Author Topic: The Simpsons Flamingo Shakedown trip  (Read 1486 times)

Offline MDSimpson

• 2007 Jayco Flamingo Outback follows the 2008 Prado
The Simpsons Flamingo Shakedown trip
« on: November 14, 2012, 07:22:00 AM »
Wow, what a week its been.

We have had the Flamingo for a few weeks now, and have been looking to book a 'close to home' shakedown trip for it, but life keeps getting in the way.
Anyway, I called to book a spot at Patonga for a Friday/Sat only to be told they are booked out for weekends through to Feb 2013, and even that is nearly fully booked too. Wow, the local economy says thank you... but I said "bugger"....

Talking to a mate at work, who has friends in the Scouts, he mentioned the Scouts have a number of sites booked in Patonga for this weekend. Not that he was going.... Yesterday he calls me and tells me, the Scout master just called to say they have had a few dropout, so they have some empty sites, so guess what, we are BOTH going down for the weekend now.. Woohoo, first trip.

So I'll chuck the wifes lime green kayak on the roof of the Prado, hook up the Flamingo on my way home on Friday arvo, and continue over the hill. I should be there in less than 15 mins ;)

I have a notepad and pen, to write down all the things we forget or want to change. More to come, once we get there, I'll finally be able to setup the full annex etc..
2007 Jayco Flamingo Outback follows the 2008 D4D Prado. Lets get out there...

Re: The Simpsons Flamingo Shakedown trip
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2012, 08:49:22 AM »
exciting times
Remember when you get back

Offline MDSimpson

« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2012, 08:52:03 AM »
No worries about that one, I plan on taking my camera gear.. Well, not ALL of it, but some.

Offline GeeTee

• GT Campers premium off-road trailers and Toyota Hilux Expedition conversions
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2012, 08:58:37 AM »
good fish 'n chips in Patonga  8)

GT Campers: Off-road touring trailer or Toyota Hilux Expedition
Purpose-designed and built off-road touring vehicles. Innovation not imitation!
Find us on Facebook

Offline MDSimpson

« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2012, 09:01:19 AM »
That there is GT, and cold beer at the pub... but the beer in my fridge will be better.. :)