Author Topic: Buying a chainsaw  (Read 12387 times)

Re: Buying a chainsaw
« Reply #25 on: June 15, 2013, 07:33:29 AM »
Yes they are a few threads on PPE floating around here, I also find drop starting the easiest method :)

Offline Brumbypt

• Trailers, trailers, trailers, trailers..
« Reply #26 on: June 15, 2013, 08:37:47 AM »
Drop start aaaahhhhhrrrrr.    :police: 

Having said that so do i hahahha..   ;D

But try putting the handle between your legs push the left hand handle down till your arm is locked and then pull start the saw.

Its a little safer than drop starting..

Only do the above two methods if you are really confident andexperienced and the saw has been warmed up.
Otherwise place the saw on the ground with chain lock on and the chain clear of stones etc if yu are starting on un even ground.  Place your right foot in the rear handle, push down with your left armand then pull start ..

It takes practice, so practice with the switch off, and get comfortable with a good safe starting method..
« Last Edit: June 15, 2013, 09:48:55 AM by Brumbypt »
1993 80 series landcruiser

« Reply #27 on: June 15, 2013, 08:46:19 AM »
I guess you missed the :)

Offline Vk3bq

• I Like Cheese..
    • WispyThreads
Buying a chainsaw
« Reply #28 on: June 15, 2013, 09:31:29 AM »
Yes they are a few threads on PPE floating around here, I also find drop starting the easiest method :)

You told me this was the best way d4d...

-- 2012 Prado D4D  --  '05 OutbackCamper  --  VK3BQ  --  HFRadioClub Selcal 0172  --  VKS737 Selcal 0172 --
http://www.vk3bq.com/

« Reply #29 on: June 15, 2013, 11:00:44 AM »
Thanks guys, I bought the Husky

« Reply #30 on: June 15, 2013, 11:18:38 AM »
Make sure your ambulance subscription is paid up :)

Offline Brumbypt

• Trailers, trailers, trailers, trailers..
« Reply #31 on: June 15, 2013, 01:07:23 PM »
Thanks guys, I bought the Husky

Congrats.. Just becareful putting the chain break on.

Photo??

What else did ubuy with it
1993 80 series landcruiser

Offline Top.ender

• "I WONDER WHERE THIS TRACK GOES"
« Reply #32 on: July 05, 2013, 07:21:06 PM »
Just took my Husky in for service as its been hibernating for a few years ... and was shocked to see brand new ones for $249.
I was told by the salesmen that to compete with the market they have had to drop their prices...the downside is  now make them in China...  :'(  buyer beware... ???

100 Series Diesel with lots of stuff
2014 Jayco Swan Outback

Re: Re: Buying a chainsaw
« Reply #33 on: July 05, 2013, 09:10:58 PM »
  :'(  buyer beware... ???
Why? They are made to a standard.
Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

Offline Top.ender

• "I WONDER WHERE THIS TRACK GOES"
Re: Re: Buying a chainsaw
« Reply #34 on: July 05, 2013, 09:41:48 PM »
Why? They are made to a standard.
Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
I'm no expert on chainsaws or importing for that matter , just repeating what the subject matter expert stated. However it stands to reason that if you have to cut costs to stay competitive (which is understandable )something's going to be different....   

100 Series Diesel with lots of stuff
2014 Jayco Swan Outback

Offline RWS

« Reply #35 on: July 09, 2013, 07:37:29 PM »
Anyone got one of these... New-Baumr-AG

Offline @fnq4now

Buying a chainsaw
« Reply #36 on: July 10, 2013, 07:12:49 AM »

There are some very average reviews of the Baumr AG on the web. If it was me, I'd keep looking.
"The problem with common sense is that it's just not very common."

« Reply #37 on: July 10, 2013, 09:51:37 AM »
There are some very average reviews of the Baumr AG on the web. If it was me, I'd keep looking.
That is interesting.
Mate of mine has 3 of them (various sizes) that get used & abused constantly on his farm. They just keep going. He has 3000 acres of mostly cyprus which he is using to renovate his house. He is cutting the trees with the chainsaw and then milling it on site with a portable mill.
His thoughts are that he can buy 3 of them for the price of a Stihl but as yet has not had to.
Might just be lucky.
After a quick look there seems to be just as much good feedback as bad so there you go.

