Author Topic: Once the situation returns to a somewhat acceptable way of life.  (Read 13165 times)

Like most of the folks on here I,m chaffing at the bit to get away camping.  I reckon first trip will be a trip to Goshen station for a weeks real isolation!  Wouldn't mind heading up to Burketown to chase some threadfin and barra.  Got all the electrics in the camper done...bought camper in Nov. 2019 and it still hasn't been used...  Missus wants to visit kids and grandkids down in Vic. but we will have to wait on planes and Vic. getting on with it. Looking forward also to seeing a change in some way of our work practices, the way govt approaches Oz business,s and hopefully small business,s returning .  Reckon we will get the ok to travel (albeit with provisos) just in time for fuel to be at $1.50 again....

Yep...looking forward to it alright.

Re: Once the situation returns to a somewhat acceptable way of life.
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2020, 06:22:25 PM »
Like a lot of people, travel may depend on whether I have a job, or unemployed.
But at this stage, weekends are are definite go....when ever ??

« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2020, 09:10:40 AM »
just in time for fuel to be at $1.50 again....

Again?..... still is here
If business keeps going as well as it is, as soon as things are back to the new normal, I’ll defend be packing them camper and heading somewhere for a well earned break. As crazy as it sounds, I sometime wonder whether it’d be less stressful knowing I haven’t got any work rather than wondering how long it’s going to last. I’ve got a good mate who’s an events photographer and he lost all of his work in one day and mentioned to me that he was relieved as at least he now knows what he has to deal with

« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2020, 10:49:29 AM »
I am lucky we own everything and I have a Government job, It Is not big money but I am home every day and its close buy, That to me after years at sea is everything, We to are chaffing at the bit to get away with the kids first somewhere, My 4wd and gear is ready just need to load up and head off, I have no Idea were to go at the moment will just wait and see what Time our 12 year old daughter will have, Places we would love to go is Inskip, North of Weipa, the Tip and back, the Darling river run, I would love to revisit WA and Kimberly, And a mates fishing trip to visit my mate at  Gove, Craig 

Offline KeithB

« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2020, 10:53:37 AM »
I am wondering if, once we are free to travel throughout Australia, whether the ban on overseas travel will still be on. If that's the case I am betting that domestic tourism will go through the roof. Caravan parks and camping areas will be packed out.
Keith
200 Series 2008, bull bar, Airmax snorkel,rack with 200 watt solar, third battery, winch, 33's with 2 spares, long range tank, drawers & barrier, bash plates, lifted & locked, Richards transmission lockup plus plenty of dings. Now towing the new Off Road Glamper.

« Reply #5 on: April 11, 2020, 11:11:56 AM »
I was thinking the same Keith,
Craig

« Reply #6 on: April 11, 2020, 11:17:50 AM »
I mentioned that the other day.  Cruise Liners could become floating hotels/hospitals. International travel will take years to get back on track and domestic airplanes will be packed. Tourism has taken a big hit everywhere. Hopefully the bush places wont change too much but I doubt that.  The weekend warriors will be out and about as soon as they can.  2021 will see the Cape like Bourke street on a Saturday morning.  Be interesting to see how caravan parks operate as well.  Must admit it is a good time to sort all the gear out...replace fuses, grease, lighten load, rearrange etc.etc.
Stay safe and just keep dreaming... :cheers:

Online austastar

« Reply #7 on: April 11, 2020, 11:54:23 AM »

Hopefully the bush places wont change too much but I doubt that.
   Ditto, but I suspect population pressure and the continuous retail advertising things like "go your own way" and other ridiculous scenes portraying the new ute owner and co. zooming through water and ascending scenic hills will not help retain the status quo.
Tread softly and leave no trace has zero appeal to the advertising world pushing the potential for instant self gratification by buying the promoted product.

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

Offline sharkcaver

• My ramblings:
« Reply #8 on: April 11, 2020, 03:16:07 PM »
International travel will take years to get back on track and domestic airplanes will be packed.

