Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1747693 times)

666Glenn and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #4825 on: July 19, 2019, 06:28:59 PM »
Those buff trails are a work of art

Offline sparksy

« Reply #4826 on: July 19, 2019, 07:11:41 PM »
Knocked up a stand for the drill press today. Hardest part was lifting it up, they made things heavy in the old days, genie lift made it easier.
« Last Edit: July 19, 2019, 07:21:55 PM by sparksy »

« Reply #4827 on: July 19, 2019, 07:48:39 PM »
Those buff trails are a work of art....

;D ;D

A trained eye can be a real burden...

« Reply #4828 on: July 19, 2019, 08:56:01 PM »
Plotted & Schemed for a  " New Plan  "  . The last 47.5 years haven't gone well  ,,, but theres  room  for improvement ,,,,,                            :laugh:                                       :cheers:

« Reply #4829 on: July 20, 2019, 03:58:30 AM »
Those buff trails are a work of art

Yeah, there is some rippers.
The final hand job should see them disappear.... well, that's what the painter reckons.... he better be correct too.

Offline kizza1

« Reply #4830 on: July 20, 2019, 11:04:34 AM »
Yeah, there is some rippers.
The final hand job should see them disappear.... well, that's what the painter reckons.... he better be correct too.

Most people just pay the painters with money. but whatever gets the job done. ;D

« Reply #4831 on: July 20, 2019, 02:42:32 PM »

Most people just pay the painters with money. but whatever gets the job done. ;D
:cup: :cup:

« Reply #4832 on: July 20, 2019, 04:05:18 PM »
 ;D ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #4833 on: July 21, 2019, 04:32:41 AM »
Hey, if it saves a few dollars....  >:D

A box of tissue's is cheaper than an hourly rate.
I just need to remember to wash my hands before I make my lunch.

Not a big fan of mayonnaise... haaaaccc cough cough, spit spit

I spent about 5 hours, performing around 5 test fits yesterday putting the grille back together.
Because the previous owner, gave it about 57 coats of black, it required a complete disassembly about 4 weeks ago.

When I did it, a photo first would've been good..... but nooooo.
I just drilled out the 20 odd rivets, undid the 40 odd screws and turfed 'em a plastic container.

My taste in cars must be slipping, while I still think the Austin is a short n tall gangly looking pommy designed pile of crap, I like it.
I don't love it.... but I do like the little turd.... which means, very shortly when it goes up for sale.
If I don't get the money I want for it, it can move in here and live with us.

« Reply #4834 on: July 27, 2019, 09:48:49 AM »
Let me see....

(Just in for morning tea)

After re-colouring the hood lining during the week.... looks fab.
I've now found, because the front and back screens have been out for 12 years, the friggin lining has shrunk by half an inch.
I have a plan of attack for today, which will either see me running around giving myself high fives..... or,
Lots of use of the F and C word.

The mobile windscreen guy is due on Wednesday..... i'll either F it of fix it today.

Boot is getting carpet cut to size today, power aerial is going back in, inner back guards getting a coat of flat black.
Door handles are going back on.... aw, lots of fun things today and nothing in the order above.

Oright, smoko's over... see ya's at lunch time.

« Reply #4835 on: July 27, 2019, 12:34:17 PM »
Vinyl type ? gentle hair dryer treatment to soften it / stretch it maybe ..

« Reply #4836 on: July 27, 2019, 02:23:58 PM »
Its in place... and ready for the screen guy.... as long as he doesn't fukk it up.

Been working in the boot, seriously, if I bash my head on that friggin boot once more.
Why they can't have a normal boot lid is beyond me.

Reminds me of a Mercedes bonnet, where the grille hangs down behind ya head when ya working.
You end up with mesh marks in the back of ya noggin.

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #4837 on: July 27, 2019, 04:36:40 PM »
Its in place... and ready for the screen guy.... as long as he doesn't fukk it up.

Been working in the boot, seriously, if I bash my head on that friggin boot once more.
Why they can't have a normal boot lid is beyond me.

Reminds me of a Mercedes bonnet, where the grille hangs down behind ya head when ya working.
You end up with mesh marks in the back of ya noggin.

Or an early 2000's Magna with the beaked bonnet. Ask me how I know? I think I've still got the scars on the back of my head.
2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

96 80 Series. Lots of mods, not enough wheeling. - Gone but not forgotten.
Gulf King Warrior soft floor camper & 19ft Jayco Van

« Reply #4838 on: July 27, 2019, 07:12:53 PM »
I had a productive day on a few fronts. Patched the small holes in the new-to-me RV5 tent, helped my son out a coat of primer on the BMX he wants to do up and finished installing Titan drawers in the ute.

Next I need to wire up the Projecta charger and decide if/how I will install the wings. The battery box fits nicely down one side and the compressor down the other side, so I will probably just fit the back section of the wings. Pity the wheel arches are so high.

But now I am going to have an American Honey or two

Offline sparksy

« Reply #4839 on: July 28, 2019, 06:29:04 PM »
When the daughter visits with her dogs we end up with 5 so when bath time comes around its a chore.
So next  to the HWS I plumbed in a tap socket and with a retic transformer, a 24vac solenoid and a foot operated switch I knocked up a control system for the wash water.
Found the dog wash tub a few months back on verge pickup.  Put the water temp down to 38 degrees, press down on switch an dogs get wet.
The following users thanked this post: archer63

« Reply #4840 on: July 29, 2019, 04:36:20 AM »
Couple of update shots.

