Author Topic: Gday all  (Read 9968 times)

Offline AJ

• My Website
Gday all
« on: April 12, 2010, 09:12:42 PM »
G'day all, Andrew from Whyalla, SA here.

Having been a member here for a couple of years and done lots of reading I think my first post is long overdue.  :-[ :angel:

About 4 years ago I built a camper trailer but have never gotten around to getting canvas made up. The few trips it has done has been as a gear trailer! Canvas has always been on the to do list  ;D but having recently bought a caravan the need for the camper has greatly diminished. As it will only be used a few times a year I have just bought a camper top off ebay and I'm in the process of modding the trailer to suit. Should be able to put some pics up of it finished next week (I hope).

We have a Nissan Patrol with a heap of extras fitted. Wife and I both have Company Cars so the Patrol is only used for getting away on 4WD Club Trips and Holidays. Our main interest is Outback Touring and day trips around our area.
Look forward to reading, learning and joining in. 

For anyone looking for an argument my loyalties are Patrol, Engel & Canon.   :cheers:

If anyone is interested I can copy and paste the whole trailer build thread from another Forum.  ;D
Andrew - Whyalla SA
Nissan Patrol-Lifted,locked and loaded
Toyota Landcruiser-Stock as a rock
Soft floor camper & Windsor Rapid caravan
My Travel & photography blog: http://www.touring4x4.com/blog/

Re: Gday all
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2010, 09:15:25 PM »
Hey AJ,

It's been worth the wait..."One small step for man..one giant leap for mankind".

Glad you chose to share your info.

Offline AJ

• My Website
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2010, 09:18:56 PM »
Some pics of it

Andrew - Whyalla SA

« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2010, 09:24:58 PM »
Welcome AJ! Don't forget to join us on Facebook too!

« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2010, 09:25:27 PM »
Welcome to the forum, a great place of wealth and knowledge, i see you have some with the choice of tow buggy ;D

« Reply #5 on: April 12, 2010, 09:27:30 PM »

For anyone looking for an argument my loyalties are Patrol, Engel & Canon.   :cheers:

Hi Andrew welcome to the site mate. No argument's here as I am married. Sorry ladies.

Offline AJ

• My Website
« Reply #6 on: April 12, 2010, 09:31:03 PM »
Thanks for the welcome.  :cheers:

Trailer build thread added here http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=5704.0

And a pic of the Hard Top Camper  >:D
« Last Edit: April 12, 2010, 09:35:16 PM by AJ »
Andrew - Whyalla SA

Offline Dion

« Reply #7 on: April 12, 2010, 09:39:14 PM »
Welcome AJ  ;D

Two out of 3 ain't bad; but you missed one of your non-4x4 loyalties  :angel: >:D
2017 Y62 Patrol
2009 Lifestyle Extenda

« Reply #8 on: April 12, 2010, 09:40:37 PM »
G'day AJ. I won't say welcome, but rather, "Good to hear from you mate". Love the tow buggy and the trailer looks trick. :cup::cheers:

Offline Rossco

• Never to far from home
« Reply #9 on: April 12, 2010, 10:17:53 PM »
   Hi AJ, welcome aboard. It looks like you've got a couple of good gataway options at your disposal and a great rig to hawl them with.
    :cheers: Rossco.
'03 4.2 TD ST Patrol and O'Brien's CT both set up for our requirements.

Offline pajnmaj

• "We grow old if we don't go camping"
« Reply #10 on: April 12, 2010, 10:20:50 PM »
Welcome and enjoy this forum....very addictive.
Hi Ho, Hi Ho, Off to do more camping we go.

Offline Prado BB

« Reply #11 on: April 12, 2010, 10:30:23 PM »
welcome Andrew - nice Patrol and camper, oh and love your website.  Love the GQ and GUs
Cheers Andy

A diplomat is someone who can tell you to go to hell in such a way, that you look forward to the journey.

