Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1730510 times)

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #4900 on: August 14, 2019, 10:31:11 PM »
Well put a rivet in it then !

Better de-burr it first..

« Reply #4901 on: August 15, 2019, 12:48:35 AM »
Well put a rivet in it then !

Yep that'll seal it, and stop the bleeding.
You'll need a few codeine too.

« Reply #4902 on: August 15, 2019, 04:09:18 AM »
piss the ring off if doing manual labour...... wedding rings are trouble.... in soooooo many ways.

This may come as a bit of a surprise, but geez, over the years, I have done some stupid Shit that hurt.

Now, as for today, it WOULD be really GOOD if I got all the trim stuff done and finished.

The pinstripe guy will be here at lunch time to whack a strip over the flanks of the Austin.
White walls are booked for tomorrow, but I think its gunna be early next week.

Heaps of small fiddly crap done yesterday..... at 59, geez I work slower than I did when I was in my 20's
« Last Edit: August 15, 2019, 04:48:15 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #4903 on: August 15, 2019, 11:49:24 AM »
You're not a metalbasher until you've drilled yourself.

Could have been worse, it could have been on your lap when you ran the drill through it.

I built a sliding gate. I'm just waiting for some bits to come back from the galvanisers before I do final assembly and get to install it.

Or put a drill through a 60mm thick aircraft wiring loom...  >:D
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.
The following users thanked this post: Hoyks

« Reply #4904 on: August 15, 2019, 01:40:15 PM »
Daughter says she can smell eggs, Sitting here trying to sniff the breeze thinking it must be the neighbours cooking something,  then a whiff of Rotten egg gas,   then an "  I wonder if  " moment  ...... 180W Solar panels hooked up to the fridges /  air compressor pump batteries from the truck sitting out on the patio to keep them " Alive " while not fitted ...
Yep its them both gassing away boiling  [ both about 3 yro ]  "  Yukk "   Solar Cheapy MPPT [ In reality PWM ] reg must have shagged itself and pumping in full mid day sun voltage ..
Ohh well might look at a couple of small lightweight Lithium replacements now .

« Reply #4905 on: August 15, 2019, 02:39:33 PM »
Quote from: edz
might look at a couple of small lightweight Lithium replacements now .

You just wanted an excuse to do it ... didnt you :P

« Reply #4906 on: August 15, 2019, 03:21:13 PM »
 ;D ;D Well it seems the failure might have been a fotunite thing to happen   ;D ;D

« Reply #4907 on: August 15, 2019, 03:22:18 PM »
We got our pin striping done today..... rego was done at 1pm.

I'm the worlds slowest and most useless motor trimmer.

Glue, bits of trim from arsehole to breakfast time..... I know, I was shocked too.

« Reply #4908 on: August 15, 2019, 03:29:54 PM »
AustenTashus must be just about finished,  Kev .. Couldnt be that much more to do

« Reply #4909 on: August 15, 2019, 04:08:17 PM »
Nah, hmmm...left to do.

1. Finish trim on the dash............................. 2 hours.
2. remove and refit the seats with new covers. 2 hours minimum.
3. Full once over underneath.... to be sure..... good hour or 2.
4. White walls are now down for Monday........ half a day gone, going to Slacks Creek for 'em.
5. Left side door rubbers.............................. 2 to 6 hours.... turds to do.
6. One window channel needs attention.......... 1 hour
7. Road test............................................... maybe...oh, say half a day.
8. polish the little turd to an inch of its life..... 2 hours.
9. general clean up inside and out................. 3 hours minimum.

« Reply #4910 on: August 15, 2019, 06:33:09 PM »
Nah, hmmm...left to do.

Bet it takes a lot more than the three you have listed there  >:D

« Reply #4911 on: August 15, 2019, 07:07:57 PM »
Yep whats the old adage the last 10% of the work takes 90% of the time .

« Reply #4912 on: August 16, 2019, 03:20:24 AM »
It really, just boils down to three, solid six hour days.
It never ever, really boils down to three, six hour days however.

Gunna miss Just Rock 63 on Sunday, but no sense turning up incomplete.

I'll insure it today, so at least then, I can start road testing it.
I'm expecting no dramas or issues, but buying a car that hasn't seen the road for over 12 years, ya just never know.

We'll be For Sale by Tuesday with any luck.

« Reply #4913 on: August 16, 2019, 08:58:38 AM »
Was driving home a couple of nights ago and the headlights would go dull every 15 seconds or so lasting about a second or two.
Checked the voltage on the Scanguage at idle and sure enough was dragging down to 11.8V then back up to 14.2V
Hmmmmm he thinks, whats going on.
So, laying awake half the night thinking whats going on and about 2am the lightbulb goes off.
Next morning checked the voltage on the aux battery under the bonnet and sure enough the battery was completely shagged. I only checked it a couple of weeks ago and was showing 12.8V with nothing connected sitting idle. The Dual Battery Isolator was switching on then seeing a very low voltage so it switched off again.
New battery and all is well.
Don't ya love sparks n stuff.