Assembly is sloooow going. Didn't finish half of what I had planned on the weekend.
I had to replace a strut bar rubber and two stay bar link bushes.
Decided, I might as well paint a few bits while I was at it.
Note the size of the sway bar against the car stands.
The rear bar is slightly thinner, but still very substantial.

With the windscreens going in Wednesday, I can fit the metal sunvisor then..... that should look cool.
I painted the underside of that on Saturday in a hammertone charcoal colour.
Paid $50.00 for it off an old Datsun 120Y up the road, that's almost rusted clean away.
This could be the first time in history a Datsun 120Y was good for something.

I think i'm going to need to make up small mesh piece for under the grille.
The previous owner, opened up the cavity to accommodate the thermo fan and engine oil cooler.
Just looks a bit bare to me.

Its gunna be a great day when I get to give it a decent run after all this pissing around.
Actually, the first run will be down to Brisbane for the whitewalls I think.
Once I've managed a 1,000 klm's on it, we'll do the roadie and go up for sale.
In some ways, i'll miss this little jigger when it goes, as i've put a lot of work into it.
« Last Edit: July 29, 2019, 04:55:47 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #4841 on: July 29, 2019, 06:24:14 AM »
Little bit more trip-prep happened. Tinkered about with some wiring and fitted a couple more switches. The Camera and rear light switches were just a couple of dodgy micro-switches and dymo tape, which I've replaced with with some genuine look aftermarkets. They're wired through a couple of changeover relays so I can choose between reverse activated or manual on. I'm also piggybacking the winch hand control into some dash mounted switches (haven't finished that yet), and the compressor and locker switches where Carling style rockers which have now been replaced with some genuine looking switches.

« Last Edit: July 29, 2019, 06:28:36 AM by Spada »

« Reply #4842 on: July 29, 2019, 10:13:12 AM »
[This could be the first time in history a Datsun 120Y was good for something.]

Not true JC, my father in law had one and it made a great chew toy for a dog, he trained greyhounds and went to a race meet in the scrub one day, threw the dog in the car and went to say goodbye to a couple of blokes and came back and the dog had chewed the dash to pieces, totally destroyed it.

« Reply #4843 on: July 29, 2019, 03:47:26 PM »
When the daughter visits with her dogs we end up with 5 so when bath time comes around its a chore.
So next  to the HWS I plumbed in a tap socket and with a retic transformer, a 24vac solenoid and a foot operated switch I knocked up a control system for the wash water.
Found the dog wash tub a few months back on verge pickup.  Put the water temp down to 38 degrees, press down on switch an dogs get wet.

Gee that is fantastic...... I have a similar system go down to the lakes edge with a tennis ball and yell fetch as i throw towards the water ;D

Offline moeite

« Reply #4844 on: July 29, 2019, 04:14:47 PM »
We've got a bunch ( a BIG bunch ) of our sons stuff in the shed which I've been meaning to move around so that we can get at OUR stuff and have a bit  of room left over. Opened the shed took one look and pronounced it too hard so I closed the shed and went and had more coffee after promising myself that I'll do it after lunch. Now, wouldn't you know it it's beer o'clock so it'll have to wait until another day.
Mark F...
VK3KW
2002 Discovery 2 Td5 auto
2004 Outback Sturt rear fold soft floor
Http://jandmf.com

« Reply #4845 on: July 29, 2019, 04:46:16 PM »
We've got a bunch ( a BIG bunch ) of our sons stuff in the shed which I've been meaning to move around so that we can get at OUR stuff and have a bit  of room left over. Opened the shed took one look and pronounced it too hard so I closed the shed and went and had more coffee after promising myself that I'll do it after lunch. Now, wouldn't you know it it's beer o'clock so it'll have to wait until another day.
Moritz, had a similar situation, my shed was full of the kids stuff, they no longer lived at home, asked politely for it to be removed three or four times no movement. rang them all on the same day and said they had two weeks  to remove or I would break it down and send it to the dump, no ifs no buts.
Funnily enough it was all removed.

« Reply #4846 on: July 30, 2019, 11:53:57 AM »
Yeah funny that. My daughter just took on a 2 year engineering contract in London so guess where her stuff will end up. Yep right next to my son's stuff that is already in my shed.
If ya didn't love em they would be up the creek.

« Reply #4847 on: July 31, 2019, 03:35:06 PM »
Big milestone today.... we have the windscreens fitted at last.

I'm gunna miss Greazefest by about 5 days I reckon.....  :'(

S'pose I could slum it and take the Fleetwood.

« Reply #4848 on: July 31, 2019, 06:12:06 PM »
Fleetwood would be big enough to sleep in, right Jeepers?

« Reply #4849 on: August 01, 2019, 03:31:53 AM »
Fleetwood would be big enough to sleep in, right Jeepers?

Oh hell yeah, seats 6 comfortably, will take 3 XXXL or 4 XL or 6 medium (they pack better) bodies in the trunk (Cadillac's don't have a boot), so yeah, sleeping in it wouldn't be a problem.

I might be soon too... i'm pretty stuffed at the moment.
Astrid was moaning last night, that the last time I actually had a full week off was when we went to Vanuatu in 2007.
We had a shorty holiday in Cairns, maybe 4 or 5 years ago for 5 days, but its been a while since I've done nothing.

She reckons, when the Austin is finished, i'm having a week off...... friggin doubt it.

I've got a V6 Toyota engine I want to give a birthday to, rings and bearings.
Then, there is the sideplate Holden motor....

I can't wait to do this one... an old grey motor that's getting, compression, cam, head work, triple SU's.
It will be a really cool, old school style engine.
With only 75hp standard, i'm sure we can up that a tad.