Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1730718 times)

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #4850 on: August 01, 2019, 09:56:46 AM »
Don't get too excited over the cars, you only get one Astrid.

« Reply #4851 on: August 01, 2019, 10:03:24 AM »
Hey Jeepers, didn't you "retire" just a little while back ???

You know, stop working, sit on your arse half the day, go camping & relaxing stuff like that ;D

« Reply #4852 on: August 01, 2019, 10:06:38 AM »
Fizzie, a lotta people remark that they're busier after retiring than while working.

Offline Nifty1

« Reply #4853 on: August 01, 2019, 11:36:12 AM »
Thought I’d like being retired, but now considering going back to work. At least I’ll get weekends off...
Tvan + Terracan
Hilux Adventure Camper
1999 Outback Sturt - an oldie but a goodie. Updated of course (passed on within family)

« Reply #4854 on: August 01, 2019, 01:18:12 PM »
Don't get too excited over the cars, you only get one Astrid.

Nah, she works 5 and half days at LJHookers.

Stuffed today though.
A mate dropped over this morning and we got the 120Y sunvisor on and he held the Falcon mirrors in place while I buttoned 'em up.

Can't be done by one person, so now we've got them out of the road.
Might give myself a treat tomorrow and maybe have a half day off.

This being retired is tough..... tougher than working by a mile.

« Reply #4855 on: August 03, 2019, 02:57:47 PM »
Fitted the new console to the Cruiser  ;D Realy impressed with the quality and how well it fits. No affiliation, just a happy customer. Big thumbs up for CruiserConsoles https://cruiserconsole.com.au/

New seats get fitted on Thursday  8) just 29 sleeps left untill we leave for the cape, still need to fix the diflock, wire up the winch switches, get the car serviced, get the rust proofing re-done, and fix the anderson connection....................nothing like leaving it all to the last minute  ::)
« Last Edit: August 03, 2019, 03:01:54 PM by Spada »

« Reply #4856 on: August 03, 2019, 03:45:09 PM »
Fitted the new console to the Cruiser  ;D Realy impressed with the quality and how well it fits. No affiliation, just a happy customer. Big thumbs up for CruiserConsoles https://cruiserconsole.com.au/

New seats get fitted on Thursday  8) just 29 sleeps left untill we leave for the cape, still need to fix the diflock, wire up the winch switches, get the car serviced, get the rust proofing re-done, and fix the anderson connection....................nothing like leaving it all to the last minute  ::)

Looks pretty flash, makes my wooden one look a bit daggy. But I think I saved about $580.00 on mine, seeing as it's only a half length.
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

« Reply #4857 on: August 03, 2019, 04:30:01 PM »

the beauty of replacing those consoles is the new ones are higher and padded, gives somewhere to rest your arm on and a nicer driving position / feel IMO....more like my old 105 series and the 100 series feel like when driving them.

Offline Tim - Stratford

• Sarah's Canvas Products
    • Canvas Jaffle Iron Covers
« Reply #4858 on: August 03, 2019, 10:53:56 PM »
Plated and braced the mezzanine beam...then attacked it with a cutoff wheel...now the motor and bait board on the new boat fit under it. >:D

Tim

Sarah's Canvas Products...
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=30053.0

« Reply #4859 on: August 04, 2019, 07:01:22 AM »
Looks pretty flash, makes my wooden one look a bit daggy. But I think I saved about $580.00 on mine, seeing as it's only a half length.

That looks pretty good, but I don't have the skill and patience required.
The following users thanked this post: Troopy_03

« Reply #4860 on: August 04, 2019, 07:02:48 AM »
the beauty of replacing those consoles is the new ones are higher and padded, gives somewhere to rest your arm on and a nicer driving position / feel IMO....more like my old 105 series and the 100 series feel like when driving them.

You're right about the arm rest, it's at a good height

« Reply #4861 on: August 04, 2019, 07:44:59 AM »
You're right about the arm rest, it's at a good height
I did a video for TJM about my 4wd, and they asked what the best mod was I'd done on my vehicle....out of all the big ticket items to choose from, the cheapest thing of replacing the centre console was my answer, a so much better feel to driving position. Since remapping the motor I might change that answer, but the console is still up there also.

