Author Topic: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.  (Read 507004 times)

Re: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #1825 on: August 30, 2019, 05:46:19 PM »
mine had the plates 510 ;)

What plates do you refer to ? 

« Reply #1826 on: September 01, 2019, 02:07:31 PM »
Nice read if its true

On 9 July 1968, Mrs U M Mitchell took possession of her shiny new HB Holden Torana SL coupe from Bendigo Holden dealer Wyres Bros, and drove it only to church on Sundays and the shops on Thursdays, clocking up a mere 37,000 miles until she handed in her drivers licence in 2011 at the ripe old age of 92!

genuine 1 owner HB torana.
Holden Torana HB coupe 1968
gen 43-000 miles LOL

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/173995472505

« Reply #1827 on: September 01, 2019, 03:49:25 PM »
geez, i feel really old when I remember, these pics were taken in 1996 and 1997.

Man o man, fast and fun times back then.

Early days, maybe 96 for the first one against the Superformance 55.
The wing is still down low and we were still using wheelbarrow handles for wheelie bars.

Then we stuck the wing up in the airflow and threw a crane jib out the back to stop it tripping over itself.

Went as fast as 7:60 @ 174mph in this before we stepped up to the Fiat, and ran 7:43 @ 180 mph.
Both small block chevs with a 14/71 huffer strapped on top.
Ya wanna be known, ya had to be blown.  ;D
« Last Edit: September 01, 2019, 03:58:29 PM by Jeepers Creepers »

Offline DandyD

« Reply #1828 on: September 01, 2019, 04:44:00 PM »
The agricultural show in the next village to mine always has some interesting old cars brought along.

Blower Bentley. No idea if one of the originals but nice all the same.

More my kind of thing. Road legal but unrestored. I have absolutely no idea what it is. V8 power and no front brakes.

Looks like it could be a "Brasier" from the logo on the floor.

Offline DandyD

« Reply #1829 on: September 01, 2019, 04:51:40 PM »
Boy did I get some interesting hits when looking for more info on the Brasier!

The best I could get was that it dates from 1907. The V8 must have been added later as it doesn't appear to be in the 1907 pic.

« Reply #1830 on: September 01, 2019, 11:43:01 PM »
12 Lt V8 Hispano Suiza   Aero engine powered   https://cybermotorcycle.com/archives/norton-george/brasier.htm

Offline Moggy

« Reply #1831 on: September 09, 2019, 07:24:48 PM »
Have been watching a cool show on Netflix called 'Rust Valley Restorations'.
Pretty typical seppo reality/business tv bs & a cross between American Pickers & Pawn Stars i spose.
I think its Canadian, so not quite so grating, however it is somewhat light hearted & this guy has a sweet collection/junk stash, but they've pushed out some nice work, Shit if i had the money i'd gladly buy the mustang they restore around Ep 4.
Its worth a watch & the sidekick/friend/mechanic is a dead ringer for one Ron Jeremy for those that are old enough (cough cough) to remember him
All men dream but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes to make it possible.
T.E. Lawrence

Offline shanegtr

• Offroad80s
« Reply #1832 on: September 09, 2019, 10:03:02 PM »
Its worth a watch & the sidekick/friend/mechanic is a dead ringer for one Ron Jeremy for those that are old enough (cough cough) to remember him
I thought exactly the same thing when I first saw him as well.

A few weeks ago targa west was running in Perth, some sweet cars on display at Langely Park, but strangely enough this was my favourite over the usual suspects

« Reply #1833 on: September 10, 2019, 04:33:30 AM »
Ha ha ha Ron Jeremy, world's horniest hedge hog.

« Reply #1834 on: September 10, 2019, 12:51:37 PM »
Kev's new camper, almost finished .. ;D

« Reply #1835 on: September 13, 2019, 06:49:21 AM »
Kev's new camper, almost finished .. ;D

When he's  finished that he needs to get back onto this one Edz.
 Should'nt take much, just a lick of paint and four wheels.

« Reply #1836 on: September 13, 2019, 07:26:16 AM »
Going out on a limb here, but that would be three on the tree too.

Branching out on the really early stuff can leave you stumped when it comes to parts.

« Reply #1837 on: September 14, 2019, 09:10:51 AM »
Tough Volley Wobble would be cool  if it was real .

SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #1838 on: September 14, 2019, 09:51:27 AM »
Saw a car show getting set up at Eudlo primary school on my way home from the hardware store this morning so popped in and had a quick look around.

I was very early and there was still heaps of cool cars rolling in as I wondered around.
Looks like it should be a good day for them.

« Reply #1839 on: September 14, 2019, 11:31:19 AM »
Going out on a limb here, but that would be three on the tree too.

Branching out on the really early stuff can leave you stumped when it comes to parts.

This ones three on the tree Kev

« Reply #1840 on: September 14, 2019, 11:50:33 AM »
Unrestored but pretty clean though the paint was all crazy cracked / faded ....  Murcury Cougar having a day out at Bunnings
« Last Edit: September 14, 2019, 11:52:35 AM by edz »

« Reply #1841 on: September 14, 2019, 02:03:33 PM »
Saw a car show getting set up at Eudlo primary school on my way home from the hardware store this morning so popped in and had a quick look around.

I was very early and there was still heaps of cool cars rolling in as I wondered around.
Looks like it should be a good day for them.

love these old Morrys .. dunno why just do... but boy do they pull $$ now

« Reply #1842 on: September 14, 2019, 02:08:10 PM »
I actually snapped that one just to send to my old man.
He’s always played around with them.

Offline MattNQ

• The smartist formerly known as Skypig
    • My website
« Reply #1843 on: September 14, 2019, 08:17:33 PM »
Yup. Nice little beasties. My dad restored a ute and had a sedan as well, but ended up selling them. Will have to see if I have a pic somewhere.

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

Offline DandyD

« Reply #1844 on: September 14, 2019, 10:59:10 PM »

This one is a bit different. Full space frame chassis, widened lightweight grp bodywork and twin cam Fiat power, if I remember correctly. The engine had been moved back about three feet.

Full story here: https://www.pistonheads.com/regulars/ph-spottedykywt/you-know-you-want-to-morris-minor/25968

Offline MattNQ

• The smartist formerly known as Skypig
    • My website
« Reply #1845 on: September 14, 2019, 11:01:14 PM »
Wonder if the wife would notice if I sold her Mazda and bought this...

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

Offline DandyD

« Reply #1846 on: September 14, 2019, 11:02:06 PM »
Spotted these three sad cases the other other day...

« Reply #1847 on: September 14, 2019, 11:23:17 PM »
Only in America.

Drag Week.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

« Reply #1848 on: September 15, 2019, 12:43:15 PM »
Spotted these three sad cases the other other day...

Top one : Consul Capri ?   second one : Triumph 2000 or 2500 ...     Triumph Herald .. right

« Reply #1849 on: September 15, 2019, 03:05:46 PM »
Top one : Consul Capri ?   second one : Triumph 2000 or 2500 ...     Triumph Herald .. right
Theres a herald on ebay with 12a in it as a project... Could be interesting :D