General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Rumpig on January 13, 2016, 08:53:18 PM

Title: Landcruiser Mountain Park Sold
Post by: Rumpig on January 13, 2016, 08:53:18 PM
It's a 4wd park just North of Brisbane for those who have no idea where the place is.....Just read this on LCOOL forum, no idea of how true it is. Alben is the current owner for those who don't know him.
Received a call from Alben who said that the park is now under contract and will close in March.
It will now be called Crofters Mountain Resort.
This involves people buying a croft of land( the Irish and Scottish do this).
They will post on the internet soon.
Title: Re: Landcruiser Mountain Park Sold
Post by: edz on January 13, 2016, 09:33:18 PM
Sooo its been sold again, think this makes it  the fourth or fifth time its been sold for real in the past 10 odd years, wonder if Alben has actualy sold it for real this time ..
Reckon you  real estate blokes would have ways of finding out .. Hope he got a Mottsa for it, He's not getting any younger ..
Reminds me of the Rugs a Million closing down sales or over stocked discount sales aads on the TV, it must have taken them near fifteen years to close down and I think its been near on ten years or more that  they are still trying to sell of the overstocked rugs.. ;D ;D
Post by: oldmate on January 14, 2016, 06:04:45 AM
Sooo its been sold again, think this makes it  the fourth or fifth time its been sold for real in the past 10 odd years, wonder if Alben has actualy sold it for real this time ..
Reckon you  real estate blokes would have ways of finding out .. Hope he got a Mottsa for it, He's not getting any younger ..
Reminds me of the Rugs a Million closing down sales or over stocked discount sales aads on the TV, it must have taken them near fifteen years to close down and I think its been near on ten years or more that  they are still trying to sell of the overstocked rugs.. ;D ;D

Lol, rugs a million closing sale!  Went on for ever, longest closing sale in history.  :cup:
Post by: Bill on January 14, 2016, 06:21:45 AM
I thought the Army bought it for training?
Post by: Red Dog 4x4 on January 14, 2016, 08:01:20 AM
It hasn't sold, but like every thing of Alben's every thing is for sale at the right price, I was up there not long ago talking with him and his brother.
Post by: hempo on January 14, 2016, 10:08:12 AM
Rugs a million.  Bit like John Farnham's final tour. 
Post by: Foo on January 14, 2016, 10:48:47 AM
Rugs a million.  Bit like John Farnham's final tour.

But wait, there's more!  ;D

Post by: Rumpig on January 15, 2016, 11:46:13 AM
It hasn't sold, but like every thing of Alben's every thing is for sale at the right price, I was up there not long ago talking with him and his brother.
might I suggest you check out their website which says different, and is in line with what my original post says....closes March 7 apparently
Post by: Bird on January 15, 2016, 11:59:12 AM
I think you have to buy your part of the land or something.. confusing
http://www.crofters.com.au/ (http://www.crofters.com.au/)

Edit: the "LAND AND LIBERTY FOR GENERATIONS"... sounds greenies to me.. ??? strange

(http://www.landcruisermountainpark.com.au/images/LCMPwebsiteSOLD_1-Optimized.jpg)
Post by: GUEY on January 15, 2016, 12:16:23 PM
Yep :( No more LCMP for me unfortunately.
Post by: oldmate on January 15, 2016, 12:22:41 PM

Clearly the price was right. ;)
Post by: Beachman on January 15, 2016, 12:23:07 PM
I just read the Crofters Web site and my take is you buy a 15 year lease on a parcel of land for around $400/$800. Then they charge an ongoing maintenance fee between $140/$180 per quarter.

So I gather that means your able to fence off your portion on land and go camping/4WDing whenever you like. So also means the general public aren’t allowed in.

While the initial price is reasonable, with the ongoing maintenance fee you would really want to spend a lot of time bush camping as $600-$700 per year pays for a lot of nights in National parks.
Post by: tk421 on January 15, 2016, 12:43:44 PM
From "The Crofters Way"

"As a private property, not open to the public, Crofters Estate maintains its right to enforce its own rules and regulations. For example no person is permitted to conceal their identity with clothing, hoods or helmets. This is a place of openness and freedom, not a place of concealment or servitude."

