General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Snow on January 02, 2021, 11:19:08 AM

Title: Have you found a bargain - 2021
Post by: Snow on January 02, 2021, 11:19:08 AM
 Lets see if we can get better value out of 2021.  :cheers:
Title: Re: Have you found a bargain - 2021
Post by: Bird on January 07, 2021, 10:34:21 AM
Good luck getting a spot.

Spirit of Tasmania ferry passengers will be able to bring their car or motorcycle at no charge for a period of four months under an expansion of the Bass Strait Passenger Vehicle Equalisation Scheme to be announced today.

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2021-01-07/vehicle-subsidy-for-spirit-of-tasmania-ferry-passengers/13037282 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2021-01-07/vehicle-subsidy-for-spirit-of-tasmania-ferry-passengers/13037282)
Post by: gronk on January 07, 2021, 12:01:05 PM
Good luck getting a spot.

Spirit of Tasmania ferry passengers will be able to bring their car or motorcycle at no charge for a period of four months under an expansion of the Bass Strait Passenger Vehicle Equalisation Scheme to be announced today.

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2021-01-07/vehicle-subsidy-for-spirit-of-tasmania-ferry-passengers/13037282 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2021-01-07/vehicle-subsidy-for-spirit-of-tasmania-ferry-passengers/13037282)

If you can get a booking, the price of adding a caravan might be a shock ??
Post by: Bird on January 07, 2021, 01:16:31 PM
no shock - still 1400 for 4, car and van (wazbot did the #s) not sure if that was seats, standing or a room

but I got no trailer now, so patrol swag and 1 person :)
Post by: Fizzie on January 07, 2021, 01:17:05 PM

If I read the article properly ???, $240 for your car, + another $240 for the van ???
Post by: Kangaron on January 08, 2021, 12:31:33 PM
Not for me, maybe a good pickup for someone.

Post by: wakychapmans on January 17, 2021, 11:21:05 AM
Repco today ONLY

(Last day... only became aware of this deal late last night)

Ark XO 750 jockey wheel
https://www.arkcorp.com.au/product/xo750-jockey-wheel-copy/ (https://www.arkcorp.com.au/product/xo750-jockey-wheel-copy/)

40% off

No... I’m not drunk

$310 listed on their website. No mention of a discount. (but "a guy" on a Facebook group I'm a member of was adamant that it was legit)

Phoned up my local branch and was told “yep, that’s part of the sale”

Just walked out with one and paid only $186

Don’t look online, just phone your local store(s) and ask

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210117/c6c880246aa7ba01d2449f1615a4eefb.jpg)

Post by: Hairs on January 22, 2021, 03:51:01 PM
Winning, 2 for 100 a Bucks

440ml cans.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210122/8099fd6f9c4a799396a6418568de6d14.jpg)
(https://ccpm.com.au/images/smilies/smileydance02.gif)
Post by: Fizzie on January 24, 2021, 10:25:23 AM
May be of interest to some of you ???

https://www.jaycar.com.au/dual-display-digital-thermometer-for-fridge-freezer-with-dual-probes/p/QM7322?ut (https://www.jaycar.com.au/dual-display-digital-thermometer-for-fridge-freezer-with-dual-probes/p/QM7322?ut)
Post by: Bird on January 24, 2021, 12:03:27 PM
Winning, 2 for 100 a Bucks

440ml cans.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210122/8099fd6f9c4a799396a6418568de6d14.jpg)
(https://ccpm.com.au/images/smilies/smileydance02.gif)
Do you deliver ??? :D
Post by: Hairs on January 24, 2021, 02:15:18 PM
Hmmm, my cost ya
:)
Post by: Kangaron on January 24, 2021, 02:28:15 PM
That's normal price at Dan's.

Sent from my Moto G (4) using Tapatalk

Post by: Hairs on January 24, 2021, 02:51:13 PM
That's normal price at Dan's.

