Author Topic: Free camp in southern Queensland?  (Read 6167 times)

Offline madmule

Free camp in southern Queensland?
« on: July 07, 2015, 08:35:24 PM »
Hey fellow swaggers,

We are currently in Lennox Head and are pushing on into Queensland Thursday. We want to stay away from caravan parks due to the school holidays. Anyone willing to share a great camp spot just over the border from NSW where we can go for three to four nights without being hassled by Parks and Wildlife? Wikicamps is drawing a blank and we don't want to go into QLD too far as yet.

Glenn

Offline Redcherokee

Re: Free camp in southern Queensland?
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2015, 09:09:32 PM »
School holidays don't seem as big an issue as you might expect.  Wending our way south from Bowen, and the only place we struck trouble was Tin Can Bay. Every other caravan park had free spaces.   We went from Brissie south to Evans Head, and are currently at Nambucca.

In Brissie we stayed at the Brisbane Holiday Village at Eight Mile Plains.  Whipper snipped within an inch of its life, but has bird feeding every day at 3, and a pool, mini golf and playground. Cleaner than where we stayed last time. Walking distance to Garden City if you want to get your fill of big city shopping.  good luck finding a national parks spot in that area.  It is solid big city chaos from the border to the Sunshine Coast.

Jeep Rubicon SWB 2013. Outback Campers Sturt 2011
4.2L Patrol and Billabong Grove 16 hard roofed camper.

Offline mr smith

« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2015, 09:10:03 PM »
Free camp @ fassifern reserve @ Aratula

« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2015, 09:45:42 PM »
Free camp @ fassifern reserve @ Aratula
just be aware it's on the side of the highway though

« Last Edit: July 07, 2015, 09:59:40 PM by edz »

« Reply #5 on: July 07, 2015, 10:09:03 PM »
I do most of my camping in national parks around south east Qld......never been bothered by parks and wildlife.

There is an abundance of little place to stay, might cost you a few bob and have to be better than camping on the side of a hi way

Offline madmule

« Reply #6 on: July 07, 2015, 10:24:16 PM »
Cheers for all the replies guys. We are looking for something just over the border into QLD. Probably should have said that first, my bad!
The kids want to hit the theme parks but we are going to wait till after the school hols hence why we wanna pull up and camp for a few days.

« Reply #7 on: July 07, 2015, 11:09:33 PM »
Again not free but maybe an option for you to look at http://www.canungrainformationcentre.com.au/camping/
« Last Edit: July 07, 2015, 11:11:19 PM by edz »

Offline chisel

• Lifestyle Extenda 2012, Landcruiser 100 TD 2006
« Reply #8 on: July 07, 2015, 11:12:19 PM »
I don't think you'll find many decent free options unless you're happy to head inland an hour or two.
Closer to the coast there are a few national park spots in the gold coast hinterland and a few commercial camping-focussed spots.

« Reply #9 on: July 08, 2015, 05:53:55 AM »
I have a vacant block next door you can use.

Been used twice now by swaggers, although the last one hacked it up a bit.
Mobi, you bloody hacker....

« Reply #10 on: July 08, 2015, 06:56:01 AM »
I don't think you'll find many decent free options unless you're happy to head inland an hour or two.
Closer to the coast there are a few national park spots in the gold coast hinterland and a few commercial camping-focussed spots.

X2. 

I would be looking at somewhere like spring gully stays or Canungra Showgrounds for a few cheap nights. You could use them as a base and do your theme parks from there also.

Offline GUEY

« Reply #11 on: July 08, 2015, 07:04:51 AM »
If you head over the hill a bit there is a few options. The only free one I can think of ( I think it's still free) is the Canungra showgrounds. No camping this weekend due to a rodeo though I think.

Darlington Park - Cheap, nice place but no showers. You may have your own.

Flannigans Reserve. Reasonably cheap. Not a bad place but does have showers.