« Reply #4914 on: August 16, 2019, 09:30:35 AM »

Oooops! ::)

L&D - Member to Pay ??? >:D

« Reply #4915 on: August 16, 2019, 01:03:22 PM »
Oooops! ::)

L&D - Member to Pay ??? >:D

Well he didn't get a bill for repairs, but I think it cost him as far as one more formal warning.
But 60 seconds to go and get a piece of scrap ally for a backing plate versus 4 days solid work in repairing the farkup (which included replacing a full segment of coaxial cable (can't be repaired) on a 50 odd million dollar aeroplane. Makes ya wonder eh.
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

Offline sparksy

« Reply #4916 on: August 16, 2019, 09:19:19 PM »
Fitter I used to work with  had to put a air line through a foam sandwich panel wall in a food factory I used to work at. Measured up from floor to where air line had to go through. Checked on other side, there was a 120mm2 3 phase mains cable there. he measured up again from floor, no problem heaps of clearance.
Started drilling through, metal to start with, then white polystyrene , then orange plastic started coming out.
he stopped and came and told us.  He had drilled straight through the center of the cable ( it was live). When we questioned what sort of d*ckhead would drill through a cable, he pulled out his tape to show us. What he didn't take into account as the 100mm step in doorway next to where he was working.
Dont think he ever lived it down. But he was lucky, managed to miss the actives only drilling through the earth and neutral.

« Reply #4917 on: August 16, 2019, 10:33:57 PM »
Fitter I used to work with  had to put a air line through a foam sandwich panel wall in a food factory I used to work at. Measured up from floor to where air line had to go through. Checked on other side, there was a 120mm2 3 phase mains cable there. he measured up again from floor, no problem heaps of clearance.
Started drilling through, metal to start with, then white polystyrene , then orange plastic started coming out.
he stopped and came and told us.  He had drilled straight through the center of the cable ( it was live). When we questioned what sort of d*ckhead would drill through a cable, he pulled out his tape to show us. What he didn't take into account as the 100mm step in doorway next to where he was working.
Dont think he ever lived it down. But he was lucky, managed to miss the actives only drilling through the earth and neutral.

In a coal mine many yrs ago, 3 of us were moving a 11Kv substation.....isolated ,earthed and as 2 others pulled off the 11Kv plug ( they weigh about 30kgs ) I heard a slight crackle.....told them to put it down and walk away....out comes the modiewark and sure enough, still live...the switching instructions had the wrong isolator !!

Offline lloydus67

« Reply #4918 on: August 17, 2019, 02:04:07 AM »
That could have been very bad
I work underground and have only heard second hand stories, but it’s devastating opening up 11kv live

« Reply #4919 on: August 17, 2019, 04:23:57 AM »
Nah, hmmm...left to do.

1. Finish trim on the dash............................. 2 hours.
2. remove and refit the seats with new covers. 2 hours minimum.
3. Full once over underneath.... to be sure..... good hour or 2.
4. White walls are now down for Monday........ half a day gone, going to Slacks Creek for 'em.
5. Left side door rubbers.............................. 2 to 6 hours.... turds to do.
6. One window channel needs attention.......... 1 hour
7. Road test............................................... maybe...oh, say half a day.
8. polish the little turd to an inch of its life..... 2 hours.
9. general clean up inside and out................. 3 hours minimum.

Dash finished...... took 3 hours.
Left seat done..... took 2 hours.
Right seat out..... 20 minutes.

Found that the car does have a handbrake light. (I knew the little green one did something.)
So handbrake out, clean up earth activated switching.... bingo... she works.
So now, it would seem silly not to paint it. hmmm, I have nice rubber sheath from a Commodore that just might work on that.

« Reply #4920 on: August 17, 2019, 01:41:11 PM »
Recycled some old brush strips that I had lying around into a stone guard for our next trip. 25 x 40 angle with a couple mounting tabs welded on. Mounted by using antiluce latches and R clips in the guts, and a 12mm bolt drilled for a spring clip over the nut on each end. That way it is a tool free fit and remove. Squirted some stone chip paint over everything to hide my crappy welds  ;)

The brush strip can be got from here if anyone is interested - https://www.industrialbrushware.com.au/collections/stoneguard
« Last Edit: August 17, 2019, 01:48:31 PM by Spada »
The following users thanked this post: plusnq, Bigfish

« Reply #4921 on: August 17, 2019, 02:25:33 PM »
....I found it like that (standing there with drill in hand :-[).
I did drill a loom, but it was during battle damage repair training, so it just increased the scope of the repair slightly. There were no continuity checks being done, so we just paneled over it in the end.

I was present for a miss-count on the fastener lines that resulted in a 1/4" bolt into a wet wing being drilled out by mistake. Old mate sitting there like the dutch boy with his finger in the dyke while we scuttled off to the CST to find a new fastener.

I remember years ago at a new building site, just around the corner from where I was working in Newcastle, the apprentice was drilling a hole through the wall to run some cables. End result was a 1' masonry drill bit into the back of the live high voltage cabinet.
It didn't end well.
« Last Edit: August 17, 2019, 02:32:38 PM by Hoyks »
The following users thanked this post: Troopy_03

Offline Palmer

« Reply #4922 on: August 17, 2019, 11:05:36 PM »
Boringly, spent the arvo cleaning a Webber that had nearly a years worth of crap on it.

« Reply #4923 on: August 19, 2019, 10:48:00 PM »
I fired the generator up this afternoon with the intention of running the half a tank of fuel out from last storm season before giving it a once over and fresh fuel ready for this coming season.
It ran beautifully for about 10 minutes before chugging out some black smoke, then backfired and stopped.
Didn’t want to start while it was warm, but ran again once it cooled down, only to chug out  another puff of black smoke and die.

Looks like it’s either the plug is gone or the coil is on the way out.

Glad I decided to fire it up months before the first storm hits, at least now I’ve got plenty of time to find the fault and give it a proper service.

« Reply #4924 on: August 23, 2019, 01:51:34 AM »
Watched some Cockies hanging on 'Air bundled mains cabling', 2 core pole to the house.
Couldn't wait around for them to bridge the active and neutral with their beaks.
Would have been a sight to see though.