Author Topic: Newbie  (Read 4534 times)

Offline wizardid

« on: June 26, 2014, 09:33:03 AM »
Hi Just joined and saw there are trips in convoys. At the moment we are a little time short but freeing time up is coming very soon. Just wondering how much notice is given on these organised trips? Are they each year or is it up to someone to start an idea and see if it takes off. We recently bought a "Customline Walk up" and have used it a few times. Love this if we organise it before hand. We would like to go further on each trip but travelling in groups sounds a little safer and more sociable. Any info would be appreciated.
Ian

Re: Newbie
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2014, 09:58:04 AM »
Welcome wizard,

Depending on where you are, there are usually a few trips or meets organised each year. Some by repeat offenders(!!!), others by relative newcomers.

Some arise spontaneously with short notice, others go thru 6 months or more of pre-planning (Cape Trips, National Meets, etc). A few members are pretty quiet presently as they are half way up cape york at the moment on a regular gig!

A great way to meet new freinds and explore new places. I havnt met a dud swagger yet, as we seem to be like minded people who enjoy getting out there with freinds and family and having fun. So keep your eye out for a weekend meet near you for a start and come along.

EDIT:  There were a few questionable swaggers out there, but even they come good once Id met them  :laugh: ;D

Offline wizardid

« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2014, 10:23:15 AM »
Many thanks I will keep checking. We are in Wollongong area and travelled to Coonamble and coonabarabran Ballina and Dubbo so far. Will be off to the Gympie Muster next. Many thanks for the info

Ian

Offline Garfish

• Mini Marlin
  • Have fun and enjoy
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2014, 01:28:11 PM »
Welcome wizardid.

It's a great site, and the walk ups are great regardless of which brand.   As previously mentioned just keep an eye on the board and you will see a number of trips organised from long trips to weekend get togethers.

« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2014, 04:21:52 PM »
Welcome mate

Offline RallyDog

« Reply #5 on: June 26, 2014, 08:16:36 PM »
Welcome mate

Offline wizardid

« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2014, 08:05:37 AM »

Just wondering are all these trips 4wd? I have a ford ranger but it is 2wd.

Ian

« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2014, 12:23:46 PM »
Not all of them are mate. And some that are, probably include a base camp, that may be 2wd accessible.

Offline Alfa12

« Reply #8 on: June 28, 2014, 03:32:40 PM »
Welcome Ian, newbies here as well. Off to a semi-planned week end meet and greet get together with a bunch of swaggers at Darlington park in a few weeks. Will catch you at the muster, got our tickets today.

« Reply #9 on: June 28, 2014, 03:42:53 PM »
Welcome to myswag Ian, the Customline owners are increasing!

Add you location to your profile so we can point you in the right direction with trips.

« Reply #10 on: June 28, 2014, 09:14:41 PM »
Welcome to myswag and the Customline club :cup:

Currently on a myswag trip in Central Oz.  Maybe we will cross paths one day.

Offline jayjay

« Reply #11 on: June 28, 2014, 09:26:47 PM »
Hi Wizardid.... and welcome, from yet another newbie.
I was wondering the same thing re organised trips......... a very good question!!
Sounds like a great way of meeting people, and learning heaps.
I too, would be very interested when something down south happens....
Mitsubishi Challenger
Rearfold Safari Trackabout

Offline wizardid

« Reply #12 on: June 29, 2014, 09:09:08 AM »
HI
i I will be in "Slim Dusty Drive" at the muster on the triangle block next to the showers. Going to take a few days to get there making it into a short holiday.

Offline Alfa12

« Reply #13 on: July 01, 2014, 11:21:06 PM »
G'day Ian not sure where we will be yet. Going to the rope off in a couple of weeks. Won't be hard to see us but, just look for the Muster Surf Club with the KK, Broadwater and an MDC set up next to it. That'll be us. Come and have a coldy at the MSC "bar".

Offline wizardid

« Reply #14 on: July 04, 2014, 05:49:05 PM »
Sure will I am looking forward to another trip as I am getting things down a little better each time. Practicing setting up in my driveway. See you there