Author Topic: Chickens at home  (Read 68306 times)

Re: Chickens at home
« Reply #150 on: October 01, 2017, 02:04:06 PM »
4 identical posts in quick succession ??? - looks like you may be having the same internet issues I am right at the moment Pete ::) :'( >:(

Chickens at home
« Reply #151 on: October 01, 2017, 05:29:50 PM »
Make that 5.... :(

It was saying something went wrong, so I tried resizing the images. Still got errors.
Apparently they all went through... ;D
« Last Edit: October 01, 2017, 05:33:57 PM by Pete79 »

« Reply #152 on: November 12, 2017, 11:48:16 AM »
Use now have 7 adults and 3 chicks, and hopefully a few more
What's left of the original flock
Isa  brown
2 silkies
Buff Orpington

Added in
Pit game
New Hampshire Red
Araucana. (Lays blue coloured eggs)

Put a mix of breeds and cross breed under the Buff Orphington when she went clucky. 3 so far have hatched.

I like having a mixture as each has their own personality even if they aren't the most productive

« Reply #153 on: September 14, 2018, 10:37:06 PM »
Fox cleaned up a few of them a few months ago. 
We have picked up some more along the way and now have the Buff Orphington sitting on a dozen mixed eggs.

« Reply #154 on: September 15, 2018, 06:48:39 AM »
Ours are doing well at the moment. We have a rat problem which I am working on. May pick up a couple more for the summer to keep the production and neighbours in eggs.

Bloody foxes though, we had one up at the house the other week in the middle of the day walking around the verandah of the house thinking it owned the place.

« Reply #155 on: September 15, 2018, 08:31:45 AM »
First time the fox got then was about 7.30 in the morning. Next time was mid morning. We like to free range a bit so now only when we are home.

« Reply #156 on: September 24, 2018, 08:42:48 AM »
Saw the first ever fox in our area this morning.
Up until now we've had no predators (apart for the magpie that defends her little patch of garden) and our chickens are fully free range, we haven't closed the door on the pen in months.
After seeing the fox about half a km from home this morning the chooks are going to have to get used to being locked up at night again.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2018, 11:08:42 AM by Pete79 »

Offline outbackogre

« Reply #157 on: September 24, 2018, 10:48:48 AM »
Just saw this post about foxes and thought I'd add my experience.  We do not have chickens, but a healthy looking fox was in our backyard this morning about 9.30.  I tried to take a photo but it was spooked and ran off.  This is in leafy Surrey Hills (about 10km east of Melb CBD).  I wonder what it was looking for?  Perhaps the cat's breakfast leftovers (must be desperate).  ???
My friends call me Rob.  You can call me ... Rob!
NW auto diesel Pajero towing a Jayco Starcraft Outback.

« Reply #158 on: September 24, 2018, 12:33:12 PM »
We are lucky that we don't have foxes in Tassie.

We will be getting chooks in the not too distant future.

Online Troopy_03

« Reply #159 on: September 24, 2018, 12:43:21 PM »
Just saw this post about foxes and thought I'd add my experience.  We do not have chickens, but a healthy looking fox was in our backyard this morning about 9.30.  I tried to take a photo but it was spooked and ran off.  This is in leafy Surrey Hills (about 10km east of Melb CBD).  I wonder what it was looking for?  Perhaps the cat's breakfast leftovers (must be desperate).  ???

Apparently he isn't on his own eitrher. Check out google for foxes in Melbourne. I remember seeing a docco a few years ago about them too.
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

« Reply #160 on: September 24, 2018, 05:31:58 PM »
All along the South Eastern Arterial, Monash, they live in the pipes underneath.
You can spot Foxes all the way along right into the Gardens at Government House.
They're resourceful critters, and will eat all sorts of stuff. 
Especially Food scraps unsuitable for human consumption.

