Author Topic: Hi All, Newbie from Brisbane  (Read 9026 times)

Offline White Beast is Towing

Hi All, Newbie from Brisbane
« on: March 03, 2015, 09:17:03 PM »

New to the forum, great impression so far!!

In the market for a new camper to upgrade from our tent. Long service coming in April so planning some trips. Locked in Frasier Island and Flinders Ranges via Birdsville as well as many other other weekend trips from Brisbane.

Got our Hilux about six months ago and also arranging a suspension upgrade, bull bar, winch, canopy and a few comms equipment. It got peppered in the November hail storm and getting back tomorrow hopefully looking new and shinny!

See you on the tracks...

« Last Edit: March 03, 2015, 09:27:23 PM by White Beast is Towing »
Ecomate FF Hard Floor Camper
2010 SR5  Hilux
OME Suspension
ARB Bar
Warn Winch
Cooper AT3's

Re: Hi All, Newbie from Brisbane
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2015, 09:20:54 PM »
G'day and welcome to myswag.  Good luck in your search for a camper

« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2015, 09:27:13 PM »
Welcome aboard......

It can do your head in searching for a camper.......so many to choose from.

My rig was written of in the storm........

Offline Beefa Toyota

• Just got to love camping
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2015, 09:32:55 PM »
Welcome also, happy hunting for the CT, great places to visit that you listed
2017 Toyota Hilux SR5 GUN126R
2017 EzyTrail Parkes 13 Hybrid Caravan

« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2015, 02:23:55 AM »
Welcome to swaggers,

Lot's of good stuff to ponder here !!!!  ( did you read my thoughts on the Ecomate  ).. Hope you get your CT soon.....Happy travels

« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2015, 09:13:53 PM »

Thanks for the welcome!!

Locked in my deal on the Ecomate FF last week at the Gold Coast Show.

Great camper and will get before the Easter long weekend camping trip!!

Included D35 HITCH, solar panels, drawer upgrade and fridge.

Can't wait to take delivery and test out.

The Hilux is also getting some upgrades with dual battery, anderson plug, electric brakes and 12v outlets in the tub.

Bring on the Brisbane 4X4 show this weekend as I am after a suspension upgrade.

Life is for Living!!!
2010 SR5  Hilux
OME Suspension
ARB Bar
Warn Winch
Cooper AT3's

« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2015, 09:31:31 PM »

Thanks for the welcome!!

Locked in my deal on the Ecomate FF last week at the Gold Coast Show.

Great camper and will get before the Easter long weekend camping trip!!

Included D35 HITCH, solar panels, drawer upgrade and fridge.

Can't wait to take delivery and test out.

The Hilux is also getting some upgrades with dual battery, anderson plug, electric brakes and 12v outlets in the tub.

Bring on the Brisbane 4X4 show this weekend as I am after a suspension upgrade.

Life is for Living!!!

Great Choice!!!

« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2015, 04:45:16 PM »
Great Choice!!!

Offline speedhump

• Going places ... others dream!
« Reply #8 on: March 19, 2015, 05:00:28 PM »

Welcome & congratulations . The eco is great.
Speedhump
Speedhump
2013 triton 4WD dual cab
2016 New Age Wallaby Caravan
4.55m Makocraft runabout & Quintrex 350 cartopper
Our Blog: chezzastravels.wordpress.com

Offline Cyclone71

« Reply #9 on: June 16, 2015, 05:39:32 PM »
Hi All

Like many have been hiding in the background for a while now but thought it was about time for my first post.

Paid a deposit on a new Modcon International FF1 yesterday 6-8 weeks wait have been looking at the traveller for ages but when i was
shown this new one I could not help myself, not even any pics on the website yet but very excited. thanks to everyone for all of the information put up here it made
narrowing down the choice a little easier

Cyclone 71

« Reply #10 on: June 26, 2015, 07:35:31 PM »
Hi Cyclone 71 great choice.

We have had ours out a few times and really impressed. Heading to the beach for a week on Sunday. It's heavy to tow but great camper. Will be keen to see the new version. I saw the new rear fold and it looked a stylish trailer.

Enjoy.
2010 SR5  Hilux
OME Suspension
ARB Bar
Warn Winch
Cooper AT3's

« Reply #11 on: June 26, 2015, 07:48:55 PM »
Welcome mate and looking forward to seeing some photo's of the new CT. 

