Author Topic: The Random Question of the Day Thread...  (Read 333237 times)

Re: The Random Question of the Day Thread...
« Reply #1900 on: April 19, 2022, 07:43:59 AM »
Some don’t have any option, other to take the days off and try to get away.

Just like holidaying during the school holidays… yes, it’s bedlam, but if you don’t have another option, do you just stay home?

Thats right mate.Whats the difference when there is an MVA on the highway?That scenario at the Byron Bay off ramp happens during alot of morning with people trying to get to work. Been held up at that place myself. Nothing really different to other parts along the new highway.

« Reply #1901 on: April 19, 2022, 07:45:02 AM »
To sit in traffic.

or use that day to go on a holiday, when half the country isn't travelling.

either way, some people don't have the choice that others do.

surely it is better to go on a holiday and put up with some traffic, than not go at all?

what happened to 'hitch up and make dust', like all of us on this forum would love to do?

« Reply #1902 on: April 19, 2022, 09:17:32 AM »
    I was in that area over 20 years ago, and it was bad then. Walked up a minor overpass to the center and spent 10 minutes or so looking at 3 lanes each way whizzing by underneath. What/where/why started to dizzy the brain too much so we abandoned the coast and headed west to the hills.
Just can't fathom how people can live at such stress levels.

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

« Reply #1903 on: April 19, 2022, 01:23:33 PM »
Austastar,
Yep, It's not for me, packed caravan parks, camp grounds, busy roads.
Give me country roads, a river, creek, country pub, a swag and no stress.
We went to Mullumbimby on Saturday to pick up a car, Easter Saturday was the only day both of us had to get it.
Needed to get fuel for it at the Ballina BP service centre on the way home, 25 minutes wait for the pump, another 10 to pay.
Didn't bother standing in a 10 minute line to get something to eat, drove back to Maclean.

« Reply #1904 on: April 19, 2022, 01:44:25 PM »
take 1 day off and come home tomorrow :)

Yup, we just returned from Bright today, no traffic to speak of but heaps of rain.

« Reply #1905 on: April 19, 2022, 09:34:33 PM »
I don't get this.
Sitting in traffic, this is the M1, Byron Bay turn off looking south towards St Helena.
Also the hours spent in lines at airports.

Bluesfest.

Traffic reduced to one lane as there was kms of vehicles trying to get into the Bluesfest.   

https://www.bluesfest.com.au/bluesfest-returns-2022/

« Reply #1906 on: April 19, 2022, 09:58:00 PM »
Bluesfest.

Traffic reduced to one lane as there was kms of vehicles trying to get into the Bluesfest.   

brilliant planning?

« Reply #1907 on: April 20, 2022, 06:23:57 AM »
Bluesfest.

Bluesfest is held up near the Mullumbimby interchange, Tyagarah, the old Brunswick Wreakers, It's not held in Byron anymore.
When we went through there Saturday, hardly any hold up at all, bugger all traffic.

« Reply #1908 on: April 20, 2022, 07:37:39 AM »
Needed to get fuel for it at the Ballina BP service centre on the way home, 25 minutes wait for the pump, another 10 to pay.
Didn't bother standing in a 10 minute line to get something to eat, drove back to Maclean.

Guess that answers the question I was going to ask as to whether NNSW is back open for business yet! ::)

We were thinking of doing a loop late May - early June, through Warwick - Texas - Armidale - Dorrigo - Casino (up the West side of the river, not the Hwy) then back up the Mt Lindesay & home that way, but Mrs is concerned that we'd be towing a caravan through towns that are still devestated ???

« Reply #1909 on: April 20, 2022, 07:49:12 AM »
Hi Fizzie,
Freeway open, not sure about The Armidale to Grafton or Glen Innes to Grafton road, they did have land slips.
Might one lane open ?
Grafton to Casino is open.

« Reply #1910 on: April 20, 2022, 09:18:52 AM »
Excerpt from Glen Innis Council article.

CLOSURE - OLD GLEN INNES ROAD - CLARENCE VALLEY COUNCIL

We have been advised by Clarence Valley Council (CVC) that Old Glen Innes Road has been closed near Buccarumbi Bridge due to landslides.

The road will be closed to through traffic at this location until repairs have been undertaken by CVC.

Inquiries relating to access for through traffic should be directed to CVC on 02 6643 0200.

« Reply #1911 on: April 20, 2022, 10:31:28 AM »
Wondered how long something like this would take - would it take off in AU?
https://www.advrider.com/no-love-for-uk-speed-camera-app/

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #1912 on: April 20, 2022, 10:41:19 AM »
Wondered how long something like this would take - would it take off in AU?
https://www.advrider.com/no-love-for-uk-speed-camera-app/
I reckon a lot of reports would be ‘laughed out of court’ due to the inaccuracy of speed limits reported by the app, if it uses the same data as a GPS. When we lived in the Lockyer Valley, the main access road to our estate was signed at 100kph. The GPS displayed 50kph for the entire 7km distance to the next change of signed speed limits, on the edge of town.
We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2

« Reply #1913 on: April 20, 2022, 10:55:18 AM »
Hi Fizzie,
Freeway open, not sure about The Armidale to Grafton or Glen Innes to Grafton road, they did have land slips.
Might one lane open ?
Grafton to Casino is open.

