Author Topic: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.  (Read 514809 times)

Re: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #2250 on: April 29, 2020, 01:13:57 PM »
Nice shot of the 34 that popped up on Facebook today.

This was 1997, the 34 heading into the finish line at Willowbank around a 175 mph.
Christ, I was a mere 37 years old..... I turn 60 in 2 weeks.  :-[

« Reply #2251 on: April 29, 2020, 03:15:35 PM »
Link for Keith
https://vimeo.com/ondemand/wildbunch1996/407113128

Link for others
https://vimeo.com/ondemand/wildbunch1996/407113128
Paul Casos who was interviewed in that vid used to me my boss when I worked at GIL/iTel out at Ippy in my ISP days

« Reply #2252 on: April 29, 2020, 05:00:15 PM »
Paul Casos who was interviewed in that vid used to me my boss when I worked at GIL/iTel out at Ippy in my ISP days

Paul always seemed to be a nice guy.

« Reply #2253 on: May 06, 2020, 09:52:47 AM »

Offline shanegtr

• Offroad80s
« Reply #2254 on: May 09, 2020, 11:28:43 AM »
Just put some 20" rims on my Suburban last week

« Reply #2255 on: May 11, 2020, 11:35:39 AM »
Interesting old custom Holden

This car, as many readers would know, is the Lance Simmers FJ, better known as the ‘Draggin Coupe’. One of a handful built in the 1960s when the Aussie hot rodding and custom car industry was starting to take off, this car dropped off the radar in the 1970s and was thought to be lost forever, but one of those ‘sliding door’ moments happened – and thank god it did!

https://www.justcars.com.au/news-and-reviews/john-s-1955-holden-fj-custom-coupe/13878

« Reply #2256 on: May 11, 2020, 02:17:24 PM »
Wow! Just Wow!  What an Awesome build job.

Sent from my SM-J600G using Tapatalk

« Reply #2257 on: May 11, 2020, 02:46:07 PM »
Lots of the old customs are long gone now.....  :'(

This was a good find way back when it happened.

« Reply #2258 on: May 11, 2020, 03:13:13 PM »
Gotta love those triple Webers bolted to a Red motor. Had a set on my old HT. Lotsa get up and go but not so much economy.  :laugh: :laugh:

« Reply #2259 on: May 11, 2020, 03:33:35 PM »
Gotta love those triple Webers bolted to a Red motor. Had a set on my old HT. Lotsa get up and go but not so much economy.  :laugh: :laugh:

You can now get Side draught Weber Carburettor  look alike EFI throttle bodies ..

« Reply #2260 on: May 11, 2020, 04:43:56 PM »
Trying to figure out what panels are from what car.

« Reply #2261 on: May 11, 2020, 09:47:59 PM »
Going by a post on FB in 2017,  theres possibly another one out there somewhere .. shows the chop and channel cuts a bit .
« Last Edit: May 11, 2020, 09:50:12 PM by edz »

Offline Brisbane Puff

« Reply #2262 on: May 12, 2020, 12:02:10 AM »
Trying to figure out what panels are from what car.
Talk about my past catching up.. The Lance Simmers coupe. When I was working for Motor Spares in Wagga we all congregated at Lance Simmer's speed shop. It was a Total Service Station located on the Forest Hill road half was between Wagga and Forest Hill RAAF base. My claim was that I worked at Motor Spares during the day and spent many hours after work at that speed shop helping and learning. And also working on the driveway during weekends, as it did a great trade with the RAAF guys. There was a great big shed alongside the servo and lot's of cars were born there.. Like Mr Horsepower, a FJ fitted with a 272 OHV Customline engine. Another was a Humber Super Snipe fitted with a Pontiac Strato Chief engine and gearbox. Best of all may have been An FC Holden owned by the son of a Guy Named Kevin Church that had a servo just down the road. Anyways Kevin had a Jag sports saloon that was wriiten off so the engine and gearbox found it's way into the FC. To fit that we had to cut the firewall out til the firewall came back to the speaker grill.. Couldn't tell anything different from outside but it went like a cut snake til it was time to try and stop the bloody thing. Ian Bradley did the cutting on that one.
Lance acquired a MGA 1500 twin cam as a roll over and so Lance and Ian fitted the engine and gearbox into Lance's Morris 1000 shop ute. Rear axle was from a Morris Major Elite It had adapters fitted to take 13 Falcon wide wheels.. The only difference was an extended nose piece to accommodate the radiator. Was the hottest thing around.. Apart from the Total Service Station white with red and blue stripes, it had "little S eater' painted on the bonnet. The local road patrol cop Wally Kitcheher who drove a Cooper S tried many times to catch Lance in it but by the time he got to the servo, we had the S eater up on a hoist and were draining the sump or something along that line.. Gee it really used to p*ss him off.