Disclaimer: no affiliation etc. etc. blah blah

Offline mungass

« Reply #38 on: July 11, 2013, 07:08:37 PM »
Yup bought one on ebay,a stihil knock off !  Had  5 pepercorn trees to cut down after the dse poisened them ,done that and about 6 to 10 ton of wood before the pull start Shit, thirty bucks for a new starter or 150 for a new saw, I,ll go the saw and have a spare bar,motor carby ect, good thing but leaks a bit of oil ,,bar oil if let sitting,so I just make sure I empty it if its left sitting, cutting down the peppercorns woulda cost me a grand to get done , nuff said :cheers: :cheers:

« Reply #39 on: July 11, 2013, 07:32:10 PM »

Had it for about 18 months now, Cost me 128 bucks, cut down two trees for a mate, he gave me a few beers.  ;D
Cleaned up another mates backyard, 3x 8x6 caged trailer loads to the waste transfer.
A few more beers there for payment  ;D
Also cut up a heap of fire wood, Fysh is happy now and that is Priceless  ;D
Owes me nothing now  :cup:
It does leak oil if you let it sit, oh well just have to judge how much to put in it.

Offline RWS

« Reply #40 on: July 11, 2013, 09:27:58 PM »
Yup bought one on ebay,a stihil knock off !  Had  5 pepercorn trees to cut down after the dse poisened them ,done that and about 6 to 10 ton of wood before the pull start ****, thirty bucks for a new starter or 150 for a new saw, I,ll go the saw and have a spare bar,motor carby ect, good thing but leaks a bit of oil ,,bar oil if let sitting,so I just make sure I empty it if its left sitting, cutting down the peppercorns woulda cost me a grand to get done , nuff said :cheers: :cheers:

Had it for about 18 months now, Cost me 128 bucks, cut down two trees for a mate, he gave me a few beers.  ;D
Cleaned up another mates backyard, 3x 8x6 caged trailer loads to the waste transfer.
A few more beers there for payment  ;D
Also cut up a heap of fire wood, Fysh is happy now and that is Priceless  ;D
Owes me nothing now  :cup:
It does leak oil if you let it sit, oh well just have to judge how much to put in it.

Geez guys lol, I only want to cut wood for the occasional campfire or clear the odd tree off a track...do you think one would do the job. ::) ;D

Offline rodw

« Reply #41 on: July 12, 2013, 09:10:00 PM »
I run a Stihl 090 after years battling with a Homelite. I like it but it needs a service. Last time it was used was between Bourke and Tibboburra somewhere.

I have to reiterate safety! These are the most dangerous tools you can ever lay hands on! I used one almost every day in 1980 and almost cut my kneecap off in the first week. I did not notice until I cut a few more trees. Lucky it was just a flesh wound. There were also a few close shaves. Sun glinting off the blade heading for my head after kick back, getting flattened by a tree over my legs with the saw outstretched in front of me etc.

I really don't like using them but still do. I reckon you put your life in your own hands every time you pick one up. Always put it on the ground with a foot and a hand on it to start. Never walk round with it running and held in one hand. Watch some safety videos, get someone like me to teach the basic safety things or leave them alone! I have never hurt myself with one since that first week in 980....

Offline Woodsie

• Off the beaten track in this Great Country of Ours
« Reply #42 on: July 12, 2013, 09:56:19 PM »
Ive had one of these Ozitos for years now for gardening jobs and camping, and have not had a problem with it. For $99 they are the Ducks nuts. :cheers:
I leave my Fire wood duties to my Stihl Farmboss 390 and Woodboss 250

http://www.bunnings.com.au/products_product_ozito-petrol-chainsaw-254cc-305mm-pcs305_P3380608.aspx?search=chaisaw&searchType=any&searchSubType=products
Tony Woods 06 HZJ105 Turbo/IC
2012 Eureka Hard Floor Camper