Author Topic: HOW DO I decide which engel to buy  (Read 10603 times)

Offline chargd86

HOW DO I decide which engel to buy
« on: January 24, 2011, 06:29:24 PM »
I have been building my ute back camper for trips probly up to a week long but cant decide wether to get the engel upright 95l fridge only or the 80 lt fridge/freezer. I built the camper to take the 95l but the 80l will also fit.

I have a 100ltr techni ice ice box which i will also use!

What are the deciding factors?

Im scared fo running out of ice in my esky and needing to keep drinks in the fridgeif that happens.

thanks for your opinion guys!

Re: HOW DO I decide which engel to buy
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2011, 06:59:30 PM »

Pass!  LOL!  We are having enough troubles deciding which brand to buy.

Kit_E

« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2011, 07:01:37 PM »
Mate, not sure on the dimensions but is it possible to fit say a 60L plus a 25/30 L fridge?

Use the 60 for the fridge & the smaller one for the freezer.. I have found separate is better even though they take up a bit more room.

Otherwise "Bigger is better"..

Offline chargd86

« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2011, 07:25:34 PM »
i prefer an upright for 2 reasons i buit my camper to suit and because of the height of my ute a chest is going to be hard to use!

Offline Blue One

« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2011, 07:38:32 PM »
charg,
          I run a 40 & 32 ltr Engel. 32 as a freezer and 40 as a fridge. Works well as the 32 is only opened once a day unless we need ice for drinks LOL.

You get redundancy if one goes on the blink. (Hasn't happened for 6 years)

Been up north & through the deserts & the combo works a treat.

« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2011, 07:51:34 PM »
Go & get 2 plastic engles 39L . 1 as freeser  , 1 as chillert for coldies & milk etc .   :cheers:

« Reply #6 on: January 24, 2011, 08:18:57 PM »
I also subscribe to the *two* idea.One for fridge, one for freezer which ever brand you get. If you need a freezer that is  8) We start off with the meet etc frozen & cryo-ed then as we are away longer I slowly turn it up until the freezer is now another fridge. Like mentioned you also have a back up then.

Anyway. It's not what you asked is it  ;D Can you fit two  ??? Would work well..
« Last Edit: January 24, 2011, 08:21:42 PM by SteveandViv »

« Reply #7 on: January 24, 2011, 08:34:47 PM »
& as the freezer is emptyed & the food is removed there is more rroom for   :cheers:

« Reply #8 on: January 24, 2011, 08:36:26 PM »
Buy a Waeco :)

« Reply #9 on: January 24, 2011, 08:38:03 PM »
DREAMING   ;D

« Reply #10 on: January 24, 2011, 09:24:01 PM »

Offline Paul and Bern

• Living for Holidays
« Reply #11 on: January 24, 2011, 10:06:10 PM »
 :D When you allowed for space on the 80l was it the normal (chest type) and did you allow for the power cord to go in.  If you use the dimensions out of the brochure they don't allow for the space needed by the plugs which come out the front long side, not the back like the 39's, which I rapidly found out when I got a 75 combo.
We ended up with the combo cause it was too hard to keep meet iced, and lettuce etc not iced in the one un-split fridge/freezer, and we didn't really have enough for 2 seperate ones without an elaborate storage system in the back of the patrol.
There are good arguments for 2 smaller, and arguments about the energy needed to make ice for eskies etc, sooo....
Good luck
Can every day be made a public holiday?

« Reply #12 on: January 25, 2011, 02:35:39 AM »
If you have 2 engles why would you want to make ice for the esky as well  ??? Just how much grog do you get through in a day ?  :cheers:

« Reply #14 on: January 25, 2011, 05:21:40 PM »
       x3
           Why  ???

Offline Fivid

« Reply #15 on: January 25, 2011, 05:31:03 PM »
We have an 80 litre Engel fridge as at the time we bought people were telling us the combos didn't work well.  I now know a few people with combos and have only heard good things about them and sometimes think it would have been better if we had of gone that way.  We do however have a second 40 litre Engel and pull out one of the back seats to fit that in for long trips set as a freezer.  Personally I don't know anyone with the upright Engel so can't offer any opinion about that one.  Stay with Engel though and you will likely have an excellent reliable fridge that will last you 20 years or so.
http://www.trailtrack4x4.com/

Offline Maîneÿ . . .

• Watch videos below
    • S0LAR power charging videos
« Reply #16 on: January 25, 2011, 07:45:41 PM »
For a slightly different slant on the 'original' question, get top opening door fridge and/or freezer, and not a front opening door fridge and/or fridge.
You loose less cold air and therefore use less current to maintain the low temperature with-in the cabinet  :cheers:

Offline 4541Andy

« Reply #17 on: January 25, 2011, 08:04:18 PM »
I have a st90 f engel upright for sale ,had it fitted to an older caravan  that sat in ambient temps of 40 plus and always had cold beer in it from week to week. It is too big for the camper trailer I am building so it has to go
   Andy

Offline Estelle

• New members of the leisure club
« Reply #18 on: January 25, 2011, 08:48:53 PM »

Will the fridge/freezer be able to produce sufficient ice for the icebox (assuming that is the point of the freezer)?  OR, are you going to fill the freezer with ice before you set out and dump it into the icebox when needed then make some more ice whilst out, justincase?.

John
Chris & John

05 DiD Platinum Pajero, Cub Spacevan Drover Off Road

« Reply #19 on: January 26, 2011, 03:57:09 AM »
Estelle I am trying to work out why you want to make ice in an engle to feed an icebox .
the project is going to suck up lots of power. It might be better to consider just the engel to keep your drinks cold . That works for me  :cheers:

Offline JethroT

« Reply #20 on: January 26, 2011, 06:49:34 AM »
We get by with a 50 Litre Waeco, we cryovac our meat and have smaller portions than at home (I lost 3 Kg on the trip to the Cape).  

And guess what, hot beer tastes good, I forgot to drop a sixie into the fridge one day and found that if you start with hot beer it tastes ok.  (and I used to have nightmares about running out of cold beer).

Geoff  
Regards, Geoff and Michele

Offline griz066

« Reply #21 on: January 26, 2011, 06:56:00 AM »
       x3
           Why  ???

X2 Why ???

Lets start a Pi$$ing contest :cup: :cup:

Buy quality engels and you only buy once.
Yesterday's Gone, Tomorrow Hasn't Happened, Live For Today.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=12950.msg192834#msg192834

« Reply #22 on: January 26, 2011, 07:20:42 AM »
Just flip a coin.
You wont go wrong with one as they are both Engels...
Bill and Morag
"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"

« Reply #23 on: January 26, 2011, 08:12:38 AM »
[quote author=GOLDSTREAM

" And guess what, hot beer tastes good,"   :o :o :o
 Give your self an upper cut !!!!  Hot  BEER & Rotting Steak  ??? ??? & you admit to it .....
Might have to have a chat to about your responcoble sreving of beer . Go & Buy an Engel  NOW

« Reply #24 on: January 26, 2011, 08:17:25 AM »
Yuk... Warm Beer.. We'll the natives drink it like that up here - called Kimberly Cold  ;D

Now on this ice thing. I think you are going to struggle to make ice of any quantity in the Engle. To be honest they work hard enough to keep ice at -18 let alone make it. We have a dual zone and even putting a bottle of water can take hours and hours to freeze and during that time the fridge will not turn off. Your gong to be using a lot of power if you try..