrol TD42

Offline evolution

• Pain is just weakness leaving the body
« Reply #28 on: January 28, 2015, 12:24:50 PM »
Thanks mate. Yep, the right get a roundabout is paramount. 
I see people all the time riding in shorts and thongs. I can't believe the stupidity of some people.

Evo
Owner at Regional Campers
Explore a different world!

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #29 on: January 28, 2015, 04:25:02 PM »
Anything to get out of mowing the lawn.....  ;D
SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

Offline avotrol

« Reply #30 on: January 28, 2015, 05:23:44 PM »
Sorry to read of your encounter Evo. It looks very, very painfull.

A bloke at work gave me some good medical advise for my sons: don't let them ride! He told how his 21 year old had come off his bike and had broken both arms and wrists. This meant that his mother had to do EVERYTHING for him for the months of his recovery. How embarrassment!

Still, that pales in significance compared to the three guys I knew who are now dead and the one that is badly brain damaged.

Each to his (or her) own I guess.

Hope you fell better soon Evo.

:cheers: avo
GU Patrol with home away from home.

Offline Mallory Black

« Reply #31 on: January 29, 2015, 07:40:10 PM »
I started on road bikes but as soon as I had a spin on a dirt bike my CB750F2 was gone in 6 months and I was all about off road.
Joined a club and got a racing licence, went enduro racing for 5 years with the occasional moto-cross, even a couple of stabs at Mt Cotton hillclimb... all on an enduro bike
Best thing I ever did, learned heaps, made lifelong friends
Was in the verge of being a total hoon if I didn't take that path and get it out of my system.

Riding on the road is way too dangerous these days, the risks are so much higner than 30 years ago because of the new driver distractions eg:
looking at their phones instead of the road
drug affected
windows up, aircon on, music blaring
got their licence not from a test but by just turning up off the plane and clueless
1998 3.4V6 Prado & homebuilt rear fold soft floor

« Reply #32 on: January 29, 2015, 08:43:51 PM »
Blood tests are a good baseline of health (i used to work in Pathology) from the age of 30 onwards i would reccomend the following every 2 years

Blood pressure
Blood tests including:
Liver function test - too much booze
Kidney and renal function - diabeties end organ damage
Iron studies - anemia or not
Fasting glucose - diabeties
Cholesterol good annd bad - heart disease markers

simple tests that take a few minutes and you will be amazed how much diet and lifestyle changes can make to the results even over 6 months

Yeah,after having a heart attack 5 years ago my doc has me donate a bit of blood every 6 months, pretty easy, nothing to eat or drink after 10pm, in and get stabbed at 8am next morning, back home for breakfast at 8:30am  ;D ;D
I've cut back on the booze a bit, but I'm just not going to delete it completely, I may not live any longer but it'll seem like it without a drink  :cheers: :cheers: