Author Topic: Hello from Sweltering Sandford  (Read 3861 times)

Offline Tassie Tiger

Hello from Sweltering Sandford
« on: January 18, 2012, 06:51:09 AM »
Given the last two days of above 30 which is unusual for us during which I have been painting a kitchen I am now somewhat "tired"

So I thought I would take some time out to say hello to all forum members.  I live in Sandford which is around 35ks south east of Hobart overlooking Storm Bay and the Southern Ocean.  Nice spot.

I recently bought an ex builders trailer which I intend to covert to a camp kitchen on one side and storage for tools etc on the other the plan being to do a working holiday trip to the big island starting sometime this year.

So far I have replaced the draw bar, added electric brakes, led lights and will be repainting her soon to match the car(I hope).

Looking forward to sharing experiences and gleaning very useful information and suggestions from you all.

My Life is Rich.  I Don't Need to Be.

Re: Hello from Sweltering Sandford
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2012, 07:20:09 AM »
Hi Tassie Tiger and welcome to the forum. Good to see the Tassie numbers building up.
Good luck with your trailer build.

Offline V8 Grunt

« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2012, 07:31:56 AM »
 :D Welcome to the forum :cheers:
2011 LC76 Land Cruiser towing a Tvan

« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2012, 08:28:07 AM »
Hi Tassie Tiger Welcome to My Swag  :cheers:

« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2012, 09:12:43 AM »
Hi Tassie Tiger, welcome to the forum.
I used to camp with my family at Richardsons Beach, just up the road from you and it got over the 38*C a number of times.

« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2012, 09:31:25 AM »
   welcome aboard. We have 9 pins in the Tassie map so far, and I know there must be a few here who haven't put a pin in there, so please feel free to do so. No need to be too accurate, just (say) the nearest intersection or local park will do.

Guess we need to have another local meet again soon too.

« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2012, 09:38:00 AM »
Welcome.  We can’t believe that we were in Tasmania this time last year and freezing!  8)

« Reply #7 on: January 18, 2012, 09:45:48 AM »
Welcome to myswag Tassie

« Reply #8 on: January 18, 2012, 11:21:57 AM »
G'day & Welcome TT.

I took my family down to Tassie 8 or so years ago and experienced unusual heat, it was killer given all the places we stayed were built to keep the heat in.

Good luck with your trailer build. Any tent plans, rooftopper, awnings?

« Reply #9 on: January 18, 2012, 03:37:26 PM »
G'day Tassie Tiger,

to MySwag.
There are a few of you guys from across the creek now,
We must get down that way one day, but i don't think Fysh is too keen on the cold.
Hope your build goes smoothly.
Happy & safe travels

Offline Tassie Tiger

« Reply #10 on: January 18, 2012, 04:41:33 PM »
Thanks for the warm welcome one and all :cheers:  A bit cooler today.  Will post pics in the appropriate thread(s) re progress on the trailer rebuild/fit out.  Plan is to sleep in the tow vehicle and have a tent connecting the two.

« Reply #11 on: January 18, 2012, 05:59:15 PM »
Welcome mate, you will get addicted to this forum.....

« Reply #12 on: January 18, 2012, 06:05:11 PM »
G'day Tassie Tiger and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers:

« Reply #13 on: January 18, 2012, 06:24:40 PM »
Hi Tassie Tiger and welcome to My Swag

I might move down there for a while to enjoy the low temperatures your having, our A/C died on Xmas Eve, there have been more than a few days over 40 and we are still waiting for it to be fixed >:(

Enjoy your perfect weather

« Reply #14 on: January 18, 2012, 06:36:25 PM »
Welcome to the forum TT, enjoy the banter

« Reply #15 on: January 18, 2012, 08:22:42 PM »
G'day Tassie Tiger
Welcome to the forum mate.Look forward to the pics

« Reply #16 on: January 20, 2012, 08:23:13 AM »
Now this will be an interesting build to watch - quite a different concept (the not actually sleeping in your trailer) that is.

Offline Tassie Tiger

« Reply #17 on: January 20, 2012, 05:02:18 PM »
Yes Jill it is turning into an interesting learning experience.  I will post some pics and keep a record of progress for those interested in the appropriate thread.