Author Topic: Pole carrier where to get one?  (Read 10839 times)

Offline gphcald

Pole carrier where to get one?
« on: January 24, 2012, 05:39:54 PM »
looking to buy a couple of pole carriers, can an body suggest where to get them, looking for the poly pipe type with a screw cap on one end.
live in the North west of sydney

Rgds

Gerry

Offline Duchess

• "Its not as hard as you think, you know."
Re: Pole carrier where to get one?
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2012, 05:41:43 PM »
You could make them. A lot of us here have. I'm sure you could find a Bumblings up there somewhere with everything you need.  :D

"I've got one job on this ship. It's stupid but I'm going to do it!"

www.duchessandthedukeontour.blogspot.com.au

Offline POD

• Just get out there!
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2012, 06:08:43 PM »
"Never trust an internet quote." - Thomas Jefferson

« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2012, 06:31:55 PM »
Any of the BIG plumbing places like tradelink etc have heaps of pipe that you can use.  Try and get the UV stabilised stuff.  You can get it from 90mm to 150mm from memory.  You need an end cap to suit for one end and a stormwater connector (female/female connector with a thread on one side so you can screw a cap on it).

Glue together with blue plumbers goop.

I made two up for our jayco and it was less than $120 for 150mm pipe and fittings.  Buy a full 6m length and you will save $$ over short pieces from a hardware place.  Give the offcut to a mate or hit the kids with it.  Makes a good thump sound  :)

Here is a pic of my last one.  This is the side with the fixed cap on it.  It also has the fittings that builders use to hold the pipe onto a wall or trus;

Offline Boxhead 71

• Listen, CALM DOWN!!!
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2012, 10:09:39 PM »
And glue a bit of foam or something in the ends of it, in case you get a bit over enthusiastic [like my young bloke did] while sliding the poles in!!
Strong as an ox, smart as a tractor!
I love to wake up to the sound of a Jake brake and the smell of chainsaws in the morning.

Offline spargo

• "Love that car.."
    • Twitter
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2012, 10:59:17 PM »
Recommend doing it yourself, but recommend you DON'T get the bits from Bunnings. I priced the screw-on end cap I just put onto the end of mine at $25+ for both the thread end and screw-on cap at Bunnings. Local Tradelink style plumbing shop = $16.

Go local, be rewarded.

Offline Muso

• The beatings will stop when morale improves
« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2012, 04:41:58 AM »
As for the clamps, my original ones cracked and broke, so have switched over to galvanised strapping (also bought from your local)
Cheers Glenn

Offline bert56

« Reply #7 on: January 25, 2012, 05:02:21 AM »
Hi, I've got a question regarding homemade pole carriers.

Has anyone had trouble with the screw fitting undoing while on corrugated roads or undoing for any reason?

Bert

« Reply #8 on: January 25, 2012, 05:07:21 AM »

Has anyone had trouble with the screw fitting undoing while on corrugated roads or undoing for any reason?

Bert

Howdy Bert,

Yes it can happen and happens especially to the homemade cub variety of pole carrier (Sorry Snow) its a good idea to incorporate some kind of locking mechanism on the srew cap lid, I am sure if you do a search this has been mentioned before

Offline Muso

• The beatings will stop when morale improves
« Reply #9 on: January 25, 2012, 05:13:42 AM »
G'day Bert, what I do is get a length of small link chain (like sinkplug chain) and fit it to the centre of the cap and the other end to the pipe. When I screw the ends on I only go up 2 or 3 threads. Never had any problems.
Cheers Glenn

« Reply #10 on: January 25, 2012, 08:48:23 PM »

Bert

I did, but a plumber mate told me to overtighten the clamps slightly.
It puts the thread ever so slightly out of round. It works a treat
I used gal brackets from TLE in Windsor. Super strong.

« Reply #11 on: January 26, 2012, 04:48:14 AM »
You can also drill 2 holes , then insert  a bit of wire this will stop the lid unwinding .If you lost you poles on the way to a catch up for ever you will hear about .   :cheers:

« Reply #12 on: January 26, 2012, 06:49:17 AM »
I found the lockable pressed metal ends from Caravans Plus worked out cheaper than all of the PVC fittings, but get the pipe brackets from a Bunnings/plumbing store as the Caravans Plus ones are dear as poison, about $6 for the pair as opposed to $30.

http://caravansplus.com.au/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=4776