Author Topic: Hi all, just joined !  (Read 5287 times)

Offline FittedForRadio

Hi all, just joined !
« on: February 10, 2013, 06:55:31 PM »

What a great discovery this forum is. My name is Carlos, I live at the south end of the Central Coast.

I have a tiny Sankey Trailer MK3 that I used to use to put the tent on top, but after seeing what is out there I have the idea of building something appropriate for the task (I have to learn how to use the mig welder first).

I have some other hobbies (amateur radio, and Land Rover mechanics) and in my job I play with big radios (it is a "part time hobby", actually).

regards,

Carlos

110 FFR + Sankey trailer

Re: Hi all, just joined !
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2013, 06:56:59 PM »
Welcome to a great forum mate

Offline Dog160

« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2013, 07:14:02 PM »
Carlos,
Welcome to the forum. I guess if you were into Land Rovers you would need to be an amateur mechanic! ;D
Plenty of members on here can offer advice on building your own camper.
1997 RV6 Prado and a 2002 Jayco Eagle Outback.........Just the start.......

Offline bushbandit

• Oh To Be On The Wallaby
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2013, 07:14:35 PM »
Welcome mate another radio man my days long gone but started in Defence then ended up at VKG.Yours probably a bit different
2013 Mitsubishi Triton GLR 4x4
2015 Jayco Swift Outback

« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2013, 07:18:31 PM »
G'day Carlos and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers:

Offline FittedForRadio

« Reply #5 on: February 10, 2013, 07:39:37 PM »
Welcome mate another radio man my days long gone but started in Defence then ended up at VKG.Yours probably a bit different

I work (mostly) in Naval Communications. I was relocated to the Australian branch of my company almost two years ago. I came from the Spanish branch.

I work for a German company (>75 y.o.) with two letters in the logotype, you surely know them...

110 FFR + Sankey trailer

« Reply #6 on: February 11, 2013, 06:38:17 AM »
Welcome to the tribe Carlos.  Look forward to reading of your CT build.

« Reply #7 on: February 11, 2013, 06:38:55 AM »
Welcome Carlos,
Enjoy this great site.

Offline wholehog

• "Assumption is the mother of all screw-ups"
« Reply #8 on: February 11, 2013, 06:44:31 AM »
Another from the Sunny Central Coast....
Owning a landrover u would want to be interseted in the mechanical side of them >:D
welcome aboard :cheers:

« Reply #9 on: February 11, 2013, 07:19:41 AM »
G'day Carlos,

Offline britts

Hi all, just joined !
« Reply #10 on: February 11, 2013, 08:11:35 AM »
Welcome Carlos, another one from the coast,

Offline Armadillo & Customline Campers

• Aussie Made, Aussie Owned, Aussie Tough.
    • Customline Camper Trailers
« Reply #11 on: February 11, 2013, 06:03:53 PM »
Welcome Carlos,
There are a few radio guys on here, I know Isuzumu is one and a very nice guy to talk to about alot of things.
Enjoy your adventure and don't forget  :worthles:

Rod......
www.customline.com.au
Rod@customline.com.au
www.armadillocampers.com.au
https://scontent-a-nrt.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpa1/t31.0-8/10479144_653750608056996_765917182289645688_o.jpg

Offline camlisa

« Reply #12 on: February 11, 2013, 06:38:30 PM »
Gday Carlos interesting hobbie happy camping

Cheers Cam

« Reply #13 on: February 11, 2013, 07:10:03 PM »
Hi Carlos and welcome to My Swag

« Reply #14 on: February 11, 2013, 08:18:06 PM »
Carlos   drag your chair up to the fire & lets yarn a bit  :cheers:

« Reply #15 on: February 11, 2013, 08:38:55 PM »
Welcome to this great forum Car loss :cheers:
Lots to look at learn here and look forward to your contributions :cheers:

Offline FittedForRadio

« Reply #16 on: February 11, 2013, 09:18:26 PM »

Owning a landrover u would want to be interseted in the mechanical side of them >:D

Hey,

what's wrong with my Land Rover ??? ??? ??? ???

It is a lovely car, during the last 10 years it had only routine, basic maintenance (brand new engine, brand new gearbox, brand new calipers, rotors, hubs and bearings, front axle and firewall with dash from a 2006 defender, transfer case from a discovery, front and rear lights, front seats, rear door, locks, windscreen...) and when the new injection pump I ordered last week arrives from UK and I change the fuel lines it will be again ready for fun (well, I have a leak in the rear axle, I have to change it before the inspection).  :cup:

Ah, and a new paint job, too.

British Engineering at its best  :cheers:

110 FFR + Sankey trailer

Offline FittedForRadio

« Reply #17 on: February 11, 2013, 09:21:39 PM »
ah,

forgot to mention the reconditioned steering box, BN steering column and bars, as well as the Panhard rod, and the four trailing arms

well, the diferential core in the rear axle is still original, very strong !!!  :cup:

110 FFR + Sankey trailer

Hi all, just joined !
« Reply #18 on: February 11, 2013, 09:27:00 PM »
Just standard 20k service stuff then ???

« Reply #19 on: February 11, 2013, 11:09:17 PM »
Hey,

what's wrong with my Land Rover ??? ??? ??? ???

It is a lovely car, during the last 10 years it had only routine, basic maintenance (brand new engine, brand new gearbox, brand new calipers, rotors, hubs and bearings, front axle and firewall with dash from a 2006 defender, transfer case from a discovery, front and rear lights, front seats, rear door, locks, windscreen...) and when the new injection pump I ordered last week arrives from UK and I change the fuel lines it will be again ready for fun (well, I have a leak in the rear axle, I have to change it before the inspection).  :cup:

Ah, and a new paint job, too.

British Engineering at its best  :cheers:

G'day FFR.......... welcome to the forum, with that outlook on life i reckon you'll do well here......... :cheers:

Offline Turbojohn

« Reply #20 on: February 15, 2013, 06:46:34 PM »
Welcome mate! You must be pretty handy on the tools owning a landy! Great cars but definitely keep you busy :cup:

Offline FittedForRadio

« Reply #21 on: February 15, 2013, 09:33:15 PM »
Welcome mate! You must be pretty handy on the tools owning a landy! Great cars but definitely keep you busy :cup:

mate, I wish you were wrong... 

yes, too many weekends under the car rather than under the tent...

110 FFR + Sankey trailer