Author Topic: Hi from the Central Coast  (Read 8811 times)

Offline Bob

• Central Coast 4WD Club
Hi from the Central Coast
« on: November 29, 2010, 04:45:33 PM »

Found this forum via a mate who's on here, hi Vince.
We've been researching campers for a few months and couldn't find anything we liked in our budget, happened to be at Vince's the other week and he gave us the grand tour of his "bitza camper", ah-ha!

So I did some research on trailers and ended up at GICs factory in Sydney on our way south last month, put in an order for one of their off road trailers, they were better value for money than anything I'd looked at near home.
Some research on the web found our tent, we wanted a smaller off the rear tent, there is only the minister for finance and myself so a big tent wasn't needed, we found it at Kangaroo tent city in Nth Parramatta all on display, the MFF doesn't like to buy without seeing the goods so this was a bonus, they promised to have one at the shop the same day we were going to pick up the trailer, this they did, we picked both up and bought them home.

Here's a pick of the MFF soaking the canvas.

We took the CT out for it's maiden voyage last weekend, we were suitably impressed, I'll be perusing this forum for some ideas for mods.

Bob.
« Last Edit: November 29, 2010, 09:03:43 PM by Bob »

Racer

Re: Hi from the Central Coast
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2010, 05:30:07 PM »
Welcome mate, I'm a born n bred Central Coast fella...This forum is full of fantastic ideas, advice and all that...also some good people on here as well.....

Enjoy it...you will!

« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2010, 05:39:06 PM »
Welcome to MySwag!

« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2010, 06:07:11 PM »
G'day Bob and MFF and welcome to Myswag. :cheers:

« Reply #4 on: November 29, 2010, 06:07:53 PM »
Welcome to the Forum, you are at the right place if it is Mod's you are after, good luck

Offline OB Swan

« Reply #5 on: November 29, 2010, 06:13:24 PM »
welcome aboard

plenty of info and discussion here
Life's too short to drink cheap wine

« Reply #6 on: November 29, 2010, 06:20:13 PM »
Welcome to myswag, nice camper, does it have a 12V system?  ;D

« Reply #7 on: November 29, 2010, 06:55:35 PM »
Hi Bob and MFF welcome to the forum ;D

Offline Bob

• Central Coast 4WD Club
« Reply #8 on: November 29, 2010, 07:13:13 PM »
Welcome to myswag, nice camper, does it have a 12V system?  ;D
Thanks for the welcome everyone.

No 12volt system or water tank, our 80 series cruiser is set up to carry 25 litres in the rear quarter panel and another 45 litres in the space between the rear seats and cargo barrier, last weekends maiden voyage we plugged the lights into the power outlets on the rear drawer sysem.

Im a great believer in the K.I.S.S system  ;D

Hi Bob and MFF welcome to the forum ;D

We'd better put a stop to the MFF eh!
She is very computer literate  ;D
« Last Edit: November 29, 2010, 07:18:04 PM by Bob »

Offline swagman

• looking for hard floor camper,again
« Reply #9 on: November 29, 2010, 07:32:07 PM »

I too am on the Central Coast and from the foto you posted it could 'almost' be a hard floor camper trailer.

I/we own a Camp-O-Matic Ranger GL hard floor camper trailer which also has the tent area towards the rear (just with a hard floor that's about 6 inches off the ground) It only takes about 3-4 minutes to set up for overnight stays, as long as we don't want the side awning up, then it's another 20 minutes or so.

Love camping etc... as well as camp cooking...(always looking for new recipes for the Cobb cooker)

ozkahuna

Offline BUDDS

« Reply #10 on: November 29, 2010, 07:48:49 PM »
Welcome to Myswag,

Hope you enjoy it.

Budds
Work Hard, Play Hard.

It is easier to ask for forgiveness than to ask for permssion.

« Reply #11 on: November 29, 2010, 09:16:46 PM »
G'day & Welcome Bob.

Got any plans for your camper yet? Battery, lights, kitchen?

Offline Bob

• Central Coast 4WD Club
« Reply #12 on: November 30, 2010, 07:32:51 PM »
First mod would be a tool box and pole storage on the draw bar.

We used the electrics off the cruiser last weekend, also the cruiser is well set up to carry water, and cooking gear.

At the moment we'll keep the camper simple and see how we go.

Offline Strawb

« Reply #13 on: December 02, 2010, 12:11:19 AM »
Welcome to My Swag Bob :cheers:
While intelligent people can simplify the complex, a fool is more likely to complicate the simple.

Offline ferret

« Reply #14 on: December 07, 2010, 05:39:27 PM »
  welcome guys  :cheers:
2007 HILUX D4D DUAL CAB
2011 KK PLATINUM

Offline maverex91

• Get out there & enjoy- you only live once
« Reply #15 on: December 09, 2010, 08:33:55 PM »
Welcome guys from another Coasty
Weekdays are for planning your weekends !!

Offline Proudy

« Reply #16 on: December 10, 2010, 04:05:28 PM »
Welcome  I'm just north of you at Lake Macquarie.

Proudy
Landcruiser 76 with lots of fruit

Offline Ray-C

« Reply #17 on: December 10, 2010, 08:39:12 PM »
Welcome to  myswag Bob
C:\Users\Ray\Pictures\2010-08-01 tom price\tom price 017 email.JPG

Offline Vince

• Central Coast 4WD Club
« Reply #18 on: December 10, 2010, 08:56:34 PM »
G'Day Bob

Nice set up mate....at least you wont forget this next time you do the trials down south :laugh:

Now that Mon has seasoned the canvas there is no excuse for not washing it when it gets dirty

Need a hand with the 12v give us a call
Vince

Offline Bob

• Central Coast 4WD Club
« Reply #19 on: December 11, 2010, 09:52:50 PM »
Thanks for all welcome guys.
Hi Vince, I know where to come now when I need a sparky.

Offline Craig and Jen

• I WISH I WAS CAMPING RIGHT NOW!!!
« Reply #20 on: December 12, 2010, 08:12:11 PM »
Hi Bob
Great to see another local on the site

Craig

Offline mikew

« Reply #21 on: December 13, 2010, 06:12:30 AM »
Welcome to MySwag Bob
2016 MY16 VX TTD White Landcruiser
2008 D4D Prado
2016 Lifestyle Reconn

Offline Roysta

• Haller Travels
« Reply #22 on: December 14, 2010, 07:25:03 AM »
Welcome guys (from antoher coastie),

I have a GIC also with the 12 foot tent.

« Reply #23 on: December 14, 2010, 08:33:41 AM »
Welcome Bob, seems to be a fair few Coasties on the site ??.....but haven't seen anyone on any camping get togethers ??
Why not come along to at least one of them next year sometime ??

Offline Knight44

« Reply #24 on: December 14, 2010, 09:41:20 AM »
Welcome from us also. We're at WoyWoy, but haven't yet managed to make a MySwag get together.

Richard