Author Topic: ARB Air Locker Copies  (Read 47451 times)

Re: ARB Air Locker Copies
« Reply #75 on: February 03, 2012, 01:11:36 PM »
The sentiment expressed here is clear, but I don't think ARB is going to outline their pricing structure on this forum. Take some satisfaction from the fact that Sam is clearly reading these responses, and surely feeding the dissatisfaction back to his colleagues.

I'd hate to see this go one for pages more, as it will not serve us any better.

Offline rotare

« Reply #76 on: February 03, 2012, 01:13:17 PM »
This "lost leadering" sounds terrific.....can anyone tell me where I can get myself into some?  Must be happening everywhere else but where I shop.... :'(

Offline maverick_sr71

« Reply #77 on: February 03, 2012, 01:31:46 PM »
We have a 4WD show coming up in Qeanbeyan in a couple of weeks, I'll stop winging about cheaper ARB lockers in the US if I can pick up front and rear for a 100 Series for under $2000 at the show.  ??? >:(

Otherwise I have a work trip to the US next month, I could have a heavy bag coming back.   ;D
« Last Edit: February 03, 2012, 01:33:45 PM by maverick_sr71 »
Pete. R.

Come on .............. You know you want to.

Offline medion

• My Camper Buildup
« Reply #78 on: February 03, 2012, 01:56:28 PM »
This "lost leadering" sounds terrific.....can anyone tell me where I can get myself into some?  Must be happening everywhere else but where I shop.... :'(

Alot of stores do this, inc electrical stores. I used to work at a big dept store that sold computers, fridges, ovens, tvs etc and quite often we would sell products under cost to get clients in the door. Then it was the sales peoples jobto upsell/ cross sell other products.
Dion
Jackaroo SWB
Oztrail Camper 7 buildup

« Reply #79 on: February 03, 2012, 02:12:04 PM »
This is not only ARB, more brands are having the same.
When you order poly air bags in Oz you pay $350 for it.
When you order them from the US it is $150 delivered.
OK, it is from a different company, but the bags are exactly the same.
So don't blame ARB.

« Reply #80 on: February 03, 2012, 06:25:07 PM »

Offline Sixtys Guy

« Reply #81 on: February 03, 2012, 07:20:30 PM »
I have never paid retail in our local ARB shop. I walk in, ask the price and get an answer and then ask them what the 'real' price is and pretty much get 10-20% off. The local Opposite Lock shop is the same. Still not as cheap as the US, but it pays to ask!
2009 Dual Cab Hilux
2009 Southern Cross Canvas Bush Mate

« Reply #82 on: February 03, 2012, 07:48:30 PM »
Front locker landcruiser 80 series Australia. Was quoted $1050.00 over the phone from ARB (best price no compressor). $765.00 in the US including V sales tax, add $76.50 for duty taxes when I get back to Au.
Just so you know.
You live in Australia so you do not pay any sales tax on anything you purchase from any US State.
You pay no Australian duty, customs fees or tax unless you spend $1,000.00 AUS or more.
So there is even more savings there...
Bill and Morag
"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"

« Reply #83 on: February 03, 2012, 07:54:39 PM »
You live in Australia so you do not pay any sales tax on anything you purchase from any US State.

If you physically buy in the US you have to pay state tax. If you order online typically you don't pay state tax.

« Reply #84 on: February 03, 2012, 09:15:50 PM »
Until the Pollies work out how to tax it.  They are trying to

Offline tonym

« Reply #85 on: February 03, 2012, 09:25:45 PM »
Hi Guys,

The argument of what Australian product costs here against the US comes up all the time in so many industries. Usually by the time you take freight etc into account, there is not much difference. Rocky Road Outfitters (first supplier in a Google search) will sell me an LC locker for $835 and their cost to Australia is $250 to freight it. I am sure there are better deals but a locker is heavy and therefore expensive to freight. What is excess baggage? $35/kilo or so.

There is also a different scale of economies between the US and here. Remember there is 300 million of them and 22 million of us. Example, last year the total Australian auto market was about a million vehicles and in the US they sold about 585,000 F Series trucks alone! The aftermarket business in the US is massive and unlike here in the US they sell about 50/50 cars and trucks. I am sure if you placed an order for 50,000 lockers that ARB would give you a better price than ordering 10.

My 2 cents worth.

Tony.

