General => General Discussion => Topic started by: tryagain on September 01, 2019, 03:12:25 PM

Title: If you had to live somewhere else in Australia, where would it be.
Post by: tryagain on September 01, 2019, 03:12:25 PM
Interesting thought I recently had was, if you had to move somewhere else in Australia, where would it be? For arguments sake, has to be over 200km from where you are now.
Title: Re: If you had to live somewhere else in Australia, where would it be.
Post by: GBC on September 01, 2019, 04:53:53 PM
Sth nsw coast/ranges. Nice part of the world.
Post by: rockrat on September 01, 2019, 04:55:42 PM
Probably somewhere around Newcastle NSW, which is where I grew up. Otherwise, somewhere in the tropics between Mackay and Cairns.

Post by: glenm64 on September 01, 2019, 05:26:59 PM
If there was a nice town about 10kms out of Carnarvon, that would be it.
Post by: Bird on September 01, 2019, 05:34:57 PM
Retired or still need to work??

Either Hawker, Sofala or Warnambool or one of those islands off the north coast where its warm and you have no neighbours..
Post by: Pottsy on September 01, 2019, 05:55:06 PM
Port Lincoln, Coffin Bay
Post by: Goshen on September 01, 2019, 05:58:51 PM
Woodgate Beach  :cup:

Post by: xcvator on September 01, 2019, 06:10:03 PM
Anywhere warm in winter  ;D
Post by: gronk on September 01, 2019, 07:15:47 PM
Anywhere warm in winter  ;D

Yep, warm in winter, but not too humid in summer. Somewhere north of Brisbane, but far enough south of Cairns to miss the humid summers.
Post by: Titfish on September 01, 2019, 07:19:35 PM
Somewhere in the Bega Valley.
Post by: Paddler Ed on September 01, 2019, 08:23:48 PM
North eastern corner of TAS, where the mountain biking is! I did apply for a job in Launceston, but didn't get it :(

Possibly down into the Barringtons, not sure I'd want the humidity of the coastal areas (I like the dry heat) or the higher temperatures (so I'll stay up on the Dividing Range).

The only thing I miss at the moment is the option to do any whitewater canoeing and kayaking - but when we do get some rain, there are some good rivers around here.
Post by: JusyApples on September 01, 2019, 09:54:41 PM
Forster/Tuncurry, Mudgee or Gold Coast

Post by: edz on September 01, 2019, 10:37:38 PM
Reckon I could be happy somewhere between Dorrigo to Armidale, With a bit of flat ground not stuck in a hollow with a good flowing creek,  would be a must and no one within line of sight or earshot .. There are a couple of places near Ebor that would fit most of the bill .
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on September 02, 2019, 04:51:50 AM
The Mary Valley.
Post by: Steffo1 on September 02, 2019, 08:23:29 AM
Teewah (Might be marginal on the 200 klms as the crow flies)
Post by: brickiematt on September 02, 2019, 08:36:46 AM
Kangaroo Island.
We've just returned from a trip there and fell in love with the place!
Post by: Swannie on September 02, 2019, 09:18:12 AM
Port Fairy, Vic
Post by: noel_w on September 02, 2019, 09:30:16 AM
Interesting topic...
I am planning a move when I retire based purely on the fact that i can't afford to buy what I want in the Brisbane region.
Have been looking around and have decided that somewhere within 3 hours of Brissie and so far Kingaroy has ticked most of the boxes.
Can get a 3-4 br house on an acre+ of land with a shed for less than $400K. Am planning to spend a lot of time in my shed and yard post retirement so a bit of land and a largeish shed (or two) will be a must. Plus there is a bacon factory in town, who doesn't love bacon  :laugh: :laugh:
Post by: jmorgan1981 on September 02, 2019, 09:32:57 AM
I would have to say Sunshine Coast.
Post by: Bird on September 02, 2019, 10:12:09 AM
Quote from: noel_w
Am planning to spend a lot of time in my shed and yard post retirement so a bit of land and a largeish shed (or two) will be a must.
you have to travel out to get any form of land these days - ANYWHERE.... or pay up the arse for it :(
Post by: McGirr on September 02, 2019, 12:24:26 PM
After living in Wollongong and Cairns and working and living in areas around the NT and WA, we would prefer a warm climate away from the traffic, great fishing, reasonably priced but still to find that place.