Sent from my Moto G (4) using Tapatalk
See, I don't buy from them.
Post by: Fizzie on January 25, 2021, 01:01:32 PM
Just spotted mention of this, if anybody is looking for a small compressor ???

https://www.bunnings.com.au/ryobi-18v-one-3-8l-air-compressor-skin-only_p0209835 (https://www.bunnings.com.au/ryobi-18v-one-3-8l-air-compressor-skin-only_p0209835)
Post by: lloydus67 on February 03, 2021, 04:45:13 PM
Save up to $100*on eBay with code TSS60Q82435NRQM: https://ebay.com.au/ss1 *$60 min spend. Ends 7/2. T&Cs apply. SMS STOP to 0427055200

Sent from me
Post by: Bird on February 05, 2021, 09:44:02 AM

:cup: :cup:

https://www.finewinedelivery.co.nz/wine/reds/cabernet-sauvignon/penfolds-block-42-cabernet-sauvignon-imperial-6l-29294 (https://www.finewinedelivery.co.nz/wine/reds/cabernet-sauvignon/penfolds-block-42-cabernet-sauvignon-imperial-6l-29294)
Post by: plusnq on February 05, 2021, 10:02:08 AM
:cup: :cup:

https://www.finewinedelivery.co.nz/wine/reds/cabernet-sauvignon/penfolds-block-42-cabernet-sauvignon-imperial-6l-29294 (https://www.finewinedelivery.co.nz/wine/reds/cabernet-sauvignon/penfolds-block-42-cabernet-sauvignon-imperial-6l-29294)

Did you buy them all Bird ? Site says out of stock now
Post by: Bird on February 05, 2021, 10:14:15 AM
Quote from: plusnq
Did you buy them all Bird ? Site says out of stock now

yea and aussie post lost them :(
Post by: Spada on February 05, 2021, 10:39:21 AM
. comment removed  :-[
Post by: Bird on March 05, 2021, 09:24:48 AM
for those short on time - Check some of these airfares

few examples from Melb - but they are from all states etc.

MEL to Gold Coast Flights
one way for $51.
Return for $65
Travel Dates: 04/May/2021 - 09/Jun/2021

MEL to Launceston Flights
one way for $46.
Return for $59
Travel Dates: 20/Apr/2021 - 23/Jun/2021

MEL to Ayres Rock Flights
one way for $149.
Return for $149
Travel Dates: 20/Apr/2021 - 09/Jun/2021

https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/608375 (https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/608375)
Post by: Troopy_03 on March 05, 2021, 04:18:33 PM
for those short on time - Check some of these airfares

few examples from Melb - but they are from all states etc.

MEL to Gold Coast Flights
one way for $51.
Return for $65
Travel Dates: 04/May/2021 - 09/Jun/2021
Would have been interested, but there ain't no Ayers Rock flights.

MEL to Launceston Flights
one way for $46.
Return for $59
Travel Dates: 20/Apr/2021 - 23/Jun/2021

MEL to Ayres Rock Flights
one way for $149.
Return for $149
Travel Dates: 20/Apr/2021 - 09/Jun/2021

https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/608375 (https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/608375)
Post by: DandyD on March 08, 2021, 11:34:36 PM
Might be useful to somebody...
Post by: lloydus67 on March 09, 2021, 06:52:19 AM
Apparently Aldi has those 100ah batteries in stock for $199, picked one up at the weekend, now I just need to install it in the back of the ute

Sent from me
Post by: Bird on March 09, 2021, 09:04:42 AM
High quality awnings $20.....

https://www.anacondastores.com/camping-hiking/tents/gazebos-screens-shades/dune-4wd-quickstop-awning/90040784 (https://www.anacondastores.com/camping-hiking/tents/gazebos-screens-shades/dune-4wd-quickstop-awning/90040784)

the comments :D

This is the most useless thing you could buy if you want to use it as a shade.
The moment there is a hint of wind the suction caps blow off leaving you sun exposed. Not worth the money
Post by: Bird on March 26, 2021, 12:06:10 PM
saw this on ozbargain

https://www.facebook.com/riverstonelpg/ (https://www.facebook.com/riverstonelpg/)

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/165311080_310856800470255_9178570488418366997_n.jpg?_nc_cat=103&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=973b4a&_nc_ohc=j354wwqMTRUAX8pqu1f&_nc_ht=scontent-syd2-1.xx&oh=d4ec22e352eb601e45ae019b37bde5d9&oe=60823FD1)
Post by: manchu on March 26, 2021, 12:46:25 PM
125l oztrail  fridge/freezer for $499,  ($1699 RRP). 

great for someone who wants a massive fridge.   

https://www.anacondastores.com/camping-hiking/power-cooling/fridges/oztrail-125l-dual-zone-fridgefreezer-with-cover/BP90164745
Post by: Bird on March 31, 2021, 08:06:37 PM
Fire and rescue Safety Visits... Might be handy for some, or their parents.

What is a Safety Visit?