I may be wrong here but I think local manufacturers get incentives and breaks on product they export.
Tony.
GQ Patrol - Lifted and Locked
Custom Off-Road Trailer - Ebay Tent - Drifta Kitchen

« Reply #86 on: February 04, 2012, 07:54:25 AM »
If you physically buy in the US you have to pay state tax. If you order online typically you don't pay state tax.
That is true.
However I thought you were talking about purchasing online like everyone else...
Bill and Morag
"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"

« Reply #87 on: February 04, 2012, 08:40:15 AM »
I have never paid retail in our local ARB shop. I walk in, ask the price and get an answer and then ask them what the 'real' price is ....

I always try the same thing at ARB stores, and I always get the same response...........a blank stare...........and then something about ARB setting prices............

I thought price fixing was illegal in this country...........maybe not for the big boys...........

Offline Sixtys Guy

« Reply #88 on: February 04, 2012, 12:27:41 PM »
I thought price fixing was illegal in this country...........maybe not for the big boys...........

Price fixing is when two competitors in the same market collude to fix their prices so they are the same.

A company who won't give you a discount isn't guilty of price fixing.......

Is your local ARB owned by ARB  or are they an agent? My local is owned by ARB.
2009 Dual Cab Hilux
2009 Southern Cross Canvas Bush Mate

« Reply #89 on: February 04, 2012, 03:08:12 PM »
Price fixing is when two competitors in the same market collude to fix their prices so they are the same.

...or witholding stock supply if the seller doesn't sell at RRP

ARB Air Locker Copies
« Reply #90 on: February 04, 2012, 04:50:53 PM »
Apple is the champion of such practices. I often wonder why the worlds media is not beating them up.

Offline LJs GU

• My Camel has 3 little humps...
    • The Jackson 5 On Tour
« Reply #91 on: February 04, 2012, 07:40:01 PM »
Apple is the champion of such practices. I often wonder why the worlds media is not beating them up.

If only they were on Myswag, we could hit them up for 10% off for members.  >:D
LJ
I'm not so good with advice... can I interest you in a sarcastic comment?

inahole

« Reply #92 on: February 04, 2012, 08:19:44 PM »
the first thing i took from this is oh no, cheap compition to your product. your products are not the best around, marketing and sponsorship of events sells them.

« Reply #93 on: February 04, 2012, 09:00:54 PM »

.........exactly............

Offline markymark

• everyone seems normal until you get to know them
« Reply #94 on: February 05, 2012, 06:48:21 PM »
As someone else has said, it's not just ARB charging a premium. Years ago when Lightforce first entered the Driving Light market my local gun shop owner was complaining that they were putting the pressure on him to increase his retail price of the remote mount spotlights. They were virtually identical to the 240 Blitz lights that had just entered the market, just a splash of red down one side was the difference. Guys like me were buying 2 remote mount 240's for cheaper than a pair of their 'driving lights'. He said that because their competitors prices were high (Hella and IPF) they could bump their driving light prices up to match. He was happy with his profit on the remote mounts but I don't know what he ended up doing.

Mark.
Trak Shak, FJ Cruiser

« Reply #95 on: February 08, 2012, 09:33:13 PM »
JK Wrangler new rear bar as in their latest catalogue:

Australia:
Rear Bar: $737 + Wheel Carrier $848

US:
Rear Bar: $698.97 + Wheel Carrier $813.45

There is not much difference in it but it is more the principle of ARB being an Australian company and them not looking after thier own.

Offline ozbogwam

ARB Air Locker Copies
« Reply #96 on: February 08, 2012, 09:43:54 PM »
Got nothing to do with looking after their own. It's pure economics that unfortunately many if you will never accept. You have it already formed in your mind that its a rort and no amount of info will sway you.

Don't buy the product, there you go problem solved.

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #97 on: February 08, 2012, 09:51:16 PM »

That is very true , I have had an account closed on me by a supplier because other agents complanied I was selling the product to cheap. So the big end of town does wield some power over smaller guys.

Jetcrew :D :D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

« Reply #98 on: February 08, 2012, 10:29:44 PM »

Gee I would hate to go grocery shopping with you guys and yes I bet your wives go to save the whinging and complaining about being ripped off as Coles has got it cheaper than woolworths  ;D

Offline Dogsbreakfast

« Reply #99 on: February 08, 2012, 10:44:28 PM »
Gee I would hate to go grocery shopping with you guys and yes I bet your wives go to save the whinging and complaining about being ripped off as Coles has got it cheaper than woolworths  ;D

bastards! I went shopping at woolworths tonight, knew i should hve gone to coles.  >:(
http://www.somuchviral.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/beer-holder.gif