We will be too busy, heading off again after Xmas, to head out looking for work to continue our travels around Australia with our new van.

Post by: Rodt on September 02, 2019, 04:12:20 PM
you have to travel out to get any form of land these days - ANYWHERE.... or pay up the arse for it :(
Not sure why I am going to say this but this is really funny

Kingaroy used to be known as the gay capital of Queensland (not that there's anything wrong with that)  ;D
Post by: Steffo1 on September 02, 2019, 04:14:22 PM
Interesting topic...
I am planning a move when I retire based purely on the fact that i can't afford to buy what I want in the Brisbane region.
Have been looking around and have decided that somewhere within 3 hours of Brissie and so far Kingaroy has ticked most of the boxes.
Can get a 3-4 br house on an acre+ of land with a shed for less than $400K. Am planning to spend a lot of time in my shed and yard post retirement so a bit of land and a largeish shed (or two) will be a must. Plus there is a bacon factory in town, who doesn't love bacon  :laugh: :laugh:

400K! That's peanuts!
It's really the wineries around there that tempt, Noel, isn't it. ;D
Post by: briann532 on September 02, 2019, 06:08:10 PM
For the rest of my work life........ ANYWHERE but Sydney.

For my retirement, Kangaroo Valley or anywhere in Tassie.
Post by: Bird on September 02, 2019, 06:14:34 PM
For the rest of my work life........ ANYWHERE but Sydney.

For my retirement, Kangaroo Valley or anywhere in Tassie.
Kanga valley - what a stunning place that used to be.. dunno what its like these days...
used to go through on the way south... Is the Berry Donut van still at the servo down south there?
edit: https://berry.org.au/taste/berry-donut-van/ (https://berry.org.au/taste/berry-donut-van/)
Post by: Wolfie on September 02, 2019, 06:53:25 PM
If I maybe specific. The last house opposite the carpark at Pambula river inlet. Magnificent picturesque river, surf beach and the view from the house looks down the river and out across the ocean.
Post by: bmwfreak on September 02, 2019, 07:18:03 PM
Interesting topic...
We finished up at Nanango, 21k east of Kingaroy. Love the town which has all the necessary support for old farts!!
Post by: ivan on September 02, 2019, 08:49:06 PM
Yep Donut van still working and yes still tastes great. Berry now bypassed.
Post by: rags on September 02, 2019, 09:27:50 PM
I would love to go back to my old home in the Blue Mts, but ( besides being cold in winter) I would have to get a divorce first as our plans are for a future on the Sunshine Coast where we already have the future house. We will just enjoy it on our spare weekends ATM and in the meantime we will enjoy our digs here in Brisbane for a few more years
Post by: Fizzie on September 03, 2019, 09:14:23 AM
Kingaroy used to be known as the gay capital of Queensland

Surprised that Joh allowed it :D

That's peanuts!

Very appropriate! ;D
Post by: tryagain on September 03, 2019, 09:26:37 AM
Lots of interesting replies, Probably just north of the Sunshine Coast (to comply with my 200km rule) of around the Coff's area. It's interesting, although not surprising that no one has said a capital city when that comprises over 70% of the population. 
Post by: Bird on September 03, 2019, 09:38:19 AM
Quote from: tryagain
Lots of interesting replies, Probably just north of the Sunshine Coast (to comply with my 200km rule) of around the Coff's area. It's interesting, although not surprising that no one has said a capital city when that comprises over 70% of the population.

The issue I see is if everyone wants to 'retire' there, it will be ****in packed and lose its appeal.
Post by: Fizzie on September 03, 2019, 10:01:30 AM
Sunny Coast hinterland or Northern NSW, but a little bit inland, not right on the Coast
Post by: Pete79 on September 03, 2019, 11:04:27 AM
Right here.....
Not telling where it is, because that point break is only for me and the reef that’s only 40 minutes away has all of my fish ready and waiting for me to catch...
I don’t need you lot coming and making a crowd... :P

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190903/e8075f9d44158245db14e1a22a484125.jpg)

But the truth is I already live where most of you want to be and I love it here, wouldn’t really want to go anywhere else.
Post by: tryagain on September 03, 2019, 11:33:15 AM
Right here.....
Not telling where it is,

You mean just south of Agnes Water  ;D
Post by: Pete79 on September 03, 2019, 11:35:17 AM
You mean just south of Agnes Water  ;D
Shhhh!!!
Big mouth... ;D
Post by: achjimmy on September 03, 2019, 11:35:38 AM
 Forster tuncurry. Great weather year round , just big enough for plenty to do and limited by water and NPs so can’t get too crowded.
Post by: tryagain on September 03, 2019, 11:42:55 AM
The issue I see is if everyone wants to 'retire' there, it will be ****in packed and lose its appeal.

