Author Topic: Water and fuel storage options  (Read 17710 times)

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
Water and fuel storage options
« on: August 22, 2013, 04:02:38 PM »
Ok here is a company that sells some very good storage options at reasonable prices.

I have the footwell tank and it was a pearler on the cape trip.

I wish I had a diesel right now .LOL the tanks are awesome

If anyone wants some prices I can get access to this gear at the right price  ;D ;D ;D

http://www.dolium.com.au/Retail_Catalogue/cat/Tanks.html

Jet ;D

EDIT- just for clarity I do not sell or stock these products but can get them at right price . If anyone on the trip wanted anything. I will prob look at the slim line water tank.
« Last Edit: August 22, 2013, 06:30:34 PM by jetcrew »
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Offline CGS

Water and fuel storage options
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2013, 05:08:16 PM »
I think I will be getting my tanks from here. Heard they are well made and a good company.

http://www.4wdsystems.com.au/index.php?id=25

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
Re: Water and fuel storage options
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2013, 06:26:56 PM »
I think I will be getting my tanks from here. Heard they are well made and a good company.

http://www.4wdsystems.com.au/index.php?id=25

Yeah all good for fixed L/R tanks but they don't do any mobile fuel/water storage solutions from what I could see.. The only reason I posted that link is that small tank solutions seem to be hard to find .

Jet
RV POWER SOLUTIONS

Offline bushbandit

• Oh To Be On The Wallaby
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2013, 07:31:16 PM »
On the Dolium Poly Fuel Tanks it says you can transfer fuel with optional hose kit.If it is in the back of a ute and the hose is connected to the tank on the outlet which is at the bottom front of the poly tank and then run hose up and over the ute sidewall is that enough pressure for the fuel to run up and over and into vehicle tank without some sort of pump system?
2013 Mitsubishi Triton GLR 4x4
2015 Jayco Swift Outback

Offline bushbandit

« Reply #4 on: August 23, 2013, 11:13:49 AM »
Answered my own question, for info for those with Utes im fitting a 60ltr Poly tank against rear wall of Ute Well and because its sitting on the floor the fuel will not be able to gravity feed via the hose fitting kit so im installing a small 12v electric pump with a switch in the cab so no one can turn on from the well area.Its worked out a cost effective and professional install to carry extra fuel.Ill also purchase a Mr Funnel.Next is the Footwell Water Reservoir.   
2015 Jayco Swift Outback

« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2013, 11:21:36 AM »
Ive been thinking about extra diesel and to some extent water for this trip and for us I think ill keep it simple and use some jerrys mounted to the roof rack.

Given that there will most likely also be our roof top tent up there as well Ill only carry the jerrys full when its absolute necessary and I think that will be the actual crossing so after day one the weight should be gone.

As for water, drinking water Ill carry in the Patrol in containers or bladders. For dishes Ill look into a solution for that. I once started to make a smallish tube type water tank to mount along side the chassis but lost interest due to now having a camper so I might revisit that idea.

Offline bushbandit

« Reply #6 on: August 23, 2013, 11:32:29 AM »
Ive been thinking about extra diesel and to some extent water for this trip and for us I think ill keep it simple and use some jerrys mounted to the roof rack.

Given that there will most likely also be our roof top tent up there as well Ill only carry the jerrys full when its absolute necessary and I think that will be the actual crossing so after day one the weight should be gone.

As for water, drinking water Ill carry in the Patrol in containers or bladders. For dishes Ill look into a solution for that. I once started to make a smallish tube type water tank to mount along side the chassis but lost interest due to now having a camper so I might revisit that idea.

Yes that's was my initial idea but as I didn't have a sturdy cargo rack as in the ARB Deluxe which has a load rate of 100kgs plus and wanted to carry 4x jerry up there in those twin jerry holders which came to 80kgs plus I changed my mind as it was going to cost me $1400 all up to buy rack have it fitted plus two holders just to carry fuel occasionaly.Then I think it was Jet posted the other alternative which im going for as all up its only $500 and the liquid weight is much lower in the vehicle.
2015 Jayco Swift Outback

« Reply #7 on: August 23, 2013, 11:44:04 AM »
Yes that's was my initial idea but as I didn't have a sturdy cargo rack as in the ARB Deluxe which has a load rate of 100kgs plus and wanted to carry 4x jerry up there in those twin jerry holders which came to 80kgs plus I changed my mind as it was going to cost me $1400 all up to buy rack have it fitted plus two holders just to carry fuel occasionaly.Then I think it was Jet posted the other alternative which im going for as all up its only $500 and the liquid weight is much lower in the vehicle.

Yeh I agree. My dilemma is that I will rarely, if ever, need a twin jerry holder again. So I would need to spend the $200 on the jerry holder and maybe $100 on some better jerrys just to carry fuel for this trip. Which isnt too bad really but its still a one off. I have a couple of old plastic jerrys in the garage so if money is that tight ill just use those.

I could carry the 2 jerrys in the back of the patrol and once I empty them just tie the empties on to the roof rack and dont worry about the fancy $200 ARB holder........hmmmm That might be my best solution. I dont even think Ill need extra diesel. I get 800 or so kays range easily but in the sand that may well be reduced to 500-600 and then we may be doing some extra exploring so I think to be safe Id feel better if I had at least 40ltrs extra.

