Author Topic: It's me!!!!! Hello  (Read 4290 times)

Offline albyback1

• Never too busy to go camping
It's me!!!!! Hello
« on: March 12, 2011, 10:24:05 PM »
So for the last 31 years I have been traveling this amazing country of ours and I've been surviving in tents, swags, blankets, doonas and any other style of sleep method known to mankind. During these many years I have looked on as the camping trailer fraternity has grown. Ive got mates back home who make sensational trailers and lots of friends who own a variety of these luxury holiday units... but never had I considered borrowing one, let alone buying a camper trailer!

Yet here I am, joining this group - excited about this new chapter of my outback travel adventures because something in my metabolism, or something in by DNA.. whatever happened, I suddenly found myself craving for the comfort of a camper trailer!

"I must be getting old."I told myself, because this has happened rather suddenly. Friends and I were away recently in the Abercrombie River National park between Goulburn and Oberon in NSW. These friends of mine turned up on this weekend with a wonderful trailer full of creature comforts which had me in awe!

3 Weeks later, I have one myself... no more roof top tent escapades for me (well maybe on occasions for extreme 4x4 trips where I would rather not tow a trailer). No more perching on a ladder 8 feet above the ground in my undies rushing down the ladder to answer a call of nature! Lets not even think about the difficulties Ive experienced going to bed after a few bevvies!!!!!.No, now its queen sized beds, lots of pillows and roll out kitchens, hard floor under foot dry and warm comfort... I'm feeling sleepy already!

Yes its only a cheap entry market trailer... but its a test to see if I will cope with the effort of towing a trailer all around the country.

I drive a fully equipped GU series 4 patrol. Duel batteries, water tank, drawers, electric pump, twine shower, toilet, roof top tent by Hannibal, Arb EVERYTHING including awnings, roof rack turbo timer. 2 inch lift, electric winch, HID driving lights, TV DVD CD revers camera. built in navigation, windows tablet hema mapping with blue tooth gps, rock sliders, snorkel, Stihl chainsaw and lots of other goodies... I take my 4WD stuff seriously.

Ive been a 4x4 driver trainer, a tag a long tour guide, a coach tour guide. I've worked on huge cattle stations in the NT, worked in Aboriginal communities, lived and worked the top end (NT) and spent a while working and traveling lots of QLD. Spent 16 years living and traveling all of the SA outback and even spent a while in VIC doing the same.... and NO!!! I never get sick of traveling this amazing, scary, harsh, wonderful and beautiful country of ours!

So what am I hoping to get out of this forum?? well, I don't know yet. I am hoping to get advice on bits and pieces to fit to my new toy... like what gas stove to get for starters!

Ive got lots of trips planned... on my own and others can come too! So let it all begin, bring it on and have a go!

MYSWAG..... sounds good to me!

see ya out and about!

Alby

Facebook: alby wagemaker
Every where I go I bring pleasure. Sometimes it's when I arrive... but usually its when I leave!

Re: It's me!!!!! Hello
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2011, 11:22:29 PM »
Welcome Alby!

Fantastic introduction as your first post!
Can't wait to see some pics of your extensive travels!

Offline Dryfarmer

« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2011, 11:28:37 PM »
welcome Alby,
Hope you find as much info as I have.

Happy travelling,
Dryfarmer.

« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2011, 01:58:55 AM »
Hi Alby and welcome to My Swag. What sort of CT did you get.

Offline JORDO

« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2011, 04:10:03 AM »
hi and welcome mate
wow you have already done some very cool travels.
im sure you will get a few idea`s for your new toy from the guys on here  :cheers:
CHEERS JORDO

« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2011, 05:46:40 AM »
G'day Alby and welcome to Myswag. :cheers:

Offline albyback1

• Never too busy to go camping
« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2011, 06:23:32 AM »
Hey Trevor and the rest who seem to not sleep at night either!

What the hell?? I posted at 11.20 pm last night and I am back here at 7am and all of  you guys have responded?????

Why have we even bothered to spend money on a camper if we don't sleep??? lol

I bought a cheap entry market Chinese made hard floor out of Melbourne. Ive seen these units marketed as Johhno's Campers,
Getabout Campers among others and they are available from many importers under many names.