So you can't ride a motorbike whilst wearing helmets, or wear a hoody when it gets cold... ?
Post by: edz on January 15, 2016, 01:04:42 PM
My memories of the place were that its mostly Hot rough steep scrub country and dry hard rocky ground with a few flat areas and intermittent creeks .
Reckon the only ones doing any type of four wheel driviing will be the ones trying to scrabble up those tracks to get to their patch of steep waterless unusable 45*+  sloped  patch of scrub land .
Post by: MattNQ on January 15, 2016, 01:52:07 PM
I just read the Crofters Web site and my take is you buy a 15 year lease on a parcel of land for around $400/$800. Then they charge an ongoing maintenance fee between $140/$180 per quarter.

So I gather that means your able to fence off your portion on land and go camping/4WDing whenever you like. So also means the general public aren’t allowed in.

While the initial price is reasonable, with the ongoing maintenance fee you would really want to spend a lot of time bush camping as $600-$700 per year pays for a lot of nights in National parks.

Interesting concept . 

Sounds like it could end up looking like a shanty town.
"You may erect a range useful permanent structures, such as: a lockable storage shed to stow your gear between visits, meaning you no longer have to cart all your gear with you; build a raised deck to get your tent off the ground or to gain an improved view; put down a slab or driveway; put in water tanks to collect your own water supply, even when you’re not there; build a shower stall for a gas shower."
Post by: Bird on January 15, 2016, 02:06:25 PM
And if you buy your plot next to or surrounded by 1 group of mates who are scrotes - what then?
Post by: tk421 on January 15, 2016, 02:09:56 PM
Interesting concept . 

Sounds like it could end up looking like a shanty town.
"You may erect a range useful permanent structures, such as: a lockable storage shed to stow your gear between visits, meaning you no longer have to cart all your gear with you; build a raised deck to get your tent off the ground or to gain an improved view; put down a slab or driveway; put in water tanks to collect your own water supply, even when you’re not there; build a shower stall for a gas shower."

It'll be interesting to see how it turns out. The website seems to be appealing to those who want freedom from the nanny state, which might translate to bogans who want to get drunk and hoon around on private property endangering themselves and others whilst they are exercising their 'right to personal freedom'. I hope it doesn't turn out that way and the trust has a decent way of dealing with that behaviour.
Post by: Redcherokee on January 15, 2016, 04:08:25 PM
Brilliant. That is cheaper than Storage King.  Put up a bloody big fence and security, and store container loads of stuff there.

On the other hand, they don't permit dwellings, but don't define a dwelling.  But they do say camping is OK.  So, presumably I can merrily live in my caravan and annex indefinitely. Just need to make my holidays coincide with their maintenance shutdown periods.   :cheers:

Sounds like a bunch of idealists, who will undoubtedly get a hard hit of reality at some point.

Would love to read the contract.   Would also be interesting to see the lawsuit when someone gets injured through not wearing a helmet, because they are not permitted to wear one.

Post by: evolution on January 15, 2016, 04:31:33 PM
Ive just been reading through the costs, I dont think its overly expensive in the long run. Provided the property doesn't get sold and re used for something different.
Min cost for a perpetual croft is about $4500 then to $13500.
If it was to actually work here it could be cool, but I am a little doubtful of the longevity of this project?

Nick
Post by: Rogerthatv2 on January 15, 2016, 06:10:21 PM
Sad, had some good days in my earlier  4wding life, if I want to go back sounds like I might need to tune up my Banjo and buy some barb wire...

(http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/16/01/15/50f989eeb97ea9a7d1106a525fd0b448.jpg)

Good luck to the Perrets however, hope they enjoy their retirement.

