Author Topic: Dump Points  (Read 6823 times)

Offline archer63

• Live For Today
Dump Points
« on: November 02, 2015, 02:02:57 PM »

Just watched that old you tube post video of those poor people and their reactions at a dump point near a beach somewhere.
Had a laugh.....but then realised that I would be no different and perhaps even worse !!
Hard to believe but I was ignorant of what a dump point was until recently...have camped at Somerset Dam earlier this year and as we were leaving we dropped some rubbish off at the bins. Thought the hideous smell was the bins....and then I saw that video with the blue dump lids.

Is this what we've got to look forward to...and are there any " preventative measures " we can take to avoid the worst of it ?
Apparently there are some deodorant tablets available etc for " helping to create a more pleasant environment ", but they are just for your own tank aren't they...not the dump point itself.

Maybe a gas mask....that would be the only way I could go near the place....fair dinkum !!

Or is it just a case of...welcome to the real world of free camping  >:D

« Last Edit: November 02, 2015, 07:40:23 PM by archer63 »

Offline The punter

• "avoiding grey nomads since 2011"
Re: Dump Points
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2015, 02:08:49 PM »

One of these:
http://www.2daloo.com/

and One of these
http://www.bunnings.com.au/fiskars-15cm-quik-drill_p3360482

and you can go back to not having to know what a dump point is.

After my first experience with a portaloo, and luckily SWMBO seeing the cleanout process in the toilet at home, safe to say we are both happy with the hole digging scenario
13 FJ Cruiser
15 Lifestyle Reconn
1980 HJ45
The following users thanked this post: LetMeOutaHere, archer63

Offline archer63

• Live For Today
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2015, 03:15:12 PM »
I'll take your word for that mate !!

I have seen those showers before but had no idea of the price...look good though.

Knowledge gained every day....good or bad :)

« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2015, 03:44:07 PM »

These lift the dirt out of the hole easily.

The following users thanked this post: archer63

Offline Green rv

• SAND CAR-SELS @ FRASER
« Reply #4 on: November 02, 2015, 04:04:34 PM »
i always go in expecting the worse, the thought of it makes me gag.   
and have found it to be not that bad, as seen in the videos you talk about
i always use chemical in the toilet about twice the recommended dosage
and empty every 4 days regardless

Adam
Hilux 2002 LN167 + Stockman POD

« Reply #5 on: November 02, 2015, 04:53:44 PM »
Wear your glasses so any splashes don't get in your eyes, keep your mouth shut, harden up a bit and just deal with it.

I worked as a nurse in hospitals cleaning up vomit and wiping other peoples asses and did some time as a plumbers laborer, so hosing my own crap  into a pit isn't that bad.

Gloves are a hand addition, but more important is soap and washing your arms and anywhere else that may have been splashed immediately afterwards.

« Reply #6 on: November 02, 2015, 06:12:22 PM »
Emptying the camping toilet is no worse then changing your kids Shitty nappies, probably much better then actually IMHO.....the thought of doing it is worse then actually doing it

Offline Gravity

« Reply #7 on: November 02, 2015, 07:09:49 PM »
Deleted
« Last Edit: November 02, 2015, 07:19:18 PM by Gravity »
My '17 LC200VX BP-51's 2"Lift
My '17 Starcraft 22.68-OB

Offline Gravity

« Reply #8 on: November 02, 2015, 07:16:31 PM »
https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=hb35eIcusb8

Posted this under my tread…
Just been looking at all the different options for a Porte potty and came across this on utube , WARNING THIS IS DISGUSTING but I pissed myself laughing and had to post it. Think I will be looking a different method possibly just the bag and bucket for quick easy disposal…Thoughts ?

Have now purchased a great dry bucket toilet , just needs bags, gel and deodoriser…very easy disposal at the drop off as its all bio degradable.
Good luck with that one :-)
The following users thanked this post: Murph, archer63

Offline archer63

• Live For Today
« Reply #9 on: November 02, 2015, 07:43:56 PM »
I can't watch that again....once was enough to start me gagging  :'(

Offline Murph

« Reply #10 on: November 02, 2015, 08:07:50 PM »
Ohhhhhhhhhhh! I haven't laughed so much in ages!!!!   But the guy who has a smoke going needs a smack on the back of the head lol!

