Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1758098 times)

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #4125 on: March 26, 2018, 05:45:01 AM »

I was lucky , I got the 3 phase to my house for nothing . Ergon , ( after 25 plus years ) could not get there minimum voltage supply amount to my home , they had run 3 phase along the poles , fitted a new transformer to the pole across from my place , but they still could not get the numbers high enough , from memory they could not get above 228 volts.

Ergon sent me a letter ( years ago ) stating that they would run 2 phase to my home for nothing , so when I want to build my big shed , I contacted them an asked if 3 phase would be possible .

After paying a non- refundable $ 250 application fee , and several phone calls later ( Ergon had problems going back far enough in their system to find the letter of offer for 2 phase ) I received a phone call from Ergon stating they would supply me the 3 phase at no cost and they were going to reimburse me the $250 non-refundable application fee.

I did have to upgrade my Power Box and have a sparkie ( My now son in law ) spread the power throughout the house over the 3 phases , BaseCamp -this is a cost that that you need to get quoted by your electrician if you are intending to get 3 phase
Ergon these days and charge for stuff they used to do for free.....i am looking at putting ducted air con in our house, and due to it's size my mate who will do the job said i might have got have the main line into the house upgraded. This is something Ergon used to do for free, these days they charge to do it, and my mate said to allow about $1000 to get it done.

« Reply #4126 on: March 26, 2018, 08:49:23 AM »
But you'd be under Energex, wouldn't you, Rummie ???

Offline roddo

« Reply #4127 on: March 26, 2018, 10:04:30 AM »
I gutted the cruiser and added some floor insulation all I can say is WOW what a difference I used 2 products first one is the one you can see in the pics resomat and I also added a foam insulation on top of that then put the vinyl floor back down.
I can now rest my leg against the transmission tunnel and the passenger can now stop having hot feet from the exhaust. And the road noise has probably halved.

Cost was $600 For both products delivered to my door.

https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.ebay.com.au%2Fulk%2Fitm%2F151669647552

https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.ebay.com.au%2Fulk%2Fitm%2F251866302315

« Last Edit: March 26, 2018, 10:07:57 AM by roddo »

« Reply #4128 on: March 26, 2018, 10:37:44 AM »
Quote from: roddo
I gutted the cruiser and added some floor insulation all I can say is WOW what a difference I used 2 products first one is the one you can see in the pics resomat and I also added a foam insulation on top of that then put the vinyl floor back down.
I can now rest my leg against the transmission tunnel and the passenger can now stop having hot feet from the exhaust. And the road noise has probably halved.

How much weight do you think it added... I picked up 1 box of the stuff Vince used, and was surprised how heavy it was - not sure of brand he used though... he used Shit loads of boxes too..

he noticed the heat and noise difference too.. !

Offline roddo

« Reply #4129 on: March 26, 2018, 12:33:29 PM »
Added approx 30-35kg but I removed 5kg of sand from under the vinyl😁😁

« Reply #4130 on: March 26, 2018, 02:08:01 PM »
Quote from: roddo
but I removed 5kg of sand from under the vinyl😁😁
:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

Offline tommy_volter

« Reply #4131 on: March 26, 2018, 02:56:20 PM »
Thinking about getting 3 phase hooked up at my house in Brisbane...

Does anyone know what the suppliers charge to run it from the pole to your meter box?

And I understand that getting 3 phase will give you 100 amps per phase, x 3 phases...

Is that correct??

Many thanks

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

https://www.energex.com.au/__data/assets/pdf_file/0020/344216/00294-QECMM.pdf

on the egx website.

its a 80a primary fuse so about 80a per phase. with phase determination based on maximum demand, unless you have a specific requirement for 3 phase.

see page 29 of the document above.
The following users thanked this post: gsammy

« Reply #4132 on: March 26, 2018, 11:30:04 PM »
Made up a couple of cold beer leads. Goes from the solar panel to the cold beer storage device aka a battery via the solar controller. Had the cable sitting around for yonks so put Andersons each end. Hopefully will keep beer cold over Easter.  :cheers: :cheers:
The following users thanked this post: Andrew_C

« Reply #4133 on: March 26, 2018, 11:40:58 PM »
Thanks for the information Tommy.

I originally did find something on the Energex website that came up from my search criteria... might have been that document -- but pages and pages of 'guff' and unfortunately my mind glazed over a bit..   (doubt I made it that far in?)

But I reckon 80 amps per phase x 3 should be plenty...

I know one appliance wants 32 amps; then there is the aircon; oven; etc...     but they may not all need to be on at once in any case most likely..

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

You get out and in to the world -- you take more @#&$. …You climb a little higher, ..you take less @#&$.  …Till one day -- you're up in the rarefied atmosphere -- and you've forgotten what @#&$ even looks like….  Welcome to the layer cake son.