During your Safety Visit, we will attend your home and check that you have working? smoke alarms, that they are in good working condition, and are installed in suitable areas. If you do not have one, firefighters will install a long-life battery-powered smoke alarm as well as replace existing smoke alarm batteries all at no cost. With your permission, firefighters will also ask you to show us around your home and property. This will allow us to give you personalised fire safety information including, but not limited to;

cooking fire safety
    heaters and open fires
    common electrical safety
    barbecues and LPG cylinders
    bedroom heating and wheat bags

Firefighters will also provide advice on a fire escape plan in the event of a fire occurring in your home and how to call Triple Zero (000) to report emergencies.

Firefighters checking a smoke alarm during a safety visit.
Who might benefit from a Safety Visit?

Everyone can benefit from a Safety Visit, however there are people within our communities that are statistically at higher risk of incidents occurring, including:

Over 65’s.
    Those who live alone.
    People with limited mobility, hearing impairments or vision impairments.
    Residents who are supported by carers, family and friends.
    And anyone with English as a second language.

This service is not available to landlords in untenanted premises, for landlords responsibilities please refer to Division 7A of Part 9 of the Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979 [external link] for more information.

https://www.fire.nsw.gov.au/page.php?id=9316 (https://www.fire.nsw.gov.au/page.php?id=9316)
Post by: Bird on April 26, 2021, 03:08:56 PM
$20
https://www.catch.com.au/product/greenlund-30-bin-wall-mounted-storage-rack-405889/?sp=4&st=66 (https://www.catch.com.au/product/greenlund-30-bin-wall-mounted-storage-rack-405889/?sp=4&st=66)
(https://s.catch.com.au/images/product/0029/29165/5e54919bc4211017098981.jpg)
Post by: lloydus67 on April 26, 2021, 06:43:25 PM
Link doesn’t work

Sent from me
Post by: lloydus67 on April 26, 2021, 07:00:40 PM
Looked it up on catch and bought one, $27.98 delivered

Sent from me
Post by: Bird on April 27, 2021, 09:02:52 AM
Quote from: lloydus67
Link doesn’t work
does for em in FFox
Post by: paceman on April 27, 2021, 09:18:24 AM
link works fine in Chrome...
Post by: bmwfreak on April 27, 2021, 04:01:55 PM
Went to the local BGS this afternoon to pick up a right angle cordless drill. Couldn’t find any under the bench, so grabbed the display and approached a sales person. She asked if I wanted one of those, I said yes, she said OK, you can have that one for $60 as it is the only one left. Be aware, it doesn’t have a box or the usual driver bit, fine by me thanks :cheers:
Post by: #jonesy on May 02, 2021, 09:26:51 PM
Walked in to BCF and asked where the quick gas connects were.  He shows me to the display and picks one off the hook.  I said, that's the one, but $9 doesn't seem right.

He looks at the label, reads it and says yep, they're about 30, but that's what it's priced at.  So that's what I have to sell it at.

I'll take 2 thanks  :cup:

Post by: ivan on May 18, 2021, 05:58:43 AM
Lithium battery
looks good seems a genuine discount.
https://www.autoelec.com.au/baintech-12v-50ah-freedom-power-pack-with-victron
Post by: manchu on May 20, 2021, 02:00:18 PM
A decent discount on Kickass brand shower tent at the moment $149   (down from $279)

Less of a discount on their hot water systems,  but still some.   Bundle with tent and hot water system for $299 is pretty good value  (down from $479)

https://www.australiandirect.com.au/camping/showers/ (https://www.australiandirect.com.au/camping/showers/)

Post by: NZMarkb on May 24, 2021, 07:19:03 AM
A decent discount on Kickass brand shower tent at the moment $149   (down from $279)

Less of a discount on their hot water systems,  but still some.   Bundle with tent and hot water system for $299 is pretty good value  (down from $479)

https://www.australiandirect.com.au/camping/showers/ (https://www.australiandirect.com.au/camping/showers/)

They must have had a container of them landed, I'm getting 2-3 emails a day pushing them
1 email a day is acceptable but 2-3 for the same thing  >:D
Post by: manchu on May 24, 2021, 11:39:13 AM
They must have had a container of them landed, I'm getting 2-3 emails a day pushing them
1 email a day is acceptable but 2-3 for the same thing  >:D

Sounds like they're taking a page out of the Kings/4wdsupacentre book of marketing.    Those guys take annoying emails to another level.
Post by: Bird on May 28, 2021, 01:16:31 PM
National Burger Day :D
https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/625847 (https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/625847)
Post by: Harbourmaster on May 30, 2021, 09:50:38 PM
Left the cord home to recharge my electric razor. Staying at eldest son’s in Perth So go to the shaver shop at cockburn to see if they have one, had mine for several years now. They go out the back & have a look, damn if they don’t come back with one. How much I ask, you can have it they say & save around $30. Well thank you very much. That’s a bargain I never expected.
Post by: Bird on June 10, 2021, 04:20:38 PM
https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/629532 (https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/629532)
[NSW] Four Free Tickets AFL Melbourne V Collingwood Monday 14th June SCG @ Ticketek

For the first time, Fight MND’s Big Freeze clash between Melbourne and Collingwood comes to Sydney.

