Author Topic: Hi Guys  (Read 2981 times)

Offline camperman2010

Hi Guys
« on: June 27, 2011, 06:00:08 PM »
 Hey guys, new to this forum from the south coast ( Wollongong ) just south of Sydney... b4 i start with a question,i must say this is a great site...
 i have just bought a 1978 Jayco Jaydove, i drove up to Grafton (18hr return trip ) to pick it up and the guy had the poptop already up, so yeah no worries, but the next day after i got home and went to wind it up, the Cable snapped near the winch, its a bit of a cable mess and i cant find a manual to show me the diagram as to the cable set up, was wondering if anyone on this site can help me out on this one.
 Oh, and by the way, it only cost me $1500 to buy + fuel, so a total of $1800 and it's in preety good nic, new canvas aswell...
cheers. Muzz

Re: Hi Guys
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2011, 06:06:59 PM »
G'day Muz and welcome to Myswag.

Have a look here for tips on fixing a wind up cable.

http://www.caravansplus.com.au/catalog/help-camper-trailers.php

« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2011, 06:12:05 PM »
Welcome to MySwag Muzz

Offline camperman2010

« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2011, 06:20:00 PM »
Thanx guys, and thanx Snow... think that site just might help me out, from what i could see with the roof down is that it has snapped between the winch and the square plate that holds the 4 cables, but have to get the roof up 1st b4 i go any further, but i think that site should work for me ..will keep you guys informed and will post picts of b4 and after when i can... thanx again guys

Offline cheekygirl668

• Rebel without a clue...
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2011, 06:31:03 PM »
Howdy Muzz....... yay another Gongsta...... we r at Towradgi.....settle in and get comfy....

Offline camperman2010

« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2011, 07:06:29 PM »
Thanx cheekygirl668, yeah im actually from Mt Warrigal, ive had Campertrailers for years and stepped up to poptop's for the 1st time, and not going so well at the moment lol..

« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2011, 07:27:38 PM »
Hi Muzz and welcome to My Swag :cheers:

« Reply #7 on: June 27, 2011, 09:04:31 PM »
Hi Muzz
Welcome to My Swag Happy trails with your Jayco

« Reply #8 on: June 28, 2011, 05:59:42 AM »
Hi Muzz,
welcome aboard. Thats no good. Bugger. >:(
Some great pictures there in that link that Snow put up. Here is a page I've put together that may help as well.
How to repair a Jayco Lift System
Good luck with it all and I hope you get it sorted.

« Reply #9 on: June 28, 2011, 07:14:20 AM »
Welcome to the Forum Muzz, the Jayco brains trust should be able to help you out. Ennjoy your stay

« Last Edit: June 28, 2011, 09:53:18 AM by GGPatrol »

Offline camperman2010

« Reply #10 on: June 28, 2011, 09:48:54 AM »
Thanx again Guys and Gals, especially everyone who has givin me info for the repair, i will be raising the roof this arvo with some mates and tackle the job tomorrow and see what happens.

« Reply #11 on: June 28, 2011, 11:17:54 AM »
G'day & Welcome Muzz, and good luck with your repairs.