Offline Coiled

« Reply #11 on: November 02, 2015, 08:09:20 PM »
It is just part of the deal and not really that bad once you get used to it.

We have been using biomagic in ours with success. It certainly keeps smell under control and is completely septic safe meaning you can empty it into compost/long drop toilets.

I keep gloves on standby to use and alcohol hand cleaner afterwards.

Only issue I have ever had was on last trip when a bloke in a caravan park couldn't wait for me to screw the cap back on mine and poured right beside me splashing my leg. I was definitely in holiday mode otherwise this bloke in Mildura would have had his head knocked off.
2013 Nissan Patrol Y61
2015 Kimberley Karavan Eco Suite

Offline Murph

« Reply #12 on: November 02, 2015, 08:19:19 PM »
I'm using Odour B Gone tablets , not convinced they are what I need

« Reply #13 on: November 03, 2015, 10:49:03 AM »
    That is at least treated somewhat with chemicals.
I had the <not> pleasure of photographing a third world council night soil disposal area in action.
It was a health hazard to a RAAF base over 1km away and was rank in the extreme.

Offline Gravity

« Reply #14 on: November 03, 2015, 12:40:52 PM »
Here's a photo of the toilet that I picked up from ebay, $68.00 free delivery, all you need are the bio degradable bags , gel & deodoriser…Very easy mess free disposal at the dump station  ;D

Offline Homer_Jay

« Reply #15 on: November 03, 2015, 01:22:28 PM »
Gel??
WTF you doing while your on the throne man?

Landcruiser 76 wagon V8 T/D

Supreme Getaway pop top 12 ft

Offline Gravity

« Reply #16 on: November 03, 2015, 03:05:26 PM »
Yeah funny had a giggle, just in case you don't know…the gel hardens the wast and absorbs the moisture making it very easy for it to break down inside the biodegradable bag.
Once you main waste bag is full all you have to do is take it to the dump point and drop it in. A better way than standing at those nasty smelly holes for sure.  :'(

Offline archer63

• Live For Today
« Reply #17 on: November 03, 2015, 05:01:17 PM »
Now that idea certainly appears to have some merit Gravity mate.

The only negative I can see about it it's physical dimensions...as in taking up space etc....but then again so does a porta potty.

Hmmm...you wouldn't have the weight of a full cassette either....interesting idea.

Offline Gravity

Offline archer63

• Live For Today
« Reply #19 on: November 03, 2015, 07:50:12 PM »
Thanks mate....I am going to keep that one in mind for sure.
Seems like a much more " pleasant way of going about one's business "  :cheers:

Offline Gravity

« Reply #20 on: November 03, 2015, 08:03:30 PM »
No worries mate…for us its the only way to go…haha  :cup:

Offline 03hilux

« Reply #21 on: November 04, 2015, 08:52:33 PM »
If its the smell you're worried about, a light smear of vicks vapour rub just under the nose is the best option.

If you haven't yet used your toilet, perhaps fill the hold tank with water and practice emptying it without splashing yourself. The trick is to pour it slowly, like you would pouring petrol into the lawn mower.
« Last Edit: November 04, 2015, 08:55:50 PM by 03hilux »

« Reply #22 on: November 05, 2015, 07:34:44 AM »
On mine there is also a "button" to press to let air in whilst
being emptied
Stops it from going- glug -splatter -glug - splatter -glug

Offline Green rv

• SAND CAR-SELS @ FRASER
« Reply #23 on: November 05, 2015, 08:00:55 AM »
pour it slowly, like you would pouring petrol into the lawn mower.

what half in the hole the rest all over the mower :laugh: :laugh:

Adam
Hilux 2002 LN167 + Stockman POD

Offline Darcy7

• The plumage doesn't enter into it.....!
    • RVeeThereYet.com
« Reply #24 on: November 05, 2015, 08:43:46 AM »
nearly had my own wee accident watching that video...!

Visit our blog at WWW.RVeeThereYet.com