Yeah, a lot of these places mentioned are likely to become more popular in the years to come for the very reason people are mentioning now, I suspect places like Byron Bay would have been on the list 20yrs ago, popularity now has most people priced out as well as changing the character of the place.
Post by: Champin on September 03, 2019, 11:46:11 AM
I'm currently building a motorhome out of a 1999 Hino bus so home is going to be where I park it. Thinking close to Vic high country spring/summer and anywhere up north for autumn/winter.

Sent from my TA-1024 using Tapatalk

Post by: Pete79 on September 03, 2019, 12:14:27 PM
Yeah, a lot of these places mentioned are likely to become more popular in the years to come for the very reason people are mentioning now, I suspect places like Byron Bay would have been on the list 20yrs ago, popularity now has most people priced out as well as changing the character of the place.
From my vantage point here in the hinterland I see the growth is all in the middle grounds on the sunny coast.

The good bits should stay good for a long time.
The actual foreshore is protected from development, coastal strip behind the dunes is just about as developed as it can be and the hinterlands are protected with lots of environmental covenants.
This only leaves the bit of land in the middle to get over developed, which has the effect of choking the more desirable areas.

Personally I’m surrounded by almost 60 acres of environmental covenants here (including 2 acres of my land being protected), so we’re at no risk of being built out.
But my drive to go for a surf when we first built out here took just under 15 minutes with just 4 sets of traffic lights.
Currently to go to the same beach it takes just over 30 minutes with 15 sets of traffic lights.
When the highway interchange disaster is finished and the Stockland decide to open up more of their stockpile of land on my route to the beach, it will be 20 sets of lights and I expect somewhere around 40 minutes to get to the beach.

The beach is still beautiful and the hinterland still has the lifestyle we all want, is just all of the urban sprawl in between that’s changing things here.

This gives a great perspective of what’s been happening around these parts;
 https://earthengine.google.com/timelapse#v=-26.78758,153.10934,11.935,latLng&t=0&ps=50&bt=19840101&et=20181231&startDwell=0&endDwell=0 (https://earthengine.google.com/timelapse#v=-26.78758,153.10934,11.935,latLng&t=0&ps=50&bt=19840101&et=20181231&startDwell=0&endDwell=0)

Heaps of other places around the country would be just the same.
Post by: Mace on September 03, 2019, 12:15:43 PM
Coles Bay or St Helens, east coast Tassie. 

Never had any desire to live anywhere further north than Narooma on the NSW South Coast.

Post by: Bird on September 03, 2019, 12:30:05 PM
Most of the central and far south coast used to be places to dream of 20 years or so ago when I used to go down there....
Now apparently south coast is druggo Ice heaven :(
Post by: alnjan on September 03, 2019, 12:51:37 PM
Interesting topic.   

But I was born here, moved away for work and managed to work my way back here via work and back on the old farm, making it a third generation on the farm and 5th generation in the area, with my son with his little family looking at moving onto the property as well, that will make it few extra generations here. 

Maybe if my son and his family do move here we can just hit the road but still call Coffs home. 
Post by: DannyG on September 03, 2019, 01:04:22 PM
I want to buy some land on the East Coast of Tassie to retire. Nice climate, coastal, quiet.

Now apparently south coast is druggo Ice heaven :(

I think that sh!t is everywhere. They are dropping like flies at my work from getting hooked on the stuff.
Post by: Bird on September 03, 2019, 01:13:26 PM
Quote from: DannyG
I think that sh!t is everywhere. They are dropping like flies at my work from getting hooked on the stuff.
Sadly after the other night talkin to a mate I havent spoken to in 25 odd years, he was telling me of the nightmare my little home town of 2000 has become.
Post by: Fizzie on September 03, 2019, 04:52:16 PM

Yep, Byron, Noosa, Gold Coast 50 years ago, Port Douglas ... the list goes on.