Offline AJ

• My Website
« Reply #12 on: April 12, 2010, 10:39:52 PM »
Welcome AJ  ;D

Two out of 3 ain't bad; but you missed one of your non-4x4 loyalties  :angel: >:D

Would surprise you but my loyalties have always been to the blue mob, not the red. ;) Oh and kombis are cool too.  ;D

A pic from my recent visit to Brisbane, when I "forgot" to let you all know I was in town.  :angel:
Andrew - Whyalla SA

Offline AJ

• My Website
« Reply #13 on: April 12, 2010, 10:41:25 PM »
welcome Andrew - nice Patrol and camper, oh and love your website.  Love the GQ and GUs

Thanks Andy. The website Im pretty proud of.
Andrew - Whyalla SA

Offline Dion

« Reply #14 on: April 12, 2010, 10:42:39 PM »
Would surprise you but my loyalties have always been to the blue mob, not the red. ;) Oh and kombis are cool too.  ;D

A pic from my recent visit to Brisbane, when I "forgot" to let you all know I was in town.  :angel:

New forum site, starting afresh  8)

I presume you are watching with interest the developments in the Blue Oval camp about the rumours for the XR8.  And I see Ford finally ditched the 4spd auto ... good things.  :cheers:
« Last Edit: April 12, 2010, 10:45:34 PM by DionM »
2017 Y62 Patrol
2009 Lifestyle Extenda

Offline AJ

• My Website
« Reply #15 on: April 12, 2010, 11:01:48 PM »
New forum site, starting afresh  8)

I presume you are watching with interest the developments in the Blue Oval camp about the rumours for the XR8.  And I see Ford finally ditched the 4spd auto ... good things.  :cheers:

Im immensely interested in the rumoured blown HO.  8)
Andrew - Whyalla SA

Offline Shemdaph

• GONE TROPPO
« Reply #16 on: April 14, 2010, 12:18:59 AM »
Welcome to the forum. No arguments about your loyalties :)
Daniel
06 Patrol ST 3.0 Auto
Cub Supamatic Camper &
AORC Odyssey ZR

Offline DX grunt

« Reply #17 on: April 14, 2010, 12:49:00 AM »

No argument from me either about owning a Patrol  :cheers:

Nissan Patrol ute - ex Telstra - pod has heaps of 'glamping equipment', but not enough to be overloaded.

Offline Silva

• CT dreamer
« Reply #18 on: April 14, 2010, 04:00:51 AM »
welcome AJ
why am i not outside

« Reply #19 on: April 18, 2010, 09:25:02 PM »
G'day AJ. Nice looking 'Trol.

Offline AJ

• My Website
« Reply #20 on: March 30, 2011, 09:14:12 PM »
Pretty slack that I havent updated this.

When heading home from holidays in Queensland we had the right rear tyre peel its tread (delaminate) on a highway. Fortunately the tyre didnt go down as we had the 2tonne caravan hooked on the back. The tyre made a mess of the paint on the side of the car and trashed the wheelarch flare, side step and the plastic rear bumper.
As the Patrol is now 11 years old we decided that if insurance was paying to repaint one side then we would pay for the other (plus the bonnet).
Instead of putting a new plastic bumper on we paid extra and got a steel dual wheel carrier from Powerful4x4 and instead of a new alloy sidestep we went with a pair of steel chassis mounted steps from TJM (not quite a slider but much stronger than the factory ones plus they have a nice bling bling stainless steel top).

So after a month in the shop it has emerged looking pretty damn good. Bullbar looks ordinary though so might need to get that repainted nice and glossy to match!

TJM Outback sidestep

Rear bar

Shiny!

Next few days I need to fit or refit:
two wheels carriers to rear bar
mud flaps on the rear
roofrack
headlight protectors
bonnet protector
change the 33s back to 35" MTZs
Andrew - Whyalla SA

Offline AJ

• My Website
« Reply #21 on: March 30, 2011, 09:21:23 PM »
315/75R16s are back on. Washed the wheels and gave the tyres a coat of tyre black to make them pretty too.

One wheel carrier is fitted. Still needs the number plate bracket and light added. Will fit the other one tonight.
Havent fully adjusted all of the anti-rattle bits yet - will get a few miles on it around town first.
Need to make a new bracket for that worklight too, now that it doesnt need to be a spacer for the spare wheel anymore.

35" tyre seems to follow the body line OK

Air tank installed and plumbed under passenger side. Uses the bolt holes from the original side steps.
Gave it a nice coat of paint while it was out.
More bling!

Now need to make up some brackets to hold mudflaps and fill this gap between bodywork and bumper.

Andrew - Whyalla SA

Offline AJ

• My Website
« Reply #22 on: March 30, 2011, 09:23:38 PM »
Test run - to the beach :D

Andrew - Whyalla SA

« Reply #23 on: March 31, 2011, 05:19:32 AM »
Hey Andrew welcome to My Swag, like the setup do you have pics of the CT when set up ???

Offline tonyo

• BogaDuck
« Reply #24 on: April 01, 2011, 01:50:27 PM »
Hi Andrew welcome to MySwag, good to have another SA member. Will you be going to the National meet this year - it's not far from you?

cheers,
Tonyo :cheers: