Author Topic: OK, Now We Rock at cricket- What was I thinking :-)  (Read 512531 times)

Offline Moggy

Re: OK, Now We Rock at cricket- What was I thinking :-)
« Reply #1375 on: February 23, 2016, 09:43:30 PM »
Geez it's diamonds or dog$hit with warner these days. He cant blame the pitches.
Funny how the critics look to burns, kawaja, voges when the team struggles but seems warner is beyond reproach

All men dream but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes to make it possible.
T.E. Lawrence

« Reply #1376 on: February 24, 2016, 05:21:07 AM »
Hey Moggy, I like your new Avatar mate :cup:

Trrrumping Beast

« Reply #1377 on: February 24, 2016, 05:55:27 AM »
Geez it's diamonds or dog$hit with warner these days. He cant blame the pitches.
Funny how the critics look to burns, kawaja, voges when the team struggles but seems warner is beyond reproach

Warner is basically a flat track bully in the mould of David Hookes and other players of that ilk. On anything other than a concrete pitch he cant survive. Needs to put his head down and grind out innings according to the pitch, the opposition attack and the status of the match when he is at the crease - S Waugh learned how to do this and grew into one of the most reliable middle order players Australia has ever produced. Warner has the skill but is letting himself down by trying to be flamboyant and have a 100 strike rate every time he bats.
« Last Edit: February 24, 2016, 05:57:31 AM by Trrrumping Beast »

« Reply #1378 on: February 25, 2016, 09:25:42 AM »
Wrong spot

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #1379 on: March 15, 2016, 09:04:05 AM »
So with the world T20 about to start I reckon this will be a short tournament for the aussies. They'll do an England and be bundled out at the pool stage. Australia is as good at T20 as I am at not being a smart a$#e

Sent from the maker of FIGJAM

SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

Offline mrdenn1s

• Dennis Does Cricket
« Reply #1380 on: March 15, 2016, 10:58:18 AM »
Guys, if you are interested, I run a cricket blog and will be covering the T20 tournament for multiple media organisations (especially in India).

All my stuff (writing, podcasts, videos) can be found http://dennisdoescricket.com/.

Whenever I get off my big fat ar*e and come on a trip to the High Country with you blokes, I'll be the guy talking cricket non stop :)
« Last Edit: March 15, 2016, 03:38:05 PM by mrdenn1s »
2014 Blue Water Tanami Soft floor Camper
2000 Landcruiser 105 GXL Inline 6
2011 Kia Sorento

« Reply #1381 on: March 15, 2016, 11:51:05 AM »
So with the world T20 about to start I reckon this will be a short tournament for the aussies. They'll do an England and be bundled out at the pool stage. Australia is as good at T20 as I am at not being a smart a$#e

The individual player stats suggest we could win it, however the team/game execution will be what may let us down.

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #1382 on: March 15, 2016, 12:38:09 PM »
You'd have to think that on home soil on turning wickets that India looks most likely to win. Dunno why T20 seems to trip up the aussies given the team they have.
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #1383 on: March 16, 2016, 08:38:43 PM »
Ok scratch that my vote is now Shabangabang are favorites!

Sent from the maker of FIGJAM

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #1384 on: March 18, 2016, 07:37:41 PM »
Further proof Mark Waugh shouldn't be a selector..... Aaron Finch in form and dropped....

« Reply #1385 on: March 18, 2016, 07:46:02 PM »
Further proof Mark Waugh shouldn't be a selector..... Aaron Finch in form and dropped....
Victorian....   

Bit of a nervous 1st over by Agar  ???

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #1386 on: March 18, 2016, 08:14:44 PM »
Victorian....   

How'd ya guess??  :D

And yep, Agar might want to land them to turn them.

Offline GQMacca

« Reply #1387 on: March 18, 2016, 08:54:25 PM »
Well, that was a better result than I expected after the first 5 overs!

« Reply #1388 on: March 18, 2016, 09:06:30 PM »
Well, that was a better result than I expected after the first 5 overs!

« Reply #1389 on: March 25, 2016, 06:18:40 AM »
Watto retiring, let's see if he can stomp that big front foot down and make some runs before he goes...
http://www.cricket.com.au/news/shane-watson-retires-from-international-cricket-australia-world-t20-wt20-mohli-pakistan-india-ipl/2016-03-24

Offline Moxley

« Reply #1390 on: March 25, 2016, 06:28:03 AM »

Poor old Wato. I think he'll go alright. I think he's actually been in cracking form this season, just unlucky not to get more runs. I'm predicting that if Australia make the semis he'll be player of the tournament.

« Reply #1391 on: March 25, 2016, 08:09:04 PM »
3/57 boys are in a little bit of trouble, hopefully watto's lotto numbers come up tonight...

« Reply #1392 on: April 21, 2016, 10:21:29 AM »
Impressive!!!

Wagner's first up haul was the best since 1923 for a debut bowler at Lancashire. His match figures of 11-111 were the second best for a Lancs debutant. His scalps included Michael Lumb, Stuart Broad, Riki Wessels, Chris Read and Australian Jackson Bird.

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/sport/cricket/neil-wagner-grabs-record-haul-for-lancashire-against-nottinghamshire-in-english-county-cricket-20160420-gobecf.html

Offline mrdenn1s

• Dennis Does Cricket
« Reply #1393 on: April 21, 2016, 10:33:42 AM »
Impressive!!!

County cricket is a very watered down version of Shield.

18 teams spreading the talent over two divisions (with international top up players to lift the standard) vs 6
2014 Blue Water Tanami Soft floor Camper
2000 Landcruiser 105 GXL Inline 6
2011 Kia Sorento

scrapsD40

« Reply #1394 on: April 26, 2016, 04:51:08 PM »
Fair nuf too

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #1395 on: April 26, 2016, 07:11:02 PM »
Fair nuf too

Lucky, because if it was Sydney it would be racist....

« Reply #1396 on: May 12, 2016, 08:12:08 AM »
I thought he had a great voice for commentating :(

Veteran cricket commentator and journalist Tony Cozier has died aged 75 following a short illness.

Born in Bridgetown in 1940, he was the voice of West Indies cricket for more than 50 years and appeared on TV and radio around the world in addition to writing in several international newspapers and magazines and was regarded as one the most respected figures in the game.

He began his career on Australia's 1965 tour of the Caribbean and was awarded life membership of the MCC for services to the sport in 2011.

Cozier died at his home in Barbados having been admitted to hospital earlier this month for tests related to infections in his neck and legs.

"Tony was the master of going between TV and radio ball-by-ball commentary. He was the master of both," wrote BBC cricket correspondent Jonathan Agnew in a tribute on the British website.

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/sport/cricket/veteran-west-indies-cricket-commentator-tony-cozier-dies-aged-75-20160511-got0oq.html

Trrrumping Beast

« Reply #1397 on: May 13, 2016, 07:38:45 PM »
I thought he had a great voice for commentating :(
Another of the true doyens of cricket commentary departs. Richie and the 2 Tony's.....God keep them all.
I wonder if we will all miss some others who have taken up the role when they depart?...i suspect maybe not...

« Reply #1398 on: May 13, 2016, 09:54:24 PM »
Another of the true doyens of cricket commentary departs. Richie and the 2 Tony's.....God keep them all.
I wonder if we will all miss some others who have taken up the role when they depart?...i suspect maybe not...
yea I cant think of anyone I'd miss that's in there now... they are too full of their own exploits and who they rooted last night

« Reply #1399 on: May 13, 2016, 10:44:42 PM »
One of my favorite cricket commentators ever
https://youtu.be/5Y3AXzZqg2k