Title: Landcruiser Mountain Park Sold
Post by: scrapsD40 on January 15, 2016, 06:37:27 PM
From "The Crofters Way"

"As a private property, not open to the public, Crofters Estate maintains its right to enforce its own rules and regulations. For example no person is permitted to conceal their identity with clothing, hoods or helmets. This is a place of openness and freedom, not a place of concealment or servitude."
Soooooooo, it's a nudist camp then?
Post by: jetcrew on January 15, 2016, 08:16:49 PM
so it looks like you can select your croft ..lots of area to find a 900m2 plot and if it rings true that only so many will be avail you will have plenty of space around you.

tempting if motorbikes allowed

Jet ;D
Post by: gronk on January 15, 2016, 09:28:46 PM
so it looks like you can select your croft ..lots of area to find a 900m2 plot
Jet ;D

Sounds like a good place to go free camping.......if only it was free !!!   ???
Post by: Hotdognz on January 16, 2016, 08:48:17 AM
They say no public yet they have events booked in on the web site, its the best place to go 4Wding and camping at the same time close to Brisbane and will be missed, our Jeep club has 2 weekend trips there a year and I go on another 2 through the year, the variety of tracks their is great.

Sent from my YOGA Tablet 2-1050F using Tapatalk

Post by: griz066 on January 16, 2016, 09:45:58 AM
Roooofey says so.
https://www.facebook.com/lowrangetv/?fref=nf (https://www.facebook.com/lowrangetv/?fref=nf)
Post by: rags on January 16, 2016, 09:52:31 AM
 Reading the web page a simple summary is
1 if you buy a 196m2 plot on a 15 year lease the cost is $3500 plus gst ($3850)
A maintenance level of $150 per ever 3months
The deposit of $425 is non refundable
Balance payed in full by end of March 2016
Payment plan in instalment available of 2 instalments over 6 months

Of concern is the deposit is payed by the web site BUT there is no contract or condition of sale available which is of concern and something that Fair Trading should be interested in.A payment plan would constitute a financial banking issue with a financial licence required but non quoted.

Also of concern would be the claim of exclusive rights for the purchaser with no other public access.
But any Crofter can bring in guests with a fee attached to the entry payable to the company who controls the site.
Also reading the web page the owners intend to build an exclusive  Bush Lagoon Reserve that is available to Crofters use. The idea that the site will only be exclusive to the Crofters seems a little loose as with the Bush Lagoon area the web page says that there will be an area established for "Music events and festivals" and they "intent to apply to Somerset Regional Council for approval to build a old style country pub and restaurant". Now to me this says a pub needs more than Crofters visiting it to make it financially viable so the public would be encouraged to visit. The term music festivals also says to me the public invited again, maybe similar to "A day on the green" type events.
I guess like every purchase it is "Buyer Beware"
Post by: jetcrew on January 16, 2016, 12:17:02 PM
Reading the web page a simple summary is
1 if you buy a 196m2 plot on a 15 year lease the cost is $3500 plus gst ($3850)
A maintenance level of $150 per ever 3months
The deposit of $425 is non refundable
Balance payed in full by end of March 2016
Payment plan in instalment available of 2 instalments over 6 months

Of concern is the deposit is payed by the web site BUT there is no contract or condition of sale available which is of concern and something that Fair Trading should be interested in.A payment plan would constitute a financial banking issue with a financial licence required but non quoted.

Also of concern would be the claim of exclusive rights for the purchaser with no other public access.
But any Crofter can bring in guests with a fee attached to the entry payable to the company who controls the site.
Also reading the web page the owners intend to build an exclusive  Bush Lagoon Reserve that is available to Crofters use. The idea that the site will only be exclusive to the Crofters seems a little loose as with the Bush Lagoon area the web page says that there will be an area established for "Music events and festivals" and they "intent to apply to Somerset Regional Council for approval to build a old style country pub and restaurant". Now to me this says a pub needs more than Crofters visiting it to make it financially viable so the public would be encouraged to visit. The term music festivals also says to me the public invited again, maybe similar to "A day on the green" type events.
I guess like every purchase it is "Buyer Beware"

good points there Rags :cup: :cup:

as the saying goes ..If sounds too good .....
Post by: Foo on January 16, 2016, 04:23:17 PM
196m2 That's only big enough for a car park?  ???

