Author Topic: Suggest me an SUV  (Read 6290 times)

Offline Jakster1

Suggest me an SUV
« on: September 11, 2014, 09:08:04 PM »
Hello fellow my swaggers
I'm on the hunt for another car to replace the corolla and I (moreso the wife) needs something that meets a few criteria.
Firstly, she's getting the chits with the patrol because it is just too big, far too high off the ground, too tall for car parks, tyres are too noisy ..... Etc etc ( you get the drift ???) and with all the kid stuff it's getting to be a pain in the behind for her.
Now I'm getting sick of her whinging about it constantly and there is now way I'm getting rid of the patrol so the other option is to get rid of the corolla and get a daily for her and the kids.
Thinking along the lines of a mid size SUV
I don't want another 4WD but it has to be big enough to fit a fridge in the back permanently and have enough room for a pram, 2 baby seats, shopping and kids stuff.
Also needs good fuel economy (10l/100), needs to be safe, comfortable for long haul drives and where we live nearly everyone drives big 4wds or utes and heaps of trucks on the highway so in the event of a crash it needs to have some sort of a chance against these big rigs.
Also a bit of ground clearance as the roads can hold a fair bit of water in the wet season.
Dosent have to be AWD I'm thinking the RWD will be cheaper to maintain and run
Budget of around 20g I'm thinking a 2010 (or so) ford territory, maybe a kluger
Any one driven Either or have a suggestion. Mid size SUV wagon.
Remember no big or medium 4wds or utes. (Pajero or prado kinda stuff)

Thank you all
GU Patrol. Lifted Locked and Boosted
 Johnnos offroad deluxe -SOLD
 Dmax dual cab 4x4
 Jayco Eagle Outback

Re: Suggest me an SUV
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2014, 09:09:34 PM »
I had 3 kluger a and loved them, plenty of room in the back seats and for a fridge in the cargo area

Offline Jakster1

« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2014, 09:14:44 PM »
What are the kluger v6 motors like? Do they guzzle the juice or not too bad?
I've had a few 4.0 i6 falcons and they are really good on fuel on the highway with plenty of power and super reliable.
 Dmax dual cab 4x4
 Jayco Eagle Outback

Suggest me an SUV
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2014, 09:15:04 PM »
You need a Jeep! There was a guy in Bris basically giving one away a few weeks ago.
« Last Edit: September 11, 2014, 09:17:20 PM by scarps »

Offline Jakster1

« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2014, 09:22:38 PM »
Haha, nah I don't need a jeep!
The thought did cross my mind once.... That was all
 Dmax dual cab 4x4
 Jayco Eagle Outback

« Reply #5 on: September 11, 2014, 09:23:30 PM »
What are the kluger v6 motors like? Do they guzzle the juice or not too bad?
I've had a few 4.0 i6 falcons and they are really good on fuel on the highway with plenty of power and super reliable.

Mate, it towed my 1.6T swan better than my petty 80 series. Plenty of power and returned around 13/100

Offline Jakster1

« Reply #6 on: September 11, 2014, 09:37:52 PM »
Did you have the AWD or the FWD?
I never really driven large FWD cars before with a V6.
How do the FWD models go for drive and handling
 Dmax dual cab 4x4
 Jayco Eagle Outback

« Reply #7 on: September 11, 2014, 09:55:18 PM »
Did you have the AWD or the FWD?
I never really driven large FWD cars before with a V6.
How do the FWD models go for drive and handling

Fwd, it was pretty stable I used a wdh when towing. If I had the choice would get an AWD

« Reply #8 on: September 12, 2014, 05:53:28 AM »

The subarus have the best awd system being asymmetrical.

An outback from Pickles would be my choice and doable for a 2010 model at that $$

« Reply #9 on: September 12, 2014, 06:22:49 AM »
We had a Ford Territory and loved it.

So much room and great storage too.

Offline Darcy7

• The plumage doesn't enter into it.....!
    • RVeeThereYet.com
« Reply #10 on: September 12, 2014, 09:28:10 AM »
Not sure if they are on the second hand market in your price range as yet but we have had a Hyundai IX35 for the last 3 years and its been brilliant.  One of the best cars I've ever owned.  The diesel engine and 6 speed auto would be one of the best combinations on the road offering spirited performance and excellent fuel economy.  The suspension is a bit hard being an early model, but it sticks to the road like sh........you know the story.

What amazes me is the total lack of turbo lag in this engine.  For a 2l turbo diesel, this thing accelerates really hard, pushing you back into the seat with a real satisfying thump.  But doodle around town and its a smooth and effortless cruiser.  We regularly get about 7.5lph around town and about 5.5lph on a good highway run.  The tank is small but we still manage at least 600k range.

Interior is a nice place to be, seats are comfortable, back can accommodate 3 adults in reasonable comfort.  The boot size is good but limited somewhat by the sloping back.  Par for the course in this size and style of vehicle regardless of brand.

Good luck with your search.

Darcy

Visit our blog at WWW.RVeeThereYet.com

Offline Pipeliner

• I'm too old to rough it!
« Reply #11 on: September 12, 2014, 10:46:01 AM »
Haha, nah I don't need a jeep!
The thought did cross my mind once.... That was all

Go on, let the thought in again!  I have a great one for sale!  See Carsales - and the price is definitely negotiable!

The reason we bought a Cherokee in the first place was that my wife had the same concerns as yours regarding driving larger 4wds, but she loved driving the Cherokee.
« Last Edit: September 12, 2014, 10:48:18 AM by Pipeliner »
Camping is great as long as the mattress is inner spring!

