Author Topic: New Jayco Swift on the way  (Read 6432 times)

Offline 110Isuzu

New Jayco Swift on the way
« on: May 05, 2013, 06:24:21 PM »

New to the site, just been gathering info on which Jayco to go for.
We have gone for a 2013 Jayco Swift Outback.
It will be primarily used for over night trips and the odd visit to the family.
Was more interested in a light basic unit that has a level of comfort and quick to open and shut.
Should pick up end of June/ early July with the following extras:

Hyland coupling
100AH Battery
Innerspring mattresses
roof rack
extra gas
extra water ( well that was plan, just been told by dealer they are no longer doing this, anyone heard this)
awning and bed flies
Anderson plug

Might also add the water/battery meter and a few more 12v plugs.

Any other recommendations...

Landrover 110 Isuzu4BD1
2013 Jayco Swift Outback - On order

Re: New Jayco Swift on the way
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2013, 06:26:29 PM »
Welcome aboard to a great forum.

nbd73

« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2013, 06:35:03 PM »
There are dozens of threads of this nature on myswag, have a scan of them and you will get an idea of what people suggest you need. In answer to your question I would definitely add a volt meter and water level meter (s) at the factory. Seems odd they would delete the option of a second water tank, especially since it gets included when you option the HWS. Short wait for Jayco product: I ordered my GS at the June 2010 caravan show and took delivery at the the start of March 2011. Extra 12v points will never go astray.

« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2013, 08:32:33 PM »
Welcome 110Isuzu to Myswag,

Good luck with your new toy when it finally arrives.
You will have plenty of time to pick up many bits and pieces to Mod up the new camper.

All the best,

Offline fnqlux

« Reply #4 on: May 05, 2013, 09:21:06 PM »
Welcome aboard,
We have a 2012 Swift OB (purchased Jan 13) - great little unit for the two of us. Added second battery (200amp total), fitted 250W solar to roof , extra awning for fridge side of van, fridge fan fitted, sealed under floor, replaced front cover and fitted stone guard. Been away several short trips now soon to go up the Cape for 3 weeks.

cheers :D

« Reply #5 on: May 05, 2013, 09:29:03 PM »
G'day and welcome mate.
Congrats on the camper. :cup:

« Reply #6 on: May 06, 2013, 08:19:35 AM »
Welcome to the tribe.  Congratulations on the Jayco purchase.  Look forward to reading of your adventures.

Offline BrindiCruiser

« Reply #7 on: May 06, 2013, 08:48:32 AM »
Welcome. Plenty of info here on options for jaycos. I used it heaps when choosing my options.
2010 Kia Sorrento, 2013 Outback Swan

Offline 110Isuzu

« Reply #8 on: May 06, 2013, 10:51:13 AM »
Thanks for the Welcome.

Again great site, plenty of info.

Sounds like some good mods...interested to hear how it goes with Cape trip, how does it handle the corrugations and water crossings, any dramas with cabinets or suspension.

Added second battery (200amp total), fitted 250W solar to roof , extra awning for fridge side of van, fridge fan fitted, sealed under floor, replaced front cover and fitted stone guard. Been away several short trips now soon to go up the Cape for 3 weeks.

Landrover 110 Isuzu4BD1

Offline BrindiCruiser

« Reply #9 on: May 06, 2013, 11:39:31 AM »
I think water crossings are not recommended with a Jayco. I did read about someone who sealed up the borrow of their Jayco.

Corrugations can be a problem for the cabinets but I think the chassis does ok.
2010 Kia Sorrento, 2013 Outback Swan

Offline Paul (SA)

« Reply #10 on: May 06, 2013, 12:33:48 PM »
There are dozens of threads of this nature on myswag, have a scan of them and you will get an idea of what people suggest you need. In answer to your question I would definitely add a volt meter and water level meter (s) at the factory. Seems odd they would delete the option of a second water tank, especially since it gets included when you option the HWS. Short wait for Jayco product: I ordered my GS at the June 2010 caravan show and took delivery at the the start of March 2011. Extra 12v points will never go astray.

Swift are too small to add the extra water tank.
2014 NW Pajero
2012 Jayco Swift OB

Offline 110Isuzu

« Reply #11 on: May 06, 2013, 01:27:56 PM »
Just added the water/battery monitor and external and internal 12v points.
Hopefully they can come back with something else to add since the original quote was for two tanks.
Landrover 110 Isuzu4BD1

Offline mrw63

« Reply #12 on: May 07, 2013, 11:29:45 AM »
Another soon-to-be Jayco Swift OB owner  :cheers:

We are awaiting to take delivery of ours.  Bit of a mix up at the dealership with the Fiamma Awning  >:(   Looking forward to picking it up.

The only options we requested were:

- I/S main mattress
- 100amp Battery
- Fiamma Awning

If we had an unlimited budget we would have added other items, but we'll add and make it our own in time.  We plan on keeping this a while, so first thing we'll be doing is adding a toolbox to the front.

Look forward to seeing some photos.
2009 Mitsi Pajero NT GLS, 2015 Lifestyle Breakaway Icon and Oztent RV-4

Offline 110Isuzu

« Reply #13 on: May 07, 2013, 02:28:21 PM »

Another soon-to-be Jayco Swift OB owner  :cheers:

We are awaiting to take delivery of ours.  Bit of a mix up at the dealership with the Fiamma Awning  >:(   Looking forward to picking it up.

The only options we requested were:

- I/S main mattress
- 100amp Battery
- Fiamma Awning

If we had an unlimited budget we would have added other items, but we'll add and make it our own in time.  We plan on keeping this a while, so first thing we'll be doing is adding a toolbox to the front.

Look forward to seeing some photos.
Hi mrw63,
Would have liked an unlimited budget as well, the dealer has been pretty good on the pricing, better then I would have thought...but I didn't say that. They have thrown in the monitor and inside and outside 12v in place of the 2nd tank, with any luck they may throw in a starter pack as well. For the price they are excellent value. We did look at the Dove, but the wait would have been 4 months and a 4k increase roughly given the same options.

From all accounts I may look at the Fiamma awning, will see how the Jayco goes, from what I have read they are no the easiest to set up.
Will also look at a stone guard and pole carrier and hopefully that should do for a couple of years. Our plans is to keep until it falls apart, which hopefully will be a few years down the road if at all.

Landrover 110 Isuzu4BD1