Join the crowd full of blue beanies at the SCG on Monday afternoon with access to four free tickets using the password RD13MELBCOLL
Post by: Bird on June 11, 2021, 12:25:58 PM
Anyone need a new Shed or ...workshop or huge cubby house?

https://www.pickles.com.au/trucks/item/search/-/listing/listSaleItems/44001123#!/search-result?q=ProductType.Machinery.&sort=Product_Type_Sequence (https://www.pickles.com.au/trucks/item/search/-/listing/listSaleItems/44001123#!/search-result?q=ProductType.Machinery.&sort=Product_Type_Sequence)
Post by: Bird on June 20, 2021, 08:16:32 PM
Anyone want a strange project

(https://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/mqEAAOSwKoFgKGsq/s-l1600.jpg)
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/133664390541 (https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/133664390541)
Post by: Troopy_03 on June 21, 2021, 03:57:12 PM
Anyone want a strange project

(https://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/mqEAAOSwKoFgKGsq/s-l1600.jpg)
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/133664390541 (https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/133664390541)

My old man used to sell them when they first came on the market '68 or '69. It's a Murrumba Star - Mini Star. There was a slide on version too, called a Linda Star. Quite a neat little van really, all fibreglass construction, but can't really remember what the running gear and chassis was like.

Check how much in 1968 on this advert.

I was looking at buying one near here, and doing it up, but it sold as soon as it was put out the front of the owners yard.
Post by: Fizzie on June 21, 2021, 04:16:39 PM
From $1157 :'(
Post by: Bird on June 21, 2021, 04:25:14 PM
My old man used to sell them when they first came on the market '68 or '69. It's a Murrumba Star - Mini Star. There was a slide on version too, called a Linda Star. Quite a neat little van really, all fibreglass construction, but can't really remember what the running gear and chassis was like.

I was looking at buying one near here, and doing it up, but it sold as soon as it was put out the front of the owners yard.
Gee I'd like that old Val ute without teh slide on thanks :D
Post by: doc evil on June 21, 2021, 04:53:12 PM

A mini towing :o :o
Post by: Troopy_03 on June 21, 2021, 11:37:15 PM
A mini towing :o :o

Only 800lb or 360Kg odd.
Post by: Troopy_03 on June 21, 2021, 11:41:50 PM
Gee I'd like that old Val ute without teh slide on thanks :D

I wanted to get this one I saw to use for dragging it up the beach, behind the old 4Runner I used to have. When the old man was selling them, my brother and I were still in high school, and used to get the job of demoing them, and taking names and phone numbers of prospective buyers, at the local shows around the Ipswich area. The old man would be down the beer tent LOL.
Post by: Fizzie on June 22, 2021, 08:39:43 AM
Good on him for absolutely great use of his own time & available resources! ;D :cup:

Post by: Bird on June 22, 2021, 09:52:35 AM
I wanted to get this one I saw to use for dragging it up the beach, behind the old 4Runner I used to have. When the old man was selling them, my brother and I were still in high school, and used to get the job of demoing them, and taking names and phone numbers of prospective buyers, at the local shows around the Ipswich area. The old man would be down the beer tent LOL.
:cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: #jonesy on June 23, 2021, 09:41:44 AM
You have to earn your pocket money. 

The old man was clearly "networking"
Post by: Bird on June 25, 2021, 03:59:39 PM
Dell 40% off sale
https://www.dell.com/en-au/ (https://www.dell.com/en-au/)
Post by: l0ckym on July 02, 2021, 11:02:27 AM
https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/lavington/cars-vans-utes/1987-unimog-u1700l-/1277175343 (https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/lavington/cars-vans-utes/1987-unimog-u1700l-/1277175343)
Post by: wakychapmans on July 02, 2021, 11:08:59 AM
https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/lavington/cars-vans-utes/1987-unimog-u1700l-/1277175343 (https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/lavington/cars-vans-utes/1987-unimog-u1700l-/1277175343)

bugger... no space for the dogs to sit up front...
Post by: Bird on July 02, 2021, 11:46:15 AM
Quote from: wakychapmans
bugger... no space for the dogs to sit up front...
plenty in the back :P
not sure how it woudl go up the high country in many tracks... guess it just dozes the bush out the way :D
Post by: westvic on July 02, 2021, 07:18:22 PM
plenty in the back :P
not sure how it woudl go up the high country in many tracks... guess it just dozes the bush out the way :D
or just drives over it....looks like portals all round
Post by: #jonesy on July 08, 2021, 10:22:06 AM