The maker of the actual trailer is Rongcheng. My investigations reveal that this make of trailer has been coming into Australia for about 4 years now. I inspected a 3 year old unit which I know for a fact has been well used and it has survived quite well. the body of the trailer is well made, has good dust and water sealing properties and has quite well proven suspension components to boot. the canvas has not shrunk and the stitching is still secure, water proof and in tact. I know there are many opinions regarding Australian made canvas and Chinese made canvas. I figure that if the canvas survives 4 -5 years its well worth it... a grand or two will see it replaced with a new imported tent easily enuf later on..... I reken anyhoooo!

Down side is the draw arm is bolted onto the body as the trailers are imported in a container and as such the draw arm attached in the factory would reduce the amount of units per container dramatically. Ive allowed in my budget for an inspection of the new unit by a qualified trailer manufacturer to give me an opinion and strengthen/weld/reweld whatever is needed - including new springs if needed.

I paid $6,000.00 for the standard unit
including -

- Hard Floor Camper Trailer
-15ft x 13ft Tent
- Stainless Steel Water Tank
- Stainless Steel Kitchen
- Spare Wheel
- Toolbox with lock
- Electric brakes
- Winch
- Jockey Wheel
- King size mattress
- New, better quality TREG

Tent features:
Size (Fixed section) - 457cm x 175cm
Size (Annexe section) - 457cm x 230cm
Canvas - Complete 13oz Rip-Stop ( 100% Waterproof Polyester)
Floor (Fixed section) - Box bottom floor: 2.0mm thick alloy chequerplate
Bed base size - Bed Base (Mattress Size): 202cmx165cm
Frame - High Strength Steel
Windows - Mosquito Proof Netting on all windows and doors
Mounting system - Gas Strut / Hinge system / Fold-out for easy setup
Other inclusions - Guide ropes, pegs, poles, annex walls, annex roof, annex floor
- Annex has removable sides
- Self Supporting Modern Design - Free stands without guide ropes (except in windy or extreme conditions)
- Annex Walls are Velcro Fitted to Roof and floor Allowing For Easy Removal
- Easy Foldout Frame Enables Easy Setup
- High Strength Steel Frame
- Easy Slide Poles For Quick Erection Of Tent

So no, its not a Rolls Royce. Its a Hyundai. I know it and am prepared to work with the bits that are a little bit Shitty to get it right..  for well under the $45,000 that friends of mine have paid for their T-Van and $20,000 others friends paid for their second hand hard floor.

Ill post some pictures soon too....
in the mean time I have heaps of pic of my exploits, travels and troubles on facebook alby wagemaker

Cheers for now

Alby
Every where I go I bring pleasure. Sometimes it's when I arrive... but usually its when I leave!

« Reply #7 on: March 13, 2011, 06:30:42 AM »
Sure sounds like you did your research before you bought the Ct. Doesn't seem to matter what we buy there is always something we want to change, modify or fix. Thats half the fun.

« Reply #8 on: March 13, 2011, 07:09:25 AM »
Welcome to MySwag Alby and some of us spend a fair bit of time hear. Look forward to seeing your camper and its mods.

Offline Arunda

• Pass me a beer please
    • All Drive Subaroo – All Subaru Specialists
« Reply #9 on: March 13, 2011, 07:35:12 AM »
Hello from the Shire  :cheers:

2002 D22 3.0 Turbo Diesel 2 inch lift Old Man Emu suspension 4x4 Ezy-Trail CT

« Reply #10 on: March 13, 2011, 08:05:21 AM »
Hi Alby and welcome to My Swag, congatulations on joining the CT the revolution I hope you enjoy it and the forum :cheers:

Offline skmaint

« Reply #11 on: March 13, 2011, 01:46:47 PM »

Hi Alby and welcome...Great introduction.

Simon.
Your not bogged until you cant move an inch.

« Reply #12 on: March 13, 2011, 07:02:44 PM »
Hi Alby
Welcome to My Swag
Happy Trails out there

« Reply #13 on: March 15, 2011, 10:32:34 AM »
Welcome to the forum Alby, by the sounds of things you will fit in easily and be able to supply us with information and a yarn or three