Author Topic: Howdy from the Bushberys  (Read 4303 times)

Offline Bushberrys

Howdy from the Bushberys
« on: June 12, 2012, 03:55:42 PM »
Afternoon campers,

. Joined up as we're looking to purchase our first camper. I figure this is the best place to get the right info. We're looking to use the good wife's 2008 Outlander to tow, so looking at a base model off road unit. Try to get out when we can but like everyone, it's never enough.

We look forward to chatting with you,

Rolly and Fi

Re: Howdy from the Bushberys
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2012, 04:06:30 PM »
Welcome Rolly and Fi, you have certainly come to the right place to get info... enjoy.

« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2012, 04:17:49 PM »
Welcome Crew,

Catch you round the traps.

« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2012, 04:38:06 PM »

Do you have a camper in mind already, or a set of requirements? Are you considering 2nd hand or only new?

Offline Bushberrys

« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2012, 04:48:03 PM »

Do you have a camper in mind already, or a set of requirements? Are you considering 2nd hand or only new?
Thanks for the warm welcome. We're thinking a new unit suitable for the two of us (with room for the teenage daughter) with the basic set up, so we can ad the bits we want as we have sooooooo much camping gear. Saying that if we come across a good 2nd hand unit we'd be real gooses to not look into it.

We spent a long 6 hours at the Brisvegas camping show last Saturday and gathered plenty of brochures to do some comparing.

I guess the biggest thing will be to find a trailer that the Outlander will tow comfortably, then just get out there!! ;D

« Reply #5 on: June 12, 2012, 07:02:06 PM »
welcome to myswag rolly & family

« Reply #6 on: June 12, 2012, 07:09:53 PM »
G'day Rolly and Fi and welcome.
Heaps of info and help here guys.
Good luck with the camper search. :D

Offline brickiematt

• Life member of the Silverton Hotel
« Reply #7 on: June 12, 2012, 07:30:43 PM »
G'day Rolly and Fi, and to MySwag. You've come to the right place for info on all things CT's.

We have a 2007 Outlander (2.4l, 4 cyl) and it tows our Aussie Jays no problems at all. The tow vehicle was one of our considerations when choosing a camper, as we won't be upgrading for another couple of years. My main concern was the ball weight on the back of the Outlander, but our trailer is really well balanced (this weekend we were fully loaded with camping gear, plus 90 litres of water and at least 50 kilos of firewood), and the ball weight was light enough for me to pick it up. I think the maximum ball weight for the Outlander is 110kg, but check in your manual. The only thing is the power- a bit underpowered but it doesn't go too bad. I am actually very pleased with how the Outlander handles the towing.

Good luck with your search guys, it's half the fun. Take your time and look at heaps of different trailers and you wont regret it

« Reply #8 on: June 12, 2012, 08:54:17 PM »
Hi Rolly and Fi, welcome to My Swag

« Reply #9 on: June 12, 2012, 09:51:59 PM »
G'day Rolly and Fi

To MySwag,
There is a wealth of knowledge here, I'm sure somebody would of been in the same situation as you guys are in and can give a heads up.
Good luck with your search and then the fun begins with the mods.
Happy & Safe Travels.

« Reply #10 on: June 12, 2012, 09:55:53 PM »

Welcome Bushberrys!

You couldn't go past an older hard floor either.  Your teen could sleep on the floor or in a swag somewhere handy to camp.  My BF wanted to get to the show, but we were too busy camping!

Where abouts are you from?  Logan Shire here.

Offline Bushberrys

« Reply #11 on: June 13, 2012, 04:31:55 PM »
G'day Rolly and Fi, and to MySwag. You've come to the right place for info on all things CT's.

We have a 2007 Outlander (2.4l, 4 cyl) and it tows our Aussie Jays no problems at all. The tow vehicle was one of our considerations when choosing a camper, as we won't be upgrading for another couple of years. My main concern was the ball weight on the back of the Outlander, but our trailer is really well balanced (this weekend we were fully loaded with camping gear, plus 90 litres of water and at least 50 kilos of firewood), and the ball weight was light enough for me to pick it up. I think the maximum ball weight for the Outlander is 110kg, but check in your manual. The only thing is the power- a bit underpowered but it doesn't go too bad. I am actually very pleased with how the Outlander handles the towing.

Good luck with your search guys, it's half the fun. Take your time and look at heaps of different trailers and you wont regret it

Cheers Matt, Our's is the same model as yours in the pic. This is very useful info!!!! :cheers:

Offline Bushberrys

« Reply #12 on: June 13, 2012, 04:33:57 PM »

Welcome Bushberrys!

You couldn't go past an older hard floor either.  Your teen could sleep on the floor or in a swag somewhere handy to camp.  My BF wanted to get to the show, but we were too busy camping!

Where abouts are you from?  Logan Shire here.

Hey Kit_e, We're Logan folk as well, in Hillcrest. :4x4:

« Reply #13 on: June 13, 2012, 07:02:42 PM »

Kewl!  Not far from Springwood here ... go north a bit.