If anyone is after a portable BBQ  $99 gasmate, ex display
https://www.facebook.com/marketplace/item/776095159741609/?ref=facebook_story_share (https://www.facebook.com/marketplace/item/776095159741609/?ref=facebook_story_share)
Post by: Bird on July 08, 2021, 10:23:01 AM

If anyone is after a portable BBQ  $99 gasmate, ex display
https://www.facebook.com/marketplace/item/776095159741609/?ref=facebook_story_share (https://www.facebook.com/marketplace/item/776095159741609/?ref=facebook_story_share)
This listing is no longer available
It may have expired or been sold. Take a look at these other items below.
Post by: #jonesy on July 08, 2021, 10:26:45 AM
Bird, the link works when I click it
Post by: #jonesy on July 08, 2021, 10:28:48 AM
Or for a smoker Bunnings have these on clearance.  $120 at Mill Park. ( $180 at Eltham?)
Post by: whitey001 on July 10, 2021, 12:46:37 PM
Cheap gazebo if you want one.  Spotlight Fountain Gate/Narre Warren

Al.
Post by: Bird on July 10, 2021, 12:58:55 PM
Cheap gazebo if you want one.  Spotlight Fountain Gate/Narre Warren

Al.
Nice find.. its just the thought of going to Fountain Gate.. its always so packed!!! :)
Post by: Fizzie on July 11, 2021, 01:34:38 PM
Just saw mention of these:

https://www.awardrv.com.au/couplemate-easy-jack (https://www.awardrv.com.au/couplemate-easy-jack)

Anybody have any experience with them ???
Post by: ivan on July 11, 2021, 07:26:27 PM
They have been around for a long time. don't know anyone that has one though
Post by: lukeycat on July 11, 2021, 07:38:31 PM
Just saw mention of these:

https://www.awardrv.com.au/couplemate-easy-jack (https://www.awardrv.com.au/couplemate-easy-jack)

Anybody have any experience with them ???
Is it just me or does anyone think these look pretty damn dangerous

Post by: Bird on July 11, 2021, 07:40:00 PM
Is it just me or does anyone think these look pretty damn dangerous

i carried a trolley jack in the camper and bottle jack in the car... dont need anymore toys LOL
Post by: #jonesy on July 11, 2021, 08:32:51 PM
I would like a longer foot.  Someone moving a round in the tug might be enough to rock it back and forth.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on July 13, 2021, 10:24:29 AM
2 heads faced and 2 broken exhaust bolts removed for $120.... BAAAAAAARGAIN,

I broken one was easy, one was a turd he reckoned.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on July 14, 2021, 04:39:36 AM
Geez, picked up the parts for Astrid's yesterday..... they did look after me on price too.... very well in fact.

I spent $1,063 on the bits required to sort the noisy lifters.  :'(

If this was done in a workshop, by the time you threw labour into the mixing bowl, this would be a $2,800 to $3,000 job.

My random question is, why do the car manufacturers continue to build stuff that is so out of control when repairs are required. 
I had a look on a couple of forums yesterday arvo..... quotes as high as $3,500.

More than a few cars, just parked up.... one was a 160,000klm VE commodore sports wagon.
If, like a lot of folks do, you lived week to week on your pay, not many could pluck that sort of coin to do a simple set of lifters.
Post by: Fizzie on July 14, 2021, 07:21:39 AM

If this was done in a workshop, by the time you threw labour into the mixing bowl, this would be a $2,800 to $3,000 job.

My random question is, why do the car manufacturers continue to build stuff that is so out of control when repairs are required.

Because the workshop & spares dept are where they actually making money on selling a car ???

Like printers - we all know that it's much cheaper to run a printer till it's sample pack of ink runs out, then throw it away & buy a new printer, rather than refilling the old one with OEM ink :'( >:(
Post by: Bird on July 14, 2021, 10:23:20 AM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers
If, like a lot of folks do, you lived week to week on your pay, not many could pluck that sort of coin to do a simple set of lifters.
what about 37k for your new cruiser donk etc like someone here had to...
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on July 14, 2021, 01:35:30 PM

Yeah, i nearly passed out when i saw that..
Post by: Bird on July 14, 2021, 03:31:42 PM
Yeah, i nearly passed out when i saw that..
I'd still be sleeping in it on the side of the road.
Post by: gronk on July 14, 2021, 07:45:58 PM

You’re in a bad situation, but what do you do……not mine, but what if the cruiser is ( was ) worth 70K ??
Now almost worthless without a motor.  Maybe 20K ? So, do you give it away and lose 50K or put a new motor in for 35K ??

