Author Topic: G'day from Perth  (Read 9055 times)

Offline XLR8

• XLR8 Fabrications
G'day from Perth
« on: July 28, 2011, 04:50:35 PM »
G'day all, I recently acquired an old school camper (Petersville BushWacker) and am looking at a restore/rebuild. A mate, RobsGQ, recommended signing up here for some tips and tricks.

When I picked it up last week it looked like this

It is nothing more than a frame now, having removed all the rotten timber flooring and sides. The plan is to extend the A frame, replace the suspension, timber and steel framework then add all the extras I need for storage etc

Looking forward to chatting with you and picking up some ideas along the way
« Last Edit: July 28, 2011, 05:18:09 PM by bigjules »

Re: G'day from Perth
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2011, 05:17:03 PM »

Strewth, what have you got yourself into? I updated the top two photo links, all good now.

Good luck
« Last Edit: July 28, 2011, 05:18:39 PM by bigjules »

« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2011, 05:30:51 PM »
Welcome, looks like a great project, any idea how old it is?  Make sure you keep the photos coming. Are you upgrading to 15 inch wheels, what is your tow vehicle?

Offline trekkn

« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2011, 05:36:36 PM »
Hey mike glad to see you have a nice project on your hands

hows the back mate? is your fabrication shed back up and running yet?

wouldnt mind a set off sliders for my cruiser

Offline XLR8

• XLR8 Fabrications
« Reply #4 on: July 28, 2011, 05:41:02 PM »
Welcome, looks like a great project, any idea how old it is?  Make sure you keep the photos coming. Are you upgrading to 15 inch wheels, what is your tow vehicle?

My guess is it's circa 1960's to 70's going by the construction, imperial steel sizes and colour scheme. I plan to run braked 15x8 so I can interchange with the Patrol and I'm looking at an independant suspension setup.

Hey mike glad to see you have a nice project on your hands

hows the back mate? is your fabrication shed back up and running yet?

wouldnt mind a set off sliders for my cruiser

Back is better than ever and have been back doing the fab work full time since January. A bit quiet at the moment with people not sure where the economy is headed but should stabilise eventually.

Happy to sort some sliders out for you, although currently have no jigs for the cruisers. If you give me a call we could sort something out

« Reply #5 on: July 28, 2011, 05:44:05 PM »
Welcome here mate.
That is a piece of history.
What did they tell you: still original?

I thought I recognise your username from other forums.

« Reply #6 on: July 28, 2011, 05:52:06 PM »
Hi and welcome to My Swag :cheers:

Offline XLR8

• XLR8 Fabrications
« Reply #7 on: July 28, 2011, 05:53:12 PM »
Welcome here mate.
That is a piece of history.
What did they tell you: still original?

I thought I recognise your username from other forums.

Not 100% sure of the history but certainly looks original. Was owned by a mates uncle in Bremmer Bay who then sold it to my mate. He's had it sitting around for a couple of years collecting dust and needed to move it due to selling his house. When he offered it to me for free, I couldn't refuse regardless of the work needed

Offline squirell

« Reply #8 on: July 28, 2011, 06:51:11 PM »
Hi and welcome, we have bought a new C/T, but still have our old Bushwacker as back up for the kids to use, we bought ours in mid 1974 for $750 and for another $200, got the free standing 8' annex with steel internal frame. Our unit has green canvas and different window style. Your's is the later model if my memory is correct, is your's the 10 or 12 in wheel version as this is the give away for year of manufacture. We dragged our's all over SA, NSW, Q'ld and Vic for the past 35 years without 1 punture. Hope you ehjoy the re-build.

Squirell/Graeme
Just spendin' the kids inheritence !!

Offline XLR8

• XLR8 Fabrications
« Reply #9 on: July 28, 2011, 06:59:54 PM »
This was the 10" wheel version.

Offline robsgq

« Reply #10 on: July 29, 2011, 09:46:21 PM »
Hi Mike welcome to myswag. If ya need a hand dont call me HaHa just joking more than happy to help with ya build up
cheers,Rob.

Offline theflyingbadger

« Reply #11 on: July 29, 2011, 10:40:06 PM »
so what's this? bored now that you've given up your "other" commitments?

:)

Jon

CRD TD42TI Patrol - Ultimate Xtrk TBD

Offline XLR8

• XLR8 Fabrications
« Reply #12 on: July 29, 2011, 10:42:10 PM »
I haven't had time to be bored yet, the phone still rings and the emails keep coming. I expect it will ease in a week or 2  ;D

Offline theflyingbadger

« Reply #13 on: July 29, 2011, 10:43:48 PM »
I haven't had time to be bored yet, the phone still rings and the emails keep coming. I expect it will ease in a week or 2  ;D

just change your number, and don't give the new one to Rob. or even better, make up a phone number and tell him it's your new number. he'll never catch on.
Jon

Offline turbojoe

« Reply #14 on: July 30, 2011, 06:57:57 PM »
well ,giday mate good to see you here.

« Reply #15 on: July 30, 2011, 07:09:42 PM »
Welcome to Myswag mate  :cheers: im sure you willget many ideas from here.

Good luck with it all and look forward to the pics as it advances  :cheers:

Offline albany_nomads

• Dylan..Mans best friend
    • John Grant Photography
« Reply #16 on: July 30, 2011, 07:31:06 PM »
Welcome XLR8..good to have more from WA
Kind Regards: John, Nola & Dylan (The Albany Nomads )

MY BLOG:   http://johngrantphotography.wordpress.com/

« Reply #17 on: July 30, 2011, 11:07:28 PM »
I am still thinking of some steelwork for my Surf.................

Offline theflyingbadger

« Reply #18 on: July 30, 2011, 11:08:21 PM »

if you want to have a look at his handywork, i've got a set of his side steps on my 'trol
Jon

Offline gec

• 5.7 V8 Powered GQ Patrol
« Reply #19 on: July 31, 2011, 01:37:57 AM »
Gday Mike and welcome to here, Starting to think ya following me around a bit hehe, Love the new project mate, ya should be able to do it a bit of justice with your skills.
Ex Western Patrol Club Member, growing old is inevitable, growing up is optional.

Offline XLR8

• XLR8 Fabrications
« Reply #20 on: July 31, 2011, 10:51:43 AM »

Good stuff mate, feel free to give me a call and have a chat or pop on my web site and have a squiz.

I'll contact the admins and get the all clear before I pop something up in the vendors area aswell

Offline nelliesdad

« Reply #21 on: October 19, 2011, 07:12:44 AM »
Gday from Lancefield Victoria , I have a Brand new old stock, BushWacker Petersville Camper  Canvas Cover and Stainless Steel A frames available for sale. (Extremely heavy canvas ) May suit you for your restoration.
I have had this in storage in a tin trunk since 1969   Photos Available  Complete with the original plans, to build a 2 single bed walkin to the trailer camper  . No further use as I have a Teardrop Trailer
Cheers Ian     ph 03 54237255   and yes I am old too

« Last Edit: October 19, 2011, 08:43:22 AM by nelliesdad »