« Reply #12 on: June 26, 2015, 07:50:29 PM »
Welcome to the forum mate!

Offline Cyclone71

« Reply #13 on: June 26, 2015, 08:09:11 PM »
Hi White Beast

Yeah it looks good same colour as the new rear fold, tub of trailer is deeper making it a bit higher,has a big stainless pantry on the fridge slide and a few extra doors for storage on the front box
Will post some Pics when we get our hand on it. a quick question did you have to season your Canvas if so for how long

Cyclone 71

« Reply #14 on: June 27, 2015, 09:23:01 AM »
Hi Cyclone,

I didn't really worry before first trip as Kerry said it didn't really make much of a difference. Once it rains for the first time it is all good.

Our first trip out was over the easter holidays and we got drenched for two days straight - well seasoned now!!

Only had a couple of small leaks and when it rained again a few days later we had none. The leak was really just because the tropical roof was resting against the main roof at one end and seeped through. The tropical roof is only secured by velcro so once I tightened up so issues at all.
2010 SR5  Hilux
OME Suspension
ARB Bar
Warn Winch
Cooper AT3's

Offline yes dear

« Reply #15 on: August 13, 2015, 10:05:03 AM »
G'day WB
I have the same CT as you and am happy with it so far.
Got it from Kerry and Phyllis as well.
Just wanted to see how you find the canvas fit, mine seems a bit on the saggy side.
I have not had it wet yet but always thought that taught canvas was best.
Do you have any extra tie down point on the corners?
The magnets are a good idea but I think that press studs may be an improvement.

CT oldy caravan newby
06 Prado
Ecomate FF sold
Jayco Journey Outback 2020

« Reply #16 on: August 22, 2015, 02:03:55 PM »
Yes Dear,

I find the canvas quite a good fit. Attached are a couple of photos to see how it compares to yours.
I did have to tighten the tropical roof slightly but the rest is good. It does sag a little more when wet but nothing to worry about.
There are tie down points but I haven't used them, probably would if the wind kicked up.
I bought some extra raw earth magnets to help close the gaps around the door and pivot point on the other side.
Have you been out recently?
White Beast.
2010 SR5  Hilux
OME Suspension
ARB Bar
Warn Winch
Cooper AT3's

Offline yes dear

« Reply #17 on: August 23, 2015, 06:59:05 PM »
See attached
Just can't seem to get it tight.
I have got some press studs to fit around the hinge areas
Am i expecting to much?

I like your ensuite WB
Been thinking about uping from my single now I have the HWS with shower.

« Last Edit: August 23, 2015, 07:01:33 PM by yes dear »
CT oldy caravan newby
06 Prado
Ecomate FF sold

« Reply #18 on: August 24, 2015, 01:22:45 PM »
My canvas is about the same mate, no biggie..

Just took mine to the cape including the OTT and it passed with flying colours...

« Reply #19 on: August 25, 2015, 08:05:36 PM »
I have an unused canvas ensuite that fixes to the back end if you were interested? I think its the width of the camper x 2m.

It came with the camper but we will probably just keep with the double lightweight in the pics.

Wilson 79, any pics from the trip? did you do it alone? We are heading to Flinders in April next year and debating if we need company to do either the Birdsville or Strezleckie tracks, or take the safe route via country NSW?

WB.
2010 SR5  Hilux
OME Suspension
ARB Bar
Warn Winch
Cooper AT3's

« Reply #20 on: August 25, 2015, 08:54:59 PM »
We had 6 cars in our convoy, i do have pics but need to sort them all out U will put some up as soon as i pull my finger out

Offline yes dear

« Reply #21 on: August 27, 2015, 07:40:10 PM »
i have the same canvas ensuite.
bit too heavy for what is is.
I reckon i will upgrade to your double.
does it have screen floors in it?
CT oldy caravan newby
06 Prado
Ecomate FF sold

« Reply #22 on: August 28, 2015, 06:15:04 PM »
It has removable lightweight tarp floors, great for removing after a shower to dry out.
We will never use the canvas ensuite, too much work setting up and I think it would take too long to dry out after showers.
2010 SR5  Hilux
OME Suspension
ARB Bar
Warn Winch
Cooper AT3's