Post by: rags on January 16, 2016, 04:45:39 PM
196m2 That's only big enough for a car park?  ???

About 14m x 14m or about the size of a block these days in western Sydney, or 18m2 smaller than my shed/workshop
Post by: Fizzie on January 16, 2016, 04:49:35 PM
Been reading their site & it doesn't actually sound too bad?

Perpetual licence at ~$12000 for virtually a 1/4 acre block + $180 / quarter for "rates" is actually pretty cheap - they say it can't be your principal residence so I guess that must make it an investment property?, so everything is then claimable as a tax deduction?

See that there's a  a couple of mentions of "100 years" & that your descendants could still be doing this or that on the block. Would be interesting to see what really does happen in 100 years time when this area is an outer suburb of Brisbane / Sunshine Coast - will it still be 10000 acres of untouched bushland?

So how about some nice helpful Swagger jumping in & signing up for a block, then letting us know about how it all works?  :D
Post by: rags on January 16, 2016, 04:52:36 PM

Perpetual licence at ~$12000 for virtually a 1/4 acre block + $180 / quarter for "rates" is actually pretty cheap - they say it can't be your principal residence so I guess that must make it an investment property?, so everything is then claimable as a tax deduction?

See that there's a  a couple of mentions of "100 years" & that your descendants could still be doing this or that on the block. Would be interesting to see what really does happen in 100 years time when this area is an outer suburb of Brisbane / Sunshine Coast - will it still be 10000 acres of untouched bushland?

So how about some nice helpful Swagger jumping in & signing up for a block, then letting us know about how it all works?  :D
Also says you can't build any thing more than a tent or a garden shed.
Post by: Shaun99 on January 16, 2016, 05:04:44 PM

It sounds dodgy, a means to raise money to pay off the loan for the purchase of the property.

Overtime people will loose interest or not want to continue paying the quarterly fee.

Potential or subsequent buyers (lease holders because at the end of the day the money does not buy you title to any land) will be in short supply.

Eventually the crofters will fade away, the owners will be happy with that result.
Post by: rossm on January 16, 2016, 05:30:46 PM
It sounds dodgy, a means to raise money to pay off the loan for the purchase of the property.

That's what I was thinking.
Post by: Foo on January 16, 2016, 05:31:30 PM
^^^ Yep I said that on another forum!  ;) ^^^

Post by: KingBilly on January 16, 2016, 05:32:07 PM

Doesn't investment mean earning an income?

And it will never be an outer suburb of anything  :D

Post by: gnomeo on January 16, 2016, 06:20:54 PM
Scam ... pure and simple!
Post by: Bird on January 16, 2016, 08:54:00 PM
Quote from: Shaun99
It sounds dodgy
x4
Post by: Fizzie on July 02, 2016, 03:09:32 PM
Anybody ever hear anything further re this set-up?

Just went to look at their website & it's

"currently being updated with exciting new content and offers.

Come back soon to see the benefits for yourself."
Post by: KingBilly on July 02, 2016, 04:48:04 PM
Read that the new owners are thinking about opening up a part of the park to day visitors like it was under the previous owners.  Apparently sales are slow.

Post by: Rumpig on July 02, 2016, 06:17:25 PM
Apparently sales are slow.

no surprise there...the concept may work in countries with limited locations to go camping at, but why would you pay all that money to lock yourself into camping in that one location all the time in a country like ours that has so many other options to go to?
Post by: DaveR on July 02, 2016, 06:45:58 PM
I noticed that the signs for LCMP are still on the hwy heading into Kilcoy.
Post by: BaseCamp on July 02, 2016, 08:55:22 PM
I noticed that the signs for LCMP are still on the hwy heading into Kilcoy.
So are the faded brown tourist signs for the Big Pineapple. .. ..   :)

Post by: oldmate on July 02, 2016, 10:33:51 PM
no surprise there...the concept may work in countries with limited locations to go camping at, but why would you pay all that money to lock yourself into camping in that one location all the time in a country like ours that has so many other options to go to?

yep.. 
Post by: dooguss on July 03, 2016, 01:24:05 PM
Currently on Facebook there is a page called "rent my croft" where some owners have put there plot up for rent, i read that  they were charging about $50 per vehicle.
Post by: Nomad on July 03, 2016, 06:59:55 PM
Interesting concept.