Offline Jakster1

« Reply #12 on: September 12, 2014, 07:14:29 PM »
After a bit of research on the suggestions
I think the ix35 will be too small
The outback has too high Kay's for the year/price combo
The jeep is a jeep
Kluger sounds good but not sold on a big fwd wagon
The territory is probably out front at this stage, can beat the bang for your buck and if they're anything like the falcons I've had then they're near on indestructible
Went for a ride in a kluger today and it was a very nice car to be in.
Ill have to do a bit of test driving me thinks
 Dmax dual cab 4x4
 Jayco Eagle Outback

Offline slcs78

« Reply #13 on: September 12, 2014, 07:30:51 PM »
The territories are good but by Christ they like to drink :cheers:
2012 colorado LTZ
MDC V4 TBox camper

« Reply #14 on: September 12, 2014, 07:38:35 PM »
BIL has a territory and when towing he gets around 17/100. But they have plenty of power

Offline PAC1977

« Reply #15 on: September 12, 2014, 07:43:08 PM »
We have a Diesel Territory and is great as a daily driver and very efficient. Normal around town is about 8.5 - 9.0 l/100, Towing the Swan (approx 1.4t) around 11.5 - 12.5 /100. When towing the only thing to fault was it was a bit soft in the back so a WDH would make it more comfortable to drive. Heaps of power and very comfortable. We previously had a petrol Territory and the are chalk and cheese, new one wins hands down. 
2012 Nissan Navara ST

Offline Oldandslow

« Reply #16 on: September 12, 2014, 07:54:01 PM »
Don't  be too quick to discount the IX35.

I have had one for nearly 4 years and it is an amazing car. Plenty of room for 5 people, very economical, amazing performance for a 2lt diesel and as Darcy said it has one of the best auto's ever made.

I drove a mate around for a few days in his $450K Mercedes and was happy to get back into the IX35.

I can tow my CT, which weighs over a tonne, at highway speeds and it still climbs most hills without changing down. It is rated to 1800kg and would tow it easily.

I downsized from a Patrol, which was also a great car but driving the IX35 is something else again.

Offline Jakster1

« Reply #17 on: September 12, 2014, 08:37:05 PM »
Yeah it's not that the IX35 Aren't a good car, I've never been in one but I'm sure they're a great little SUV, but it is just the size of the boot that is a bit concerning. Ill need to have a fridge, ( we live in rural north qld where the shop isnt just down the road) probably leave the 40l in the patrol and buy a 32 for the smaller car and also an arkpak or similar to power it as there will be "no modifying this one". And there needs to be enough room left for a pram (big wheel one)and the shopping.
That's why I am not really looking at the x trail, rav4, crv types either. They're slightly bigger than a corolla but not by much and the corolla only takes the pram and a few strategically placed items around it.
Mum has an outback 4 cylinder petrol and its a really good car too with a huge boot but the performance is ok but it feels like it should have a by more go,  and the fuel economy is once again OK but it should be better for what it is

My old BF falcon would get 9l/100 on the highway. I was hoping the territory's would be the same
 Dmax dual cab 4x4
 Jayco Eagle Outback

« Reply #18 on: September 12, 2014, 08:55:23 PM »
Buy a patrol   ;D

Offline NewieCamper

« Reply #19 on: September 12, 2014, 09:03:33 PM »
I thought you started out looking for a mid size SUV. Kluger and territory are large SUV. I've found both pretty big in feel when driving, but if that's what you are after....

Our captiva was a good size for family of 4 with pram, but wouldn't recommend on reliability. We got rid of ours for that reason it was getting a few niggles. maybe a Hyundai Santa Fe or Kia sorento?

Isn't the territory the only RWD left unless you get AWD, and most AWDs drive the front, except when the going gets slippery (couldn't say tough)

Offline chillipepperz

« Reply #20 on: September 12, 2014, 10:12:09 PM »
I have the diesel Territory RWD at the moment following on from the petrol version. As said, chalk and cheese. Diesel is way ahead. My drive is around 120km per day, mostly 100kmh freeway then short urban section and I get 8.0L/100 and I drive it very hard. Previous petrol on same trip was 13.3L/100 so worth the extra for the diesel and you can't beat that rich vein of never ending torque with the diesel. Just about to trade it (work car) and just not sure what to replace it with myself. Not sure if they are in your price range but I highly recommend one to you. Cheers! Andrew
Alumina Hardtop Camper Build: http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=22809.0

Offline shanegtr

• Offroad80s
« Reply #21 on: September 12, 2014, 11:16:47 PM »
If you can handle the badge, Volvo xc90 would be my pick. They have a decent boot, comfortable and in terms of "real world" safety I consider them a leader

Offline chisel

• Lifestyle Extenda 2012, Landcruiser 100 TD 2006
« Reply #22 on: September 12, 2014, 11:23:39 PM »
Heaps of options.
Have a look at the Santa Fe and the Sorento.  Good diesel donks (145kW), low fuel use, 7 seats if you need them - or space for the fridge if you prefer.
$20k might be a stretch for 2010/2011 though.  Would probably have a few kms on it to get under the $20k.

Offline McTavish

« Reply #23 on: September 12, 2014, 11:42:48 PM »
Which one do your choices always seem to come back too??  Or have you narrowed down to a couple?
Vacation Camper & McTavish surfboard - what more does a guy need??