Even worse if it was mine….immaculate 09 model, only worth 45K…..do the sums either way… not pretty !!
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on July 15, 2021, 05:04:13 AM
I still can't fathom 37k for a motor.... i know the dealer can justify it..... but i can't.
Post by: Spada on July 15, 2021, 06:32:42 AM
I still can't fathom 37k for a motor.... i know the dealer can justify it..... but i can't.

I used to have a full Honda MPE parts list on a disc with dealer prices, so just for giggles once I did costing of what my $15k motorbike would cost if purchased as individual spare parts.
$118k was the total  :o

I kind of get that you are paying for storage. A car gets built, and sold relatively quickly, so the ROI for the manufacturer is fairly short. But the parts get built and then might get stored for many many years until sold ?
Post by: edz on July 15, 2021, 11:51:18 AM
These things are pretty cool https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fre6EWMuBXE (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fre6EWMuBXE)     just need a variety of smaller hooks
Post by: gronk on July 15, 2021, 12:50:01 PM

Have seen them for a lot less than that, but yeh, serious coin.
There are a lot of later model 200 series with DPF problems which require new DPF’s, injectors and other bits.
Approx 10K in parts, but you can bet Toyota are not paying anywhere near that for them.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on July 15, 2021, 01:20:16 PM
Have seen them for a lot less than that, but yeh, serious coin.
There are a lot of later model 200 series with DPF problems which require new DPF’s, injectors and other bits.
Approx 10K in parts, but you can bet Toyota are not paying anywhere near that for them.

Makes the Zephyr look like a good deal. ha ha ha
Post by: Bird on August 19, 2021, 09:23:45 PM
stolen from Ozbargain..

https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/645649 (https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/645649)

It has been a while since this was posted so just a reminder for those who didn't know it was available or to refresh your First Aid Certificate especially coming up to summer.

It is a very important skill to have and if this helps save just one life, then the course has done it's job. This first aid course will provide you with an essential reference to help to identify the first aid appropriate in an emergency.

Quick and easy to do. Just register, do the course and exam. You can even print out your certificate if that tickles your fancy!

Please note that this isn't a replacement for the accredited course you need for certain occupations, but is a tool to help everyone being able to possibly save a life in the case of emergency. In the event of an emergency, always make sure someone calls '000' as well.

Note: havent looked at it yet, not sure how good it is etc.
Post by: plusnq on August 19, 2021, 09:46:21 PM
stolen from Ozbargain

https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/645649 (https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/645649)

It has been a while since this was posted so just a reminder for those who didn't know it was available or to refresh your First Aid Certificate especially coming up to summer.

It is a very important skill to have and if this helps save just one life, then the course has done it's job. This first aid course will provide you with an essential reference to help to identify the first aid appropriate in an emergency.

Quick and easy to do. Just register, do the course and exam. You can even print out your certificate if that tickles your fancy!

Please note that this isn't a replacement for the accredited course you need for certain occupations, but is a tool to help everyone being able to possibly save a life in the case of emergency. In the event of an emergency, always make sure someone calls '000' as well.

Thanks for reminding us all Bird. I totally agree. I recently renewed my remote area first aid course which I do every three years.
Post by: Bird on August 19, 2021, 10:13:11 PM
Thanks for reminding us all Bird. I totally agree. I recently renewed my remote area first aid course which I do every three years.
This isnt a certificate course as such, but any first aid training can only be a good thing
Post by: Fizzie on August 28, 2021, 09:47:49 AM
Just spotted these, which may be of interest to those of you who do things in the snow ???

https://www.kitbag.com.au/products/emergency-re-usable-sleeping-bag (https://www.kitbag.com.au/products/emergency-re-usable-sleeping-bag)
Post by: Bird on August 30, 2021, 02:28:10 PM
dunno how trustee auctions go.. but this looks real tidy

Description:
2006 Galaxy Caravan
Current Bid: $7,500

Year: 2006
Make: Galaxy
Model: Southern Cross
Configuration: Single axle
Body: Pop up
Colour: White
Description: 1 x gas bottle, spare wheel, slide awning, 2 single beds, refrigerator, cooktop, LG MICROWAVE, HERRIN II aircon, alloy wheels. Please note no keys
VIN: 6T9T21V9760XKH275
ATM: 1656kg
TARE: 1356kg

