Author Topic: Hi from Brisbane Northside  (Read 7039 times)

Offline WannaBe

• Blog
Hi from Brisbane Northside
« on: January 14, 2012, 03:44:31 PM »
Time for me to put in a first post.
We're on the northside, been in Brisbane for just over three years after moving up from Adelaide. We've always been campers back down south, but are quite amazed of the many spots up here so close to Bne!
We've been renters, but last month in a rented caravan as a tail, but crossed that of the list (in the wife hated it!).
So last weekend I bought a second hand Adventure Camper (Pilbara model), from a bloke has come across from WA. It's a 2009 model and only done 3 short trips, and has done more kms on a back of truck than it has on the road. The tyres are so new, they still have the rubber nodules on them!
Anyway, can't wait to pick it up next weekend.
First trip is planned to be safe one, up to Rainbow beach caravan park to do the "has does it all work" weekend on the Oz day weekend.
Our long term is planning is to do a 14 week half circuit 2Q next year, so will be doing a fairbit of research on here, and answering lots of questions.

Stay tuned for pictures next week!   :D

Wannabe
(Sorry, but you are not allowed to access the gallery)
I really want to be in an Offroad Camper!
11 Ranger XLT, 09 Adventure Offroad Pilbara Camper

Offline dickson

Re: Hi from Brisbane Northside
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2012, 04:18:38 PM »
welcome mate sound like u have everything sorted enjoy this site heaps of info
2009 mazda BT50 towing  jayco penguin camper

« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2012, 04:34:35 PM »
G'day WannaBe and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers:

Offline Garfish

• Mini Marlin
  • Have fun and enjoy
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2012, 05:46:05 PM »
Gday and welcome...

« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2012, 05:50:37 PM »
Welcome to myswag

« Reply #5 on: January 14, 2012, 06:29:17 PM »
HI mate, welcome....

« Reply #6 on: January 14, 2012, 07:54:38 PM »
Gday Wannabee,

welcome, sounds like a good pick up.

Happy Travels.

Offline mick081

« Reply #7 on: January 14, 2012, 10:40:41 PM »
Welcome mate hope you enjoy the content of this site, it is brilliant!

« Reply #8 on: January 15, 2012, 06:04:07 AM »
G'day mate
Welcome to the forum and congrats on the camper

« Reply #9 on: January 15, 2012, 06:28:58 AM »
Hi WannaBe and welcome to the forum. Great that you have just purchased your own camper. Sure you will get years of enjoyment out of it.
Like your forum name, a bit of that in all of use.

Offline Beach Fisher

« Reply #10 on: January 15, 2012, 06:45:48 AM »
Hi and welcome. I did exactly the same thing at new years. I took our new (second hand) camper to Rainbow for a shakedown. Its a great spot. Have fun.

« Reply #11 on: January 15, 2012, 07:19:25 AM »
Hi Wannabe and welcome to My Swag

Cheers bubba

Sent from my MB526 using Tapatalk

Offline dooguss

• Prado Power
« Reply #12 on: January 15, 2012, 08:11:53 PM »
 hi Wannabe feel free to join us in feb at sandy creek and meet alot of  seqld myswaggers in person  its always a great weekend away with this crew :cheers:
2006 Toyota Prado
2014 Stoney creek rear fold.

« Reply #13 on: January 15, 2012, 09:28:12 PM »
Hi WannaBe!

Awesome that you decided to join us - can't wait to hear about how your Rainbow Beach expedition goes - always exciting when you are taking a CT out for the first time.

My advice is to have a little notebook with you to write down all of the things that you need to put in it ready for next time!

« Reply #14 on: January 15, 2012, 09:38:43 PM »

Hey WannaBe,

Welcome to BrisVegas & MySwag.  Northsider hey?  Not sure that was a good choice, but hey, you are a Mexican so ...  >:D
Check out My Blog link below for a few more places to take that new CT.

« Reply #15 on: January 16, 2012, 07:15:59 PM »
Hi Wannabe
Welcome to My Swag Happy Trails with your Camper
Cheers OC

Offline WannaBe

• Blog
« Reply #16 on: January 16, 2012, 08:35:40 PM »
hi Wannabe feel free to join us in feb at sandy creek and meet alot of  seqld myswaggers in person  its always a great weekend away with this crew :cheers:

Hi gregnleanne,
Unfortunately we cant make that w/e. We've been to Sandy Creek a couple of time - it's a great quiet spot. I think we're there later in March with other friends. Hope to make to a myswaggers seqld meet though.

« Reply #17 on: January 16, 2012, 09:46:55 PM »
I know you said piccies were coming and I can't beleive anyone has not said but....

Welcome aboard & you moved too far north. Southside is where it's at.
Bride & I stayed at Rainbow Beach late last year, had a wedding to go to on the end of Inskip and then reception at the RB Surf club. Staggered back to the CT as is only a block away after last drinks called. Left the bottom of the door unzipped & came back to a flood inside the tent after a huge storm went through. Lucky no gear was on the floor.
Facilities were clean & had plenty of room to set up but quite a few lads made a racket all night walking down the road after leaving the pub so SWMBO said. I didn't hear a thing.
Great weekend though. Beautiful part of the world is SEQ.

Offline hillbilly

« Reply #18 on: January 17, 2012, 07:05:47 AM »
Hi wannabe, welcome to myswag,

I'm definitely jealous of your 14 week trip you are planning.

hillbilly
2008 VDJ78R Troopy

http://hillbilliesinthekimberley.blogspot.com.au
hillbillyholidays.wordpress.com

« Reply #19 on: January 17, 2012, 07:10:42 AM »

Nice score, 2nd hand camper that's done next to nothing. Look forward to seeing some photos of your setup from Rainbow Beach.

Offline V8 Grunt

« Reply #20 on: January 17, 2012, 08:14:06 AM »
G'day and welcome to myswag  :cheers:
2011 LC76 Land Cruiser towing a Tvan

Offline Crookedpete

« Reply #21 on: January 17, 2012, 09:18:49 AM »
Nothing wrong with the northside.  I reckon they should put border control in the middle of the bridges to stop those southsiders venturing north of the river.

Welcome.

Offline JethroT

« Reply #22 on: January 17, 2012, 10:27:15 AM »
Love the Northside mate, the only issue is the southerners who find their way across the bridge and fill up our great camping spots.  Thats when we go enjoy the great motorbike rides around their hinterland.

Enjoy the trip to Rainbow and hope you load up with fish and crab.

Regards, Geoff and Michele

Offline WannaBe

• Blog
« Reply #23 on: January 18, 2012, 08:30:42 PM »
Nothing wrong with the northside.  I reckon they should put border control in the middle of the bridges to stop those southsiders venturing north of the river.

Welcome.

Sounds like a good idea.
Perhaps you should Anna know.

Offline mick081

« Reply #24 on: January 19, 2012, 08:33:46 PM »
Welocme mate have just joined the site too....enjoy