Author Topic: Advice  (Read 9937 times)

Offline Phantomxr8

Re: Advice
« Reply #25 on: December 05, 2010, 07:53:06 PM »
Welcome, I cant realy offer much advise but you realy cant go to far wrong any way they all will get you out there and relaxing  :cheers:

« Reply #26 on: December 07, 2010, 07:46:38 PM »

Be good to your mother ...
Treat others as you'd like them to treat you ...
Spend less ... Save more ...

Kit_e   ;D

Offline mark40

« Reply #27 on: December 09, 2010, 07:40:29 AM »
I do all those but it won't help me find my CT.

« Reply #28 on: December 09, 2010, 02:49:55 PM »

Have you made a list of preferred options YOU would like?  Do you want hard or soft floor?  Do you require 4WD or not?  How much "room" do you need (are you catering for a clutch of kids and SWMBO or is it more likely to be just the Boys)?  Do you want a kitchen or prefer not to bother?  Taking a fridge in it or the tow vehicle?  Preferred tow hitch, suspension?  Need solar?  Are you more an overnight camper or prefer longer weeks to relax?  What is the tow vehicle's maximum tow weight?  What's your CT's maximum allowable weight and payload?

Asking yourself these and many, many more questions does in fact narrow the field.  Once you have your CT's jostling for position on the track, be more defined  in your questions and answers and you'll have it down to 2 or 3 before you know it.

Then it'll just be a matter of colour preference or personal likeability.

It took us months to locate our perfect CT and then we had to wait months for it to be built.  Patience is the key!!

Offline spargo

• "Love that car.."
    • Twitter
« Reply #29 on: December 09, 2010, 02:56:48 PM »
G'day Spargo,

Keen to hear how the new camper goes and see a couple of pics as well.

Picked up this morning. Setting up tonight. Details & early photos here: http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=8420.msg148650#msg148650

Offline LJs GU

• My Camel has 3 little humps...
    • The Jackson 5 On Tour
« Reply #30 on: December 09, 2010, 03:33:05 PM »
Kit_e as always... the voice of reason.

Mark40, are you still sticking with the campers in your original post... Customline, Austrack, Lifestyle and All Terrian campers??
Either way, I'd be going back and forth (where location and proximity allows) and taking a note pad and pen and scribbling the pro's and con's of all.  
If you're like us, you could potentially never buy one because you'll be eternally comparing and saying 'what if, what about...etc'.
In the end our decision for a Camel just felt right... I reckon your's will too.
LJ
I'm not so good with advice... can I interest you in a sarcastic comment?

Offline mark40

« Reply #31 on: December 09, 2010, 06:26:22 PM »
LJ, Funny you should mention that. I am seriously looking at the bushman. Some friends just bought one and it looks really good to me.  Will contact Camel and see what they can do for me.

Offline youngpop

« Reply #32 on: December 09, 2010, 06:37:50 PM »
G'day and welcome Mark,

Do your searching and weigh it all up, lots of good info on this site. You will choose well if patient.

Offline mark40

« Reply #33 on: December 11, 2010, 02:41:27 PM »
FINALLY!!! Have bought a Trackabout Deluxe. Never really considered these but after a close look I was very impressed. Pick it up next week. Can't wait.....

« Reply #34 on: December 11, 2010, 07:02:56 PM »

Congratulations (wish we had an icon for that!)!!!!!!   ;D  ;D   ;D Of course, the obligatory pics will be required when you do get your new baby home.

Offline LJs GU

• My Camel has 3 little humps...
    • The Jackson 5 On Tour
« Reply #35 on: December 11, 2010, 09:21:16 PM »
Congrats mate... gee you didn't stuff around did you (less than 24 hours from 'post to post').  It musta felt right hey?
Look forward to the pics...
LJ

Kit_e, here's the congrat's i reckon sums it up:  :cup:
I'm not so good with advice... can I interest you in a sarcastic comment?

Offline mark40

« Reply #36 on: December 12, 2010, 06:32:19 AM »
Cheers LJ. yeah is was a bit quick but after looking at it and making about 20 phone calls to people who know a lot more about CT's than me we decided to get it. A bit more money than I was budgeting for but the extra's the bloke threw in tipped me over the edge. Now it just needs to stop raining so we can use it. I'm looking forward to getting it covered in mud. Will post some pics when I work out how to do it.

Offline mark40

« Reply #37 on: January 03, 2011, 02:31:40 PM »
Here's a couple of pics of the new camper. Hope they attached ok.

Offline BigDougie

• Enjoy Today for who knows what the future holds!
« Reply #38 on: January 03, 2011, 10:38:28 PM »
Hi Mark,
Nice camper, must say I'm a bit biased but, love me Trackabout.
Enjoy and  :cheers: Doug
Our Maverick and New to us Trackabout Overlander RF

"Smile and Wave boy's, Smile and Wave"

Offline Joff

• "This is my Custom User Title"
« Reply #39 on: January 04, 2011, 05:47:44 AM »
 ??? What are doing to that poor camper in your sig line Dougie??  ???

You know it'll gow up thinking it's a caravan  >:D
HDJ-105 full dresser plus modded Allterrain and NO BLING

Offline mark40

« Reply #40 on: January 04, 2011, 04:39:12 PM »
I just wish it would stop raining long enough so we can use it!!!!

Offline weso

• be good or be good at it !!!!!!!!!!!!
    • 64eh.com
« Reply #41 on: January 04, 2011, 07:52:11 PM »
welcome aboard mark nice new CT get out there as soon as that damn rain stops
64 EH(premier sedan)gone but will never be forgotten, 64VAN(windowless panel van),
2008 Nisan Navara, leisure matters ranger hard floor

Offline BigDougie

• Enjoy Today for who knows what the future holds!
« Reply #42 on: January 04, 2011, 09:39:53 PM »
Hey Joff,
Better stop watering it then, last thing I want is it to grow into a C'van.

Don't let a little rain deter you, rained lots at Rollingstone last week but still had a blast.
Happy camping and we might see you in our travels.

Our Maverick and New to us Trackabout Overlander RF

"Smile and Wave boy's, Smile and Wave"