Its a different setup to any of the hippy style villages I have ever had to deal with in the Sunshine Coast Hinterland, most of those are either titled or work on a land lease set up.

The Croft operates under a standard licence agreement, I have read enough of it to determine that it is a fairly stock standard document, i.e all the rights remain with the licensor.

It appears though that the owners are trying to sell long term crofts whilst still allowing weekend campers to utlise the park as a typical weekend camp site, although the current website and marketing material doesn't reflect this the licence agreement certainly does, so I think that in due course, once a decent number of crofts have been sold you will see the park change back to a more traditional style facility. I would have to research the development approval that is in place to get an indication of the total allowable numbers, however I dare say that the local authority would be fairly flexible in allowing an increase in numbers based on amenities etc.

Overall I think that the concept is fairly well executed but..............why would I want to camp behind a fence on a 196sqm, 434sqm or 961sqm.............

I do have doubts as to the financial viability of the project however, as I think the concept probably works well in Scotland were people want access to their own piece of country, I think with the availability of alternative camp options in Australia will prove to much for them to overcome.

Both of the companies that own the property were only registered in 2015 so it appears that the only asset held by them would be the property, so in the event of the property (and business) getting into trouble there would be little chance of recouping your fees and possibly getting access to your croft to retrieve your belongings.

Not for me but will keep an eye out to see how it goes..........................maybe we might get a chance to get a cheap Myswag retreat!
Post by: Steffo1 on July 03, 2016, 07:31:16 PM
With 20,545 'swaggers @ $100 each what are the possibilities? But, do we all want to camp together? I think the
ex LCMP is doomed, doomed I tell you!
Post by: CokeBottle on August 07, 2016, 08:30:18 PM
Just read elewhere that the sale of LCMP has fallen over.

Anybody know if this is accurate?
Post by: Homer_Jay on August 07, 2016, 08:38:02 PM
according to Facebook all rumour.
That's good enough for me............

Ha

Post by: Fizzie on August 08, 2016, 08:06:35 AM
Faceplant from a week ago:

"Crofter’s Estate has recently become aware of several rumours that have been circulating online and elsewhere regarding its onsite business activities and its officeholders.

Crofter’s Estate wishes to assure everyone that these rumours are unfounded and entirely false.

Investigations are underway into the source of these rumours, which are considered to be defamatory and damaging to the good name and reputation of Crofter’s Estate and its officeholders.

Crofter’s Estate intends to fully pursue all legal rights and remedies available to it at law to ensure that these rumours cease immediately and those responsible are held accountable.

Crofter’s Estate wishes to reassure everyone that it will be continuing its usual operations on site despite the obvious damage that these rumours have and continue to cause."

Hmmm  ???

Do they possibly protest too much?
Post by: BaseCamp on August 08, 2016, 08:48:38 AM
"Definitely"  ....   for them to put off our BS detectors; they should have added something like:

"And we are proud to report that to date 30% or all the Croft plots have been sold and settled already; we have completed 80% of all the road works and other internal structures; and the 2 major concert events for 2016-2017 are 50% sold out already".........

But what's that I hear you; (Crofter Inc.) confess.....   none of this has happened  (aka) case closed.....

Post by: Steffo1 on August 08, 2016, 09:21:10 AM
Sounds like a subsidiary of another company I heard of! ;D
Post by: Campa on August 11, 2016, 08:59:57 PM
"Definitely"  ....   for them to put off our BS detectors; they should have added something like:

"And we are proud to report that to date 30% or all the Croft plots have been sold and settled already; we have completed 80% of all the road works and other internal structures; and the 2 major concert events for 2016-2017 are 50% sold out already".........