I personally believe the aviation industry is screwed, both international and domestic. There wont be masses of domestic air travellers because we have seen the last of low cost fares for some time to come. The losses in aviation are simply staggering and someone will be paying -IE,  the customers. I doubt Virgin will last and we will be back to a monopoly airline who will set the bar for the maximum price the customer will bear. With no competition, if you want to fly, you will pay.
An NX Paj, a D-Max and an Ultimate X-trk

http://sharkcaver.blogspot.com.au/

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCoz71vk1CWl6lp6Tv3dXhkQ/videos?sort=dd&view=0&shelf_id=0

« Reply #9 on: April 11, 2020, 03:32:14 PM »
I personally believe the aviation industry is screwed, both international and domestic. There wont be masses of domestic air travellers because we have seen the last of low cost fares for some time to come. The losses in aviation are simply staggering and someone will be paying -IE,  the customers. I doubt Virgin will last and we will be back to a monopoly airline who will set the bar for the maximum price the customer will bear. With no competition, if you want to fly, you will pay.

I don't think the flight cost is the issue, it's more the realisation that travelling ~6+hrs for a meeting in Sydney/Melbourne/Brisbane is a WOFTAM - you could the meeting all online and be right. I think that the Capital City to Capital City flights will suffer, but I think that the regional flights will continue (until the medical sector realise that things can be done online or the state health authorities realise that centralisation has it's pitfalls)

Certainly my brother is planning to cut his travel down; no longer any need to fly MEL-SYD twice a month for meetings, they've seen that they can all be done online instead, and probably only do it once a quarter. Now that saves him the time to get to MEL airport, the waiting time at the airport, the flight and then the time to get to the Sydney venue and then then the return journey.

« Reply #10 on: April 11, 2020, 03:47:58 PM »
I don't think the flight cost is the issue, it's more the realisation that travelling ~6+hrs for a meeting in Sydney/Melbourne/Brisbane is a WOFTAM - you could the meeting all online and be right. I think that the Capital City to Capital City flights will suffer, but I think that the regional flights will continue (until the medical sector realise that things can be done online or the state health authorities realise that centralisation has it's pitfalls)

Certainly my brother is planning to cut his travel down; no longer any need to fly MEL-SYD twice a month for meetings, they've seen that they can all be done online instead, and probably only do it once a quarter. Now that saves him the time to get to MEL airport, the waiting time at the airport, the flight and then the time to get to the Sydney venue and then then the return journey.

I'll just pop in here to say the medical sector have been pushing telehealth since the mid-1990s. Federal Government dragging their feet on creating a billing framework in Medicare is a big part of the issue there. Of course, some things can't be done remotely such as surgery, oncology, medical imaging etc, which will always require travel.

I was the team leader in Kirwan Women's Hospital in Townsville when we researched and figured out how to do live Ultrasound to the feto-maternal specialists in the Mater Women's Hospital in Brisbane in the mid to late 1990's. A project which continues to this day. Government of all persuasions, have long been reluctant to put in place a framework for appropriate billing for tele=health. Hopefully after this crisis, it will be re-examined.

« Reply #11 on: April 11, 2020, 04:07:51 PM »
I'll just pop in here to say the medical sector have been pushing telehealth since the mid-1990s.

Saw my GP during the week for an injection & he said that it's taken off in a big way over these last couple of weeks, especially, in a lot of cases, for the elderly who need a script renewed.

Phone call, confirm details, script e-mailed straight to the pharmacy - done! :cup:

Offline Raym

« Reply #12 on: April 11, 2020, 08:52:54 PM »
I'll just pop in here to say the medical sector have been pushing telehealth since the mid-1990s. Federal Government dragging their feet on creating a billing framework in Medicare is a big part of the issue there. Of course, some things can't be done remotely such as surgery, oncology, medical imaging etc, which will always require travel.

4 year old granddaughter had a specialist appointment via the phone/video thingy this week. Daughter said went well & surgery scheduled for who knows when after all this goes away.

« Reply #13 on: April 12, 2020, 08:31:30 AM »
surgery scheduled for who knows when after all this goes away.

Yep :'(

I'm having hip problems at the moment, & Doctors are starting to think may need to be surgery ??? :'(, but he then added that absolutely no idea how long it could be, but he'd guess at minimum 12 months wait :'(

Hope everything goes well for your granddaughter

« Reply #14 on: April 12, 2020, 03:46:10 PM »
Yep :'(

I'm having hip problems at the moment, & Doctors are starting to think may need to be surgery ??? :'(, but he then added that absolutely no idea how long it could be, but he'd guess at minimum 12 months wait :'(

Hope everything goes well for your granddaughter

Is that with private health Fizzie?