Sold unregistered

NOTE: Under instructions from the Public Trustee

https://www.lloydsonline.com.au/LotDetails.aspx?smode=0&aid=25624&lid=3100206 (https://www.lloydsonline.com.au/LotDetails.aspx?smode=0&aid=25624&lid=3100206)

(https://images.lloydsonline.com.au/Consignment/0000096001-0000097000/0000096243/5030985.jpg?width=800&&scale=canvas&404=~/404/ImageNotAvailable.jpg)
Post by: Fizzie on August 30, 2021, 03:56:53 PM
Please note no keys

Is the door locked or unlocked ??? ;D
Post by: austastar on August 30, 2021, 08:27:50 PM

Just spotted these, which may be of interest to those of you who do things in the snow

You would drown in the condensation if it didn't freeze solid.

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

Post by: Fizzie on September 01, 2021, 07:38:51 AM
You'd wonder about that, wouldn't you, because it looks like a plastic bag ???

I assume though, that they have to be the real deal in some way ???
Post by: dogbox on September 01, 2021, 09:39:08 AM
You'd wonder about that, wouldn't you, because it looks like a plastic bag ???

I assume though, that they have to be the real deal in some way ???

looks like an old roof insulation bag and at that price wouldn't be much more
Post by: MDS69 on September 01, 2021, 09:46:04 AM

What I don’t understand is how some soft floor CT which are for all intents and purposes are a tent on a box trailer yet some manufacturers retail these things up to $40k. Then look at a motor vehicle like a Hyundai i30 or the like which are up to $15k cheaper and look at how many moving parts are in them and the engineering and factories required to build them and compare the price to the CT. I understand economies of scale but still you have to wonder.
Post by: Bird on September 01, 2021, 10:07:07 AM
Quote from: MDS69
What I don’t understand is how some soft floor CT which are for all intents and purposes are a tent on a box trailer yet some manufacturers retail these things up to $40k. Then look at a motor vehicle like a Hyundai i30 or the like which are up to $15k cheaper and look at how many moving parts are in them and the engineering and factories required to build them and compare the price to the CT. I understand economies of scale but still you have to wonder.

x infinity...
Post by: sharkcaver on November 17, 2021, 10:41:49 AM
Renogy black friday sale: which has been on sale for some time now.

Discounts across the board and a referral code for an extra 6% off to share if you have made a purchase.

I had my referral code to share but deleted it....d'oh.

but never fear, you can use the one below.
For example:

Renogy just dropped the price of the 200 Amp hour Li yesterday. With code "xht3hz8" it can be had for $1128 delivered. Bloody good price that one. The 170Ah was sharp until they dropped the price on the 200 and the 100 is a good deal too, all with an extra 6% off. Enjoy. Renogy Li seem to have a pretty good reputation in the market.

https://au.renogy.com/products/batteries/ (https://au.renogy.com/products/batteries/)
Post by: sharkcaver on November 19, 2021, 07:33:33 PM
Footnote: just discovered my mate who bought the 200Ah Li just copped a $70 foreign exchange fee added to his credit card. I bought a small item and copped a fee too.
Post by: Alan Loy on November 21, 2021, 07:23:53 AM
Footnote: just discovered my mate who bought the 200Ah Li just copped a $70 foreign exchange fee added to his credit card. I bought a small item and copped a fee too.
Was that when buying from the Renogy au store?
Post by: sharkcaver on November 21, 2021, 01:29:33 PM
Was that when buying from the Renogy au store?

Sure was  >:D
Post by: Steffo1 on November 21, 2021, 03:39:49 PM
Just scored 2 X Icom IC-41s with mics and chargers for $200.
Post by: Bird on November 21, 2021, 04:53:13 PM
Just scored 2 X Icom IC-41s with mics and chargers for $200.
That there is a win...
Post by: Steffo1 on November 22, 2021, 10:53:59 AM
That there is a win...