But what's that I hear you; (Crofter Inc.) confess.....   none of this has happened  (aka) case closed.....

The parks gone to the dogs. The roads are terrible. The facilities are disgusting. There's been no improvements since these wankers bought the place.
Post by: DaveR on August 11, 2016, 09:50:45 PM
Bit of a Numpy question I know.
But
Is it possible to visit and camp there still similar to the way it was and 4wd around the park?
Post by: Campa on August 12, 2016, 01:07:14 AM
Bit of a Numpy question I know.
But
Is it possible to visit and camp there still similar to the way it was and 4wd around the park?

Yes and no.
https://crofters.myshopify.com/collections/short-term-stays
Post by: DaveR on August 12, 2016, 11:19:55 AM
I think I'll give the place a miss, admittedly I've not been for a vert long time, was looking to go but not if it is a hassle.
Post by: cardinal28 on August 12, 2016, 11:27:14 AM
50 bucks a night to camp on the hill and not be able to get into the 4x4 park seems a bit rich to me. 
Post by: yogi on August 12, 2016, 06:51:23 PM
Has anyone actually been there recently ? I think you might find things are about to change ;D

Post by: Bird on August 12, 2016, 07:02:32 PM
Has anyone actually been there recently ? I think you might find things are about to change ;D

what they'll spot happy dayz camped up on the sidelines???
Post by: Nomad on August 12, 2016, 07:39:24 PM
From the site:

Crofters Estate is not currently accepting new Crofter Licence purchases. We expect to start accepting purchases again sometime between 26th August to 1st September 2016. Please check back between those dates.

Possibly still in a due diligence phase........no record of sale on RPData / Pricefinder as yet, but that doesn't mean much.

Spill the beans Yogi?
Post by: Campa on August 12, 2016, 07:40:03 PM

They have too.
Plenty other places to go that have better facilities and are my accomodating.
Post by: yogi on August 13, 2016, 06:31:24 AM
I just think it would be nice if LCMP reopened that's all 8)

PS(seems to be a few threads around the 4x4 forums suggesting just that)
Post by: Nomad on August 13, 2016, 07:49:43 AM
That would support the lack of sales data on the property..... :cheers:
Post by: Red Dog 4x4 on August 15, 2016, 09:36:13 AM
IT seams that it was never sold, just leased...
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on August 23, 2016, 03:18:34 PM
I just think it would be nice if LCMP reopened that's all 8)

PS(seems to be a few threads around the 4x4 forums suggesting just that)

Next month even....
Post by: GUEY on August 23, 2016, 03:36:20 PM
http://www.landcruisermountainpark.com.au/ (http://www.landcruisermountainpark.com.au/)
Post by: hempo on August 23, 2016, 04:23:10 PM
Wonder if Crofter's are providing refunds
Post by: dooguss on August 23, 2016, 04:24:25 PM
A Facebook post  from Landcruiser park today has said they will be reopening to the piblic on the 30th September
Post by: plusnq on August 23, 2016, 06:27:42 PM
Sure does. Probably not the outcome they wanted but good for us.
Post by: oldmate on August 23, 2016, 06:36:45 PM
Seems to me that behind the scenes there would be a bit of a **itfight going on.
Post by: KingBilly on August 23, 2016, 06:44:16 PM
https://www.facebook.com/groups/257392240658/permalink/10154226159910659/ (https://www.facebook.com/groups/257392240658/permalink/10154226159910659/)

PUBLIC NOTICE
Please be advised that Landcruiser Park is intending to re-open to the public on the 30 September 2016.
From 23 August 2016 until the day of re-opeing Landcruiser Park is closed.
No access into Landcruiser Park will be provided without prior permission being obtained.
Contact No:5497 3164
Email: lcmp@bigpond.com

Post by: J.R on August 23, 2016, 07:09:41 PM
I guess the tree hugging cult thing didn't work out for the new owners.
Post by: KingBilly on August 23, 2016, 07:19:48 PM
Think it was more a case that the "new" owners couldn't afford to pay for it  ;D

Post by: J.R on August 23, 2016, 08:11:58 PM
The place would make an Awsome retirement plan.
Post by: oldmate on August 23, 2016, 08:20:35 PM
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160823/7ca02009a3abf4390fa8026937113755.jpg)
Post by: GeoffA on August 23, 2016, 08:23:57 PM
Seems to me that behind the scenes there would be a bit of a **itfight going on.