After seeing Steffo's comment as well, I've just had a look at the Live Traffic map & lots of roads damaged all over the place :'(

Sure, it's ~5 weeks till we'd be going but don't think a lot will change in that time ???

May turn things round & head North instead!

« Reply #1914 on: April 20, 2022, 12:00:16 PM »
Bluesfest is held up near the Mullumbimby interchange, Tyagarah, the old Brunswick Wreakers, It's not held in Byron anymore.
When we went through there Saturday, hardly any hold up at all, bugger all traffic.

Our beautiful Bluesfest fields are located on Bundjalung Land at Byron Events Farm, approximately 10 minutes north of the iconic Byron Bay and 5 minutes south of the picturesque Brunswick Heads.

Travelling to Bluesfest is easy and hassle-free whether you are local or coming from interstate. We are located only 30 minutes from Ballina Airport and 40 minutes from Gold Coast Airport.

Travel times to Bluesfest (Byron Events Farm):

Mullumbimby: 5 mins
Byron Bay: 15 mins
Ballina: 35 mins
Coolangatta/Gold Coast Airport: 50 mins
Coffs Harbour: 3 hrs 20 mins
Surfers: 1 hr 10 mins
Brisbane GPO: 1 hr 45 mins
Brisbane Airport: 1 hr 50 mins
Noosa: 3 hrs 25 mins

Yes held there and yes that was how long the que of vehicles trying to get in to the Festival and into Byron.   

« Reply #1915 on: April 20, 2022, 02:06:41 PM »
Excerpt from Glen Innis Council article.

CLOSURE - OLD GLEN INNES ROAD - CLARENCE VALLEY COUNCIL

We have been advised by Clarence Valley Council (CVC) that Old Glen Innes Road has been closed near Buccarumbi Bridge due to landslides.

The road will be closed to through traffic at this location until repairs have been undertaken by CVC.

Inquiries relating to access for through traffic should be directed to CVC on 02 6643 0200.
A few problems with getting to the M1 from the New England.
Plenty of other incidents around the Clarence as well.
The following users thanked this post: Steffo1, Fizzie

« Reply #1916 on: April 23, 2022, 10:51:15 AM »
Just received this Notification regarding the Gwydir H/way from Grafton to Glen Innes.
' Changed traffic conditions on the Gwydir Highway at Gibraltar Range:
Motorists are advised a section of the Gwydir Highway has reopened in both directions at Gibraltar Range following safety improvement work due to a recent landslip.
This section of the Gwydir Highway was reduced to a single lane with traffic control and alternating flow throughout March and April while work was carried out to stabilise the landslip and clear debris.
This emergency work is now complete and both lanes have reopened.
Concrete barriers are in place to provide safety for motorists by reducing the amount of debris that reaches the road in future rain events.
A reduced speed limit of 40 km/h will remain in place for the safety of motorists.
Motorists are advised to drive to the conditions, and follow the directions of signs and traffic control.
Transport for NSW thanks motorists for their patience during this time.
For the latest traffic updates download the Live Traffic NSW App, visit livetraffic.com or call 132 701.'
The following users thanked this post: alnjan, Steffo1, Fizzie

« Reply #1917 on: April 27, 2022, 02:56:44 PM »
Is it just me, or does  Dr. Shannon Curry, the psychologist in the Depp trial, look like Heather Locklear when she was the lawyer in Two and Half Men?  :-*

« Reply #1918 on: April 27, 2022, 05:50:55 PM »
Is it just me, or does  Dr. Shannon Curry, the psychologist in the Depp trial, look like Heather Locklear when she was the lawyer in Two and Half Men?  :-*
Wow,I didn't think anybody actually watched that crap  :cheers:

« Reply #1919 on: April 27, 2022, 06:04:00 PM »

The trial, 2.5 or both? :D

« Reply #1920 on: April 28, 2022, 04:03:46 AM »

It came up on the live feed thingy on facebook..... so i had a look while i was eating lunch.

So, i guess people do watch that crap.

« Reply #1921 on: April 28, 2022, 10:36:04 AM »
The trial, 2.5 or both? :D
both + any "reality" Shit

« Reply #1922 on: April 28, 2022, 02:19:16 PM »
Haven't done but will now as I reckon Heather is a bit of allright  :angel:

« Reply #1923 on: May 05, 2022, 02:37:04 PM »
Are these things derived from the Album Cover of War of The World's?

https://youtu.be/6VQwBT5C6o0

Sent from my CPH1879 using Tapatalk

« Reply #1924 on: May 05, 2022, 03:10:45 PM »
Are these things derived from the Album Cover of War of The World's?

https://youtu.be/6VQwBT5C6o0

Sent from my CPH1879 using Tapatalk

They do their cotton-pickin' best, by the look of it!