Author Topic: Hi all  (Read 3927 times)

Offline ADTradie

« on: February 19, 2016, 05:38:47 PM »
I’ve been a viewer of this forum for a year or so and joined a month ago. Thought I’d better introduce myself.
Recently retired my wife and I love the great outdoors and look for out of the way places to enjoy a lack of crowds, bushwalking, photography, clear night skies and the bush. We are fortunate enough to have worked in most Australian states and have had plenty of camping holidays throughout Australia, yet there is always somewhere else to discover  ;D.
We now tug our trailer with a Ssangyong Tradie dual cab 4WD, a much underrated vehicle by many (I’ve previously been a LandCruiser and LandRover owner).
My camper trailer is a self-built construction, starting with a galvanised box trailer I had made to my specifications.
Then over time I added all the bits and pieces you can see in the attached snaps.
A key aim with this was to develop a light-weight solution rather than a heavy weight camper. The trailer weighs in well below 750 kg loaded, but I installed brakes just to be on the safe side.
I’ll get around to providing detail in the My Build section of the forum in due course.
A.D.
A.D.
Colorado RG MY2014 dual cab ute, swag and tent

Offline ADTradie

Re: Hi all
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2016, 05:40:27 PM »
Sorry guys, put the same snap in twice. Let's try get the other one in.
A.D.

« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2016, 05:47:29 PM »
G'day and welcome mate.
Nice looking camper you have there too :cup:
Happy camping  ;D

« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2016, 06:08:36 PM »
Welcome to myswag.  Glad you could join us.

Look forward to seeing more photos of your CT

« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2016, 08:51:27 PM »
Great to have your company mate enjoy the forum :cheers:

« Reply #5 on: February 20, 2016, 08:04:24 AM »
Welcome to MySwag, would be great to see the build up and places the camper has been to

« Reply #6 on: February 20, 2016, 08:33:00 AM »
G'day and welcome to the forum

« Reply #7 on: February 20, 2016, 08:49:20 AM »
Welcome aboard
Like the camper lot off satisfaction in building your own camper

CHEERS GRC  :cheers:

Offline ADTradie

« Reply #8 on: March 06, 2016, 04:13:56 PM »
Thanks for the warm welcome guys!
We're heading off on a 11 week central and northern Australia trip soon so I'll endeavour to make some contributions/posts re road conditions, camping spots, etc., knowing some members will be following soon after (I'm sure!). Internet connections will be some what limited, so I'll see how I go  ???
I figure we'll be a little earlier in the tourist season than most, regards being in the tropics (I'm hoping for not too much rain up north in April :) and even less in May. Deeper river crossings have no appeal to me, nor do mozzies!)
Cheers!
A.D.   
A.D.