Author Topic: Hello.  (Read 4885 times)

Offline Jeremyflathead

Hello.
« on: February 09, 2015, 07:06:55 PM »
G'day all,

Another crazy camper to join the fray.

We're downsizing, started in 2000 with a Jayco Hawk when camping with 3 under two lasted about 3 years didn't like the way we sat inside and ignored everyone, built a ply unit for the 6x4 and got a big Katmandu tent, then the kids grew up, bought a big camper trailer, then we started to get old, now the new journey.

For so long we looked at ours and others campers finding that this wasn't right and that wasn't right and it took too long to do this and not enough space for that, I'm sure there are folk on here the same.  We've now designed the ultimate trailer, no we haven't but we do have some initial ideas and it's time to get a move on.  I'm planning on building a trailer for camping with  separate tents for the missus and me and for each of the kids who are now all teenagers.  It has to be quick and convenient to set up and take down be easy to store and get to things, to provide some shelter when cooking and having the after dinner beverage.

Expect it to be an off road chassis with "ute toolbox" units for storage but I only discovered this site 24 hours ago so I could disappear in any direction.

I'll start a build thread but don't expect any progress for a few weeks whilst I steal all the good ideas from the forum, hopefully I will contribute a few at the same time.  I'll begin with a user spec so you can all see what we're aiming at.

Anyway a rather long introduction but this could be a rather long journey...

Re: Hello.
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2015, 07:43:18 PM »
G'day mate and welcome to myswag.  Plenty of good info on here to help make your decisions.  Good luck with your build.

« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2015, 07:40:08 PM »
Welcome to MySwag, we like the home made and there i heaps of info available. Keep us updated on the journey

Offline Jeremyflathead

« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2017, 09:53:40 PM »
Well doesn't time fly...

I introduced myself over two years ago and have I made progress?

Well yes and no.  I have bought some steel, I have sold the old camper so have a budget for the build and need to clean some space and get cracking.

The Boss says I should try to finish for Easter but I think end of year is more likely, at the rate I've been going end of 2020 is more likely...

« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2017, 08:09:07 AM »
Haha.  Slow and steady wins the race  ;D

« Reply #5 on: February 24, 2017, 10:31:37 PM »
funny thing is, has KB made progress in 2 years??? he was still the 1st bloke to greet you, again.  ;D ;D

« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2017, 07:47:03 AM »
funny thing is, has KB made progress in 2 years??? he was still the 1st bloke to greet you, again.  ;D ;D

And your problem is  ???

« Reply #7 on: February 25, 2017, 07:22:51 PM »
Oh god. Where do I start?  My doctor told me I shouldn't openly talk about it on public forums though.  Something about not being accepted in the general community

ScarpsD40

Hello.
« Reply #8 on: February 26, 2017, 12:37:50 PM »
Oh god. Where do I start?  My doctor told me I shouldn't openly talk about it on public forums though.  Something about not being accepted in the general community

did you get caught licking yourself again?
« Last Edit: February 26, 2017, 03:30:47 PM by ScarpsD40 »

« Reply #9 on: February 26, 2017, 10:01:37 PM »
did you get caught licking yourself again?
I'll pm you. Public forum. Remember

ScarpsD40

Hello.
« Reply #10 on: February 27, 2017, 07:54:45 AM »
I'll pm you. Public forum. Remember

Thnx for the pm. Well that's a new one I hadn't heard of before
Sad for you that it's genetic.
Glad for us it's not catching.