« Reply #4134 on: March 27, 2018, 06:38:52 AM »
But you'd be under Energex, wouldn't you, Rummie ???
actually yeah, I confused the 2 :-[ gotta stop posting when i’m not fully awake...lol
« Last Edit: March 27, 2018, 06:41:22 AM by Rumpig »

« Reply #4135 on: April 03, 2018, 01:28:41 PM »
Installed the upgrade crossovers in the KEF's.
Wow, took them to another level.
They were in kit form, I had to get my sparkie mate to assemble the boards.

Offline grizzly

« Reply #4136 on: April 03, 2018, 05:36:04 PM »
Not too exciting but finally loaded all the old metal rusting in the yard and the recently deceased washing machine into the trailer and donated it to a recycling centre, only years in the planning
Grizzly  :cheers:

« Reply #4137 on: April 03, 2018, 05:51:50 PM »
Tried to fix the broken spring on the pull start for my Echo blower. They just don't make gear like they used to. It only lasted 21 years :)

« Reply #4138 on: April 03, 2018, 06:03:55 PM »
^^^ Change it to electric start .. 18V cordless drill with a socket to spin it over   ..  ;D

« Reply #4139 on: April 03, 2018, 07:01:47 PM »
Tried to fix the broken spring on the pull start for my Echo blower. They just don't make gear like they used to. It only lasted 21 years :)
l  have neve had equipment last more than 2 , 2,5 years so your really doing well    :cheers:

« Reply #4140 on: April 04, 2018, 08:14:50 AM »

At least the neighbours are happier....  >:D
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

Offline Raym

« Reply #4141 on: April 04, 2018, 11:33:28 AM »
Well not just today but getting a bit overrun at the moment. 2 of the smaller horses are to be carved at the Bathurst Heritage Trades Trail event in May

« Reply #4142 on: April 07, 2018, 07:34:54 PM »
Started to prep the CUB  to be the SuperMatic Escape  that it has been  .
 Removed the water tank  , replaced the water hoses  .  The hoses were food grade clear 13MM  suppling drinking water to the pump  . Saddly they had gone black with something growing in them  .  :-[  Remove the tank , rinse the tank , replace the supply tubing , reinstall .
Remove the Soft seal dust proofing & replace with new kit .
Wheel bearing repack  ,  replace the hoops in the canvas  , create the tropical shade to lower the internal temp  of the Cub so we can snooze in the arvo  as required  .
Grease the spring  carriers  & Treg hitch .        & have  :cheers:       :cup:
                                   & then  :cheers:

« Reply #4143 on: April 07, 2018, 08:19:57 PM »
Slow down young fella, You'll wear yourself out  ;D ;D

« Reply #4144 on: April 10, 2018, 02:24:24 PM »
Decided the Engal needed a wash out as it could become a bit nasty as it gets a flogging . l; am working on emptying at present , sadly l had just restocked it   .           :cheers:

« Reply #4145 on: April 10, 2018, 07:46:29 PM »
Decided the Engal needed a wash out as it could become a bit nasty as it gets a flogging . l; am working on emptying at present , sadly l had just restocked it   .           :cheers:
You have a heavy cross to carry at times.

« Reply #4146 on: April 14, 2018, 08:48:44 PM »
As it was raining today l spent time tiding up the shed  , to rearrange the space . After a few hours of diligence l have discovered space that had been hidden from view .
Now l have storage space for 3 machines that have been under cover in another place & now home .
lts so good to be flexible in the shed  , & discover new things  .                        :cheers:

« Reply #4147 on: April 15, 2018, 11:35:16 AM »
As it was raining today l spent time tiding up the shed  , to rearrange the space . After a few hours of diligence l have discovered space that had been hidden from view .
Now l have storage space for 3 machines that have been under cover in another place & now home .
lts so good to be flexible in the shed  , & discover new things  .                        :cheers:
Every time I rearrange/tidy the shed the wife says all I've done is rearrange the deck chairs on the Titanic.  :D

« Reply #4148 on: April 15, 2018, 11:55:55 AM »
Straightened the jockey wheel out with a FBH....note to self, when backing trailer off leveling ramp at camp site (mates front yard of their property this morning), make sure you wind the jockey wheel up first. Jockey wheel pole is back to about 98% straight now, not perfect but very usable.

« Reply #4149 on: April 15, 2018, 12:18:14 PM »
Early morning hook up of the battery charger to the truck, few hours later.  Strapped  my little Vacuum Belly Umbilical Cord buddy to the Stubby gear stick  and just did a Sneaky  circuit of our housing estate .. Shhhhh dont tell the wife  :angel:
First drive of the O'l girl in 3 months .  ;D ;D
« Last Edit: April 15, 2018, 12:21:16 PM by edz »