Or check out a few that are on here. http://www.findacamp.com.au/search-camp-sites.php?pc=BEAUDESERT_QLD_4285&dis=50
2016 Colorado Trailblazer
2010 Swan Outback

Offline Green rv

• SAND CAR-SELS @ FRASER
« Reply #12 on: July 08, 2015, 07:33:19 AM »
springbrook national park

http://www.nprsr.qld.gov.au/parks/springbrook/
http://www.nprsr.qld.gov.au/parks/list.php?region=68

stradbroke island if you want to spend some bucks getting their

Ads
« Last Edit: July 08, 2015, 07:39:14 AM by Green rv »
Hilux 2002 LN167 + Stockman POD

« Reply #13 on: July 08, 2015, 07:36:10 AM »
If you head over the hill a bit there is a few options. The only free one I can think of ( I think it's still free) is the Canungra showgrounds. No camping this weekend due to a rodeo though I think.

Darlington Park - Cheap, nice place but no showers. You may have your own.

Flannigans Reserve. Reasonably cheap. Not a bad place but does have showers.

Or check out a few that are on here. http://www.findacamp.com.au/search-camp-sites.php?pc=BEAUDESERT_QLD_4285&dis=50

Nupe, Canungra Showgrounds ain't free mate. Can't remember what it was but we had to pay to stay when we had our old 4wd club xmas parties there. That was back in 2011 or so. Having siad that, it is still pretty cheap

« Reply #14 on: July 08, 2015, 07:41:15 AM »
Taken from facebook page

Offline GUEY

« Reply #15 on: July 08, 2015, 07:45:47 AM »
Nupe, Canungra Showgrounds ain't free mate. Can't remember what it was but we had to pay to stay when we had our old 4wd club xmas parties there. That was back in 2011 or so. Having siad that, it is still pretty cheap

Thanks for the heads up :cheers: 
2016 Colorado Trailblazer
2010 Swan Outback
The following users thanked this post: oldmate

« Reply #16 on: July 08, 2015, 07:52:09 AM »
Andrew Drynan park on the Lions road has a toilet, no showers. Its about $5 PP / per night.

Offline madmule

« Reply #17 on: July 08, 2015, 09:36:56 AM »
Cheers for all ya good tips lads. This will make it heaps easier to choose a spot for a few days. Local knowledge is the way to go.

« Reply #18 on: July 08, 2015, 10:31:59 AM »
Darlington Park and Flanagans are starting to get a fair distance away from where you want to be, Canungra Showgrounds or Sharp Park would be a few of the closest, and Spring Gully Stays also as Olly mentioned above.
Canungra is a nice enough spot with all the facilities, you choose to set up down by the creek or grab a spot amongst the buildings away from the others. Pretty cool camping conditions currently, I doubt most places would be packed, but i could be wrong.

« Reply #19 on: July 08, 2015, 08:13:21 PM »
Cheers for all ya good tips lads. This will make it heaps easier to choose a spot for a few days. Local knowledge is the way to go.

It all depends on how close you want to be to the theme parks really.  Canungra is a 20min drive to movie world.

Offline markg66

• yippee ki yay MF
    • Murrumba Pistol Club Inc
« Reply #20 on: July 08, 2015, 08:48:16 PM »
Thunderbird Park, Mt Tamborine.
Not free but nice camping, open fires at each site, close to the Gold Coast
Ph: +61 (0)7 5545 1468
Jayco 2000 Eagle Outback.
If it isn't 50% off it aint a discount.

« Reply #21 on: July 09, 2015, 12:22:31 PM »
Had a day trip up to O'Reilly's on Monday.

Coming home about 5pm & saw 2 vans set up in a park on the side of the road just at the start of the Army training area:
https://www.google.com.au/maps/@-27.9915252,153.2387855,848m/data=!3m1!1e3?hl=en

Think it would be pretty noisy & also fully exposed to view but may be OK for an over-nighter? Pretty sure they wouldn't be allowed to stay though.

« Reply #22 on: July 09, 2015, 12:49:39 PM »
Had a day trip up to O'Reilly's on Monday.

Coming home about 5pm & saw 2 vans set up in a park on the side of the road just at the start of the Army training area:
https://www.google.com.au/maps/@-27.9915252,153.2387855,848m/data=!3m1!1e3?hl=en

Think it would be pretty noisy & also fully exposed to view but may be OK for an over-nighter? Pretty sure they wouldn't be allowed to stay though.

Always a van or motor home in there.