Author Topic: New member looking to do some research  (Read 3306 times)

Offline zoom0001

New member looking to do some research
« on: June 07, 2012, 12:17:31 PM »
Hello all,

I am new to forum. I used to own a 1999 independent coil sprung (MC2) Track Trailer which I used to travel around central Australia with. Unfortunately I ended up selling it to work on expanding my family knowing that future trips would be very limited over the next couple of years.

With two kids, a wife and 2 pets sorted out, next step will be build or buy another trailer. Over the last few years most of my trips have been primarily with mates up and around high country Victoria using my swag. With my youngest passing 18months, I am ready to start ruffing it again.

I drive a 2005 TD42Ti Nissan Patrol which I have built up over the last 5 years to be a very capable tourer. It has more fruit on it that your local grocer sporting F&R lockers, bar work all round, suspension mods, turbo mods…. List goes on.

I was put onto this site by a work college who suggested this site to be a great source of information. With many questions in my head to be answered, it is time to start browsing the forum.
2005 TD42i - Twin locked, gtx2863 with ARE cooler, bar work all round, 43% reductions, draws, winch, lift 35 play tyres etc etc etc.. Very capable tourer.

Offline GeeTee

• GT Campers premium off-road trailers and Toyota Hilux Expedition conversions
Re: New member looking to do some research
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2012, 12:32:06 PM »
welcome... hope you don't have the  :police: at work checking over your shoulder while you spend hours on here  ;D

GT Campers: Off-road touring trailer or Toyota Hilux Expedition
Purpose-designed and built off-road touring vehicles. Innovation not imitation!
Find us on Facebook

« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2012, 01:06:16 PM »

Yes, your mate at work is looking for someone else to dodge with him  ;D.

« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2012, 01:47:48 PM »
G'day mate and welcome to the every campers dream. MySwag. ;D  ;D
Enjoy the journey.

« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2012, 01:52:00 PM »

Welcome zoom001,

Now that you've found us, prepare to become addicted.  Sounds like you have the modification bug already with your vehicle ... won't take too much reading to get the same with a new camper!

Offline Fun Police

« Reply #5 on: June 07, 2012, 02:15:15 PM »
Welcome!

You have joined the pit-of-despair that is mySwag where you will find yourself trolling over 1000's of posts looking at everything you can until your mind explodes with saturation and your decision making process turns to a pile of quivering ectoplasm.....all while your wife exclaims "Are you on that bloody thing again!!"

Apart from that....all the people here are great!!

Enjoy
You can't spell 'funeral' without 'fun', nor 'manslaughter' without 'laughter'

Offline Sicilianmama

« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2012, 02:19:50 PM »
Welcome to myswag :)
2007 Holden Rodeo with 2012 Jayco Swan Outback :)

Offline pathfinder02

« Reply #7 on: June 08, 2012, 05:34:36 PM »
Welcome zoom0001, There's plenty of info here to satisfy anyones appetite.
Enjoy, :cheers: Paul & Jo.
Cheers Paul.
2006 ST-L Pathy T/D
2008 Jimboomba Off Road Explorer Camper Trailer.

« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2012, 09:40:08 PM »
Hi zoom0001 and welcome to My Swag

Offline r0ssrg

• Oz Lap begins 15/06/2013
    • XCape to our Aussie adventure
« Reply #9 on: June 18, 2012, 01:05:44 AM »
Hi and welcome.  You'll find answers here and the regulars are very helpful.  :)

One thing that confused me when I first joined is that if you wanted to add a profile photo you have to achieve a certain number of posts, from memory 20. 

Rossco
Follow us on :  www.xcape.com.au   www.facebook.com/XcapeAustralia

Nissan Navara 2008 STX.  TJM 2in Lift kit, TJM Canopy, TJM Bash Plate, TJM Snorkel, Deep Cycle Gel Aux battery.  Plus Rhino Roof racks, BFG All Terrains.

Modcon 2008 Overlander.

Offline Smoko

« Reply #10 on: June 18, 2012, 05:52:29 AM »
Welcome to Myswag

Smoko
2009 Vacation Camper 2015 Triton

« Reply #11 on: June 18, 2012, 06:22:07 AM »
Welcome to MySwag Zoom, a great resource of all things camper and life in general. You have got the correct type of tow vehicle, now all that is needed is a camper behind it, enjoy your stay and join in the banter

Offline Daawl

• Always trying to get out & about
    • Lightning Ridge Police Bush Safari
« Reply #12 on: June 18, 2012, 02:24:22 PM »
G'day Zoom and welcome to MySwag.

There is plenty of research material to be had here, I conducted a fair bit off this site for my own camper and tbh it was what helped with the deciding vote on final purchase.

be prepared to lose lots of time here while enjoying every minute of it. :)

Daawl

Offline rescue1

• D40 Navara [HIS] T31 X-Trail [HERS]
« Reply #13 on: June 18, 2012, 09:13:20 PM »
Welcome Zoom, we're not all crazy herer, best of luck working out who are the sane ones, its a kind of moveable feast that said this a is great place for information.

Offline zoom0001

« Reply #14 on: June 20, 2012, 12:18:37 PM »
Thanks all for the warm welcome!

After a week of trawling through existing posts I have decided I will build my own 7x4 in-dependant custom trailer.

Since I am currently homeless (living with in-laws) while I wait for my house to be built, I wont be starting until early next year.... gives me plenty of time for research!

Already checked out independent suspension suppliers, Preston Chassis, G&S chassis, Cruisemaster and Huntsman(eBay). The later two are most suited.

I'm sure I will be speaking with many members as I start piecing this project together.

Regards!
2005 TD42i - Twin locked, gtx2863 with ARE cooler, bar work all round, 43% reductions, draws, winch, lift 35 play tyres etc etc etc.. Very capable tourer.

« Reply #15 on: June 20, 2012, 12:23:07 PM »
Good luck with the build mate, and keep us updated with your thoughts and process.