« Reply #15 on: April 12, 2020, 03:53:56 PM »

Only Category 1 patients ( urgent and must be treated within 30 days) can get private surgery at the moment. The Federal Government mandated that on April 1.

https://www.qld.gov.au/health/services/hospital-care/waiting-lists

« Reply #16 on: April 12, 2020, 04:00:51 PM »

I was the team leader in Kirwan Women's Hospital in Townsville when we researched and figured out how to do live Ultrasound to the feto-maternal specialists in the Mater Women's Hospital in Brisbane in the mid to late 1990's. A project which continues to this day. Government of all persuasions, have long been reluctant to put in place a framework for appropriate billing for tele=health. Hopefully after this crisis, it will be re-examined.

I might not have worded that quite right, I think it's the rocket to accelerate the process to enable easier bulk billing and integration into the current system. As is so often the case the enabling element (the government in this case) are a bit behind the times...

As the examples given by Fizzie and Raymond prove it is being used more than it would have done so in the past.

« Reply #17 on: April 12, 2020, 04:07:27 PM »
I might not have worded that quite right, I think it's the rocket to accelerate the process to enable easier bulk billing and integration into the current system. As is so often the case the enabling element (the government in this case) are a bit behind the times...

As the examples given by Fizzie and Raymond prove it is being used more than it would have done so in the past.

Totally agree. COVID 19 has been a catalyst for change. I said that change would be coming in another thread at the beginning. Lots of business models  will see change from this as we adapt, and they realise that not everyone needs to be co-located to work.
« Last Edit: April 12, 2020, 04:48:55 PM by plusnq »

« Reply #18 on: April 12, 2020, 04:45:58 PM »
Australia is the Lucky Isle in the sense we'll most likely be able to knock the virus out by diligent tracking and testing. However international tourism will be smashed forever as anyone coming here by air or sea including locals returning will cop at least 14 days user pays quarantine. That will be in special facilities and you'll pay for the regular medical testing along with the accommodation and that be well north of the $2500 a head now as we're using empty hotels. Big changes for any tourist locales relying on international tourism (Cairns to Uluru) and as well it's going to knock the short term 457 visas and university sector for six. Caravanners and Swaggers will be very welcome everywhere under the circumstances.
There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

« Reply #19 on: April 12, 2020, 04:50:13 PM »
Interesting replies.

It all depends how people come out of isolation and how the economy goes. Human nature, we will see people go back to normality once this is all over. Back to their jobs and normal way of life. People do not like change.

How long will this takes, no ones knows.

I personally don’t follow all the information being bombarded on social media, the news etc on the virus. Too much misinformation is being put out their.

For us we will continue working in remote communities and get on with life.

Offline Raym

« Reply #20 on: April 12, 2020, 05:48:52 PM »

I should have said changed from a paid consult to bulk billed so that was a bonus.

« Reply #21 on: April 13, 2020, 08:26:46 AM »

He didn't specify either public or private, although we do have private cover, but as Plus said, ain't nuffin' happenin' nowhere at the moment or for the foreseeable future :'(

« Reply #22 on: April 13, 2020, 05:41:33 PM »
Here's the new travel paradigm in of all places China right now-
https://news.mb.com.ph/2020/04/13/chinas-new-coronavirus-cases-near-6-week-high-russian-border-new-battleground/

'Suifenhe and Harbin, capital of Heilongjiang, are now mandating 28 days of quarantine for all arrivals from abroad as well as nucleic acid and antibody tests.'

“I don’t need to worry,” Zhao Wei, another Suifenhe resident, told Reuters. “If there’s a local transmission, I would, but there’s not a single one. They’re all from the border, but they’ve all been sent to quarantine.”

And that's the way it will be- Eff off we're healthy and you can't join us until you absolutely prove likewise. Oh and don't expect us to pay for your quarantining and testing as all it's user pays dummy.
There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

Online Bird

« Reply #23 on: April 14, 2020, 10:15:25 AM »
Once the situation returns to a somewhat acceptable way of life

...in 12-18 months time, footy will have a proper season not some 1/50239482039403298032948th baked few round season, MotoGP will also have real racing not this bullShit "E"racing rubbish, and overseas holidays will be cheap as chips.
I'd say they'd pay you to go on a cruise by then too!

« Reply #24 on: April 14, 2020, 10:41:08 AM »
I'd say they'd pay you to go on a cruise by then too!

Hope your right. We had a 3 day comedy cruise booked in June. They sent us an email to say they could either give us a full refund or give us credit. To sweeten the credit offer they said if we took it they would add an extra $200 to the total. With the potential price reductions coming we may get a pretty good deal in the future