« Reply #161 on: September 25, 2018, 05:14:50 AM »
In Melbourne there is up to about 20 per square km.  Not bad for an animal that lives alone.
Supposedly they have also now been introduced into tassie

« Reply #162 on: September 25, 2018, 06:35:35 AM »
Plenty of them up here in Qld. We used to hunt them in the cane in Hervey Bay as kids. There’s heaps at Brisbane airport, along with some pigs, and even recently some deer must have swam the river from minippi parklands - unless they used the gateway bridge? ;D
There is a huge hare population at the airport so the foxes are pretty happy.

« Reply #163 on: September 25, 2018, 11:11:52 AM »

ISupposedly they have also now been introduced into tassie

    There have been some reports, but not much substantial evidence. One carcase found, but it's stomach contents suggested it was a planted body. Someone's idea of a joke.
Some millions of $ spent on a fox detection / eradication program with nothing to show for the expense.

Sent from my GT-N5110 using Tapatalk

« Reply #164 on: September 25, 2018, 11:28:09 AM »
We are lucky that we don't have foxes in Tassie.

We will be getting chooks in the not too distant future.

No we have quolls though

« Reply #165 on: September 25, 2018, 11:39:17 AM »
    A friend with chooks at Weegena solved his quoll problems with a light outside the chook pen overnight.

Sent from my GT-N5110 using Tapatalk

« Reply #166 on: September 25, 2018, 02:18:21 PM »
We were thinking about having chickens, but the location is an issue.
The shire tells us that the coop needs to be a minimum of 1 meter from any boundary and 9 meters from the house.
Doesn't seems to work at our place.

Online Troopy_03

« Reply #167 on: September 25, 2018, 07:04:51 PM »
We were thinking about having chickens, but the location is an issue.
The shire tells us that the coop needs to be a minimum of 1 meter from any boundary and 9 meters from the house.
Doesn't seems to work at our place.

That's probably any dwelling too. So if your neighbour has a house close to any area that satisfies the requirements for your premises, it'll fail because his house is too close.
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

« Reply #168 on: September 26, 2018, 02:04:19 PM »
This is directly out the Keeping of poultry fact sheet: the poultry shed must be 1 metre from any boundary and 9 meters from any house or street.

« Reply #169 on: October 03, 2018, 04:07:47 PM »
My council requires a permit for more than 25 poultry and 1 rooster. If you need a permit then distances become an issue but if you don't need a permit it doesn't apply.

« Reply #170 on: October 03, 2018, 04:12:12 PM »
Latest hatchings 12 eggs ended up with 7 hatching,  but mum squashed one. Not sure if the breeds as we got  a mix and I forgot to mark the eggs.

and some of the various eggs we get

« Reply #171 on: January 19, 2019, 12:36:10 PM »
Currently have 9 hens and 14 chickens, of which there are at least 4 roosters.
Only getting 2 eggs a day at the moment.

Offline JamesMac

« Reply #172 on: January 19, 2019, 01:42:15 PM »
This is directly out the Keeping of poultry fact sheet: the poultry shed must be 1 metre from any boundary and 9 meters from any house or street.
I have to admit - being in the same local government area as you that I ended up ignoring the rules and building my coop up against the boundary fence - the only time I was sweating on it was when the neighbour (who didn't care about it being there) sold up. Luckily for the me new guy over that fence doesn't care either - the occasional carton of eggs goes a long way...  I also go by the theory that they have better things to worry about than the placement of a well managed yard for 2 chooks!
When I checked with the CoJ my understanding is it was the shed where they sleep that had to be a metre off the boundary, the run outside that shed did not fall under the same restrictions. The pool fence inspector didn't mention anything about the placement of it, only that I needed to cover some of the mesh with something where it is too close to the fence.
Not sure if that helps with the geometry of your place.
Good luck,
JM
2017 MU-X LSU, 2018 Camprite TL8s (the last one!)

« Reply #173 on: January 19, 2019, 07:09:04 PM »
Thanks JM.
Are you in the suburbs or the outer urban area of CoJ?

Offline JamesMac

« Reply #174 on: January 20, 2019, 11:23:38 AM »
In the burbs.
2017 MU-X LSU, 2018 Camprite TL8s (the last one!)