Anyway, down to the coupe. Lance acquired a rust free FJ. Ian had already done some frenching and minor body work on Lance's 55 chevy sedan. Ian worked for Thomas Body Works in Wagga and was very well respected in the auto body work industry around Wagga. So, one day they got out the FJ and started to strip it down and Ian made a horizontal cut from the height of where the bonnet curves on the back edge right through to the back of the car. And then another from the top of the rear point of the front guard straight through. So effectively he had cut the whole car in three horizontal sections and then cut up the sections to match back together. My claim to fame was that I got the job to go to Bartholamews wreckers and find a really good Hilman Super Minx bonnet. (the bonnet was sent out to the back door of the RAAF base to get the louvers punched in. The boot lid was made from some model Hudson, I think it was a wasp. The rear guards were hand made from sections as was all other body modifications. Original colour was towards a dark blue metalic. 

And that was pretty much how I saw it the last time before I went into the Army.. Brings lot's of good memories....
Puff
The following users thanked this post: Jeepers Creepers, Spada

« Reply #2263 on: May 12, 2020, 07:44:03 AM »
Here ya go puff .. Heaps more on the Draggin coupe facebook page, some pics of it when it was metalic blue and drag racing etc most of its colour changes .. Plus some pics of the blokes youve spoken about .
« Last Edit: May 12, 2020, 10:31:50 AM by edz »

Offline Brisbane Puff

« Reply #2264 on: May 12, 2020, 07:22:36 PM »
Hey Edz.
The first pic of the blue coupe isn't Lance's.. The second photo is the old Total servo with the workshop beside. Spent many a night there with a fire in a 44 gallon drum in the middle of the workshop . The third one is I think Kevin Church's servo. The tow truck in the background would have belonged to Bartholomew's wrecking. Was fitted on a 56 ford.

Where did you find those photos ??????
Puff

« Reply #2265 on: May 12, 2020, 08:00:27 PM »
Hey Puff, Go onto facebook and type in the search box "  Draggin coupe "  And just keep on scrolling down there are heaps of old skool photo's of the guys that built the car / designed it and of the car through out the years, at car shows and the drags .. plus some of Lances other builds .
Yep knew that blue on wasnt his ..

« Reply #2266 on: May 13, 2020, 10:19:13 AM »
Quote from: Brisbane Puff
The tow truck in the background would have belonged to Bartholomew's wrecking. Was fitted on a 56 ford.
Looks like an old Blitz ?

« Reply #2267 on: May 13, 2020, 10:34:22 AM »
Most likely was a Blitz cab on a 56 chassis ..    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Canadian_Military_Pattern_truck  .. Always wanted to do a Blitz cab as a camper, but on modern running gear ..
« Last Edit: May 13, 2020, 10:37:06 AM by edz »

« Reply #2268 on: May 13, 2020, 01:58:40 PM »
Three for the price of one in Lowood this morning.
Triple General Motors spotto.

1967 HR Holden ute, with canopy and funeral rack and original plates too I think.
1964 Cadillac Fleetwood.   ;D
1957 Chevrolet 4 door.... its there, other side of the road, in front of the truck.

ok, i'll make it easier to see.

« Reply #2269 on: May 13, 2020, 02:46:41 PM »
Not many times you'll see a "Tank" Fairlane 500 come up short.

Ha ha ha.... mines bigger.  :cup:

« Reply #2270 on: May 14, 2020, 04:39:27 AM »
Don't be fooled into thinking old cars are primitive.

Does your modern car, raise and lower the high and low beam for you.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NgXGUlvyBBw  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NgXGUlvyBBw

Can someone please make the link clickable for me? Thank you, whoever did it.  :cheers:
« Last Edit: May 14, 2020, 06:00:48 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #2271 on: May 15, 2020, 12:44:30 PM »
Bloke at work turned up in this today, 52 Pontiac Chieftain. Supercharged V8 with around 370 giddy-ups  8)

« Reply #2272 on: May 15, 2020, 01:52:57 PM »
Bloke at work turned up in this today, 52 Pontiac Chieftain. Supercharged V8 with around 370 giddy-ups  8)

The ol girl would love that as a drive car. Wouldn't make me sad either.

« Reply #2273 on: May 15, 2020, 02:35:38 PM »
This drove past me this morning whilst out getting the heart started!
Motor sounded Abit " Angry "  :)
Sorry for the low quality photo.

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: Jeepers Creepers

« Reply #2274 on: May 16, 2020, 11:49:22 PM »
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A0ItpbPWEgA   Caddy sat dead in paddock for twenty years ..   90MPH down the highway / no brakes and got 4 1/2 Miles per gallon  .. This guys a laugh  .. ;D ;D
« Last Edit: May 17, 2020, 10:48:26 AM by edz »