Having just spent a small fortune on a holiday I need to keep this trip as simple and cost effective as possible to make my 20% chance of going more like 99% if you know what I mean ;D

« Reply #8 on: August 23, 2013, 11:54:40 AM »
And just to add to my dribble above I have a list of things I need to do to the Patrol just to get it reliable again. I stretched it a little on our last 11000 klm trip and just got away with it, so there is no way will I risk doing another desert trip with out addressing several issues.

5th gear in gear box is obviously a must do, seeing as I broke it!
While the gear box is out I think ill upgrade the clutch, be mad not too imho unless the clutch thats in it is still looking very good.
The whole suspension has done more than its share of work so it needs new springs, shockys and some bushes. The last trip really highlighted just how bad my shockys are.
I need to repair or replace the radiator as I also broke it.
And besides the obvious servicing thats about it really as far as the patrol goes. I 'think' my tyres will have enough tread on them still in 12 months if not thats another thing ill have to replace.

We have all the required camping gear so no extra expense needed there. Between the boat trip, fuel, some accommodation, and general expenses the trip will cost us around 4k for the 2-3 weeks so that along with the repairs needed is why we are in the 'maybe' list............but i have a pretty good idea Ill turn that maybe in to definitely sooner rather than later :)

« Reply #9 on: August 23, 2013, 12:20:47 PM »
I'm interested in these tanks for extra diesel for the Patrol.  Currently thinking of the 60lt on roof racks and gravity feed it into the normal tanks ASAP.  As I don't use roof racks at the moment I want a solution that doesn't cost to much or cause to much drag and therefore increase fuel usage.

Any suggestions????

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #10 on: August 23, 2013, 12:32:10 PM »
This is one occasion I wish I had a diesel 4x4.

The water tank we used at the cape was awesome and when i saw they had now a fuel tank in same I was wrapped but then noted diesel only :'( :'( the slimline for behind roof rack and the footwell give a good ltrs and at a fairly low cost IMHO.

I am banking on 80ltrs of water for 3 people and 80ltrs spare fuel maybe 60 and an extra 20ltr water . Not 100% sure yet. I would like a 20ltr water jerry on roof rack with shower rose attached as a gravity feed shower rinse off.(this will keep the MRS happy. not sure yet. all i know is if I put a pump on it I will need 200ltrs of water for showering LOL

Jet ;D

RV POWER SOLUTIONS

Offline bushbandit

« Reply #11 on: August 23, 2013, 12:35:30 PM »

The water tank we used at the cape was awesome and when i saw they had now a fuel tank in same I was wrapped but then noted diesel only :'( :'( the slimline for behind roof rack and the footwell give a good ltrs and at a fairly low cost IMHO.

I am banking on 80ltrs of water for 3 people and 80ltrs spare fuel maybe 60 and an extra 20ltr water . Not 100% sure yet. I would like a 20ltr water jerry on roof rack with shower rose attached as a gravity feed shower rinse off.(this will keep the MRS happy. not sure yet. all i know is if I put a pump on it I will need 200ltrs of water for showering LOL

Jet ;D

Jet I phoned the supplier this morning and he said you can use the Red Poly Tank for either fuel or diesel.Ah now I see they make a Footwell one for Diesel .

Also the Footwell Water Reservoir you used how did you pump the water out to use was it via a 12v pump?
« Last Edit: August 23, 2013, 12:39:06 PM by bushbandit »
2015 Jayco Swift Outback

« Reply #12 on: August 23, 2013, 12:55:13 PM »

Jet ;D

You don't like the idea of putting a fuel tank on the roof rack?

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #13 on: August 23, 2013, 01:11:32 PM »
Jet I phoned the supplier this morning and he said you can use the Red Poly Tank for either fuel or diesel.Ah now I see they make a Footwell one for Diesel .

Also the Footwell Water Reservoir you used how did you pump the water out to use was it via a 12v pump?

Just gravity feed mate, pulled the house out held it just below the tank height and out it came.

Jet ;D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #14 on: August 23, 2013, 01:26:41 PM »
You don't like the idea of putting a fuel tank on the roof rack?

Alan,
nah  it,s ok I just like the gerry idea for the roof rack, I don't mind a half full tank at a low centre of gravity but on the roof if it was 50ltrs and I took 20-30 out. the tank is not baffled so there would be a fair amount of sloshing around . 30ltrs of fuel weighs 30KG all of that moving from side to side strapped to the highest point of the vehicle is just not a good idea IMHO. Avioded by keeping full and emptying in one go but that means waiting till you can transfer the whole amount. So the weight is up there for longer.

Roof rack can carry 100KGS so with 80ltrs I am at 80KG staright up so with all the other bits it is imperative that I get weight down as early as possible so batches of 20 ltrs are achievable every 100kms travelled.

So although I will exceed the carrying capacity of the roof rack this should only be for 100Kms at the start of the crossing and is a risk I have calculated and am prepared to take.