I reckon you might be right there, oldmate....
Post by: patroldude on August 23, 2016, 09:11:02 PM
Great news for the vast majority of 4WDers
Absolutely devastating if you bought a Croft!!!
Post by: Nomad on August 23, 2016, 09:17:04 PM
Yeah and nah.........thats life in Real Estate land for alot of properties other than a house.

In a deal like this the owners would have been given a certain price subject to the purchasers being able to achieve certain results. Obviously this hasn't been achievable for the purchasers so the contract is either renegotiated or at an end.

In Maroochydore an old farmer once owned most of the land that is now to become the CBD. He sold that property about 5 times over to various developers and the deal was always around $100m with a $2m non refundable deposit. So he picked up $10m just by letting people have an option to purchase in a certain period of time.

All fun and games.
Post by: Shaun99 on August 23, 2016, 10:11:50 PM

Overtime people will loose interest or not want to continue paying the quarterly fee.

Potential or subsequent buyers (lease holders because at the end of the day the money does not buy you title to any land) will be in short supply.

Eventually the crofters will fade away, the owners will be happy with that result.

So that crofter crap didn't work out. Hardly a surprise to anybody with half a brain.

It was clearly a scam from the outset!

Probably not much chance of getting any coin back for those on the wrong end of the deals either.

Post by: oldmate on August 24, 2016, 07:36:11 AM
I don't think it is a scam. Not the best business idea or investment in a land where we have so much free space anyway or place to camp. The idea works great in countries with limited free land, England, Wales etc.

Post by: Red Dog 4x4 on August 24, 2016, 08:06:34 AM
There was never a sale, he had only leased the property form the Perret's, then the council got wind of the sale of land ( AKA crofts ) and said we want more rates form the owners. Between now and when it opens again there is a lot of work to be done as some of the amenities need some work, But i don't know if that was from before crofters time.

Again only what i have been told by very close friends of the Perrets   

I do feel for the people who have bought a Croft though
Post by: oldmate on August 24, 2016, 05:24:23 PM
I always though land cruiser mountain was a bit expensive for the rude staff you get and their stupid 24hr policy they always had but looking at their new prices, they can jamb their 4wd park where the sun don't shine. I certainly would never go back(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160824/526be815d6f740a4a59cfd5ba2991b39.jpg)
Post by: BaseCamp on August 24, 2016, 05:42:22 PM
wow ...  $60 per night - "Tell 'em they're dreaming"....
Post by: Rumpig on August 24, 2016, 06:21:24 PM
wow ...  $60 per night - "Tell 'em they're dreaming"....
some people will still pay that...I won't be one of them though

...... Between now and when it opens again there is a lot of work to be done as some of the amenities need some work, But i don't know if that was from before crofters time......
it's not like anything there was overly flash to start with, pretty basic toilet set ups really...can't imagine there'd be that much to do to them you'd think
Post by: oldmate on August 24, 2016, 07:07:51 PM
some people will still pay that...I won't be one of them though

Too right mate.
Post by: Fathom on August 24, 2016, 07:17:06 PM
Pmsl.
I don't think they can blame the amenities on the Crofters.
Always terrible.
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on August 24, 2016, 08:04:49 PM
This morning the guys in the shed next to me were jumping for joy, because it's going to re-open.

They were already planning their next trip. They invited me, knowing I'd decline, and I politely told them to 'Go #### yourself, not EVEN if Hell freezes over.'