I just realised that they're the 'W' model, with an IP 67 rating and dustproofing! :D
Post by: Bird on November 22, 2021, 02:53:15 PM
I just realised that they're the 'W' model, with an IP 67 rating and dustproofing! :D
They are no good... only work in Patrols... you should send them to me.
Post by: Bird on November 23, 2021, 08:09:44 AM
https://www.dewalt.com.au/tradeintradeup (https://www.dewalt.com.au/tradeintradeup)

10 Days Only  Friday 26/11/21 - Sunday 5/12/21

HOW DOES IT WORK?
•  BRING IN YOUR OLD CORDLESS POWER TOOL BARE UNIT
•  TO A PARTICIPATING RETAILER
• PURCHASE ANY OF THE 15 SELECTED DEWALT UNITS
• HAND OVER YOUR OLD TOOL TO GET YOUR $100 DISCOUNT
• MAXIMUM ONE TRADE-IN FOR EVERY BARE UNIT PURCHASED

What can I trade in?
•  ALL POWER TOOL BRANDS | CORDLESS SKINS ONLY
• OUTDOOR CORDLESS POWER GARDEN
• POWER TOOL BRANDED JOBSITE RADIOS

(EXCLUDES CORDED/PETROL POWER TOOLS, BATTERIES/BATTERY CHARGERS, TORCHES/LIGHTING, COMPACT BLOWERS, REPLICA/CHILDRENS TOYS THAT RESEMBLE POWER TOOLS
Post by: Bird on December 10, 2021, 03:50:17 PM
2022 Toyota LandCruiser 300 Series appears in classifieds for $190,000

https://www.drive.com.au/news/2022-toyota-landcruiser-300-series-appears-in-classifieds-for-190000/ (https://www.drive.com.au/news/2022-toyota-landcruiser-300-series-appears-in-classifieds-for-190000/)
Post by: GeoffA on December 10, 2021, 05:19:42 PM
Does anyone on MySwag have a 300 yet?

If not, I wonder who'll be first....
Post by: BaseCamp on December 10, 2021, 06:38:58 PM
Interesting story regarding crazy 2nd hand car prices...

My mechanic; (owns a repco); mentioned last week that dealerships are now prone to "second handing" some makes of brand new cars - because they can charge more for them; because apparently new car prices are more regulated or capped off or something....

Go figure! ....

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Post by: MDS69 on December 10, 2021, 07:43:45 PM
Does anyone on MySwag have a 300 yet?

If not, I wonder who'll be first....

I saw one on the M5 at Casula in Sydney mid last week. Looked a little dirty.
Post by: Bird on December 10, 2021, 08:58:41 PM
Quote from: MDS69
Looked a little dirty.
be dirt off the local road works
Post by: Bird on December 27, 2021, 02:42:37 PM
https://www.drive.com.au/news/brand-new-1993-toyota-hilux-goes-to-auction/ (https://www.drive.com.au/news/brand-new-1993-toyota-hilux-goes-to-auction/)

‘Brand new’ 1993 Toyota HiLux goes to auction

With a genuine 94 miles (151km) on the odometer, this single-cab workhorse ute is barely run-in.

North of 60,000us
(https://images.drive.com.au/driveau/image/upload/c_fill,f_auto,g_auto,h_540,q_auto:good,w_960/cms/uploads/x7a7stqwa07ak75ecvry)
Post by: bmwfreak on December 27, 2021, 04:34:04 PM
https://www.drive.com.au/news/brand-new-1993-toyota-hilux-goes-to-auction/ (https://www.drive.com.au/news/brand-new-1993-toyota-hilux-goes-to-auction/)

barely run-in.

(https://images.drive.com.au/driveau/image/upload/c_fill,f_auto,g_auto,h_540,q_auto:good,w_960/cms/uploads/x7a7stqwa07ak75ecvry)

Geez what mileage do they classify as run-in, 50 miles🤣
Post by: Wolfie on December 27, 2021, 07:26:18 PM
Catch.com has Roman 160w solar blankets for $119.00. limit of 1 per customer. Supposedly Sunpower  maxeon cells. Ordered one. Can't be too bad for the price.
Post by: Bird on December 13, 2022, 10:39:32 AM
https://www.toyota.com.au/mytoyota-home/rewards (https://www.toyota.com.au/mytoyota-home/rewards)

Save 8¢ on fuel with Ampol*
FUEL
With summer holidays on the horizon, save at the tank at participating Ampol service stations this December and January.
Offer ends 16 January 202311
Post by: Hairs on December 16, 2022, 06:26:13 AM
Found on FB Market Place,  Kimberley rooftop tent for Jack, $700.
It's like new, used twice(apparently).

You don't use magic to disappear, ya use a 4x4 & Swag.

Post by: Fizzie on December 16, 2022, 09:38:31 AM
We obviously didn't find many bargains in 2022! :'(

But here's an chance for you:

https://www.ryobi.com.au/articles/win-your-wishlist/ (https://www.ryobi.com.au/articles/win-your-wishlist/)