« Reply #4862 on: August 05, 2019, 04:49:01 AM »
At least now, it looks like a car again.

The only bit of colour in the pic is the car...... dry as out here at present.
I reckon, I've spent in total, around 6 or 7 hours to get that turd of a bonnet to sit snug.

The grille has now been in and around 10 times.... serious.

My sparky mate from Brisbane will be here on Saturday, to cast an eye over the electrics and make sure all is good.
Rego will be next Monday..... holy crap, we're nearly there.
Drive it around a bit on Tuesday, to make sure everything is doing what it should.
White walls on the tyres will be done on the Wednesday, that'll be a trip to Brisbane.
Thursday, i'll take it on mid-week run for the Gatton Muscle Car Club. (it'll be faster than a few of 'em too)
Friday, there's a meet n greet car thing at Plainlands.
Saturday will be the Ripley Cruise Night.
Sunday will be the "Just Rock" rock and roll and car show at Ipswich.

I might even have a buyer on the line by then.

« Last Edit: August 05, 2019, 05:28:47 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #4863 on: August 05, 2019, 08:54:05 AM »
Nice. Enjoy the week.
The following users thanked this post: Jeepers Creepers

« Reply #4864 on: August 05, 2019, 02:23:25 PM »
Beaut job, Jeepers - she looks great! :cup:

« Reply #4865 on: August 05, 2019, 02:42:38 PM »
Looking great. Nice work👍

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #4866 on: August 05, 2019, 04:56:44 PM »
Not in it, but near it and I had to get tools and stuff out of the shed, so I think this qualifies for the thread 🤔
Installed a pair of Clearview mirrors to the new troopy. Made me nervous 😥 drilling holes into a brand new vehicle, but it all went well 👍.
We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2

Offline richo9923

« Reply #4867 on: August 05, 2019, 08:53:34 PM »
After 4 days of hand filing, burning myself on a home made forge (I knew that 12v air pump would come in handy again), lots of hand sanding, swearing, bleeding and and finally fitting the scales I’m finally happy with how my first home made knife has turned out,
That was the “build your own knife kit” as delivered, a piece of 1085 steel and two blocks of wood and a couple of bits of brass rod/tube

Shaping the blade with a home made knife jig

Now to get the leather working tools out and make a sheath

« Reply #4868 on: August 06, 2019, 06:56:16 AM »
looks schmick  :cup:

« Reply #4869 on: August 06, 2019, 08:09:25 AM »
I’m finally happy with how my first home made knife has turned out,

So you should be :cup:

That's come out fantastically!

« Reply #4870 on: August 06, 2019, 08:39:47 AM »
After 4 days of hand filing, burning myself on a home made forge (I knew that 12v air pump would come in handy again), lots of hand sanding, swearing, bleeding and and finally fitting the scales I’m finally happy with how my first home made knife has turned out,
That was the “build your own knife kit” as delivered, a piece of 1085 steel and two blocks of wood and a couple of bits of brass rod/tube

Shaping the blade with a home made knife jig

Now to get the leather working tools out and make a sheath

looks really good, mate... well done   :cup:

where did you get the kit from?

Offline richo9923

« Reply #4871 on: August 06, 2019, 08:56:18 AM »
www.artisansupplies.com.au
That’s where the kit came from, I can see me spending a lot of money with them
The following users thanked this post: DannyG, paceman

« Reply #4872 on: August 06, 2019, 09:16:21 AM »
Nice work Richo, nothing better than using something you crafted yourself.

« Reply #4873 on: August 06, 2019, 09:22:18 AM »
www.artisansupplies.com.au
That’s where the kit came from, I can see me spending a lot of money with them

Thanks for that I now have a new supplier for my 72" belt sander belts. I was buying them from the USA $$$$ because I couldn't find a supplier for 72" here.

I dont make knives though. I dont have a forge. But both are on my retirement plan ;D

Offline richo9923

« Reply #4874 on: August 06, 2019, 09:36:48 AM »
DannyG I find their prices very reasonable considering it’s hard to find that stuff in Australia, as for a forge I ended up cutting the top off an old 5 kilo gas bottle and drilling a hole near the bottom then taking a piece of round bar and using a 12v air pump as a blower, just using cut up tree branches I got it hot enough to heat treat and I’m sure if I tried I could of reached welding/forging temps