Once a great spot gets found by the Rich & Famous, Beautiful People, it's stuffed :'(
Post by: moeite on September 03, 2019, 05:07:39 PM
We've talked about this and between us we've decided that it has to be in the outback and it needs to have some eccentric charm about it Oodnadatta fits the bill nicely but there'll be lots of similar mad places to find first... :cheers:
Post by: rockrat on September 03, 2019, 06:22:59 PM
I already live in the best capital city in Australia (Brisbane) on a tree studded block with views to Mt Cootha and still less than 5kms to the CBD.
When we retire we might move out a bit to an acreage but still less than 200km as the crow flies.
When I lived in Townsville, I really liked going down to Bowen.

Post by: briann532 on September 03, 2019, 06:25:37 PM
Kanga valley - what a stunning place that used to be.. dunno what its like these days...
used to go through on the way south... Is the Berry Donut van still at the servo down south there?
edit: https://berry.org.au/taste/berry-donut-van/ (https://berry.org.au/taste/berry-donut-van/)

Not sure mate, it's actually been a couple years since I went down. Just love the place and swore I'd retire there if I could.

Good food, good people and stunning scenery. Lakes, rivers, and damn good weather.
Now if ever swagger would just donut a couple of $$$, I could go!!!
Maybe a go fund me page titled "Cos, I'm too damn lazy to earn it"???
Post by: tryagain on September 03, 2019, 09:06:32 PM
less than 200km

(https://media.giphy.com/media/3xz2BtrwQ2wIBeciAw/giphy.gif)
Post by: tryagain on November 14, 2019, 11:12:00 AM
Right here.....
Not telling where it is, because that point break is only for me and the reef that’s only 40 minutes away has all of my fish ready and waiting for me to catch...
I don’t need you lot coming and making a crowd... :P

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190903/e8075f9d44158245db14e1a22a484125.jpg)

This popped up in my FB feed, took me a little while to figure out why that bit of coastline looked familiar, not "the" house, but pretty close.

https://raywhiterurallivestock.com.au/properties/residential-for-sale/qld/agnes-water-4677/house/2210666

Post by: Wazza999 on November 14, 2019, 02:46:03 PM
My home turf is FNQ and I lived for 40 years in northern Australia before moving to the south. I really like the Atherton Tableland with its milder climate and access to the gulf and the cape. There are still some great spots and not too crowded compared with the SE corner of the country, so my heart would be for the north. However having lived in the south for twenty odd years now, for touring (and international footy matches), I appreciate the proximity to the rest of the country. We lived in the top end for four years and it was an expedition in itself just to get out of the NT. So for the heart back to FNQ, but for practicality I reckon some where around Bermagui, great fishing and good community, far enough away from Canberra day trippers and only dedicated travellers from either Melbourne or Sydney venture there, not even a surfing or school holiday hotspot. I can even claim ancestral ties as the great-great relos owned a sawmill on the south coast in the 19th century. It might be a bit bleak and cold in winter compared to the sunshine state, but compared to the current abode in Canberra it's positively balmy.
Post by: Nifty1 on November 14, 2019, 07:34:03 PM
I reckon somewhere out of the city, on some lakes and rivers and a 90 mile beach, good fishing and surfing and sailing, an hour and a half from the snow, couple of hours from NSW South Coast, on the doorstep of the High Country, train ride to the big smoke - ooh sorry, just seen it has to be 200 k from where I live now...
Post by: Spooky on November 14, 2019, 08:19:48 PM
Somewhere absolute riverfront just out of town in the SA Riverland. On the River Murray of course. We lived on a houseboat on Lower Murray for a couple of years in the early 2000's and sold for commercial reasons (we needed the money) and now being on my own because of the passing of my beautiful bride I would go north to the river and look at the passing boats in company with my dogs.
Post by: Bird on November 14, 2019, 08:22:25 PM
flyin into Perth other day, there were some amazing islands and coastline around Esperence... Reckon I could go Woody Island :D
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on November 14, 2019, 08:48:58 PM
Rainbow beach Qld, or Weipa  and where we are now at Cooroy, Craig
Post by: Pete79 on November 15, 2019, 01:29:57 PM
This popped up in my FB feed, took me a little while to figure out why that bit of coastline looked familiar, not "the" house, but pretty close.

https://raywhiterurallivestock.com.au/properties/residential-for-sale/qld/agnes-water-4677/house/2210666
I don’t have enough zeros in my bank account for that one... :(