The tanks that can fit in foot well or slimline in cargo area remove this issue by having the weight down lower. from exp when the foot well tank was 1/2 empty at the cape and with all the 4x4ing I nbever noticed it moving around as that part of the car is the most stable in a multitude of different approach and departure angles and varied angles the footwell area moves the least if that makes sense.

So for the roof I can grab 1 jerry and empty it out . So with the 4 jerrys the outside 2 will get used first and then the inside 2 last. with the very first one being selected based on the opposing sides load ect. to keep the best overall balance .

Jet ;D

RV POWER SOLUTIONS

Offline GeeTee

• GT Campers premium off-road trailers and Toyota Hilux Expedition conversions
« Reply #15 on: August 23, 2013, 01:27:38 PM »
Here's another option for carrying water that will suit people with dual-cabs :)

GT Campers: Off-road touring trailer or Toyota Hilux Expedition
Purpose-designed and built off-road touring vehicles. Innovation not imitation!
Find us on Facebook

« Reply #16 on: August 23, 2013, 01:31:12 PM »
Alan,
nah  it,s ok I just like the gerry idea for the roof rack, I don't mind a half full tank at a low centre of gravity but on the roof if it was 50ltrs and I took 20-30 out. the tank is not baffled so there would be a fair amount of sloshing around . 30ltrs of fuel weighs 30KG all of that moving from side to side strapped to the highest point of the vehicle is just not a good idea IMHO. Avioded by keeping full and emptying in one go but that means waiting till you can transfer the whole amount. So the weight is up there for longer.

Roof rack can carry 100KGS so with 80ltrs I am at 80KG staright up so with all the other bits it is imperative that I get weight down as early as possible so batches of 20 ltrs are achievable every 100kms travelled.

So although I will exceed the carrying capacity of the roof rack this should only be for 100Kms at the start of the crossing and is a risk I have calculated and am prepared to take.

The tanks that can fit in foot well or slimline in cargo area remove this issue by having the weight down lower. from exp when the foot well tank was 1/2 empty at the cape and with all the 4x4ing I nbever noticed it moving around as that part of the car is the most stable in a multitude of different approach and departure angles and varied angles the footwell area moves the least if that makes sense.

So for the roof I can grab 1 jerry and empty it out . So with the 4 jerrys the outside 2 will get used first and then the inside 2 last. with the very first one being selected based on the opposing sides load ect. to keep the best overall balance .

Jet ;D

Makes sense, 3 jerries are cheaper too ;D

« Reply #17 on: August 23, 2013, 01:36:28 PM »
Why not do this, over 300kgs on the roof and they complained about it's fuel economy ::)

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #18 on: August 23, 2013, 01:44:11 PM »
Why not do this, over 300kgs on the roof and they complained about it's fuel economy ::)

WOW .. how did that not snap.? or maybe it will next trip LOL

Jet ;D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS

« Reply #19 on: August 23, 2013, 01:45:20 PM »
WOW .. how did that not snap.?

It's a Toyota ;)

« Reply #20 on: August 23, 2013, 01:56:15 PM »

I know most people are doing this trip with out a trailer, but if someone is towing one maybe they could carry a lot of the fuel and water.

Just a thought.

« Reply #21 on: August 24, 2013, 02:28:06 PM »
I am only going to be 2 up and have 180L tanks standard, got to love a Prado, I plan to put water in jerries on the 2nd row floor and a single diesel jerry on the roof. Might even look at a bladder for water.

Offline tanz

« Reply #22 on: August 24, 2013, 08:30:18 PM »
Just a question, does anyone have any dramas at servos filling these fuel tanks, be they in the tray (with canopy) or passenger compartment? I think they are a great option and, at that price, am looking at fitting one (in the tub) and permanently plumbing it into the fuel system. I just remember last time I tried to fill a fuel container whilst still in the back of the ute at a servo that was not familiar with me, they shut off the bowser.

Offline Shoey

• Living the dream
    • Our Big Trip
« Reply #23 on: September 09, 2013, 10:17:23 AM »
Ive just had fitted a long ranger tank as a replacement for the standard tank. yes it would of been cheaper to buy 4 extra jerry cans but the inconvenience of carrying them outweighed the cost i still carry 2 jeries full on the camper trailer so have a bit of a backup
cheers Shoey
Toyota Landcruiser LC200
gone to the darkside sorry now have a 21 foot van traveling Australia in retirement

Offline GeeTee

• GT Campers premium off-road trailers and Toyota Hilux Expedition conversions
« Reply #24 on: September 09, 2013, 10:23:50 AM »
Just a question, does anyone have any dramas at servos filling these fuel tanks, be they in the tray (with canopy) or passenger compartment? I think they are a great option and, at that price, am looking at fitting one (in the tub) and permanently plumbing it into the fuel system. I just remember last time I tried to fill a fuel container whilst still in the back of the ute at a servo that was not familiar with me, they shut off the bowser.

It is an offence to fill a jerry can while it is in a vehicle. It must be placed on the ground.

GT Campers: Off-road touring trailer or Toyota Hilux Expedition
Purpose-designed and built off-road touring vehicles. Innovation not imitation!
Find us on Facebook