I doubt they'd seen the terms, conditions, prices etc, and none of which will stop them. There'll be 4 guys I know off, who'll be back, no matter what. They won't be alone.

Post by: kizza1 on August 24, 2016, 08:16:59 PM
I'd say most of that would be for public liability insurance. There have been a few incidents over the years that would have jacked up there costs. And to be honest I think it is quite reasonably priced for what it is. Remember it's not a caravan park. Try go to DreamWorld for the day and see how much that costs you. I know where I'd rather go.
Post by: oldmate on August 24, 2016, 08:24:28 PM
This morning the guys in the shed next to me were jumping for joy, because it's going to re-open.

They were already planning their next trip. They invited me, knowing I'd decline, and I politely told them to 'Go #### yourself, not EVEN if Hell freezes over.'

I doubt they'd seen the terms, conditions, prices etc, and none of which will stop them. There'll be 4 guys I know off, who'll be back, no matter what. They won't be alone.

Yep.. Hopefully lots of people go every weekend, and leave the good spots for us  ;D
Post by: Coiled on August 24, 2016, 09:08:21 PM
To those who say they won't go for whatever reason don't discredit the value of LCMP even if you don't go.

Personally I am looking forward to the LCMP crowd returning to LCMP rather than the other '4wd parks'. I know of one that was going to introduce increased charges such as a per camp levy for fire pit clean out as their new 'clientele' had seen a significant increase in rubbish thrown into fires necessitating fire pits/rings being cleaned out. Not suggesting all LCMP'ers are that way inclined but seems a large portion are.
Post by: Spada on August 25, 2016, 07:45:41 AM
I think you will find it's the governments fault that the "clientele" has changed at this place.

When they introduced the new P plate laws, and the young bucks were no longer allowed to have V8's or turbo 6's to cruise Macca's on Saturday night, they all went out and bought jacked up s#!tbox Hiluxes, a carton of bourbon, and then invaded LCMP.
Post by: Fathom on September 13, 2016, 05:56:19 PM

When they introduced the new P plate laws, and the young bucks were no longer allowed to have V8's or turbo 6's to cruise Macca's on Saturday night, they all went out and bought jacked up s#!tbox Hiluxes, a carton of bourbon, and then invaded LCMP.

Ooh that's sad cause it's true.
Post by: Bird on May 13, 2022, 10:56:46 AM
Anyone been there recently? Know whats going on?

Google reviews has 1 week ago;

I can’t believe there is no tracks open to 4WDriving anymore. I’m totally devastated and will never return unless they are open again.
One of the best places to learn and test your skills on the tracks has been taken away.
Please reconsider opening the tracks up at least every now and again.
You could have special days just for 4WDriving surely !!!

Stalkerbook says: (although having relooked, the flog saying this has posted the exact same thing about 10 times)

Apparently the new owners tree hugging 4 wheel drive hating plant loving vegans say its all about the carbon credits they get so we know who they support hopefully your new age farmer crap ends up costing so much you will have to sell your tree hugging carbon credit wast of time to someone who actually cears about other people
Post by: GBC on May 13, 2022, 01:36:58 PM
If you are on FB, cruiser park has its own page and all this was explained by the new owners. Yes Alben and Helen sold it, I believe, to another cocky who is going to restock it. All 4wd tracks were closed forthwith, however they are open to camping. They have stated they have no intention of having people 4wding there in the future.
Post by: Steffo1 on May 13, 2022, 02:56:50 PM
If you are on FB, cruiser park has its own page and all this was explained by the new owners. Yes Alben and Helen sold it, I believe, to another cocky who is going to restock it. All 4wd tracks were closed forthwith, however they are open to camping. They have stated they have no intention of having people 4wding there in the future.

It'll make the Kilcoy-Murgon Road safer to drive on!  :D
Post by: GBC on May 13, 2022, 03:23:25 PM
It'll make the Kilcoy-Murgon Road safer to drive on!  :D

Without a doubt. I’ve been rounded up on the gravel a few times by people driving like they are in timed events.