Author Topic: Hi from Perth  (Read 3703 times)

Offline gadgetman

• I wanna be a kid again.....
Hi from Perth
« on: September 07, 2011, 12:06:23 PM »
Hi everyone.  Joined My Swag a few months ago and been meaning to introduce ourselves but every time I log in, I get caught up reading the latest posts! 

Like many Swaggers, we started off in a tent ten years ago - our first was a Great Outdoors "Hacienda" Tent.  It was a full two room plus sun room canvas job and whilst it was lovely to be under, it took a while to set-up properly, another while to pack away and a few more hours at home to hang out to dry. We only used it for longer stays and had a smaller dome tent for week-enders.

We then had a Challenge Meridian Off Road Camper which was solid as.  It certainly made setting/packing up easier.  Then some months ago, we made a spur of the moment decision to pop into the local Jayco and Coromal dealers (who are next door to each other)  and walked out as future Jayco Swan OB owners. We pick it up in October and like so many others here, I am very grateful for the tips on this forum but a few dollars poorer as a result!  Not being mechanically minded, the information here has been so useful and easy to understand.

We tow with a 2004 Diesel Auto Pajero - found it to be very reliable and moderately economical when towing.  I did get it lifted with Old Man Emu suspension when we got our first CT and put in a dual battery system. 

Our kids are 8 and 9 and have been camping since they were born so they are seasoned travellers.

Living in WA, means we do travel a bit further to get to some places but the better weather usually makes up for it.  We have travelled as far north as Exmouth , east to the Goldfields around Kalgoorlie and south coast to Esperance.  Longer term plans are a 2 month trip across the Nullarbor late next year and Karijini.

See you out there.

2004 NP Pajero DiD,
2011 Swan Outback

Re: Hi from Perth
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2011, 12:18:20 PM »
Welcome, stacks of info on here :cup:

Offline Hal Harvey

• OKA and Red Track
    • Bluewater Tackle World
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2011, 12:21:23 PM »
Welcome Rob, sounds like you're making the most of it. I took our kids at 7 and 9 to Karijini as part of a much longer trip two years ago, and it was the highlight of the first week up from Perth for them. Even in September it was full of water everywhere and we had a great time of it. Plan on at least two or three days in there to make the most of it.

Offline Top.ender

• "I WONDER WHERE THIS TRACK GOES"
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2011, 12:59:38 PM »
G,day Rob welcome to My swag ,being realativeley new myself both to Perth and Myswag it,s great to meet other people that are into the great outdoors.Looking forward to some pics  of Karijini :cheers:.

100 Series Diesel with lots of stuff
2014 Jayco Swan Outback

Offline Cozzie

• Jets
« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2011, 01:10:25 PM »
Welcome Rob, I also walked into a Jayco dealer just yesterday and ordered a OB Swan with the works gets delivered around the end of November, enjoy ya travels Mate
2008 Holden Colorado - 2012 19.61-2 OB Jayco Starcraft

Offline gadgetman

« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2011, 03:23:34 PM »
Well done Cozzie - funny though - I have a go at the Mrs when she happens to walk into a shop and buys a pair or shoes or dress - and here we are buying camper trailers!

2004 NP Pajero DiD,
2011 Swan Outback

« Reply #6 on: September 07, 2011, 03:27:44 PM »

Offline gadgetman

« Reply #7 on: September 07, 2011, 03:34:54 PM »
Yea - I went to Karijini about 20 years ago and still remember the beauty of the place - September was when we were thinking of going as well - kids should love it.

2004 NP Pajero DiD,
2011 Swan Outback

Offline cetacean

« Reply #8 on: September 07, 2011, 07:12:32 PM »
G'day Rob,
               We travelled to Karajini in early June and it was fantastic and some of the walks truly spectacular. The only thing we didn't enjoy were the crowds and the fact you weren't allowed to have a campfire. Still great though.
   On the other hand we found plenty of other nice campsites around Newman and en route to Karajini from Perth that we had all to ourselves.Here's one at Silent Gorge not far from Newman
   Enjoy MySwag and your travels

Mazda BT50, Trakmaster Sturt X-- Country, Stacer 369 Seasprite

« Reply #9 on: September 07, 2011, 09:07:39 PM »
Hi Rob and welcome to My Swag :cheers:

« Reply #10 on: September 07, 2011, 09:10:56 PM »
Welcome Rob and Family

Offline gadgetman

« Reply #11 on: September 07, 2011, 11:36:35 PM »
Cheers guys and thanks cetacean for the tip on Silent Gorge - will go in the book.

2004 NP Pajero DiD,
2011 Swan Outback

« Reply #12 on: September 08, 2011, 01:48:56 PM »
Gday and Welcome to another Swagger fron the Wild West  :cheers:

Offline DX grunt

« Reply #13 on: September 08, 2011, 09:53:54 PM »
G'day Rob

Welcome to the forum and great to have you onboard.

PM me when you visit Albany.  I'm not far up the road in the Stirling Ranges (Bluff Knoll).

Take care out there.

Rossco
Nissan Patrol ute - ex Telstra - pod has heaps of 'glamping equipment', but not enough to be overloaded.

Offline gadgetman

« Reply #14 on: September 09, 2011, 05:58:18 PM »
Hey Rossco

It's a beaut part of the world down there - was down that way a few years ago when it snowed on Bluff Knoll.  Bloody cold.

2004 NP Pajero DiD,
2011 Swan Outback