Author Topic: old campers don't fade away they just....  (Read 5321 times)

old campers don't fade away they just....
« on: November 26, 2011, 09:23:46 PM »
Hi folks,what a great forum, until 3 weeks ago I didn't know this existed, but am making up lost time now !! Done a bit of camping/fishing  in the past around Omeo,Dargo, Waterford,Green cape, legged it into "grannies flat" from Jamieson 40 years ago when pretty much the only 4wd's were international harvester ;D,but the trout made up for the pain.Bit different now though :'( 
So now to the present, I'm trying to convince SWMBO that camping CAN be done in comfort and ease by a gray nomad and his bride, but this is going to be a bit like water dripping on a stone, it'll take time.She's a bit worried that in a few years I won't be able to set up or pack up a camper( that's why you have a younger bride isn't it ?) :laugh: and would prefer a caravan, so I'm doing lots of research into semi off road campers that are VERY comfortable & easy to set up.
I'm glad I found this forum as it's opened my eyes regarding the quality of some of the "aussie" campers names that have been around for a long time, and that have gone to o/s makers or parts, pretty sad really, but I guess you can't have high wages and cheap prices too.
Just for interest have a look atwww.alibaba.com, do a search for camper trailers & try a count how many you recognize !!!!!
Looking forward to the day I can meet some of you around a camp fire with a drink or 3 :cheers:
regards Keith

ps and yes I know  :worthles: but I don't have any yet

Re: old campers don't fade away they just....
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2011, 09:31:18 PM »
Welcome, its easy to be drawn into the quagmire here!!

Grannies Flat 1970's, well done. 

Offline baldheadedgit

• your shout.?.. I'll ave Arf.......!
« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2011, 09:31:27 PM »
welcome to the madhouse Xcvator. from wence do you hail my friend.????

BHG

« Reply #3 on: November 26, 2011, 09:40:36 PM »
welcome to the madhouse Xcvator. from wence do you hail my friend.????

BHG
Somerville on the Mornington Peninsula

Offline baldheadedgit

• your shout.?.. I'll ave Arf.......!
« Reply #4 on: November 26, 2011, 09:43:47 PM »
Oh well,,, you cant help that....... :P :P ;D :cheers:

« Reply #5 on: November 26, 2011, 09:46:11 PM »
G'day Keith and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers:

« Reply #6 on: November 27, 2011, 06:10:48 AM »
G'day xcvator
Welcome aboard!! Get the swmbo to get on forum and all will be ok mate  ;D

« Reply #7 on: November 27, 2011, 07:13:09 AM »
Welcome Xcvator,

Mate, I am the greyest of Grey Nomads, and the wife and I camp with ease and in great comfort.
Remember the older you get the more, "built in" padding you have ;D

« Reply #8 on: November 27, 2011, 07:27:18 AM »
Welcome to the Forum Keith, join in the banter and enjoy your stay. This place is great to research all things campers and the like

« Reply #9 on: November 27, 2011, 07:27:54 AM »
Welcome to the swag xcvator, we can certainly help you spend money :)

« Reply #10 on: November 27, 2011, 08:31:31 AM »
Hi xcvator and welcome to My Swag

« Reply #11 on: November 27, 2011, 11:15:35 AM »
Hi xcvator,
To MySwag

« Reply #12 on: November 27, 2011, 04:05:14 PM »
Welcome to the swag xcvator, we can certainly help you spend money :)
your not  related to swmbo are you? :)

« Reply #13 on: November 27, 2011, 10:00:24 PM »
Xcavator Welcome to MySwag , Enjoy We do  :cheers:

Offline Tracey family

« Reply #14 on: November 29, 2011, 12:33:15 PM »
Welcome to the madness of myswag!

:cheers: Glenyse

« Reply #15 on: November 29, 2011, 12:50:48 PM »
G'day & Welcome

Offline hairymick

• 2010 Nissan Navara D22, 2005 Kimberly Escape
« Reply #16 on: November 29, 2011, 02:08:44 PM »
G'dayXcvator and welcome aboard mate.

Get your loverly missus to have a look at some of the superb hard floor campers on here.

We are practising to do the grey nomad thing and we reckon they are the way to go.
Mick

« Reply #17 on: November 29, 2011, 04:46:52 PM »
G'dayXcvator and welcome aboard mate.

Get your loverly missus to have a look at some of the superb hard floor campers on here.

We are practising to do the grey nomad thing and we reckon they are the way to go.

Welcome Xcvator
Yep once you,ve had a hard one you will never want a soft one  ;D ;D

Offline 98jack

« Reply #18 on: November 29, 2011, 05:09:46 PM »
Welcome xcvator, suggest hiring some different styles of camper & see what suits you &SWMBO & also your budget. Lots of decisions to be made but have fun making them   :D

Glenn
98 Jackaroo SE 3.5 V6
Ironman 40mm lift, Bridgestone Dueler D697's & a big right foot.
Oztrail camper 9 on 7x4 trailer, not glamorous but does the job :)

« Reply #19 on: November 30, 2011, 10:35:15 PM »
Hi, and welcome to the Forum :cheers:

Offline hargs

« Reply #20 on: November 30, 2011, 10:38:43 PM »
Welcome Xcvator
Yep once you,ve had a hard one you will never want a soft one  ;D ;D

HEE HEE HEE
 :angel: :angel: :angel: :angel: :angel: :angel: :angel: :angel: :angel: :angel: :angel: :angel: :angel:

We love our hard one............CUB Brumby that is .........we are both in our 50's....sure beats the tent.
« Last Edit: November 30, 2011, 10:42:05 PM by hargs »
Life is to short not to...............

Offline flamingo

« Reply #21 on: December 06, 2011, 06:43:49 PM »
 Gday Mate Welcome to Myswag! Another Vic joins the ranks.. :cheers: Phil
Go Tigers!
2005 Navara
2011 Jayco Flamingo

Offline ralphedward

« Reply #22 on: December 06, 2011, 08:29:48 PM »
Welcome to the forum Keith,

There are still plenty of very good Aussie camper trailer producers out there, and quite a few in your backyard (Vic).  It all depends on what you consider 'ease of set up'.  Take a little time to check things out ( the problem with this advice is that you will become bewildered by the plethora of choice you have in this market).  My advice 'tho is check out Tambo from Wantirna!!!!

regards

SWMBO made me do it (whatever it was I did)!
VW Amarok & 'Cooper' the Tambo.